DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “high-speed bus” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high-speed bus” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Paragraph [0071] describes a “high-speed bus” as “Preferably, high-speed bus 112 is a Peripheral Component Interconnect Express (PCIe bus or PCI-E bus) because such busses are specifically designed for low latency and high data transfer rates,” however, it is unclear what values a “low latency” and a “high data transfer rate” would be defined as.
Claims 2-13 are dependent on claim 1 and do not remedy the deficiencies described above with respect to claim 1 and are therefore rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "said at least one segment of said second data type" in “wherein said at least one segment of said second data type comprises agents assigned to graph nodes and relationships between said agents assigned to graph edges.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as the term “said at least one segment of said second data type” is not referenced earlier in the claim or in claims 4 and 1. For examination purposes, the term “said at least one segment of said second data type” will be interpreted as “said at least one segment of said second type data subset,” which is referenced earlier in claims 4 and 1.
Claim 6 is dependent on claim 5 and does not remedy the deficiencies described above with respect to claim 5 and is therefore rejected under the same rationale as claim 5.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "said at least one segment" in “wherein said Central Processing Unit performs a non-classicality test on said at least one segment.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim it is unclear whether the term “said at least one segment” is the same as the “said at least one segment of said second type data subset” as referenced earlier in claims 4 and 1. For examination purposes, the term “said at least one segment” will be interpreted as “said at least one segment of said second type data subset,” which is referenced earlier in claims 4 and 1.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "said at least one segment" in “wherein said at least one segment comprises a quantum data segment.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim it is unclear whether the term “said at least one segment” is the same as the “said at least one segment of said second type data subset” as referenced earlier in claims 4 and 1. For examination purposes, the term “said at least one segment” will be interpreted as “said at least one segment of said second type data subset,” which is referenced earlier in claims 4 and 1.
Claim 9 is dependent on claim 8 and does not remedy the deficiencies described above with respect to claim 8 and is therefore rejected under the same rationale as claim 8.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "said at least Graphics Processing Unit" and “said specialized processing unit” in “wherein said at least Graphics Processing Unit and said specialized processing unit operate synchronously.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim it is unclear whether the terms "said at least Graphics Processing Unit" and “said specialized processing unit” are the same as the "said at least one Graphics Processing Unit" and “said at least one specialized processing unit” respectively, as referenced earlier in claim 1. For examination purposes, the terms "said at least Graphics Processing Unit" and “said specialized processing unit” will be interpreted as "said at least one Graphics Processing Unit" and “said at least one specialized processing unit” respectively, which are referenced earlier in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to (an) abstract idea(s) without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites:
An integrated computing architecture for distributing a layered data set comprising data layers tagged with layer type descriptors to processing units according to a first computation task and a second computation task, said integrated architecture comprising:
a Central Processing Unit for:
receiving said layered data set tagged with said layer type descriptors;
identifying and separating said layered data set based on said layer type descriptors into a first type data subset and a second type data subset;
assigning said first type data subset to said first computation task and said second type data subset to said second computation task;
a high-speed bus connected to said Central Processing Unit for routing said first type data subset and said second type data subset
at least one Graphics Processing Unit connected to said high-speed bus for performing said first computation task on said first type data subset
at least one specialized processing unit connected to said high-speed bus for performing said second computation task on at least one segment of said second type data subset
wherein said first computation task comprises matrix operations and said second computation task comprises application of a specialized computation model
Step 1: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter?
Yes.
Claim 1 is a machine.
Step 2A, Prong I: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes: (an) abstract idea(s).
The ‘identifying’ limitation in #2 above, as claimed and under broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), is a mental process that covers performance of the limitation in the mind. The limitation “identifying” in the context of this claim encompasses a person analyzing, evaluating, or identifying and separating said layered data set based on said layer type descriptors, including comparison or judgement.
Step 2A, Prong II: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No.
