DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Applicant's “Amendment” filed on 4/2/2026 has been considered.
Rejection to Claims 1-16 under nonstatutory double patenting have not been overcome.
Claims 21, 23, 29, 31, 38 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are cancelled.
Claims 21-40 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application No. 2012/0232879 A1 to Iyengar in view of U.S. Patent Application No. 2016/0032918 A1 to Wagner in view of US 8914300 B2 to SUSTAETA.
Regarding Claim 21, IYENGAR discloses a computing device for a system comprising:
one or more processors configured with non-transitory computer executable instructions to electronically receive data regarding the system; to perform a simulation of a virtual system that includes a set of components relating to the system using the data, and to analyze a result of the simulation based on one or more settings of the virtual system and one or more settings of the set of components; Iyengar discloses “component reporting parameters are received by the computer processor 106. The reporting parameters 204 indicate one or more data center components to be included in the slicing report 214. The processor 106 may also receive time reporting parameters 208. The time reporting parameters 208 indicate one or more time intervals within the time period over which overall energy efficiency is estimated.” (Iyengar, [0038]). Iyengar further discloses “the intermediate data 150 includes simulation results per data center component per time interval in different time intervals within the time period over which overall energy efficiency is estimated.” (Iyengar, [0039]).
a modeling graphical user interface (GUI) for modeling the virtual system, the modeling GUI configured to display a settings adjustment interface for adjusting at least one of a system setting and a component setting of the virtual system; Iyengar discloses “The user interface 702 further includes a simulation results section 720. This portion of the display shows plots of the simulation results.” (Iyengar, [0075]). Iyengar further discloses “displaying the retrieved results of the one or more simulations. In other embodiments for the invention, results from the simulation may indicate the total energy consumption for the data center, energy consumption per data center component, total energy consumption for the data center per time interval in a plurality of time intervals within the time period over which overall energy efficiency is estimated, energy consumption per data center component per time interval in a plurality of time intervals within the time period over which overall energy efficiency is estimated, average server room temperature for the time period over which overall energy efficiency is estimated, and/or maximum server room temperature for the time period over which overall energy efficiency is estimated.” (Iyengar, [0052]). Iyengar further discloses “The "standard results" section 712 allows users to view pre-defined plots of the simulation results. The pre-defined plots of the simulation results may include, for example, a breakdown of the data center expenses by functional unit (IT, cooling, electrical power, etc.), the power loss for specific cooling equipment (chiller, cooling tower, pump etc.), coefficient of performance plots.” (Iyengar, [0076]).
a visual results interface configured to show virtual models of the virtual system, Iyengar discloses “FIG. 7 shows an example user-interface (UI) 702 for a simulator contemplated by the present invention. The user interface 702 includes a schematic section 710. The schematic section 710 displays a power consumption model of the data center facility under simulation. This section provides the user with a visualization of the data center facility being analyzed. As the user enters data center operating parameters, the schematic section 710 is automatically updated to display a representation of current data center configuration.” (Iyengar, [0071]). Iyengar further discloses “FIG. 6 shows an example schematic of a data center facility that may be simulated by the simulation tool discussed above. It is noted that the simulation tool may be used to simulate countless other configurations of data center facilities. The facility includes a data center building 602. As shown, the data center building contains server racks, a raised floor and air conditioning units.” (Iyengar, [0068]).
a financial results interface configured to show operating costs of the simulated virtual system, and Iyengar discloses “displaying the retrieved results of the one or more simulations. In other embodiments for the invention, results from the simulation may indicate the total energy consumption for the data center, energy consumption per data center component, total energy consumption for the data center per time interval in a plurality of time intervals within the time period over which overall energy efficiency is estimated, energy consumption per data center component per time interval in a plurality of time intervals within the time period over which overall energy efficiency is estimated, average server room temperature for the time period over which overall energy efficiency is estimated, and/or maximum server room temperature for the time period over which overall energy efficiency is estimated.” (Iyengar, [0052]). Iyengar further discloses “The "standard results" section 712 allows users to view pre-defined plots of the simulation results. The pre-defined plots of the simulation results may include, for example, a breakdown of the data center expenses by functional unit (IT, cooling, electrical power, etc.), the power loss for specific cooling equipment (chiller, cooling tower, pump etc.), coefficient of performance plots.” (Iyengar, [0076]).
