DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 15-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20090289878).
As per claim 1, Chen discloses a display panel (Fig. 4, #400; [0027]), comprising:
a plurality of pixel units (#470; [0027]);
a plurality of scan lines (#450), and a plurality of data lines (#460; [0027]), wherein the plurality of pixel units (#470) each comprise a plurality of sub-pixels (#475-477; [0028]), the plurality of sub-pixels (#475-477) in a same pixel unit (#470) are electrically connected to a same scan line (#SG1), and the plurality of sub-pixels (#475-477) in the same pixel unit (#470) are each electrically connected to different data lines (#DLR1, DLG1, DLB1);
demultiplexers (#445; [0027]), wherein each of the demultiplexers (#445) comprises two output terminals electrically connected to the different data lines (#DLR1, DLG1), and is configured to transmit data signals to the different data lines ([0031]-[0032]); and
wherein the plurality of sub-pixels (#475-477) of the same pixel unit (#470) comprise at least three sub-pixels with different colors ([0028]);
wherein (Fig. 4 discloses) the plurality of data lines (#460) are arranged along a first direction (i.e., horizontal direction) and extend along a second direction (i.e., vertical direction), and the first direction (i.e., horizontal direction) intersects with the second direction (i.e., vertical direction); and
the at least three sub-pixels (#475-477) with different colors in each of the plurality of pixel units (#470) comprise a first-color sub-pixel, a second-color sub-pixel, and a third-color sub-pixel, and in the same pixel unit (#470), the plurality of data lines (#460) electrically connected to the first-color sub-pixel, the second-color sub-pixel, and the third-color sub-pixel are adjacent to each other in the first direction (i.e., horizontal direction; [0028]; [0031]); and
wherein (Fig. 4 discloses) two sub-pixels of the first-color sub-pixel (#475), the second-color sub-pixel (#476), and the third-color sub-pixel (#477) in the same pixel unit (#470) are arranged along the first direction (i.e., horizontal direction), and another sub-pixel (#470) of the first-color sub-pixel (#475), the second-color sub-pixel (#476), and the third-color sub-pixel (#477) is arranged along the second direction (i.e., vertical direction) with one of the two sub-pixels, and
two adjacent pixel units (#470) along the second direction (i.e., vertical direction) form a pixel unit group, and in a same pixel unit group, the first-color sub-pixels (#475), the second-color sub-pixels (#476), and the third-color sub-pixels (#477) form a rectangular arrangement.
However, Chen does not teach two sub-pixels of the first-color sub-pixel, the second-color sub-pixel, and the third-color sub-pixel in the same pixel unit are arranged along the first direction, and another sub-pixel of the first-color sub-pixel, the second-color sub-pixel, and the third-color sub-pixel is arranged along the second direction with one of the two sub-pixels and overlaps with the one of the two sub-pixels along the second direction, forming an arrangement of an “L” shape. Official Notice is taken that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have two sub-pixels of the first-color sub-pixel, the second-color sub-pixel, and the third-color sub-pixel in the same pixel unit are arranged along the first direction, and another sub-pixel of the first-color sub-pixel, the second-color sub-pixel, and the third-color sub-pixel is arranged along the second direction with one of the two sub-pixels and overlaps with the one of the two sub-pixels along the second direction, forming an arrangement of an “L” shape since it has been held that changes in shape would be a matter of choice absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
As per claim 5, Chen discloses the display panel according to claim 1, wherein (Fig. 4 discloses) in the same pixel unit group, the plurality of sub-pixels (#475 and 476) arranged along the second direction (i.e., vertical direction) are different from each other in color ([0028]); and
wherein in two adjacent pixel unit groups along the first direction (i.e., horizontal direction), the plurality of sub-pixels (#475-477) of one of the two adjacent pixel unit groups and the plurality of sub-pixels (#475-477) of another one of two adjacent pixel unit groups that are adjacent to each other along the first direction (i.e., horizontal direction) are different from each other in color ([0028]).