The ‘receiving’ limitation in #1 above, as claimed and under broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), is an additional element that is insignificant extra-solution activity. The limitation “receiving” in the context of this claim encompasses mere data gathering. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
The ‘assigning’ limitation in #3 above, as claimed and under broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), is an additional element as “apply it” that is mere instructions to apply an exception. The limitation “assigning” in the context of this claim encompasses merely assigning said first type data subset to said first computation task and said second type data subset to said second computation task. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Additionally, one or more of the claims recite the following additional elements:
a Central Processing Unit
a high-speed bus
at least one Graphics Processing Unit
at least one specialized processing unit
a specialized computation model
These additional elements are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as generic computer components) such that they amount to no more than components comprising mere instructions to apply the exception. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea(s) into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract ideas(s).
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No.
As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea(s) into a practical application, the aforementioned additional elements amount to no more than components for obtaining or gathering data and comprising mere instructions to apply the exception which is evidently seen in MPEP 2106.05(g)&(f). Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept.
Claim 2 merely further describes the layer type descriptors of Claim 1. The claim does not include additional elements that integrate into practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 3 merely further describes the layer type descriptors of Claim 1. The claim does not include additional elements that integrate into practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 4 merely further describes the layer type descriptors of Claim 1. The claim does not include additional elements that integrate into practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 5 merely further describes the specialized computation model of Claim 4. The claim does not include additional elements that integrate into practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 6 merely further describes the relationships between agents of Claim 5. The claim does not include additional elements that integrate into practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 8 merely further describes the segment and specialized processing unit of Claim 4. The claim does not include additional elements that integrate into practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 9 merely further describes the specialized computation model of Claim 8. The claim does not include additional elements that integrate into practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 10 merely further describes the specialized processing unit of Claim 1. The claim does not include additional elements that integrate into practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 11 merely further describes the specialized computation model of Claim 10. The claim does not include additional elements that integrate into practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 12 merely further describes the graphics processing unit and specialized processing unit of Claim 1. The claim does not include additional elements that integrate into practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 13 merely further describes the graphics processing unit and specialized processing unit of Claim 1. The claim does not include additional elements that integrate into practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Therefore, Claims 1-6 and 8-13 are directed to (an) abstract idea(s) without significantly more.
Claim 7 recites:
wherein said Central Processing Unit performs a non-classicality test on said at least one segment, said non-classicality test comprising a factorizability test;
Step 1: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter?
Yes.
Claim 7 is a machine.
Step 2A, Prong II: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No.
The ‘performing’ limitation in #4 above, as claimed and under broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), is an additional element as “apply it” that is mere instructions to apply an exception. The limitation “performing” in the context of this claim encompasses merely performing a non-classicality test on said at least one segment. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No.
As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea(s) into a practical application, the aforementioned additional elements amount to no more than components for obtaining or gathering data and comprising mere instructions to apply the exception which is evidently seen in MPEP 2106.05(f). Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept.
Therefore, Claim 7 is directed to (an) abstract idea(s) without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parashar et al. (U.S. Publication No. US 20210232921 A1), hereinafter “Parashar” in view of Rijavec et al. (U.S. Publication No. US 20030090706 A1), hereinafter “Rijavec.”
