DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed August 11th, 2026 has been entered. Claim 18 has been amended. Claims 21-29 have been added. Claims 1-17 have been cancelled.
The Section 102/103 rejections over Zhang (as the primary reference) made in the Office action mailed May 12th, 2026 have been maintained due to Applicant’s arguments being unpersuasive. The rejections have been reapplied and updated to reflect Applicant’s amendment as recited below.
The Section 102 rejections over Weih made in the Office action mailed May 12th, 2026 have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment.
The Section 103 rejections over Weih in view of Stietenroth made in the Office action mailed May 12th, 2026 have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment.
The Section 103 rejections over Weih in view of Schlemmer made in the Office action mailed May 12th, 2026 have been maintained due to Applicant’s arguments being unpersuasive. The rejections have been reapplied and updated to reflect Applicant’s amendment as recited below.
The Section 102 rejections over Beer made in the Office action mailed May 12th, 2026 have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment.
The Section 103 rejections over Beer in view of Stietenroth or Wachinger made in the Office action mailed May 12th, 2026 have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment.
The Section 103 rejections over Beer in view of Schlemmer made in the Office action mailed May 12th, 2026 have been maintained due to Applicant’s arguments being unpersuasive. The rejections have been reapplied and updated to reflect Applicant’s amendment as recited below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 11th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Zhang, Applicant argues that Zhang does not teach anything about a cured filler material that extends through at least one channel element to form a bridge that connects at least two functional openings. The Examiner disagrees.
Zhang teaches a (decorative) trim member for an exterior or interior of a vehicle [0053], the trim member comprising an exterior side, opposing adhesive side, and one or more light transmitting regions, each light emitting region (All Figs. [12]) as comprising a plurality of light transmitting (functional) through holes (All Figs. [11]) connected by a light transmitting recess (channel) (All Figs. [13]) (on the adhesive side without damaging the visible surface) formed adjacent the adhesive layer (All Figs. [4]) connecting to a light emitting device (application material layer/coupled electronic assembly) (All Figs. [2]) filled by a light transmitting member (All Figs. [3]), wherein the light transmitting member is formed of UV transparent filler comprising multiple extension portions filling the holes (All Figs. [32]) connected by a light-transmitting member body filling the recess (All Figs. [31]) [0024-0025, 0042-0045].
Regarding Weih and Beer, while both do not teach channels formed in the adhesive side without damaging the visible surface), Schlemmer does.
Schlemmer teaches the light emitting (functional) holes in the decorative substrate, wherein one or more of the openings extending to the decorative surface can be connected by one or more widened sections (channel elements) in the form of channels, trenches, blind holes at the rear/adhesive surface that can be laminated to a substrate for additional stabilization [0054], wherein it is important to maintain ridges separating individual channel elements so there is no complete flat thinning of the element decorative layer for both structural and optical purposes [0039], wherein the channel sections are formed by minimal/delicate removal processes intended to not weaken the decorative layer (not damage the visible side] [0043, 0052, 0055], wherein the channel elements serve to enhance both light guiding properties such as increasing or alternating cone angle [0014-0015, 0036-0037] and decorative layer structural properties by providing easier to fill holes and stabilization of the decorative layer [0011, 0034].
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claims 21, 25, and 29, as previously stated, the limitation that a channel element is formed by “removal of a portion of the adhesive side without damaging the visible side” will be considered only as a product-by-process type limitation, wherein so long as the channel element is formed and no visible damage to the visible side is explicitly or implicitly disclosed, then the limitation is considered anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schmidt et al. (DE 102014003049 A1) (hereinafter “Schmidt”).
Regarding claims 18-21, Schmidt teaches a decorative element [0008, 0012, 0019], usable in a passenger car [0011], comprising an opaque decorative blank having a visible surface (Figs 3-4 [12]) and an adhesive surface comprising an adhesive film (Figs 3-4 [36]) for providing breakage protection and for connecting to a supplementary part/substructure (Figs 3-4 [15]) having an adhesive side and a further side for attachment to additional structures [0023], further comprising at least one light surface such as a light emitting diode [0022], wherein one or more informational or decorative symbols are formed by openings (Figs 3-4 [13]) through the decorative layer, which is filled with a solidifying (curable) light-conducting thermosetting material, which is applied via a process improved over injection molding such the thermosetting plastic is not pressure-introduced and can fill the holes and any of the numerous branches/channels being filled without gaps [0005-0008], to form light guides (Figs 3-4 [26]) wherein one or more channel elements (Figs 3-4 [21/35]) optically couple two or more symbol-forming light guides [0023-0024] and are beneficially used as sprue areas for introducing the liquid thermosetting material [0024], wherein the openings and channel elements can be formed via any process including subtractive processes such as milling [0011].