wherein the third portion is configured to display a schematic model of the virtual system. Iyengar discloses “FIG. 7 shows an example user-interface (UI) 702 for a simulator contemplated by the present invention. The user interface 702 includes a schematic section 710. The schematic section 710 displays a power consumption model of the data center facility under simulation. This section provides the user with a visualization of the data center facility being analyzed. As the user enters data center operating parameters, the schematic section 710 is automatically updated to display a representation of current data center configuration.” (Iyengar, [0071]). Iyengar further discloses “FIG. 6 shows an example schematic of a data center facility that may be simulated by the simulation tool discussed above. It is noted that the simulation tool may be used to simulate countless other configurations of data center facilities. The facility includes a data center building 602. As shown, the data center building contains server racks, a raised floor and air conditioning units.” (Iyengar, [0068]).
a system simulation results interface including a visual layout of the simulated virtual system.. (Fig 7 displays the first portion 720 within a first static boundary (a black rectangle), a second portion 712 within a first static boundary (the box around “Standard results and the OK button”), a third portion 710 within a third static boundary (a black rectangle). All of these are displayed at the same time within graphical user interface 702.
But does not explicitly disclose the system is a compressed air system; wherein the modeling GUI is configured to construct the virtual compressed air system by selecting compressed air system components from a component library and interconnecting the selected components to define a virtual system arrangement prior to performing the simulation..
WAGNER, on the other hand, teaches a compressed air system. Wagner teaches “a method for monitoring a compressor system comprising one or more compressors and one or more peripheral devices is proposed, wherein the compressors and peripheral devices are arranged or connected in a predetermined configuration; wherein the compressor system is controlled and/or monitored by a control/monitoring unit; wherein the method produces a prediction for the next maintenance deadline of the compressor system or of individual compressors or individual peripheral devices; wherein after the production of the compressor system, the concretely provided configuration is input in the form of a P&I diagram by an editor (23) and this inputting forms the basis for one or more output models (M1, M2, . . . ); wherein on the basis of the output models (M1, M2, . . . ), one or more derived models ([tilde over (M)].sub.a, [tilde over (M)].sub.b, . . . ) are produced which take into account operational relationships between the individual compressors (11, 12, 13) and the peripheral devices (14 to 21) and, if appropriate, also dynamic processes; and wherein a prediction for the next maintenance deadline is produced taking into account standardized operational data of the compressor system using the derived model or models ([tilde over (M)].sub.a, [tilde over (M)].sub.b, . . . ).” (Wagner, [0064]). Wagner further teaches “Monitoring is to be understood as meaning any form of evaluation, that is to say not only monitoring for malfunctions, unusual operating states, alarm situations etc., but also diagnostics, in particular in the case of an already present fault message, an evaluation with respect to optimization or an evaluation for predicting the next maintenance deadline (predictive maintenance).” (Wagner, [0091]). Wagner further teaches “For the aspect of reliability of the compressor system, it is possible, for example, to make a quantitative statement in the sense of a mean-time-to-failure quantification, for example 10,000 hours. A statement which clarifies the reliability of the compressor system can, however, also be made qualitatively, for example as follows: the reliability of the compressor system is evaluated as "high", "medium", "low".” (Wagner, [0108]). Wagner further teaches “It is also possible to use models for monitoring compressor systems. By comparing the behavior of the real process with the model of the real process it is possible to detect if a behavior occurs in the real process which has not been expected in such a form (at least taking into account the model).” (Wagner, [0113]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the device, as taught by Iyengar, the features as taught by Wagner, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iyengar, to include the teachings of Wagner, in order to take into account interrelationships among individual compressors and peripheral devices (Wagner, [0007]).