With regards to claim 1, Parashar teaches:
An integrated computing architecture for distributing a data set tagged with layer type descriptors to processing units according to a first computation task and a second computation task (Paragraphs 94 and 97, “In an example, the controller 204 may receive the request to perform the task on the one or more inputs from the external entity. Examples of the one or more inputs may include, but not limited to, audio, image frames, videos, GIFs, text, and so on. The one or more inputs and the one or more tasks may be related to the one or more applications implemented within the neural network… The controller 204 further fetches the unified neural network profile from the memory 210 and identifies the metadata of the neural network and the profiles of each processor 202a-202n for the requested task. Based on the metadata of the neural network for the requested task, the profiles of each processor 202a-202n for the requested task and the current parameters of each processor 202a-202n, the controller 204 allocates or divides the received one or more inputs to the one or more processors 202a-202n… The controller 204 enables the one or more processors 202a-202n to process the layers of the neural network defined for the requested task for the allocated one or more inputs in parallel.” The controller dividing the input to be processed by one or more processors based on metadata of the neural network for the requested task would involve a separate subset of the input to be processed for each assigned processor and therefore correlates to an integrated computing architecture for distributing a data set tagged with layer type descriptors to processing units according to a first computation task and a second computation task), said integrated architecture comprising:
a Central Processing Unit for:
receiving said data set tagged with said layer type descriptors (Paragraphs 84, 89, and 94, “The accessed neural network may be a trained neural network in which a number of layers, a sequence for processing the layers and parameters related to each layer may be known and fixed for each of the one or more tasks. Examples of the parameters may include, but not limited to, activation functions, biases, input weights, output weights, and so on, related to the layers of the neural network… In an embodiment, the controller 204 may be, but is not limited to, a single processer, a plurality of processors, multiple homogenous cores, multiple heterogeneous cores, multiple CPUs of different kinds, and so on… In an example, the controller 204 may receive the request to perform the task on the one or more inputs from the external entity. Examples of the one or more inputs may include, but not limited to, audio, image frames, videos, GIFs, text, and so on. The one or more inputs and the one or more tasks may be related to the one or more applications implemented within the neural network.” The controller, which can be a CPU, receiving one or more inputs such as images, videos, audio, and text as part of a task request correlates to a Central Processing Unit for receiving said data set. The task request including parameters related to each layer for a task, such as activation functions or input weights, correlates to receiving said data set tagged with said layer type descriptors);
identifying and separating said data set based on said layer type descriptors into a first type data subset and a second type data subset (Paragraphs 84, 91, and 97, “The accessed neural network may be a trained neural network in which a number of layers, a sequence for processing the layers and parameters related to each layer may be known and fixed for each of the one or more tasks. Examples of the parameters may include, but not limited to, activation functions, biases, input weights, output weights, and so on, related to the layers of the neural network… For generating the unified neural network profile, the controller 204 extracts metadata from the neural network (i.e., the neural network received from the external entity or the neural network trained using the received training information). Examples of the metadata may include, but not limited to, a number of layers of the neural network defined for each task, a sequence for processing the layers of the neural network for each task, data flow and/or connection between the layers (i.e., at least one input and at least one output of each layer), weights, biases, and/or activation functions associated with each layer of the neural network, data types supported by the weights of the layers of the neural network, and so on… The controller 204 further fetches the unified neural network profile from the memory 210 and identifies the metadata of the neural network and the profiles of each processor 202a-202n for the requested task. Based on the metadata of the neural network for the requested task, the profiles of each processor 202a-202n for the requested task and the current parameters of each processor 202a-202n, the controller 204 allocates or divides the received one or more inputs to the one or more processors 202a-202n.” The controller uses the parameters related to each layer for each of the tasks, which can be part of the neural network metadata, to create a unified neural network profile. The controller using the unified neural network profile to divide the received inputs to one or more processors correlates to identifying and separating said data set based on said layer type descriptors into a first type data subset and a second type data subset);