Further regarding claim 19, the light-conducting thermosetting synthetic resin can be made milky (translucent) to transparent after solidification [0011].
Claims 18 & 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0168213 A1) (hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claims 18 and 20, Zhang teaches a (decorative) trim member for an exterior or interior of a vehicle [0053], the trim member comprising an exterior side, opposing adhesive side, and one or more light transmitting regions, each light emitting region (All Figs. [12]) as comprising a plurality of light transmitting (functional) through holes (All Figs. [11]) connected by a light transmitting recess (channel) (All Figs. [13]) (on the adhesive side without damaging the visible surface) formed adjacent the adhesive layer (All Figs. [4]) connecting a the flexible light emitter (application material layer) (All Figs. [2]) filled by a light transmitting member (All Figs. [3]), wherein the light transmitting member is formed of UV transparent filler comprising multiple extension portions filling the holes (All Figs. [32]) connected by a light-transmitting member body filling the recess (All Figs. [31]) [0024-0025, 0042-0045], wherein the flexible light emitter may further comprise/be coupled to an electroluminescent assembly or light-emitting diode (LED) panel (electronic assembly) [0049].
Regarding claim 21, although product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). The burden has been shifted to Applicant to show unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. In re Marosi, 218 USPQ 289 (Fed. Cir. 1983). The applied prior art either anticipates or strongly suggests the claimed subject matter.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, as applied to claim 18 above, (further) in view of Marcos et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0063840 A1) (hereinafter “Marcos”).
Zhang only teaches a transparent curable adhesive.
Marcos teaches a decorative trim for a vehicle comprising a plurality of light transmitting holes, wherein the filler is an adhesive that is transparent or translucent, wherein translucent adhesive can improve visual continuity between the perforated areas and non-perforated areas such that they are non-perceptible when switched off and can also provide a diffusing lighting effect that can improve light homogeneity [0085-0089].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide a translucent adhesive to a backlit vehicle trim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve visual continuity between the perforated areas and non-perforated areas such that they are non-perceptible when switched off and can also provide a diffusing lighting effect that can improve light homogeneity [Marcos].
Claims 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Weih (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0158119 A1) (hereinafter “Weih”) in view of Schlemmer (DE 102011082344 A1) (hereinafter “Schlemmer”).
Regarding claims 18-20, Weih teaches a decorative part for a vehicle [0003, 0006] comprising a decorative layer (blank) (All Figs. [12]) having a front visible side (All Figs. [14]) and a rear side (All Figs. [13]) and a carrier (application material) (All Figs. [11]) having a front side (All Figs. unlabeled) and a rear side (All Figs. [22]), the carrier layer may further comprise at least one light source (electronic assembly) (All Figs. [16]) [0025, 0033, 0039], wherein the rear side of the decorative layer is adhered to the front side of the carrier via an adhesive layer (All Figs. [21]), wherein the decorative layer comprises at least one material cutout (All Figs. [15]) formed therethrough, wherein the material cutout is filled with transparent or translucent material, such a lacquer [0013], wherein lacquers are inherently cured.
Further regarding claims 18 and 21, the openings are not taught to be connected by at least one channel element to form a material-bonded bridge and in the event that lacquers are not inherently cured:
Schlemmer teaches a backlit decorative layer for a vehicle having a decorative layer with one or more functional openings extending to the decorative surface are filled with any number of curable filling materials [0040, 0053] for stabilizing the openings/perforations [0022], wherein the one or more of the openings can be connected by one or more widened sections (channel elements) in the form of channels, trenches, blind holes at the rear/adhesive surface that can be laminated to a substrate for additional stabilization [0054], wherein it is important to maintain ridges separating individual channel elements so there is no complete flat thinning of the element decorative layer for both structural and optical purposes [0039], wherein the channel sections are formed by minimal/delicate removal processes intended to not weaken the decorative layer (not damage the visible side] [0043, 0052, 0055], wherein the channel elements serve to enhance both opening light guiding properties such as increasing or alternating cone angle [0014-0015, 0036-0037] and decorative layer structural properties by providing easier to fill holes and stabilization of the decorative layer [0011, 0034].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide a curable material, lacquer or otherwise, to fill the functional openings in a decorative (backlit) material, wherein the openings are preferably connected by one or more channel elements formed via removal without damaging the visible side. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide a known filling with the ability to stabilize the functional openings [Schlemmer], wherein the channels further enhance the optical properties of the openings and structural properties of the decorative layer [Schlemmer] with minimal or delicate removal processes that do not weaken or damage the decorative surface [Schlemmer].
