DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected “aircraft compartment” and “aircraft”, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 15 October 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, it is unclear when “the lever to contact the cam surface”. Nowhere in the apparatus operation does the lever (206) contact the cam surface (208). Nowhere in the apparatus operation does the roller (210) lose contact with the cam surface (208). It is unclear what the applicant requires structurally and functionally as what is currently claimed does not appear physically possible. For purposes of examination the recitation will be interpreted broadly until otherwise clarified.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stache (US 4,834,326).
Regarding claim 1, Stache discloses a door latch comprising:
a lever (8) operatively coupled to a gear (13), the lever to rotate based on rotation of the gear;
a worm screw (12) operatively coupled to the gear; and
a cam surface (7) opposite the lever and fixed relative to the lever, the lever to contact the cam surface when the door latch is in a latched condition (first condition retracted), the lever to disengage the cam surface when the door latch is in an unlatched condition (second condition extended).
Regarding claim 2, Stache discloses the door latch of claim 1, wherein the lever includes a roller (9) rotationally coupled to an end of the lever (Fig.3), the roller to contact the cam surface when the door is in the latched condition (roller is in contact with cam Fig.3).
Regarding claim 3, Stache discloses the door latch of claim 1, wherein the gear is operatively coupled to the lever via a torque tube (10).
Regarding claim 5, Stache discloses the door latch of claim 1, further comprising a bracket (lever 8 mounted to bracket Fig.3) rotationally coupled to the lever.
Regarding claim 6, Stache discloses the door latch of claim 5, wherein the lever is to contact the cam surface between a first rotational position (reattracted position) and a second rotational position (Extended position), the second rotational position different from the first rotational position, and wherein the bracket includes a stop (where 8 contacts 16) to contact the lever when the lever is in the second rotational position, the stop to contact the lever at an end of the lever opposite an axis of rotation of the lever.
Regarding claim 7, Stache discloses the door latch of claim 6, wherein the cam surface( 7) is angled (lambda, Fig.3) relative to the lever (8) when the lever is in the second rotational position such that a contact force of the cam surface is directed towards at least one of the axis of rotation or the stop.
Regarding claim 8, Stache discloses the door latch of claim 1, wherein the worm screw includes an interface (11, any portion may receive a tool) to receive a tool and transfer a torque from the tool to the worm screw (such as a flat blade screw driver can be introduced to turn the mechanism).
Regarding claim 9, Stache discloses the door latch of claim 1, wherein the lever is a first lever (8) and the cam surface(7) is a first cam surface (dual sided, first and second), and the door latch further includes a second lever operatively coupled to the gear, the second lever to contact a second cam surface (Fig.3).
Regarding claim 10, Stache discloses the door latch of claim 9, wherein the gear(13) is disposed between the first lever and the second lever (Fig.3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Stache (US 4,834,326) in view of Meyer et al. (11,060,566).
Regarding claim 4, Stache discloses the door latch of claim 3, wherein the torque tube (10) includes a joint between a first end of the torque tube and a second end of the torque tube, the first end to rotate about a first axis and the second end to rotate about a second axis (Fig.3).
Stache does not disclose: a universal joint .
Meyer et al. teaches a universal joint (402, Meyer et al.) for the purpose of alleviating strain on a torque tube assembly from system flex and misalignment.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stache with Stache as taught by Meyer et al.) for the expected benefit of alleviating strain on a torque tube assembly from system flex and misalignment.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 of this application is patentably indistinct from claim 1 of Application No. (US 18/999,890). Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(f), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant or assignee contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. (US 18/999,890) (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: the claimed structure is identical as follows;
A lever, a gear, a worm screw, a cam surface of the instant application (US 18/806,314).
A worm gear, a worm wheel, a worm screw, a lever, a cam surface application (US 18/999,890).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments from the response filed on 1 April 2026 have been fully considered and will be addressed below in the order in which they appeared.
Regarding double patenting, there is no structural distinction between Application No. (US 18/999,890) and the instant application. The double patenting rejection remains appropriate.
Regarding claim 1 see 112 rejection as at no point does the applicant show the lever in contact with the cam surface.
Regarding Claim 1 Stanche clearly discloses a roller (9) mounted on lever (8) which is in contact with cam surface (7), the disclosure of Stanche includes all of the structure of the instant application and is perfectly capable of the movement of an element in a first and second position. Arguments concerning the disc of Stanche does not disqualify that the disc provides the cam surface that the applicant claims. The argument is unpersuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as it may affect the patentability of applicant’s claimed invention is listed on the attached PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T. L. N./
Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675