DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-23 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-37 of U.S. Patent No. 12,071,736. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are fully encompassed by those of U.S. Patent No. 12,071,736.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tyler (US 2008/016759) in view of Kim (US 2005/0120692).
As to claim 1, Tyler discloses a method for controlling water flow along an earth surface, comprising: providing an environmental control device comprising a mesh container 1040 having at least one interior, an exterior surface, and openings of a predetermined approximate size, filling the at least one interior of the mesh container with a filler material; and placing the environmental control device on the earth surface and in a perceived path of the water flow, such that the environmental control device intersects with the perceived path of the water flow in a manner to prevent or slow the water flow.
Tyler does not disclose wherein the mesh comprises biodegradable viscose fibers and wherein the mesh container has a tensile strength of at least about 100 pounds per square inch.
Kim discloses (see para [0030]) a mesh 20 which may be made from biodegradable fiber materials such as wood fibers (i.e. viscose). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make a mesh from biodegradable viscose fibers as disclosed by Kim, since doing so provides the expected benefit of allowing a mesh to degrade thus providing an environmentally safe product.
Tyler does disclose the mesh material can be of any diameter or thickness (see para [0041]) as such providing different degrees of tensile strength. Furthermore, Kim discloses the biodegradable fiber material such as viscose. As such, the biodegradable fiber material (i.e. viscose) is capable of being made to have a desired tensile strength. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a tensile strength of at least about 100 pounds per square inch. because it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
As to claim 2, Tyler discloses (see para [0044]) including the step of sealing a distal end of the at least one interior prior to filling.
As to claim 3, Tyler discloses (see para [0044]) including the step of sealing a proximal end of the at least one interior after filling.
As to claim 4, Tyler discloses (see para [0044]) wherein the step of sealing the distal or proximal end comprises knitting, sewing, folding, welding, stapling, clipping, clamping, tying, knotting, or fastening the end shut.
As to claim 5, Tyler discloses (see para [0014]) wherein the water flow is runoff or storm water.
As to claim 6, Tyler discloses (see para [0014]) wherein the runoff carries substances which are not desired to spread in an environment.
As to claim 7, Tyler is silent to wherein the mesh container has a tensile strength is measured using ASTM standard testing method D4595. Tyler does not disclose measuring tensile strength using ASTM standard testing method D4595; however, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention is capable of testing using ASTM standard testing method D4595, since it is a “standard” testing method.
As to claim 8, Tyler discloses (see para [0038]) wherein the mesh container comprises interlaced yarns.
As to claim 9, Tyler discloses (see para [0038]) wherein the yarns are interlaced by knitting or weaving.
As to claim 10, Tyler discloses (see para [0039]) wherein at least some of the yarns comprise two or more different fibrous components.
As to claim 11, Tyler discloses (see para [0039]-[0040]) wherein the fibrous components are selected from the group consisting of viscose, hemp, flax, and cotton fibers.
As to claim 12, Kim discloses wherein the viscose fibers are fabricated from wood, such wood may be considered soft.
As to claim 13, Kim does not disclose wherein the wood is spruce or poplar. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use spruce or poplar, since doing so is within the routine skill in the art.
As to claim 14, Tyler in view of Kim are silent to wherein the mesh container has a yarn count of at least 800 deniers. Tyler does disclose the mesh material can be of any diameter or thickness (see para [0041]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a yarn count of at least 800 deniers because it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
As to claim 15, Tyler discloses (see para [0021]) wherein the filler material is selected from the group consisting of compost, composted organic materials, organic feedstocks, composted products, mulch, wood shavings, alum, lime, clay, pea gravel, gravel, sand, soil, wood chips, bark, peat, soil blends, straw, hay, leaves, sawdust, paper mill residuals, wood wastes, wood pellets, hemp, bamboo, biosolids, coconut fibers, coir, wheat straw, rice straw, rice hulls, oat straw, soybean hulls, palm wastes, palm leaves, agricultural waste products, manure, wool, hair, sugar cane bagasse, seed hulls, jute, flax, hulls, organic waste, cat litter, plant seeds, plugs, sprigs, spores, fertilizers, flocculants, chemical binders, water absorbers and combinations thereof.
As to claim 16, Tyler discloses (see figure 7, para [0117]-[0123]) wherein an interior of a plurality of environmental control devices are filled, and further including the step of placing a plurality of filled environmental control devices on the earth surface and in the perceived path of the water flow, such that the filled environmental control devices intersect with the perceived path of the water flow in a manner to prevent or slow the water flow.
As to claim 17, Tyler discloses (see para [0014]) further including the step of filtering water from the water flow with the environmental control device.
As to claim 18, Tyler discloses (see para [0018]) further including the step of placing an anchoring tool 1048 (i.e. stake/anchor) through an additional mesh interior of the environmental control device, and securing the environmental control device onto the earth surface.
As to claim 19, Tyler discloses (see para [0014]) wherein the step of placing comprises positioning the environmental control device such that the water flow obstructed by the environmental control system is diverted to a different area to create a runoff diversion.
As to claim 20, Tyler discloses (see para [0014]) wherein the earth surface is a coastal surface.
As to claim 21, Tyler discloses (see para [0014]) wherein the environmental control device is utilized to prevent erosion of an earth surface.
As to claim 22, Tyler discloses (see para [0014]) wherein the environmental control device is used in an application selected from the group consisting of erosion control, sediment control, perimeter control, sediment trap, sediment barrier, slope interruption, check dam, inlet protection, runoff diversion, concrete washout, biofiltration, bioswale, passive filtration, stormwater filtration, wastewater filtration, riser pipe filtration, stormwater pretreatment, wastewater pretreatment, bank stabilization, channel restoration, stream restoration, riparian restoration, wetland restoration, living shoreline restoration, oyster bag restoration, and combinations thereof.
As to claim 23, Tyler discloses (see para [0039]) wherein the mesh container degrades within thirty-six months of placement on the earth surface.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/12/ 26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that it would not have been obvious to provide the mesh container has a tensile strength of at least about 100 pounds per square inch. As stated above, Tyler discloses the mesh container and Kim discloses a mesh container made form biodegradable fibers such as viscose. As such, the viscose material is capable of being made to have any desired tensile strength. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a tensile strength of at least about 100 pounds per square inch. because it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer does not comply with 37 CFR 1.321 because:
This application was filed on or after September 16, 2012. The person who signed the terminal disclaimer is not the applicant, the patentee or an attorney or agent of record. See 37 CFR 1.321(a) and (b).
Please submit a Power of Attorney that gives power to the attorney who is signing the Terminal Disclaimer, along with another copy of the TD, or file a TD that is signed by the applicant. Please resubmit the TD. No fee required.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FREDERICK L LAGMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678