Claims 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Beer (DE 102019121917 A1) (hereinafter “Beer”) in view of Schlemmer (DE 102011082344 A1) (hereinafter “Schlemmer”).
Regarding claims 18-21, Weih teaches a decorative part for a vehicle [0001, 0005, 0031] comprising a decorative layer (blank) (All Figs. [11]) having a front visible side (All Figs. [12]) and a rear side (All Figs. [13]) and a carrier (application material) (All Figs. [16]) having a front side (All Figs. unlabeled) and a rear side (All Figs. [23]), the carrier layer may further comprise at least one light source (electronic assembly) (All Figs. [22]) [0027, 0037, 0055], wherein the rear side of the decorative layer is adhered to the front side of the carrier via an adhesive layer (All Figs. [14]) [0013-0014, 0032], wherein the decorative layer comprises at least one functional opening (All Figs. [17]) formed therethrough, wherein the functional opening(s) is/are filled in a recessed, flush, or protruding manner with the front visible side [0049-0050, 0054-0056] with transparent or translucent or light scattering material, such a lacquer [0049], wherein lacquers are inherently cured.
Further regarding claims 18 and 21, the openings are not taught to be connected by at least one channel element to form a material-bonded bridge and in the event that lacquers are not inherently cured:
Schlemmer teaches a backlit decorative layer for a vehicle having a decorative layer with one or more functional openings extending to the decorative surface are filled with any number of curable filling materials [0040, 0053] for stabilizing the openings/perforations [0022], wherein the one or more of the openings can be connected by one or more widened sections (channel elements) in the form of channels, trenches, blind holes at the rear/adhesive surface that can be laminated to a substrate for additional stabilization [0054], wherein it is important to maintain ridges separating individual channel elements so there is no complete flat thinning of the element decorative layer for both structural and optical purposes [0039], wherein the channel sections are formed by minimal/delicate removal processes intended to not weaken the decorative layer (not damage the visible side] [0043, 0052, 0055], wherein the channel elements serve to enhance both opening light guiding properties such as increasing or alternating cone angle [0014-0015, 0036-0037] and decorative layer structural properties by providing easier to fill holes and stabilization of the decorative layer [0011, 0034].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide a curable material, lacquer or otherwise, to fill the functional openings in a decorative (backlit) material, wherein the openings are preferably connected by one or more channel elements formed via removal without damaging the visible side. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide a known filling with the ability to stabilize the functional openings [Schlemmer], wherein the channels further enhance the optical properties of the openings and structural properties of the decorative layer [Schlemmer] with minimal or delicate removal processes that do not weaken or damage the decorative surface [Schlemmer].
Claims 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schlemmer (DE 102011082344 A1) (hereinafter “Schlemmer”) in view of Kautz et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0093609 A1) (hereinafter “Kautz”) OR Schmidt et al. (DE 102014003049 A1) (hereinafter “Schmidt”), wherein claim 19 is optionally further in view of Marcos et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0063840 A1) (hereinafter “Marcos”).
Regarding claims 18 and 21, Schlemmer teaches a backlit decorative layer for a vehicle having a decorative layer with one or more functional openings extending to the decorative surface are filled with any number of curable filling materials [0040, 0053] for stabilizing the openings/perforations [0022], wherein the one or more of the openings can be connected by one or more widened sections (channel elements) in the form of channels, trenches, blind holes at the rear/adhesive surface that can be laminated to a substrate for additional stabilization [0054], wherein it is important to maintain ridges separating individual channel elements so there is no complete flat thinning of the element decorative layer for both structural and optical purposes [0039], wherein the channel sections are formed by minimal/delicate removal processes intended to not weaken the decorative layer (not damage the visible side] [0043, 0052, 0055], wherein the channel elements serve to enhance both opening light guiding properties such as increasing or alternating cone angle [0014-0015, 0036-0037] and decorative layer structural properties by providing easier to fill holes and stabilization of the decorative layer [0011, 0034].