SUSTAETA, on the other hand, teaches wherein the modeling GUI is configured to construct the virtual compressed air system by selecting compressed air system components from a component library and interconnecting the selected components to define a virtual system arrangement prior to performing the simulation. ([Col 56 Ln 50-65] enterprise resource planning (ERP) component 184 can include training component 2214 that can utilize previously constructed models to dynamically simulate various outcomes in order to provide a training sandbox (component library) wherein apprentice users and/or seasoned professional production facility managers can test various plant and production configurations (interconnecting components in a virtual system arrangement) in order to learn the best ways of optimizing and/or maximizing a production process. Alternatively, training component 2214 can be used to inject serious fault and anomalous conditions to determine the response of the system, the operator response, and the reaction of the system to the operator's response. A sequence of stimulus-response events can be generated and evaluated. [Col 44 Ln 25-50] [Col 1 Ln 55-Col 2 Ln 5] Many industrial processes and machines are controlled and/or powered by electric motors. Such processes and machines include pumps providing fluid transport for chemical and other processes, fans, conveyor systems, compressors, gear boxes, motion control devices, HVAC systems, screw pumps, and mixers, as well as hydraulic and pneumatic machines driven by motors. Such motors are combined with other system components, such as valves, pumps, furnaces, heaters, chillers, conveyor rollers, fans, compressors, gearboxes, and the like, as well as with appropriate power control devices such as motor starters and motor drives, to form industrial machines and actuators. For example, an electric motor may be combined with a motor drive providing variable electrical power to the motor, as well as with a pump, whereby the motor rotates the pump shaft to create a controllable pumping system.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the device, as taught by Iyengar, the features as taught by SUSTAETA, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iyengar, to include the teachings of SUSTAETA, in order to optimize specifically defined operational and performance objectives (SUSTAETA, [Col 1 Ln 39-40]).
Regarding Claim 22, IYENGAR in view of WAGNER teaches the computing device of claim 21.
IYENGAR discloses wherein the set of components includes at least one of a compressor, a dryer, a filter, a regulator, a pipe, a pipe fitting, a point-of-use tool, a hose, a valve, a drain, an air receiver, a separator, a lubricator, a cooler, a safety device, a treatment component, and a customizable component.. ([0034] Regression models may be used for chiller plants to predict the compressor power consumption)
Regarding Claim 23, IYENGAR in view of WAGNER teaches the computing device of claim 21.
IYENGAR discloses wherein the compressed air system component library includes a template, the template including at least one of a component combination template, a pre-built common compressor room, a factory floor layout, and a header network. ([0030] The system 102 may receive a plurality of data center parameters 138. The data center parameters 138 may include the number of data center buildings, number of floors, number of server rooms, size of server rooms, maximum server room temperature, and operating hours of the data center.)
Regarding Claim 24, IYENGAR in view of WAGNER teaches the computing device of claim 21.
WAGNER teaches wherein the settings adjustment interface includes a system settings interface to adjust at least one of a pressure, flow, relative humidity, temperature, energy consumption, energy cost, atmospheric pressure, and altitude of the virtual compressed air system.. ([0013] Conceivable aspects which may give rise to an aspect-specific model are, by way of example but not exhaustively: moisture, pressure loss, quality of compressed air, pressure quality, pressure behavior, energy efficiency, energy take-up, energy balance, temperatures, volume flows/mass flows, costs, reserve margin and/or reliability.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the device, as taught by Iyengar, the features as taught by Wagner, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iyengar, to include the teachings of Wagner, in order to take into account interrelationships among individual compressors and peripheral devices (Wagner, [0007]).
Regarding Claim 25, IYENGAR in view of WAGNER teaches the computing device of claim 21.
WAGNER teaches wherein the settings adjustment interface includes a selected component settings interface to adjust at a component setting, the component setting being at least one of a geometrical or performance parameter of a selected component. ([0013] Conceivable aspects which may give rise to an aspect-specific model are, by way of example but not exhaustively: moisture, pressure loss, quality of compressed air, pressure quality, pressure behavior, energy efficiency, energy take-up, energy balance, temperatures, volume flows/mass flows, costs, reserve margin and/or reliability. [0031] In a further optional embodiment, there may be provision that when the output model M.sub.1, M.sub.2, . . . changes or when one or more component models KM change, for example since structural changes are made to the compressor system, the derived model or models are also adapted.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the device, as taught by Iyengar, the features as taught by Wagner, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iyengar, to include the teachings of Wagner, in order to take into account interrelationships among individual compressors and peripheral devices (Wagner, [0007]).
Regarding Claim 26, IYENGAR in view of WAGNER teaches the computing device of claim 25.
WAGNER teaches wherein the component setting is at least one of a compressor pressure set point, a dryer dew point, a flow demand, a humidity, and a temperature of the selected component. ([0013] Conceivable aspects which may give rise to an aspect-specific model are, by way of example but not exhaustively: moisture, pressure loss, quality of compressed air, pressure quality, pressure behavior, energy efficiency, energy take-up, energy balance, temperatures, volume flows/mass flows, costs, reserve margin and/or reliability. [0102] given peripheral conditions (for example required pressure to be complied with) of the compressor system. This involves an optimization which is applied in real time (online application).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the device, as taught by Iyengar, the features as taught by Wagner, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iyengar, to include the teachings of Wagner, in order to take into account interrelationships among individual compressors and peripheral devices (Wagner, [0007]).
