DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-16 are pending in this application. Claims 1-10 are under examination. Claims 11-16 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 03/25/2026 is acknowledged. Claim 11-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention(s), there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 4 and 5 recite, “vegetable fat or oil.” For clarity, the word “vegetable” should be added before “oil” to indicate that the claims require vegetable oil and not just any type of oil. The limitations in claims 4 and 5 would then read as follows, “vegetable fat or vegetable oil.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bourke US 20040076731 (cited on IDS dated 12/21/2023) as evidenced by Kerry, Admul MG Safety Data Sheet, www.univarsolutions.com/proxy/index..., Date: 6/24/2015 (hereinafter, Kerry).
Regarding claims 1-3, Bourke teaches a powdered whipping agent (powdered fat composition; Abstract, [0019], [0023] claim 1) suitable for preparing a whipped topping (the dried powdered fat emulsion product can be used for the preparation of topping cream and whipped cream; [0042]), as required by claim 1. Bourke discloses the whipping agent comprising by weight of the whipping agent (a) 10-80 wt.% fat, preferably 20-80 wt.% fat (crystallizing fat; [0024], [0030]), as required by claim 1. This encompasses the claimed wt. % fat of 20-57 wt.%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Bourke teaches the powdered whipping agent (powdered fat composition; [0023]) comprises an emulsifier [0026], where the emulsifier is used singly or in combination with other emulsifiers [0034], [0038]. Bourke teaches (b) an alpha-tending emulsifier selected from lactic acid esters of mono and/or diglycerides of fatty acids (organic acid ester derivatives of mono and diglycerides, such as lactoglycerides (Lactem)), acetic acid esters of mono and/or diglycerides of fatty acids (organic acid ester derivatives of mono and diglycerides, such as acetoglycerides (Acetem)), and mixtures thereof [0034], as required by claim 1. Bourke teaches the combination of emulsifiers can be in the composition at 0.3-20 wt.% [0026], [0038]. Thus, a person of ordinary skill can envisage the alpha-tending emulsifier being in the composition with one or more other emulsifier(s) at an amount of 0.3-19.9 wt.%. This encompasses the claimed range for claim 1 of 1-5.5 wt.%. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Bourke teaches (c) a nonionic mono- and/or diglycerides of fatty acids having an acyl chain of 14-20 carbon atoms (mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids, such as Admul MG; [0034]), as required by claim 1. Bourke teaches the nonionic mono- and/or diglycerides of fatty acids comprise unsaturated acyl chain, as required by claim 2 and comprise a saturated acyl chain, as required by claim 3 ((mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids, such as Admul MG; [0034]). Regarding carbon chain length and carbon saturation or carbon unsaturation of the acyl chains in the emulsifier Admul MG, Kerry evidences that the Admul MG emulsifier comprises fatty acids having an acyl chain of 14-18 carbon atoms and comprises unsaturated acyl chains and saturated acyl chains (Glycerides, C14-C18 and C16-C18 unsaturated mono- and di-; Pg. 1, Section 1. Identification, Chemical name and Other means of Identification). Thus, the Admul MG emulsifier, as taught by Bourke, is considered to meet the limitation of having an acyl chain of 14-20 carbon atoms, as required by claim 1, and comprising unsaturated acyl chain, as required by claim 2, and saturated acyl chain, as required by claim 3.
Bourke also teaches the combination of emulsifiers can be in the composition at 0.3-20 wt.% [0026], [0038]. Thus, a person of ordinary skill can envisage component (c) the nonionic mono- and/or diglycerides, being in the composition with one or more other emulsifier(s) at an amount of 0.1-19.9 wt.%. This encompasses the claim 1 range of 0.2-2.0 wt.%. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Bourke discloses the powdered whipping agent (powdered fat composition; [0023]) comprises (d) 0.5-15 wt.% proteinaceous emulsifier (one or more proteins for the formation of the emulsion; [0025]). This encompasses the claim 1 range of 1.0-5 wt.% proteinaceous emulsifier. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Bourke discloses the powdered whipping agent (powdered fat composition; [0023]) comprises (e) carbohydrates, where the balance of the formula is made up of carbohydrates [0028]. When considering the wt.% ranges of the other required ingredients in the formula [0023-0027], the carbohydrates may be in the powdered whipping agent from 0.1-88.7 wt. %. This encompasses the claim 1 range for carbohydrates of 25.5-75.0 wt.%. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Bourke teaches the composition comprises 0.5-6 wt.% moisture (water; [0027]). This overlaps the claim 1 range for moisture of 0.1-4.0 wt.% moisture. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 4, Bourke discloses the powdered whipping agent according to claim 1, as discussed above. Bourke teaches the fat or oil in the composition may comprise vegetable oil or vegetable fat (crystallising fat of vegetable origin).
Bourke teaches the vegetable fat or vegetable oil (crystallising fat of vegetable origin) may be used singly or in combination with other fats (Claim 3, [0030]). Thus, it can be envisaged that the fat or oil comprises 100% vegetable fat or vegetable oil (crystallising fat of vegetable origin used singly in the powdered fat composition; claim 3), since it may be used singly in the composition. This is within the claimed range of more than 80% of the fat or oil comprises vegetable fat or vegetable oil.