Further regarding claim 18 and regarding claim 20, while Schlemmer teaches the decorative layer is laminated to an additional substrate implicitly having a nearer side and further side, an explicit adhesive layer for adhering to the nearer side is not taught and providing an electronic device coupled to the substrate/application material layer is not taught.
Kautz teaches a decorative lighting system for a vehicle interior component comprising a decorative layer comprising at least one or any number of decorative materials (Fig. 7 [73]) [0013] and having functional openings which facilitate the transition of light [0020-0021, 0035, 0058] by being filled with an optical waveguide/radiating element material (Fig. 7 [75]), wherein while the optical waveguide/radiating element depicted as a flat complete layer located below the decorative layer it may be formed as a partial optical waveguide layer that is inserted into recesses of a decorative layer and surrounded thereby for protection of the optical waveguide/radiating element [0013, 0035], wherein the decorative layer/optical waveguide are laminated to a main frame (substrate/application material layer) via an adhesive layer (Fig. 7 [68]) in a second activation step [0030-0035], wherein the first step comprises applying curable silicone optical waveguide/radiating element in liquid form to the decorative layer [0018-0021, claim 20] or the silicone is applied to the main frame having an adhesive layer thereon and is forced into the functional openings under pressure before curing [0030-0035, 0057-0058], wherein an illumination source, such as an LED, is introduced into the main frame for optically coupling with the optical waveguide/radiating element [0014, 0051].
OR
Schmidt teaches a decorative element [0008, 0012, 0019], usable in a passenger car [0011], comprising an opaque decorative blank having a visible surface (Figs 3-4 [12]) and an adhesive surface comprising an adhesive film (Figs 3-4 [36]) for providing breakage protection and for connecting to a supplementary part/substructure (Figs 3-4 [15]) having an adhesive side and a further side for attachment to additional structures [0023], further comprising at least one light surface such as a light emitting diode [0022], wherein one or more informational or decorative symbols are formed by openings (Figs 3-4 [13]) through the decorative layer, which is filled with a solidifying (curable) light-conducting thermosetting material, which is applied via a process improved over injection molding such the thermosetting plastic is not pressure-introduced and can fill the holes and any of the numerous branches/channels being filled without gaps [0005-0008], to form light guides (Figs 3-4 [26]) wherein one or more channel elements (Figs 3-4 [21/35]) optically couple two or more symbol-forming light guides [0023-0024] and are beneficially used as sprue areas for introducing the liquid thermosetting material [0024], wherein the openings and channel elements can be formed via any process including subtractive processes such as milling [0011].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide an adhesive layer for adhering the decorative material/cured resin to the application material layer/substrate, which includes the electronic device therein/thereon. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide a two step process to providing the optical waveguiding structure and attachment to the carrier [Kautz] or provided a known laminating process to a substructure that additional provides breakage cohesion upon tearing/impact [Schmidt].
Regarding claim 19, it would have been obvious to provide a light-transmitting transparent curable filler material at any level of transparency, including translucent.
Alternatively, Marcos teaches a decorative trim for a vehicle comprising a plurality of light transmitting holes, wherein the filler is transparent or translucent, wherein translucent filler can improve visual continuity between the perforated areas and non-perforated areas such that they are non-perceptible when switched off and can also provide a diffusing lighting effect that can improve light homogeneity [0085-0089].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide a translucent light-transmitting filler for functional openings backlit vehicle trim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve visual continuity between the perforated areas and non-perforated areas such that they are non-perceptible when switched off and can also provide a diffusing lighting effect that can improve light homogeneity [Marcos].
Claims 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schlemmer (DE 102011082344 A1) (hereinafter “Schlemmer”) in view of Kautz et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0093609 A1) (hereinafter “Kautz”) OR Schmidt et al. (DE 102014003049 A1) (hereinafter “Schmidt”), Oshina (WO 2018/167862 A1) (hereinafter “Oshina”), and optionally Seidel et al. (DE 102020003325 A1) (hereinafter “Seidel”), wherein claim 23 is optionally further in view of Marcos et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0063840 A1) (hereinafter “Marcos”).