Regarding Claim 27, IYENGAR in view of WAGNER teaches the computing device of claim 21.
WAGNER teaches wherein a feedback graphical user interface (GUI) is configured to communicate results, the feedback GUI configured to return to the modeling GUI to modify the virtual compressed air system. (Wagner, [0091]); “the switching actions at compressors are used to determine the effective buffer volume by the change in the gradient of the pressure sensor 26 which is mounted on the compressed air accumulator 21. The calculation of the buffer volume is carried out by comparing the pressure gradient before the switching action with the pressure gradient after the switching action.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the device, as taught by Iyengar, the features as taught by Wagner, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iyengar, to include the teachings of Wagner, in order to take into account interrelationships among individual compressors and peripheral devices (Wagner, [0007]).
Regarding Claim 28, IYENGAR in view of WAGNER teaches the computing device of claim 21.
IYENGAR discloses wherein the financial results interface includes at least one of a bill of materials (BOM), a budget, a return on investment (ROI), and a total cost of ownership (TCO). Iyengar discloses [0029] The system 102 may receive a plurality of cost parameters 134 indicating unit costs of energy resources consumed by the data center. These energy resources may include electrical power, natural gas, and/or water utilized by the data center. [0033] Simulating the operation and interaction of the data center components may further include using one or more of the cost parameters 134. “The computer system 102 shown in FIG. 1 is additionally configured to communicate with several databases in a way that allows the computer processor 106 to save data in the databases, query the databases for previously saved data, and receive data from the databases (illustrated by arrows 140, 144, 148, and 152). In general, a database can be any persistent computer storage that allows the computer processor to write and read data.” (Iyengar, [0021]). Iyengar further discloses “The simulation results 158 may be output to a user terminal or a results database 154. The results database 154 stores the results of a plurality of simulations of the operation and interaction of the data center components.” (Iyengar, [0031]). Iyengar further discloses “Using the simulation results 158, the computer processor 106 can determine an optimal data center configuration based on the data center parameters 136. The computer processor 106 is further configured to store the results of the simulation of the operation and interaction of the data center components in the results database 154. The computer processor 106 can further receive simulation reporting parameters indicating simulations of the operation and interaction of the data center components. The results database 154 may be queried based on the simulation reporting parameters to retrieve the results of one or more simulations, and display the retrieved results.” (Iyengar, [0035]).
Regarding Claim 29, IYENGAR discloses A computing device for a compressed air system comprising:
one or more processors configured with non-transitory computer executable instructions to electronically receive data regarding the system; to perform a simulation of a virtual system that includes a set of components relating to the system using the data, and to analyze a result of the simulation based on one or more settings of the virtual system and one or more settings of the set of components; Iyengar discloses “component reporting parameters are received by the computer processor 106. The reporting parameters 204 indicate one or more data center components to be included in the slicing report 214. The processor 106 may also receive time reporting parameters 208. The time reporting parameters 208 indicate one or more time intervals within the time period over which overall energy efficiency is estimated.” (Iyengar, [0038]). Iyengar further discloses “the intermediate data 150 includes simulation results per data center component per time interval in different time intervals within the time period over which overall energy efficiency is estimated.” (Iyengar, [0039]).
and modeling graphical user interface (GUI) for modeling the virtual system, the modeling GUI configured to display a settings adjustment interface for adjusting at least one of a system setting and a component setting of the virtual system. Iyengar discloses “The user interface 702 further includes a simulation results section 720. This portion of the display shows plots of the simulation results.” (Iyengar, [0075]). Iyengar further discloses “displaying the retrieved results of the one or more simulations. In other embodiments for the invention, results from the simulation may indicate the total energy consumption for the data center, energy consumption per data center component, total energy consumption for the data center per time interval in a plurality of time intervals within the time period over which overall energy efficiency is estimated, energy consumption per data center component per time interval in a plurality of time intervals within the time period over which overall energy efficiency is estimated, average server room temperature for the time period over which overall energy efficiency is estimated, and/or maximum server room temperature for the time period over which overall energy efficiency is estimated.” (Iyengar, [0052]). Iyengar further discloses “The "standard results" section 712 allows users to view pre-defined plots of the simulation results. The pre-defined plots of the simulation results may include, for example, a breakdown of the data center expenses by functional unit (IT, cooling, electrical power, etc.), the power loss for specific cooling equipment (chiller, cooling tower, pump etc.), coefficient of performance plots.” (Iyengar, [0076]). Iyengar discloses “FIG. 7 shows an example user-interface (UI) 702 for a simulator contemplated by the present invention. The user interface 702 includes a schematic section 710. The schematic section 710 displays a power consumption model of the data center facility under simulation. This section provides the user with a visualization of the data center facility being analyzed. As the user enters data center operating parameters, the schematic section 710 is automatically updated to display a representation of current data center configuration.” (Iyengar, [0071]). Iyengar further discloses “FIG. 6 shows an example schematic of a data center facility that may be simulated by the simulation tool discussed above. It is noted that the simulation tool may be used to simulate countless other configurations of data center facilities. The facility includes a data center building 602. As shown, the data center building contains server racks, a raised floor and air conditioning units.” (Iyengar, [0068]).
