DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-4, in the reply filed on 09/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 5 of claim appears to contain a typographical error with regard to the phrase “the negative charge.” For the purpose of this office action, the limitation will be treated as if it refers to the negative charges. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, line 1 of claim 3 recites “a surface passivation process,” and line 3 of claim 2, from which claim 3 depends, recites “a surface passivation process,” and it is therefore unclear as to whether the surface passivation process recited in claim 3 is referring to the surface passivation process recited in claim 2, or is in addition to the surface passivation process recited in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2020/0325391 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a photovoltaic cell (abstract) comprising: a
transparent lower electrode layer ([0094], FTO/c-TiO2 substrate); a photoactive layer ([0094], CsPbT3-PQD thin film); and an upper electrode ([0095], metal electrode), wherein the photoactive layer is formed of a perovskite quantum dot ([0094], CsPbT3-PQD thin film).
With regard to the limitations “indoor,” “through which indoor light passes,” “that generates excitons by the indoor light and separates the excitons into positive and negative charges,” and “that absorbs the negative charges,” the limitations are directed to the manner in which the apparatus is intended to be used, and it is noted that a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115.
It is further noted that neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. Said limitations do not differentiate apparatus claims from prior art. See MPEP § 2114 and 2115. Further, it has been held that process limitations do not have patentable weight in an apparatus claim. See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969) that states “Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and to an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.”
Additionally, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
While Kim does disclose the photoactive layer is formed by forming the perovskite quantum dot layer into a thin film ([0091],[0092]) using an LBL deposition method (Fig. 1; [0028], [0085]) and a surface passivation layer ([0092]), it is noted that the limitation “wherein the photoactive layer is formed by forming the perovskite quantum dot into a thin film of a predetermined thickness using an LBL deposition method and then performing a surface passivation process” is directed to the manner in which the product is made, it is noted that said limitations are not given patentable weight in the product claims. Even though a product-by-process is defined by the process steps by which the product is made, determination of patentability is based on the product itself and does not depend on its method of production. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 227 USPQ 964 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Kim further discloses a charge transport layer between the photoactive layer and the upper electrode layer, wherein the charge transport layer is formed of Spiro-OMeTAD ([0095]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0325391 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, in view of Pitaro et al. (“A carbazole-based self-assembled monolayer as the hole transport layer for efficient and stable Cs0.25FA0.75Sn0.5Pb0.5I3 solar cells”).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
While Kim does disclose the process of adding a ligand solution to exchange
surface ligands ([0039]), in which long carbon chain ligands are replaced with short chain ligands ([0039], [0092], Fig. 1); Kim does not explicitly disclose the surface passivation process is performed to replace a long-chain insulating organic ligand on the surface of the perovskite quantum dot with 2PACz conjugated with a short chain.
Pitaro discloses a photovoltaic cell (abstract) and further discloses forming a 2PACz layer on the perovskite active layer (last paragraph on page 11759), and that the perovskite solar cells fabricated using 2PACz and Br-2PACz as HTLs display greatly improved efficiencies (last paragraph on page 11759, first paragraph on page 11760).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the perovskite solar cell of Kim using 2PACz or Br-2PACz, as disclosed by Pitaro, because as taught by Pitaro, the perovskite solar cells fabricated using 2PACz and Br-2PACz as HTLs display greatly improved efficiencies (last paragraph on page 11759, first paragraph on page 11760).
Conclusion
/TAMIR AYAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726