DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a CON of 17/981,892 11/07/2022 PAT 12144516
17/981,892 is a CON of 16/831,721 03/26/2020 PAT 11517337
16/831,721 is a CON of 15/725,161 10/04/2017 PAT 10646240
15/725,161 has PRO 62/405,002 10/06/2016 is acknowledged.
Election/Restriction
This application contains claims directed to the following patentably distinct species:
Species I: Fig. 1A-1C
Species II: Fig. 11A
Species III: Fig. 11B
The species are independent or distinct because they disclose different structural embodiment that that finding one limitation for one embodiment might not read on limitations of another embodiment and that is a burden on examination. In addition, these species are not obvious variants of each other based on the current record.
Applicant is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 to elect a single disclosed species, or a single grouping of patentably indistinct species, for prosecution on the merits to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable. Currently, there is no generic claim.
There is a serious search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species as set forth above because at least the following reason(s) apply:
The species require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries); and/or the prior art applicable to one species would not likely be applicable to another species.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of a species to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species, including any claims subsequently added. An argument that a claim is allowable or that all claims are generic is considered nonresponsive unless accompanied by an election.
The election may be made with or without traverse. To preserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the election of species requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable on the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the species, or groupings of patentably indistinct species from which election is required, are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing them to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the species unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other species.
Upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional species which depend from or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowable generic claim as provided by 37 CFR 1.141.
During a telephone conversation with Jeffrey Young on 12/31/2025 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Species II, Fig. 11A, claims 2-15. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 16-21 withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
However, claims 13-15 also withdrawn from examination for directing toward non-elected species III, Fig. 11B.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “support member” in claim 2.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 objected to because of the following informalities: “a shock wave device” in line 4 should be “the shock wave device”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-4, 6, 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 6210400 to Hebert et al. (Hebert).
Hebert teaches:
Claim 2: A method for generating shock waves to treat calcified lesions in the body of a patient comprising:
introducing a shock wave device of a shock wave system (Fig. 10) into vasculature of a patient, where the shock wave system comprises the shock wave device and a laser generator (Col. 4, ll. 7-9), the shock wave device further comprising:
an elongate member (438, Fig. 10);
a tubular member (448,Fig. 11B) connected to the elongate member (connect via 440, Fig. 11A) and configured to be filled with a fluid (Col. 10, ll. 50-65, Col. 11, ll. 1-14);
a support member (442, Fig. 10) positioned at least partially within the tubular member; and
a plurality of shock wave generators (431, 433, 435, Fig. 11B) that extend along the elongate member and into the tubular member, where each shock wave generator includes an optical fiber (431, 433, 435, Fig. 11B) for propagating laser pulses, wherein at least one of the optical fibers has a different length than at least one other of the optical fibers (Fig. 11B);
advancing the shock wave device to a region within the vasculature having calcified deposits;
filling the tubular member with a fluid; and
activating the laser generator such that each optical fiber emits laser pulses to generate shock waves in response to the laser pulses being generated by the laser generator. (Abstract) (Col. 10, ll. 50-65, Col. 11, ll. 1-14)
Claim 3: Each optical fiber (431, 433, 435, Fig. 11B) is configured to emit laser pulses for absorption by tissue (Functional limitation) (Col. 2, ll. 5-12).
Claim 4: Each optical fiber (431, 433, 435, Fig. 11B) is configured to emit laser pulses for microablation of tissue subsequent to absorption (Functional limitation, the laser in Hebert is also creating laser pulse and is capable of doing such).
Claim 6: The optical fibers (431, 433, 435, Fig. 11B) are configured to propagate laser pulses into the fluid within the tubular member to form vapor bubbles (functional limitation, the laser in Hebert is creating expansion and collapsing of the bubbles, abstract, would create vapor bubbles).
Claim 10: The optical fibers (431, 433, 435, Fig. 11B) are configured to propagate laser energy into pigmented tissue to generate a shock wave (functional limitation).
Claim 11: Each optical fiber of the plurality of shock wave generators (431, 433, 435, Fig. 11B) is coupled to the laser generator.
Claim 12: The optical fibers (431, 433, 435, Fig. 11B) are configured to propagate laser energy into the fluid within the tubular member to generate a shock wave (Fig. 11B) (Col. 10, ll. 50-65, Col. 11, ll. 1-14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hebert in view of US 2016/0184022 to Grace et al. (Grace).
Hebert teaches:
The method of claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above).
Hebert fails to teach:
Claim 5: The laser generator is an excimer laser.
Claim 7: The fluid within the tubular member comprises saline.
Grace teaches:
Claim 5: In the same field as endeavor, an ablation system (100, Fig. 1) comprises using excimer laser (130, para. 0224).
Claim 7: The fluid within the tubular member comprises saline (para. 0232).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to employ excimer laser as taught by Grace into Hebert in order to enhance ablating atherosclerotic material.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 8, the prior art fails to disclose the tubular member has a loop portion and one or more shock wave generators are positioned within the loop portion. Prior art Hebert discloses the tubular member with shock wave generators within the tubular member but fails to disclose the loop portion as claimed.
Conclusion
y inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PHONG SON DANG whose telephone number is (571)270-5809. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5.
/PHONG SON H DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771