assigning said first type data subset to said first computation task and said second type data subset to said second computation task (Paragraph 97, “The controller 204 further fetches the unified neural network profile from the memory 210 and identifies the metadata of the neural network and the profiles of each processor 202a-202n for the requested task. Based on the metadata of the neural network for the requested task, the profiles of each processor 202a-202n for the requested task and the current parameters of each processor 202a-202n, the controller 204 allocates or divides the received one or more inputs to the one or more processors 202a-202n… The controller 204 enables the one or more processors 202a-202n to process the layers of the neural network defined for the requested task for the allocated one or more inputs in parallel.” The controller dividing the input to be processed by one or more processors would involve a separate subset of the input to be processed for each assigned processor and therefore correlates to assigning said first type data subset to said first computation task and said second type data subset to said second computation task);
a high-speed bus connected to said Central Processing Unit for routing said first type data subset and said second type data subset (Paragraphs 89, 97, 104, “In an embodiment, the controller 204 may be, but is not limited to, a single processer, a plurality of processors, multiple homogenous cores, multiple heterogeneous cores, multiple CPUs of different kinds, and so on… Based on the metadata of the neural network for the requested task, the profiles of each processor 202a-202n for the requested task and the current parameters of each processor 202a-202n, the controller 204 allocates or divides the received one or more inputs to the one or more processors 202a-202n. In an example, the two or more inputs may be allocated to the same processor 202a. In an example, the one or more inputs may be allocated to the one or more different processors 202a-202n… The memory 210 may store at least one of, but not limited to, the information/specification of the one or more processors 202a-202n of the one or more chipsets 202, the neural network, the one or more inputs, the requested one or more tasks, the unified neural network profile, the current parameters of the one or more processors 202a-202n, the plurality of combinations of the subnets, information about the selected combination of the subnets, and so on. Examples of the memory 210 may include, but not limited to, NAND, embedded Multimedia Card (eMMC), Secure Digital (SD) cards, Universal Serial Bus (USB)…” The controller dividing and allocating the input, which can be stored in memory, to one or more processors would involve routing the input through a bus and therefore correlates to a high-speed bus connected to said Central Processing Unit for routing said first type data subset and said second type data subset);
at least one Graphics Processing Unit connected to said high-speed bus for performing said first computation task on said first type data subset (Paragraphs 88 and 97, “Examples of the processors 202a-202n may include, but is not limited to, a Central Processing Unit (CPU), a Graphics Processing Unit (GPU), a Digital Signal Processor (DSP), a Neural Processing Unit (NPU), an Image Signal Processor (ISP), an accelerator, or any hardware capable of processing the neural network. The processors 202a-202n may configure (or process, or execute) the neural network for performing the one or more tasks based on the one or more inputs… Based on the metadata of the neural network for the requested task, the profiles of each processor 202a-202n for the requested task and the current parameters of each processor 202a-202n, the controller 204 allocates or divides the received one or more inputs to the one or more processors 202a-202n.” The controller dividing and allocating the input across the processors such as GPUs would involve the processors being connected to a bus to receive the task and input which therefore correlates to at least one Graphics Processing Unit connected to said high-speed bus for performing said first computation task on said first type data subset);
at least one specialized processing unit connected to said high-speed bus for performing said second computation task on at least one segment of said second type data subset (Paragraphs 88 and 97, “Examples of the processors 202a-202n may include, but is not limited to, a Central Processing Unit (CPU), a Graphics Processing Unit (GPU), a Digital Signal Processor (DSP), a Neural Processing Unit (NPU), an Image Signal Processor (ISP), an accelerator, or any hardware capable of processing the neural network. The processors 202a-202n may configure (or process, or execute) the neural network for performing the one or more tasks based on the one or more inputs… Based on the metadata of the neural network for the requested task, the profiles of each processor 202a-202n for the requested task and the current parameters of each processor 202a-202n, the controller 204 allocates or divides the received one or more inputs to the one or more processors 202a-202n.” Based on the specification at paragraph [0073], where “specialized processing unit 126 is a Classical Processing Unit but not a GPU,” under BRI, the controller dividing and allocating the input across the processors such as DSPs or NPUs would involve the processors being connected to a bus to receive the task and input which therefore correlates to at least one specialized processing unit connected to said high-speed bus for performing said second computation task on at least one segment of said second type data subset);