Regarding claims 22 and 25, Schlemmer teaches a backlit decorative layer for a vehicle having a decorative layer with one or more functional openings, which can form symbols, logos, or even buttons/switches [0039, 0046], extending to the decorative surface are filled with any number of curable filling materials [0040, 0053] for stabilizing the openings/perforations [0022], wherein the one or more of the openings can be connected by one or more widened sections (channel elements) in the form of channels, trenches, blind holes at the rear/adhesive surface that can be laminated to a substrate for additional stabilization [0054], wherein it is important to maintain ridges separating individual channel elements so there is no complete flat thinning of the element decorative layer for both structural and optical purposes [0039], wherein the channel sections are formed by minimal/delicate removal processes intended to not weaken the decorative layer (not damage the visible side] [0043, 0052, 0055], wherein the channel elements serve to enhance both opening light guiding properties such as increasing or alternating cone angle [0014-0015, 0036-0037] and decorative layer structural properties by providing easier to fill holes and stabilization of the decorative layer [0011, 0034].
Further regarding claim 22 and regarding claim 24, while Schlemmer teaches the decorative layer is laminated to an additional substrate implicitly having a nearer side and further side, an explicit adhesive layer for adhering to the nearer side is not taught and providing an electronic device coupled to the substrate/application material layer is not taught.
Kautz teaches a decorative lighting system for a vehicle interior component comprising a decorative layer comprising at least one or any number of decorative materials (Fig. 7 [73]) [0013] and having functional openings which facilitate the transition of light [0020-0021, 0035, 0058] by being filled with an optical waveguide/radiating element material (Fig. 7 [75]), wherein while the optical waveguide/radiating element depicted as a flat complete layer located below the decorative layer it may be formed as a partial optical waveguide layer that is inserted into recesses of a decorative layer and surrounded thereby for protection of the optical waveguide/radiating element [0013, 0035], wherein the decorative layer/optical waveguide are laminated to a main frame (substrate/application material layer) via an adhesive layer (Fig. 7 [68]) in a second activation step [0030-0035], wherein the first step comprises applying curable silicone optical waveguide/radiating element in liquid form to the decorative layer [0018-0021, claim 20] or the silicone is applied to the main frame having an adhesive layer thereon and is forced into the functional openings under pressure before curing [0030-0035, 0057-0058], wherein an illumination source, such as an LED, is introduced into the main frame for optically coupling with the optical waveguide/radiating element [0014, 0051].
OR
Schmidt teaches a decorative element [0008, 0012, 0019], usable in a passenger car [0011], comprising an opaque decorative blank having a visible surface (Figs 3-4 [12]) and an adhesive surface comprising an adhesive film (Figs 3-4 [36]) for providing breakage protection and for connecting to a supplementary part/substructure (Figs 3-4 [15]) having an adhesive side and a further side for attachment to additional structures [0023], further comprising at least one light surface such as a light emitting diode [0022], wherein one or more informational or decorative symbols are formed by openings (Figs 3-4 [13]) through the decorative layer, which is filled with a solidifying (curable) light-conducting thermosetting material, which is applied via a process improved over injection molding such the thermosetting plastic is not pressure-introduced and can fill the holes and any of the numerous branches/channels being filled without gaps [0005-0008], to form light guides (Figs 3-4 [26]) wherein one or more channel elements (Figs 3-4 [21/35]) optically couple two or more symbol-forming light guides [0023-0024] and are beneficially used as sprue areas for introducing the liquid thermosetting material [0024], wherein the openings and channel elements can be formed via any process including subtractive processes such as milling [0011].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide an adhesive layer for adhering the decorative material/cured resin to the application material layer/substrate, which includes the electronic device therein/thereon. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide a two step process to providing the optical waveguiding structure and attachment to the carrier [Kautz] or provided a known laminating process to a substructure that additional provides breakage cohesion upon tearing/impact [Schmidt].
Even further regarding claim 22, at least one of the functional openings connected by the channel and at least partially filled by curable filler is not taught to be sound permeable opening.
Oshina teaches an interior trim device comprising a speaker grille for a vehicle, wherein a trim surface material layer comprises a plurality of holes and having therebelow a light guide plate having a plurality of corresponding holes aligned with the plurality of holes in the trim surface, wherein the light propagated and emitting at each of the holes is improved in aesthetics and perception over the prior art of emitting light at the peripheral edge of the speaker grille [0004-0005].