As per claim 15, Chen discloses the display panel according to claim 1, wherein (Fig. 4 discloses) in the same pixel unit group, sub-pixels (#475) arranged along the second direction (i.e., vertical direction) and located in different pixel units (#470) are electrically connected to a same data line (#DLR1), while remaining sub-pixels (#476) located in the different pixel units (#470) are electrically connected to another same data line (#DLG1).
As per claim 16, Chen discloses the display panel according to claim 15, wherein (Fig. 4 discloses) when a sub-pixel (#477) is not adjacent to the data line (#DLR1) electrically connected thereto in the first direction (i.e., horizontal direction), the sub-pixel (#475) is electrically connected to the data line (#DLR1) via a bridging line.
As per claim 19, Chen discloses the display panel according to claim 15, wherein (Fig. 4 discloses) at least some of pixel units (#470) arranged along the second direction (i.e., vertical direction) form a pixel unit column, in a same pixel unit column, the first-color sub-pixels (#475) and the second-color sub-pixels (#476) arranged along the second direction (i.e., vertical direction) are electrically connected to the same data line (#DLR1/DLG1), and the third-color sub-pixels (#477) in the same pixel unit column are electrically connected to another same data line (#DLB1);
or in a same pixel unit column, the second-color sub-pixels and the third-color sub-pixels arranged along the second direction are electrically connected to the same data line, and the first-color sub-pixels in the same pixel unit column are electrically connected to another same data line.
As per claim 20, Chen discloses a display apparatus, comprising a display panel (Fig. 4, #400; [0027]), wherein the display panel comprises a plurality of pixel units (#470; [0027]), a plurality of scan lines (#450), and a plurality of data lines (#460; [0027]), wherein the plurality of pixel units (#470) each comprise a plurality of sub-pixels (#475-477; [0028]), the plurality of sub-pixels (#475-477) in a same pixel unit (#470) are electrically connected to a same scan line (#SG1), and the plurality of sub-pixels (#475-477) in the same pixel unit (#470) are each electrically connected to different data lines (#DLR1, DLG1, DLB1);
demultiplexers (#445; [0027]), each of the demultiplexers (#445) comprises two output terminals electrically connected to the different data lines (#DLR1, DLG1), and is configured to transmit data signals to the different data lines ([0031]-[0032]);
wherein the plurality of sub-pixels (#475-477) of the same pixel unit (#470) comprise at least three sub-pixels with different colors ([0028]);
wherein (Fig. 4 discloses) the plurality of data lines (#460) are arranged along a first direction (i.e., horizontal direction) and extend along a second direction (i.e., vertical direction), and the first direction (i.e., horizontal direction) intersects with the second direction (i.e., vertical direction); and
the at least three sub-pixels (#475-477) with different colors in each of the plurality of pixel units (#470) comprise a first-color sub-pixel, a second-color sub-pixel, and a third-color sub-pixel, and in the same pixel unit (#470), the plurality of data lines (#460) electrically connected to the first-color sub-pixel, the second-color sub-pixel, and the third-color sub-pixel are adjacent to each other in the first direction (i.e., horizontal direction; [0028]; [0031]); and
wherein (Fig. 4 discloses) two sub-pixels of the first-color sub-pixel (#475), the second-color sub-pixel (#476), and the third-color sub-pixel (#477) in the same pixel unit (#470) are arranged along the first direction (i.e., horizontal direction), and another sub-pixel (#470) of the first-color sub-pixel (#475), the second-color sub-pixel (#476), and the third-color sub-pixel (#477) is arranged along the second direction (i.e., vertical direction) with one of the two sub-pixels, and
two adjacent pixel units (#470) along the second direction (i.e., vertical direction) form a pixel unit group, and in a same pixel unit group, the first-color sub-pixels (#475), the second-color sub-pixels (#476), and the third-color sub-pixels (#477) form a rectangular arrangement.