Regarding claim 5, Bourke discloses the powdered whipping agent according to claim 4, as discussed above. Bourke teaches wherein the vegetable fat or vegetable oil is selected from the group consisting of palm oil, palm kernel oil (lauric fats), coconut oil (lauric fats), and mixtures thereof ([0030], claim 3).
Regarding claims 6-7, Bourke discloses the powdered whipping agent according to claim 1, as discussed above. As noted in the above rejection, the composition of Bourke comprises 10-80 wt.% fat [0024] or preferably 20-80 wt.% fat, and the envisaged range of 0.3-19.9 wt.% for alpha-tending emulsifier or optimally an envisaged range of about 2-19.9% [0034], [0038]. Thus, Bourke discloses the weight/weight ratio of the fat to the alpha-tending emulsifier of 0.5:1 to 266:1, or a preferred/optimal ratio range of 1:1 to 40:1. This overlaps the claimed range of the weight/weight ratio of fat or oil to alpha-tending emulsifier for claim 6 of 10 or higher or in other words a ratio range of ≥10:1; and overlaps the claimed range for claim 7 of 30 or lower, or in other words a ratio range of ≤30:1. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 8, Bourke discloses the powdered whipping agent according to claim 1, as discussed above. Bourke teaches the composition further comprises (g) 0-10 wt.% of additional components selected from stabilizer, hydrocolloids (gelling agent, thickener), and combinations thereof [0029]. This encompasses the claimed range of 0.1-1.5 wt.% of additional components. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 9, Bourke discloses the powdered whipping agent according to claim 1, as discussed above. Bourke teaches the composition wherein the proteinaceous emulsifier is a milk protein (a protein selected from dairy origin such as sodium caseinate) or a plant protein (a protein selected from vegetable origin like rice) or a combination thereof ([0032], claims 4 and 5). Bourke teaches in claim 5 that the protein is selected from a group consisting of either proteins from milk (dairy) or vegetable origin or mixtures thereof. Thus, the proteinaceous emulsifier of Bourke (one or more proteins, for the formation of the emulsion) may have 100 wt.% of proteinaceous emulsifier from a milk protein or plant protein or combinations thereof, since they can be used singly or in combination ([0025], [0032], claims 4 and 5). This is within the claimed range of at least 50 wt.% of the proteinaceous emulsifier is a milk protein or a plant protein or combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 10, Bourke discloses the powdered whipping agent according to claim 1, as discussed above. Bourke teaches the composition comprises carbohydrates. Bourke does not specify which type of carbohydrate is used, such as lactose, but in an example states “sugar” is used [0069]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Bourke to use any sugar, including lactose, with the composition as taught by Bourke. See MPEP 2144.08.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 8-10 of copending Application No. 18/392,755 (hereinafter ‘755). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Conflicting claim 1 of ‘755 teaches a powdered whipping agent. This reads on 1 of the instant application.
Conflicting claim 1 teaches the composition comprises by weight of the whipping agent (a) 57-70 wt.% fat or oil. This reads on instant application claim 1 that has the same end point of 57 wt.% fat or oil. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Conflicting claim 1 teaches the composition comprises (b) 1.0-6.5 wt% of an alpha-tending emulsifier selected from the group consisting of lactic acid esters of mono and/or diglycerides of fatty acids, acetic acid esters of mono and/or diglycerides of fatty acids, propylene glycol monostearate, and mixtures thereof. This reads on instant application claim 1.
Conflicting claim 1 teaches the composition comprises (c) 0.2-2.0 wt.% of nonionic mono- and/or diglycerides of fatty acids having at least one acyl chain of 14-20 carbon atoms. This reads on instant application claim 1.
Conflicting claim 1 teaches the composition comprises (d) 1.0-5.0 wt.% proteinaceous emulsifier. This reads on claim 1 of the instant application.
Conflicting claim 1 teaches the composition comprises (e) 18-35 wt.% carbohydrates. This reads on instant application claim 1, which has an overlapping range for carbohydrates. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Conflicting claim 1 teaches the composition comprises (f) 0.1-4 wt.% moisture. This reads on instant application claim 1.
Conflicting claim 1 teaches wherein the weight/weight ratio of the fat or oil to the alpha-tending emulsifier is 10 or higher. This reads on claim 6 of the instant application.
Conflicting claim 1 teaches wherein the weight/weight ratio of the fat or oil to the alpha-tending emulsifier is 30 or lower. This reads on claim 7 of the instant application.
Conflicting claim 2 of ‘755 reads on instant application claim 2.
Conflicting claim 3 of ‘755 reads on instant application claim 3.
Conflicting claim 4 of ‘755 reads on instant application claim 4.
Conflicting claim 5 of ‘755 reads on instant application claim 5.
Conflicting claim 8 of ‘755 reads on instant application claim 8.
Conflicting claim 9 of ‘755 reads on instant application claim 9.
Conflicting claim 10 of ‘755 reads on instant application claim 10.
Conclusion
/S.R.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/ELIZABETH GWARTNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759