Furthermore, Seidel teaches a speaker having at least one waveguiding element/light source located at the periphery, wherein the lighting scheme may pertain specifically to the operation of the speaker, such as corresponding to the music, and/or it may be coupled with other functional lighting sources such as signals/warnings or ambient lighting [0014-0015].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention use the light guiding teachings of Schlemmer/Kautz or Schlemmer/Schmidt to form at least one sound permeable opening comprising at least some light-transmitting curable filler in the widened portions and/or openings connected by one or more channel elements, wherein it may share a lighting color with other functional light emitting openings such as signals or ambient lighting. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide a speaker grille with lighting functionality via wave guiding the peripheries of one or more partially filled holes [Oshina], wherein the light color is preferably coupled with one or more of interior/ambient lighting corresponding to one or more fully filled functional openings.
Regarding claim 23, it would have been obvious to provide a light-transmitting transparent curable filler material at any level of transparency, including translucent.
Alternatively, Marcos teaches a decorative trim for a vehicle comprising a plurality of light transmitting holes, wherein the filler is transparent or translucent, wherein translucent filler can improve visual continuity between the perforated areas and non-perforated areas such that they are non-perceptible when switched off and can also provide a diffusing lighting effect that can improve light homogeneity [0085-0089].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide a translucent light-transmitting filler for functional openings backlit vehicle trim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve visual continuity between the perforated areas and non-perforated areas such that they are non-perceptible when switched off and can also provide a diffusing lighting effect that can improve light homogeneity [Marcos].
Claims 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schlemmer (DE 102011082344 A1) (hereinafter “Schlemmer”) in view of Kautz et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0093609 A1) (hereinafter “Kautz”) OR Schmidt et al. (DE 102014003049 A1) (hereinafter “Schmidt”), Yuzawa (JP 2001-347541 A) (hereinafter “Yuzawa”), Nafrada (How to install Car LED Interior Ambient Lights) (hereinafter “Nafrada”), and optionally Garage (This is the best cheap MUST DO interior mod for your BMW) (hereinafter “Garage”), wherein claim 27 is optionally further in view of Marcos et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0063840 A1) (hereinafter “Marcos”).
Regarding claims 26 and 29, Schlemmer teaches a backlit decorative layer for a vehicle having a decorative layer with one or more functional openings, which can form symbols, logos, or even buttons/switches [0039, 0046], extending to the decorative surface are filled with any number of curable filling materials [0040, 0053] for stabilizing the openings/perforations [0022], wherein the one or more of the openings can be connected by one or more widened sections (channel elements) in the form of channels, trenches, blind holes at the rear/adhesive surface that can be laminated to a substrate for additional stabilization [0054], wherein it is important to maintain ridges separating individual channel elements so there is no complete flat thinning of the element decorative layer for both structural and optical purposes [0039], wherein the channel sections are formed by minimal/delicate removal processes intended to not weaken the decorative layer (not damage the visible side] [0043, 0052, 0055], wherein the channel elements serve to enhance both opening light guiding properties such as increasing or alternating cone angle [0014-0015, 0036-0037] and decorative layer structural properties by providing easier to fill holes and stabilization of the decorative layer [0011, 0034].
Further regarding claim 26 and regarding claim 28, while Schlemmer teaches the decorative layer is laminated to an additional substrate implicitly having a nearer side and further side, an explicit adhesive layer for adhering to the nearer side is not taught and providing an electronic device coupled to the substrate/application material layer is not taught.
Kautz teaches a decorative lighting system for a vehicle interior component comprising a decorative layer comprising at least one or any number of decorative materials (Fig. 7 [73]) [0013] and having functional openings which facilitate the transition of light [0020-0021, 0035, 0058] by being filled with an optical waveguide/radiating element material (Fig. 7 [75]), wherein while the optical waveguide/radiating element depicted as a flat complete layer located below the decorative layer it may be formed as a partial optical waveguide layer that is inserted into recesses of a decorative layer and surrounded thereby for protection of the optical waveguide/radiating element [0013, 0035], wherein the decorative layer/optical waveguide are laminated to a main frame (substrate/application material layer) via an adhesive layer (Fig. 7 [68]) in a second activation step [0030-0035], wherein the first step comprises applying curable silicone optical waveguide/radiating element in liquid form to the decorative layer [0018-0021, claim 20] or the silicone is applied to the main frame having an adhesive layer thereon and is forced into the functional openings under pressure before curing [0030-0035, 0057-0058], wherein an illumination source, such as an LED, is introduced into the main frame for optically coupling with the optical waveguide/radiating element [0014, 0051].