But does not explicitly disclose the system is a compressed air system; wherein the modeling GUI is configured to construct the virtual compressed air system by selecting compressed air system components from a component library and interconnecting the selected components to define a virtual system arrangement prior to performing the simulation.
WAGNER, on the other hand, teaches a compressed air system. Wagner teaches “a method for monitoring a compressor system comprising one or more compressors and one or more peripheral devices is proposed, wherein the compressors and peripheral devices are arranged or connected in a predetermined configuration; wherein the compressor system is controlled and/or monitored by a control/monitoring unit; wherein the method produces a prediction for the next maintenance deadline of the compressor system or of individual compressors or individual peripheral devices; wherein after the production of the compressor system, the concretely provided configuration is input in the form of a P&I diagram by an editor (23) and this inputting forms the basis for one or more output models (M1, M2, . . . ); wherein on the basis of the output models (M1, M2, . . . ), one or more derived models ([tilde over (M)].sub.a, [tilde over (M)].sub.b, . . . ) are produced which take into account operational relationships between the individual compressors (11, 12, 13) and the peripheral devices (14 to 21) and, if appropriate, also dynamic processes; and wherein a prediction for the next maintenance deadline is produced taking into account standardized operational data of the compressor system using the derived model or models ([tilde over (M)].sub.a, [tilde over (M)].sub.b, . . . ).” (Wagner, [0064]). Wagner further teaches “Monitoring is to be understood as meaning any form of evaluation, that is to say not only monitoring for malfunctions, unusual operating states, alarm situations etc., but also diagnostics, in particular in the case of an already present fault message, an evaluation with respect to optimization or an evaluation for predicting the next maintenance deadline (predictive maintenance).” (Wagner, [0091]). Wagner further teaches “For the aspect of reliability of the compressor system, it is possible, for example, to make a quantitative statement in the sense of a mean-time-to-failure quantification, for example 10,000 hours. A statement which clarifies the reliability of the compressor system can, however, also be made qualitatively, for example as follows: the reliability of the compressor system is evaluated as "high", "medium", "low".” (Wagner, [0108]). Wagner further teaches “It is also possible to use models for monitoring compressor systems. By comparing the behavior of the real process with the model of the real process it is possible to detect if a behavior occurs in the real process which has not been expected in such a form (at least taking into account the model).” (Wagner, [0113]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the device, as taught by Iyengar, the features as taught by Wagner, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iyengar, to include the teachings of Wagner, in order to take into account interrelationships among individual compressors and peripheral devices (Wagner, [0007]).
SUSTAETA, on the other hand, teaches wherein the modeling GUI is configured to construct the virtual compressed air system by selecting compressed air system components from a component library and interconnecting the selected components to define a virtual system arrangement prior to performing the simulation. ([Col 56 Ln 50-65] enterprise resource planning (ERP) component 184 can include training component 2214 that can utilize previously constructed models to dynamically simulate various outcomes in order to provide a training sandbox (component library) wherein apprentice users and/or seasoned professional production facility managers can test various plant and production configurations (interconnecting components in a virtual system arrangement) in order to learn the best ways of optimizing and/or maximizing a production process. Alternatively, training component 2214 can be used to inject serious fault and anomalous conditions to determine the response of the system, the operator response, and the reaction of the system to the operator's response. A sequence of stimulus-response events can be generated and evaluated. [Col 44 Ln 25-50] [Col 1 Ln 55-Col 2 Ln 5] Many industrial processes and machines are controlled and/or powered by electric motors. Such processes and machines include pumps providing fluid transport for chemical and other processes, fans, conveyor systems, compressors, gear boxes, motion control devices, HVAC systems, screw pumps, and mixers, as well as hydraulic and pneumatic machines driven by motors. Such motors are combined with other system components, such as valves, pumps, furnaces, heaters, chillers, conveyor rollers, fans, compressors, gearboxes, and the like, as well as with appropriate power control devices such as motor starters and motor drives, to form industrial machines and actuators. For example, an electric motor may be combined with a motor drive providing variable electrical power to the motor, as well as with a pump, whereby the motor rotates the pump shaft to create a controllable pumping system.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the device, as taught by Iyengar, the features as taught by SUSTAETA, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iyengar, to include the teachings of SUSTAETA, in order to optimize specifically defined operational and performance objectives (SUSTAETA, [Col 1 Ln 39-40]).
