DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 8, and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the sliding frame section" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the middle section" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the lower frame section" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the sliding frame section" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the sliding frame section" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the upper frame section" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-8, 10-13, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Canas et al. (US 2019/0291768).
In Re claim 1, Canas et al. discloses a suspension system (see figs. 4-10) for a stroller (100, fig. 1), comprising: a shroud (200) having a lower section (215), an upper section (210), and a middle section (225) slidably coupled between the lower section and upper section (see sliding slots 245 and par. 0041); a first spring (230L) located at least partially in the lower section (see fig. 9); a second spring (230U) located at least partially in the upper section (see fig. 9); and a washer (270) located between the first and second spring and within the middle section (see fig. 9).
In Re claims 2 and 12, see upper spring retention element (230).
In Re claim 4, see washer (270) and middle section (225).
In Re claims 6 and 18, see Abstract.
In Re claim 7, see middle section sliding channels (245, 260) and upper and lower section prongs (240, 255).
In Re claim 8, the channels (245, 260) are oriented in a direction parallel to the suspension travel.
In Re claims 10 and 17, the washer (270) includes an upward-facing protrusion and a downward-facing protrusion.
In Re claim 11, Canas et al. discloses a stroller (100, fig. 1) comprising: a frame having at least an upper portion (105) and a lower portion (140); a suspension system (see figs. 4-10) coupled between the upper portion and lower portion of the frame and including: a lower section (215); an upper section (210); and a sliding portion (middle section 225) slidably coupled between the lower section and upper section (see sliding slots 245 and par. 0041); a first spring (230L) located at least partially in the lower section (see fig. 9); a second spring (230U) located at least partially in the upper section (see fig. 9); and a washer (270) located between the first and second spring and within the middle section (see fig. 9).
In Re claim 13, see mating flanges (165; fig. 2) for attaching the upper section to the frame.
In Re claim 19, Canas et al. discloses a suspension system (see figs. 4-10) for a stroller (100, fig. 1), comprising: a lower section (215), an upper section (210), and a middle section (225) configured to provide a range of travel between the lower section and upper section (see sliding slots 245 and par. 0041); and a biasing mechanism (see first spring 230L and second spring 230U) biasing the suspension when the stroller is at rest.
In Re claim 20, see first spring (230L); second spring (230U); and Abstract.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Canas et al. (US 2019/0291768) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Minato et al. (US 2011/0298198).
In Re claim 3, Canas et al. further disclose a cap section (210), but fail to disclose a locking mechanism for the stroller.
Minato et al. is related to the art of strollers, and teaches providing a stroller (100) with a folding mechanism and capability, including a locking mechanism (see unlabeled locking tab in figs. 1C-1E, 7a, and 9a-9c, and unlabeled locking protrusion in figs. 7a and 9a-9c) in order to hold the stroller in a folded position. It is common that strollers are designed to be collapsible or foldable so as to fit easily within the trunk of a vehicle, or for transport on public transit or aircraft, etc.. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the stroller of Canas et al. to include a foldable capability and locking mechanism, as taught by Minato et al., to enable the stroller to easily fit within the trunk of a vehicle, or for transport on public transit or aircraft, etc, allowing for easier transportation.
In Re claim 14, Canas et al. fail to disclose that the stroller includes a stowable position.
Minato et al. is related to the art of strollers, and teaches providing a stroller (100) with a folding mechanism and capability. Minato et al. teach that it is common that strollers are designed to be collapsible or foldable so as to fit easily within the trunk of a vehicle, or for transport on public transit or aircraft, etc.. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the stroller of Canas et al. to include a foldable capability, as taught by Minato et al., to enable the stroller to easily fit within the trunk of a vehicle, or for transport on public transit or aircraft, etc, allowing for easier transportation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 15 and 16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/THOMAS W IRVIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616