OR
Schmidt teaches a decorative element [0008, 0012, 0019], usable in a passenger car [0011], comprising an opaque decorative blank having a visible surface (Figs 3-4 [12]) and an adhesive surface comprising an adhesive film (Figs 3-4 [36]) for providing breakage protection and for connecting to a supplementary part/substructure (Figs 3-4 [15]) having an adhesive side and a further side for attachment to additional structures [0023], further comprising at least one light surface such as a light emitting diode [0022], wherein one or more informational or decorative symbols are formed by openings (Figs 3-4 [13]) through the decorative layer, which is filled with a solidifying (curable) light-conducting thermosetting material, which is applied via a process improved over injection molding such the thermosetting plastic is not pressure-introduced and can fill the holes and any of the numerous branches/channels being filled without gaps [0005-0008], to form light guides (Figs 3-4 [26]) wherein one or more channel elements (Figs 3-4 [21/35]) optically couple two or more symbol-forming light guides [0023-0024] and are beneficially used as sprue areas for introducing the liquid thermosetting material [0024], wherein the openings and channel elements can be formed via any process including subtractive processes such as milling [0011].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide an adhesive layer for adhering the decorative material/cured resin to the application material layer/substrate, which includes the electronic device therein/thereon. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide a two step process to providing the optical waveguiding structure and attachment to the carrier [Kautz] or provided a known laminating process to a substructure that additional provides breakage cohesion upon tearing/impact [Schmidt].
Even further regarding claim 26, Schlemmer further teaches the decorative layer can comprise cavities on the visible side that can accommodate inlays at areas of overlap with the openings, but the decorative layer comprising first and second decorative blanks having an edge opening defined therebetween and filled with the curable/cured filler is not taught.
Yuzawa teaches an interior decorative panel used in automobiles [0001], improved over a composite decorative layer, wherein an inlay/insert member is fitted into a groove/opening in the decorative layer [0004-0005, 0024], wherein the decorative layer can be formed first and second coplanar decorative blanks adjacent with no gap therebetween [Fig. 1] or wherein the first and second coplanar decorative blanks are formed with a gap therebetween, wherein the gap is filled with a layer disposed therebelow [Fig. 2] and can provide the same benefits as the gapless embodiment but additionally provide unique design and layout opportunities [0027].
Nafrada teaches an interior trim component, wherein a textured/matte trim portion and glossy portion are separated by a stripe illuminated portion forming an interior ambient lighting scheme (@1:42; see below).
Furthermore, Garage teaches an interior trim ambient lighting scheme, wherein a first illuminated stripe color is white/”sport” providing a “pronounced look” with the lighted symbols formed adjacent thereto (@3:58), or a second red/“classic” illuminated color that matches that of the lighted symbols formed adjacent thereto (@4:00):
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide a gap between two decorative blanks and filled with a channel connected curable filler. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve on the inlaid design, which can cause steps/gaps between the two decorative blanks [Yuzawa] while additionally providing unique decorative effects within the gap [Yuzuda] such as an ambient lighting stripe [Nafrada], wherein the ambient lighting stripe may be coupled/match in color scheme to other symbols provided thereon providing a “classic” look [Garage].
Regarding claim 27, it would have been obvious to provide a light-transmitting transparent curable filler material at any level of transparency, including translucent.
Alternatively, Marcos teaches a decorative trim for a vehicle comprising a plurality of light transmitting holes, wherein the filler is transparent or translucent, wherein translucent filler can improve visual continuity between the perforated areas and non-perforated areas such that they are non-perceptible when switched off and can also provide a diffusing lighting effect that can improve light homogeneity [0085-0089].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide a translucent light-transmitting filler for functional openings backlit vehicle trim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve visual continuity between the perforated areas and non-perforated areas such that they are non-perceptible when switched off and can also provide a diffusing lighting effect that can improve light homogeneity [Marcos].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure:
Wang et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 10,637,977 B1) teach an illumination system for items made of leather, including vehicle interiors, wherein leather may comprise openings or sets of openings, optionally connected by a thinned region, identical/similar that of Schlemmer, wherein the openings and thinned regions may be filled by a transparent filler that is non-hazy transparent or hazy translucent, wherein the openings through the leather may be optically connected by waveguides located in recesses in the leather (similar to the teaching of Kautz).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Frank J Vineis can be reached at (571)270-1547. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JEFFREY A VONCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781 October 7th, 2026