Claim 30 recites a computing device comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 22. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 22.
Claim 31 recites a computing device comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 23. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 23.
Claim 32 recites a computing device comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 24. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 24.
Claim 33 recites a computing device comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 25. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 25.
Claim 34 recites a computing device comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 26. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 26.
Regarding Claim 35, IYENGAR in view of WAGNER teaches computing device of claim 29.
IYENGAR discloses further comprising a feedback graphical user interface (GUI) for communicating simulation results, the feedback GUI including: a visual results interface configured to show virtual models of the virtual compressed air system, a financial results interface configured to show operating costs of the simulated virtual compressed air system, and a system simulation results interface including a visual layout of the simulated virtual compressed air system. Iyengar discloses “displaying the retrieved results of the one or more simulations. In other embodiments for the invention, results from the simulation may indicate the total energy consumption for the data center, energy consumption per data center component, total energy consumption for the data center per time interval in a plurality of time intervals within the time period over which overall energy efficiency is estimated, energy consumption per data center component per time interval in a plurality of time intervals within the time period over which overall energy efficiency is estimated, average server room temperature for the time period over which overall energy efficiency is estimated, and/or maximum server room temperature for the time period over which overall energy efficiency is estimated.” (Iyengar, [0052]). Iyengar further discloses “The "standard results" section 712 allows users to view pre-defined plots of the simulation results. The pre-defined plots of the simulation results may include, for example, a breakdown of the data center expenses by functional unit (IT, cooling, electrical power, etc.), the power loss for specific cooling equipment (chiller, cooling tower, pump etc.), coefficient of performance plots.” (Iyengar, [0076]). (Fig 7 displays the first portion 720 within a first static boundary (a black rectangle), a second portion 712 within a first static boundary (the box around “Standard results and the OK button”), a third portion 710 within a third static boundary (a black rectangle). All of these are displayed at the same time within graphical user interface 702.
Claim 36 recites a computing device comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 27. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 27.
Claim 37 recites a computing device comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 28. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 28.
Regarding Claim 38, IYENGAR discloses a computing device for a system comprising:
one or more processors configured with non-transitory computer executable instructions to electronically receive data regarding the system; to perform a simulation of a virtual system that includes a set of components relating to the system using the data, and to analyze a result of the simulation based on one or more settings of the virtual system and one or more settings of the set of components; Iyengar discloses “component reporting parameters are received by the computer processor 106. The reporting parameters 204 indicate one or more data center components to be included in the slicing report 214. The processor 106 may also receive time reporting parameters 208. The time reporting parameters 208 indicate one or more time intervals within the time period over which overall energy efficiency is estimated.” (Iyengar, [0038]). Iyengar further discloses “the intermediate data 150 includes simulation results per data center component per time interval in different time intervals within the time period over which overall energy efficiency is estimated.” (Iyengar, [0039]).
a modeling graphical user interface (GUI) for modeling the virtual system, the modeling GUI configured to display a settings adjustment interface for adjusting at least one of a system setting and a component setting of the virtual system; Iyengar discloses “The user interface 702 further includes a simulation results section 720. This portion of the display shows plots of the simulation results.” (Iyengar, [0075]). Iyengar further discloses “displaying the retrieved results of the one or more simulations. In other embodiments for the invention, results from the simulation may indicate the total energy consumption for the data center, energy consumption per data center component, total energy consumption for the data center per time interval in a plurality of time intervals within the time period over which overall energy efficiency is estimated, energy consumption per data center component per time interval in a plurality of time intervals within the time period over which overall energy efficiency is estimated, average server room temperature for the time period over which overall energy efficiency is estimated, and/or maximum server room temperature for the time period over which overall energy efficiency is estimated.” (Iyengar, [0052]). Iyengar further discloses “The "standard results" section 712 allows users to view pre-defined plots of the simulation results. The pre-defined plots of the simulation results may include, for example, a breakdown of the data center expenses by functional unit (IT, cooling, electrical power, etc.), the power loss for specific cooling equipment (chiller, cooling tower, pump etc.), coefficient of performance plots.” (Iyengar, [0076]).