However, Chen does not teach two sub-pixels of the first-color sub-pixel, the second-color sub-pixel, and the third-color sub-pixel in the same pixel unit are arranged along the first direction, and another sub-pixel of the first-color sub-pixel, the second-color sub-pixel, and the third-color sub-pixel is arranged along the second direction with one of the two sub-pixels and overlaps with the one of the two sub-pixels along the second direction, forming an arrangement of an “L” shape. Official Notice is taken that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have two sub-pixels of the first-color sub-pixel, the second-color sub-pixel, and the third-color sub-pixel in the same pixel unit are arranged along the first direction, and another sub-pixel of the first-color sub-pixel, the second-color sub-pixel, and the third-color sub-pixel is arranged along the second direction with one of the two sub-pixels and overlaps with the one of the two sub-pixels along the second direction, forming an arrangement of an “L” shape since it has been held that changes in shape would be a matter of choice absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen.
As per claim 17, Chen discloses the display panel according to claim 16 except for the bridging line is located on a side of the data line close to a light emission surface of the display panel. Official Notice is taken that it would have been an obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the bridging line is located on a side of the data line close to a light emission surface of the display panel since it has been held that mere rearrangement of parts of an invention in a way that does not modify the operation of the device is not a patentable improvement. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
As per claim 18, Chen discloses the display panel according to claim 16 except for along the thickness direction of the display panel, at least a portion of the bridging line overlaps with a scan line. Official Notice is taken that it would have been an obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide along the thickness direction of the display panel, at least a portion of the bridging line overlaps with a scan line since it has been held that mere rearrangement of parts of an invention in a way that does not modify the operation of the device is not a patentable improvement. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of a display panel comprising a plurality of sub-pixels in a same pixel unit are electrically connected to a same scan line, and the plurality of sub-pixels in the same pixel unit are each electrically connected to different data lines, demultiplexers comprising two output terminals electrically connected to the different data lines, and is configured to transmit data signals to the different data lines does not teach or fairly suggest the plurality of sub-pixels each comprise a switch module, and the switch module comprises an active layer; wherein in at least two of the plurality of sub-pixels arranged along the first direction, the active layers overlap with a main portion of the same scan line along a thickness direction of the display panel; and in the first-color sub-pixel, the second-color sub-pixel, and the third-color sub-pixel of the same pixel unit, the active layer in one sub-pixel which is not arranged along the first direction with other two sub-pixels overlaps with the branch of the scan line along the thickness direction of the display panel.
Claims 8-14 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art of a display panel comprising a plurality of sub-pixels in a same pixel unit are electrically connected to a same scan line, and the plurality of sub-pixels in the same pixel unit are each electrically connected to different data lines, demultiplexers comprising two output terminals electrically connected to the different data lines, and is configured to transmit data signals to the different data line does not teach or fairly suggest two sub-pixels of the first-color sub-pixel, the second-color sub-pixel, and the third-color sub-pixel in the same pixel unit are arranged along the second direction, and another sub-pixel of the first-color sub-pixel, the second-color sub-pixel, and the third-color sub-pixel is arranged along the first direction with the two sub-pixels and overlap with the two sub-pixels along the first direction; wherein two adjacent pixel units along the second direction form a pixel unit group, and the two pixel units forming the pixel unit group are a first pixel unit and a second pixel unit; and in a same pixel unit group, an arrangement structure of the first-color sub-pixel, the second-color sub-pixel, and the third-color sub-pixel in the first pixel unit, after being flipped 180° along the first direction, is identical to an arrangement structure of the first-color sub-pixel, the second-color sub-pixel, and the third-color sub-pixel in the second pixel unit, wherein in the same pixel unit group, the plurality of sub-pixels arranged along the second direction are different from each other in color.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 20 have been considered but are moot because of the new grounds of rejection as presented above.
Conclusion
/Nelson Lam/Examiner, Art Unit 2627