wherein said first computation task comprises matrix operations (Paragraphs 79, “The one or more tasks referred herein may include at least one of, but is not limited to, a processing of media, an object classification, an object detection, controlling display screen settings, and so on. Examples of the media may include, but is not limited to, an audio, an image, a video, a Graphics Interchange Format (GIF), and so on. In an example, the processing of the media involves at least one of, but not limited to, media improvement, media restoration, applying at least one of filters, effects, styles, or the like on the media, tuning the media, super resolution, in painting and so on.” The tasks including media processing such as image restoration would involve an image represented as a matrix and therefore correlates to wherein said first computation task comprises matrix operations) and said second computation task comprises application of a specialized computation model (Paragraphs 7-8, “Consider an example scenario as depicted in FIG. 1, wherein an electronic device includes a Central Processing Unit (CPU), a Graphics Processing Unit (GPU), a Digital Signal Processor (DSP), and a Neural Processing Unit (NPU). The NPU may be also referred to as a neural processor, a deep learning processor, or an artificial intelligence (AI) accelerator… Upon or after receiving a request to perform the object classification on one or more inputs, the electronic device enables the DSP and the NPU to process the one or more layers of the neural network defined for the object classification in the pre-defined order for each of the inputs using the pre-compiled models.” The DSP or NPU receiving an object classification request for an input and processing one or more layers of the neural network using the pre-compiled models correlates to said second computation task comprises application of a specialized computation model).
Parashar does not explicitly teach that the data set is a layered data set comprising data layers. However, layered data set[s] comprising data layers are a popular type of data set input as evidenced by Rijavec (Paragraph 27, “The input to the system consists of a composite image data set that contains complex raster image data, possibly divided into a number of spatial strips. The composite image data received by the example embodiment further contains meta-data indicators which describe each pixel in the complex raster image data… In the example embodiments, each colorplane is passed in a separate memory buffer. The colorplane buffers can be either interelaved (i.e., all color plane buffers for a strip passed together) or planar (i.e., all strips for a single color passed together before the next color is started).” The composite image data set containing raster image data divided into a number of spatial strips or colorplanes correlates to a layered data set comprising data layers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Parashar with a layered data set comprising data layers as taught by Rijavec because composite image data sets can contain metadata indicators describing each pixel in the complex raster image data. The individual color planes of the composite image data set can be divided into tiles based on the metadata information. Passing in the composite image data to the system in separate memory buffers allows all strips for a single color passed together before the next color is started (Rijavec: paragraphs 27 and 33).
With regards to claim 2, Parashar in view of Rijavec teaches the system of claim 1 above. Parashar further teaches:
wherein said layer type descriptors comprise metadata including at least one parameter selected from among dimensions, activation functions (Paragraph 84, “The accessed neural network may be a trained neural network in which a number of layers, a sequence for processing the layers and parameters related to each layer may be known and fixed for each of the one or more tasks. Examples of the parameters may include, but not limited to, activation functions, biases, input weights, output weights, and so on, related to the layers of the neural network.” The parameters related to each layer for each task including activation functions correlates to wherein said layer type descriptors comprise metadata including at least one parameter selected from among activation functions), attention mechanisms, hyperparameters, positional encodings, feed-forward networks, non-classical data indicators and entanglement suspects.
With regards to claim 3, Parashar in view of Rijavec teaches the system of claim 1 above. Parashar further teaches:
wherein said layer type descriptors include a specialized metadata indicator for said at least one segment of said second type data subset (Paragraphs 84 and 97, “The accessed neural network may be a trained neural network in which a number of layers, a sequence for processing the layers and parameters related to each layer may be known and fixed for each of the one or more tasks. Examples of the parameters may include, but not limited to, activation functions, biases, input weights, output weights, and so on, related to the layers of the neural network... Based on the metadata of the neural network for the requested task, the profiles of each processor 202a-202n for the requested task and the current parameters of each processor 202a-202n, the controller 204 allocates or divides the received one or more inputs to the one or more processors 202a-202n.” The parameters related to each layer for each task including activation functions would indicate at a portion of the input would be allocated to an NPU and therefore correlates to wherein said layer type descriptors include a specialized metadata indicator for said at least one segment of said second type data subset).