and a feedback graphical user interface (GUI) for communicating simulation results, the feedback GUI including: Iyengar discloses “FIG. 7 shows an example user-interface (UI) 702 for a simulator contemplated by the present invention. The user interface 702 includes a schematic section 710. The schematic section 710 displays a power consumption model of the data center facility under simulation. This section provides the user with a visualization of the data center facility being analyzed. As the user enters data center operating parameters, the schematic section 710 is automatically updated to display a representation of current data center configuration.” (Iyengar, [0071]). Iyengar further discloses “FIG. 6 shows an example schematic of a data center facility that may be simulated by the simulation tool discussed above. It is noted that the simulation tool may be used to simulate countless other configurations of data center facilities. The facility includes a data center building 602. As shown, the data center building contains server racks, a raised floor and air conditioning units.” (Iyengar, [0068]).
a system simulation results interface including a visual layout of the simulated virtual system.. (Fig 7 displays the first portion 720 within a first static boundary (a black rectangle), a second portion 712 within a first static boundary (the box around “Standard results and the OK button”), a third portion 710 within a third static boundary (a black rectangle). All of these are displayed at the same time within graphical user interface 702.
a visual results interface configured to show virtual models of the virtual system, Iyengar discloses “FIG. 7 shows an example user-interface (UI) 702 for a simulator contemplated by the present invention. The user interface 702 includes a schematic section 710. The schematic section 710 displays a power consumption model of the data center facility under simulation. This section provides the user with a visualization of the data center facility being analyzed. As the user enters data center operating parameters, the schematic section 710 is automatically updated to display a representation of current data center configuration.” (Iyengar, [0071]). Iyengar further discloses “FIG. 6 shows an example schematic of a data center facility that may be simulated by the simulation tool discussed above. It is noted that the simulation tool may be used to simulate countless other configurations of data center facilities. The facility includes a data center building 602. As shown, the data center building contains server racks, a raised floor and air conditioning units.” (Iyengar, [0068]).
a financial results interface configured to show operating costs of the simulated virtual system, and Iyengar discloses “displaying the retrieved results of the one or more simulations. In other embodiments for the invention, results from the simulation may indicate the total energy consumption for the data center, energy consumption per data center component, total energy consumption for the data center per time interval in a plurality of time intervals within the time period over which overall energy efficiency is estimated, energy consumption per data center component per time interval in a plurality of time intervals within the time period over which overall energy efficiency is estimated, average server room temperature for the time period over which overall energy efficiency is estimated, and/or maximum server room temperature for the time period over which overall energy efficiency is estimated.” (Iyengar, [0052]). Iyengar further discloses “The "standard results" section 712 allows users to view pre-defined plots of the simulation results. The pre-defined plots of the simulation results may include, for example, a breakdown of the data center expenses by functional unit (IT, cooling, electrical power, etc.), the power loss for specific cooling equipment (chiller, cooling tower, pump etc.), coefficient of performance plots.” (Iyengar, [0076]).
But does not explicitly disclose the system is a compressed air system; wherein the modeling GUI is configured to construct the virtual compressed air system by selecting compressed air system components from a component library and interconnecting the selected components to define a virtual system arrangement prior to performing the simulation..
