DETAILED ACTION
The present application is being examined under the AIA first to file provisions. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Application Status
Claims 1-2 and 4-17 are currently pending and being examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, and 6-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Elger US 8,505,648.
Regarding claim 1:
Elger teaches a mechanical percussion mechanism for a striking drive of an insertion tool of a handheld power tool, comprising: a rotatably supported intermediate shaft (46) having a first guide groove (86); an impact body (50) having a second guide groove (shown in inner diameter of 50 in FIG. 3); and a rotatably supported output shaft (14), wherein the first guide groove and the second guide groove are configured to guide a guide body (82) during operation of the mechanical percussion mechanism, and wherein at least one of the first guide groove and the second guide groove includes a guide surface (e.g., guide surface 86), on which the guide body moves during the operation of the mechanical percussion mechanism (col. 5, lines 7-10), configured as a kink-free and/or edge-free surface such that the guide body does not pass over a kink or edge as the guide body is guided on the guide surface during the operation of the mechanical percussion mechanism (there are no edges or kinks in guide surface 86, shown or otherwise envisaged in the disclosure, that the guide body 82 would “pass over”. The guide surface cross-section is smooth and U-shaped to properly hold guide body 82, and it runs along a smooth U-shaped path), and wherein a circumferential line which defines the first guide groove or the second guide groove is configured as a kink-free circumferential line (see line CL in annotated FIG. 2 below; "a circumferential line" is being interpreted as any line or segment that lies on the path defined by the circumference (or stated another way: "perimeter") of the groove. Elger's first guide groove includes infinitely many, arbitrarily chosen, kink-free circumferential lines on its perimeter, including CL shown below).
Regarding claim 2:
Elger teaches the mechanical percussion mechanism according to claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the at least one of the first guide groove and the second guide groove has a substantially parabolic path (shown in FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 6:
Elger teaches the mechanical percussion mechanism according to claim 1, as discussed above, wherein a curvature of the at least one of the first guide groove and the second guide groove is smaller than a curvature of the guide body (evident from FIG. 2, i.e., the radius of the ball is smaller than the radius of the groove, otherwise it wouldn’t fit in the groove).
Regarding claim 7:
Elger teaches the mechanical percussion mechanism according to claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the guide body is configured as a ball (82).
Regarding claim 8:
Elger teaches the mechanical percussion mechanism according to claim 2, as discussed above, wherein axial movement of the impact body along the at least one of the first groove and the second guide groove is continuous and non-linear to a relative angle between the intermediate shaft and the impact body (envisaged in FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 9:
Elger teaches the mechanical percussion mechanism according to claim 2, as discussed above, wherein the substantially parabolic path of the at least one of the first guide groove and the second guide groove is mirrored at a reversing point (FIG. 2, most proximal point).
Regarding claims 10 and 16:
Elger teaches the mechanical percussion mechanism according to claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the lengths of the first guide groove and the second guide groove are different (compare the path of 86 in FIG. 1 which covers approximately half the inner circumference of 50, with the much shorter path of the groove within 50 shown in FIG. 3).
Regarding claims 11 and 17:
Elger teaches the mechanical percussion mechanism according to claim 2, as discussed above, wherein: each of the first guide groove and the second guide groove has a substantially parabolic path (shown in FIGS. 1 and 3) and slopes of the substantially parabolic paths of the first guide groove and the second guide groove are different from one another (compare the parabolic path of 86 in FIG. 1, with the different parabolic path of the groove within 50 shown in FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 12:
Elger teaches the mechanical percussion mechanism according to claim 11, as discussed above, wherein the slopes of the substantially parabolic paths are each changeable (e.g., they can be changeable (i.e., different) depending on where the slopes are chosen to be calculated).
Regarding claim 13:
Elger teaches the mechanical percussion mechanism according to claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the mechanical percussion mechanism is configured as a rotary impact mechanism (abstract).
Regarding claim 14:
Elger teaches a handheld power tool (10) having the mechanical percussion mechanism according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 15:
Elger teaches the handheld power tool according to claim 14, as discussed above, wherein the handheld power tool is configured as a rotary impact screwdriver (abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elger, as applied above.
Regarding claims 4 and 5:
Elger teaches the mechanical percussion mechanism according to claim 3, as discussed above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the circumferential line and/or the guide surface of the first guide groove or second guide groove is configured to be defined by a continuously (or at least twice) differentiable function.
However, given that the circumferential line (perimeter) of 86 is already smooth and kink-free, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the Elger, by designing the circumferential line (perimeter) of 86 by using continuously (or at least twice) differentiable functions, in order to provide a smooth path for the guide body, in order to keep frictional losses in the tool minimized.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks have been carefully considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding the “a circumferential line” limitation, Applicant argues “the surfaces of the camshaft 46 at the end portions of the cam groove surface 86 are not shown since the balls 82 block the views of the end portions. Accordingly, there is no express disclosure of this limitation in Elger.”. In contrast to Applicant’s interpretation, Examiner respectfully notes that the claim does not narrowly require the “a circumferential line” to be defined as a continuous closed loop circumscribing the entire perimeter around the groove. The phrase "a circumferential line" is being interpreted as any line or segment that lies on the path defined by the circumference (i.e., the "perimeter") defining the groove. Examiner takes the position that Elger's first guide groove includes infinitely many, arbitrarily chosen, kink-free circumferential lines on its perimeter, such as the annotated “CL” provided in the rejection above.
Conclusion
/DARIUSH SEIF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731