With regards to claim 12, Parashar in view of Rijavec teaches the system of claim 1 above. Parashar further teaches:
wherein said at least one Graphics Processing Unit and said at least one specialized processing unit operate asynchronously (Paragraphs 88 and 96-97, “Examples of the processors 202a-202n may include, but is not limited to, a Central Processing Unit (CPU), a Graphics Processing Unit (GPU), a Digital Signal Processor (DSP), a Neural Processing Unit (NPU), an Image Signal Processor (ISP), an accelerator, or any hardware capable of processing the neural network… The controller 204 determines the parallel processing of the neural network for the asynchronous task… Based on the metadata of the neural network for the requested task, the profiles of each processor 202a-202n for the requested task and the current parameters of each processor 202a-202n, the controller 204 allocates or divides the received one or more inputs to the one or more processors 202a-202n.” The one or more inputs being allocated to the one or more processors, which include GPUs and NPUs, for processing of the asynchronous task correlates to wherein said at least one Graphics Processing Unit and said at least one specialized processing unit operate asynchronously).
With regards to claim 13, Parashar in view of Rijavec teaches the system of claim 1 above. Parashar further teaches:
wherein said at least Graphics Processing Unit and said specialized processing unit operate synchronously (Paragraphs 88, 96, and 100, “Examples of the processors 202a-202n may include, but is not limited to, a Central Processing Unit (CPU), a Graphics Processing Unit (GPU), a Digital Signal Processor (DSP), a Neural Processing Unit (NPU), an Image Signal Processor (ISP), an accelerator, or any hardware capable of processing the neural network… The controller 204 determines the pipelining processing of the neural network for the synchronous task… The controller 204 allocates the processors 202a-202n for the subnets based on the profiles of the processors 202a-202n and the current parameters of the processors 202a-202n. The controller 204 loads the subnets on the respective allocated processors 202a-202n to process the subnets. The controller 204 enables the allocated processors 202a-202n to process the respective subnets in a pipelining method/manner for each of the received input. The pipelining method involves the parallel processing of the subnets on the different allocated processors 202a-202n.” Each received input being processed by allocated processors, which include GPUs and NPUs, for the respective subnets in a pipelining manner for processing of the synchronous task correlates to wherein said at least Graphics Processing Unit and said specialized processing unit operate synchronously).
Claim 4 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Rijavec and Cruz Benito et al. (U.S. Publication No. US 20250378358 A1), hereinafter “Cruz Benito.”
With regards to claim 4, Parashar in view of Rijavec teaches the system of claim 1 above. Parashar in view of Rijavec does not explicitly teach:
wherein said layer type descriptors include at least one suspected non-classical metadata indicator for said at least one segment of said second type data subset.
However, Cruz Benito teaches:
wherein said layer type descriptors include at least one suspected non-classical metadata indicator for said at least one segment of said second type data subset (Paragraph 29, “For example, users can submit data based on observations (or use pre-defined datasets) and a problem to solve (optimization problem, classification problem, etc.) from a catalog via an application programming interface (API) or a user interface (UI) to the intelligent system. As part of inputs to the intelligent system, users can introduce constraints comprising a family of pre-defined algorithms to use or specific pre-defined algorithms to employ for generating solutions to the problem, user-defined algorithms to be tested, specific quantum procedures or hybrid (quantum & classical) procedures, ranges or specific values for algorithm parameters or procedure parameters, metrics for evaluation of the results, hardware specifications to be considered or hardware restrictions to be met for solving a problem, quantum properties to be considered for solving a problem, a shots limit for error-related techniques, a desired output quality for error-related techniques, and/or any other relevant restriction or constraint.” Based on the specification at paragraph [0091] describing an example of non-classical behavior as quantum entanglement, the user submitting a dataset and related constraints, such as specific quantum properties or procedures, correlates to wherein said layer type descriptors include at least one suspected non-classical metadata indicator for said at least one segment of said second type data subset).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Parashar with wherein said layer type descriptors include at least one suspected non-classical metadata indicator for said at least one segment of said second type data subset as taught by Cruz Benito because typical classical AI platforms can offer commercial products that can attempt to solve a specific problem using different approaches and benchmarking approaches to find optimal solutions, but do not offer quantum features or algorithms to solve quantum-related tasks using quantum hardware units automatically and intelligently. Intelligent systems which support quantum or hybrid procedures can assist researchers to discover new ways of solving quantum-computing related tasks and to test different combinations of algorithms, parameters, procedures, and hardware to solve problems and find optimal solutions that can improve upon existing solutions (Cruz Benito: paragraphs 27, 29 and 32).