WAGNER, on the other hand, teaches a compressed air system. Wagner teaches “a method for monitoring a compressor system comprising one or more compressors and one or more peripheral devices is proposed, wherein the compressors and peripheral devices are arranged or connected in a predetermined configuration; wherein the compressor system is controlled and/or monitored by a control/monitoring unit; wherein the method produces a prediction for the next maintenance deadline of the compressor system or of individual compressors or individual peripheral devices; wherein after the production of the compressor system, the concretely provided configuration is input in the form of a P&I diagram by an editor (23) and this inputting forms the basis for one or more output models (M1, M2, . . . ); wherein on the basis of the output models (M1, M2, . . . ), one or more derived models ([tilde over (M)].sub.a, [tilde over (M)].sub.b, . . . ) are produced which take into account operational relationships between the individual compressors (11, 12, 13) and the peripheral devices (14 to 21) and, if appropriate, also dynamic processes; and wherein a prediction for the next maintenance deadline is produced taking into account standardized operational data of the compressor system using the derived model or models ([tilde over (M)].sub.a, [tilde over (M)].sub.b, . . . ).” (Wagner, [0064]). Wagner further teaches “Monitoring is to be understood as meaning any form of evaluation, that is to say not only monitoring for malfunctions, unusual operating states, alarm situations etc., but also diagnostics, in particular in the case of an already present fault message, an evaluation with respect to optimization or an evaluation for predicting the next maintenance deadline (predictive maintenance).” (Wagner, [0091]). Wagner further teaches “For the aspect of reliability of the compressor system, it is possible, for example, to make a quantitative statement in the sense of a mean-time-to-failure quantification, for example 10,000 hours. A statement which clarifies the reliability of the compressor system can, however, also be made qualitatively, for example as follows: the reliability of the compressor system is evaluated as "high", "medium", "low".” (Wagner, [0108]). Wagner further teaches “It is also possible to use models for monitoring compressor systems. By comparing the behavior of the real process with the model of the real process it is possible to detect if a behavior occurs in the real process which has not been expected in such a form (at least taking into account the model).” (Wagner, [0113]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the device, as taught by Iyengar, the features as taught by Wagner, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iyengar, to include the teachings of Wagner, in order to take into account interrelationships among individual compressors and peripheral devices (Wagner, [0007]).
SUSTAETA, on the other hand, teaches wherein the modeling GUI is configured to construct the virtual compressed air system by selecting compressed air system components from a component library and interconnecting the selected components to define a virtual system arrangement prior to performing the simulation. ([Col 56 Ln 50-65] enterprise resource planning (ERP) component 184 can include training component 2214 that can utilize previously constructed models to dynamically simulate various outcomes in order to provide a training sandbox (component library) wherein apprentice users and/or seasoned professional production facility managers can test various plant and production configurations (interconnecting components in a virtual system arrangement) in order to learn the best ways of optimizing and/or maximizing a production process. Alternatively, training component 2214 can be used to inject serious fault and anomalous conditions to determine the response of the system, the operator response, and the reaction of the system to the operator's response. A sequence of stimulus-response events can be generated and evaluated. [Col 44 Ln 25-50] [Col 1 Ln 55-Col 2 Ln 5] Many industrial processes and machines are controlled and/or powered by electric motors. Such processes and machines include pumps providing fluid transport for chemical and other processes, fans, conveyor systems, compressors, gear boxes, motion control devices, HVAC systems, screw pumps, and mixers, as well as hydraulic and pneumatic machines driven by motors. Such motors are combined with other system components, such as valves, pumps, furnaces, heaters, chillers, conveyor rollers, fans, compressors, gearboxes, and the like, as well as with appropriate power control devices such as motor starters and motor drives, to form industrial machines and actuators. For example, an electric motor may be combined with a motor drive providing variable electrical power to the motor, as well as with a pump, whereby the motor rotates the pump shaft to create a controllable pumping system.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the device, as taught by Iyengar, the features as taught by SUSTAETA, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iyengar, to include the teachings of SUSTAETA, in order to optimize specifically defined operational and performance objectives (SUSTAETA, [Col 1 Ln 39-40]).
Claim 39 recites a computing device comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 24. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 24.
Claim 40 recites a computing device comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 25. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 25.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejection of the claim under 35 USC 103 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection, necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Applicant argues that Iyengar in view of Wagner fails to teach or otherwise suggest a modeling graphical user interface (GUI) for modeling the virtual compressed air system, the modeling GUI configured to display a settings adjustment interface for adjusting at least one of a system setting and a component setting of the virtual compressed air system.
Examiner disagrees. Iyengar discloses a user interface including a simulation results section. Further, Iyengar discloses [0036] The system 102 may also be configured to generate "what if" reports 160. The "what if" reports 160 allow the user to explore proposed changes to the data center and determine if the changes would improve the data center's overall energy efficiency. For example, by adjusting the component parameters 118, model parameters 122, environment parameters 126, geographic parameters 130, cost parameters 134, and data center parameters 138, the user can simulate proposed changes to an existing or new data centers and quickly determine if such changes would be advantageous to the data center's design. And [0019] Typically, receiving input data from a user is performed through a graphical user interface (GUI) shown on a computer display and one or more input devices. Examiner notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language is being applied.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELLE T KRINGEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3689