With regards to claim 8, Parashar in view of Rijavec and Cruz Benito teaches the system of claim 4 above. Cruz Benito further teaches:
wherein said at least one segment comprises a quantum data segment (Paragraph 29, “For example, users can submit data based on observations (or use pre-defined datasets) and a problem to solve (optimization problem, classification problem, etc.) from a catalog via an application programming interface (API) or a user interface (UI) to the intelligent system. As part of inputs to the intelligent system, users can introduce constraints comprising a family of pre-defined algorithms to use or specific pre-defined algorithms to employ for generating solutions to the problem, user-defined algorithms to be tested, specific quantum procedures or hybrid (quantum & classical) procedures, ranges or specific values for algorithm parameters or procedure parameters, metrics for evaluation of the results, hardware specifications to be considered or hardware restrictions to be met for solving a problem, quantum properties to be considered for solving a problem, a shots limit for error-related techniques, a desired output quality for error-related techniques, and/or any other relevant restriction or constraint.” The input consisting of a dataset and quantum parameters and properties for quantum procedures correlates to wherein said at least one segment comprises a quantum data segment) and said at least one specialized processing unit comprises at least one unit selected from the group consisting of Quantum Coprocessors, Quantum Computers and Quantum Simulators for application of said specialized computation model (Paragraphs 30 and 43, “In various embodiments, the one or more combinations of entities can comprise combinations of algorithms, procedures, parameters, quantum hardware units, quantum circuits, etc., used to discover solutions to the problem. For example, the intelligent system can select a quantum processing unit (QPU) in combination with the intelligent selection of the algorithm, error-related strategy, and other entities/procedures needed to solve the task… In an aspect, recommendation component 108 can recommend the combination of entities (e.g., combination 122) based on one or more constraints selected from a group comprising at least one of the one or more quantum circuits, the one or more algorithms, the one or more quantum hardware units, the one or more error mitigation techniques, the one or more quantum procedures, hybrid procedures and parameters.” The combination of entities used to discover solutions to the problem including quantum processing units, quantum hardware units, and quantum circuits with hybrid procedures correlates to said at least one specialized processing unit comprises at least one unit selected from the group consisting of Quantum Coprocessors, Quantum Computers and Quantum Simulators for application of said specialized computation model).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Parashar with wherein said at least one segment comprises a quantum data segment and said at least one specialized processing unit comprises at least one unit selected from the group consisting of Quantum Coprocessors, Quantum Computers and Quantum Simulators for application of said specialized computation model as taught by Cruz Benito because typical classical AI platforms can offer commercial products that can attempt to solve a specific problem using different approaches and benchmarking approaches to find optimal solutions, but do not offer quantum features or algorithms to solve quantum-related tasks using quantum hardware units automatically and intelligently. Intelligent systems which support quantum or hybrid procedures can assist researchers to discover new ways of solving quantum-computing related tasks and to test different combinations of algorithms, parameters, procedures, and hardware to solve problems and find optimal solutions that can improve upon existing solutions (Cruz Benito: paragraphs 27, 29 and 32).
With regards to claim 9, Parashar in view of Rijavec and Cruz Benito teaches the system of claim 8 above. Cruz Benito further teaches:
wherein said specialized computation model comprises a model selected from among a quantum annealing model, a sequence of quantum gates (Paragraph 40, “In various embodiments, the machine learning model can specify the quantum hardware, qubits, entanglements, and other aspects that can be employed to solve computational problem 116. For example, in an embodiment, the machine learning model can specify a quantum hardware and the number of qubits of the quantum hardware that can be employed to solve computational problem 116. In another embodiment, the machine learning model can specify more than one quantum hardware and the number of qubits on each quantum hardware that can be employed to solve computational problem 116. In yet another embodiment, the machine learning model can specify the number of logical and/or physical qubits on one or more quantum hardware that can be employed to solve computational problem 116. In some embodiments, the machine learning model can also define one or more quantum circuits and quantum gates that can be employed to computational problem 116.” The combination of quantum hardware, circuits, and gates employed to solve the computational problem correlates to wherein said specialized computation model comprises a model selected from among a sequence of quantum gates), a generator of entangled qubits for quantum key distribution, a noise-mitigation algorithm for minimizing quantum errors, a hybrid quantum-classical optimization loop, a sequence of quantum operations followed by classical operations, a quantum Fourier transform, a generator of entangled states with a controlled-NOT gate, a quantum error correction code, a quantum state preparation and measurement sequence, a quantum walk algorithm, a quantum search algorithm.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Parashar with wherein said specialized computation model comprises a model selected from among a quantum annealing model, a sequence of quantum gates, a generator of entangled qubits for quantum key distribution, a noise-mitigation algorithm for minimizing quantum errors, a hybrid quantum-classical optimization loop, a sequence of quantum operations followed by classical operations, a quantum Fourier transform, a generator of entangled states with a controlled-NOT gate, a quantum error correction code, a quantum state preparation and measurement sequence, a quantum walk algorithm, a quantum search algorithm as taught by Cruz Benito because typical classical AI platforms can offer commercial products that can attempt to solve a specific problem using different approaches and benchmarking approaches to find optimal solutions, but do not offer quantum features or algorithms to solve quantum-related tasks using quantum hardware units automatically and intelligently. Intelligent systems which support quantum or hybrid procedures can assist researchers to discover new ways of solving quantum-computing related tasks and to test different combinations of algorithms, parameters, procedures, and hardware to solve problems and find optimal solutions that can improve upon existing solutions (Cruz Benito: paragraphs 27, 29 and 32).
Claim(s) 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Rijavec, Cruz Benito and Yiding et al. (“Factorizable Graph Convolutional Networks”), hereinafter “Yiding.”
With regards to claim 5, Parashar in view of Rijavec and Cruz Benito teaches the system of claim 4 above. Cruz Benito further teaches:
wherein said specialized computation model comprises a quantum cognition model (Paragraph 41, “For example, recommendation component 108 can configure quantum systems according to the different combinations of entities generated by the machine learning model to generate different results for computational problem 116. For example, recommendation component 108 can execute at least a first combination of quantum circuits, quantum hardware units, algorithms, error mitigation or error correction techniques, quantum procedures and/or other computational aspects.” The quantum system, which includes a combination of quantum circuits and quantum hardware units, can involve a quantum circuit implemented on a quantum hardware unit and therefore correlates to wherein said specialized computation model comprises a quantum cognition model)
Parashar in view of Rijavec and Cruz Benito does not explicitly teach:
and wherein said at least one segment of said second data type comprises agents assigned to graph nodes and relationships between said agents assigned to graph edges.
However, Yiding teaches:
and wherein said at least one segment of said second data type comprises agents assigned to graph nodes and relationships between said agents assigned to graph edges (Section 1, paragraph 4, “In many real world graphs, multiple heterogeneous relations between nodes are mixed and collapsed to one single edge. In the case of social networks, two people may be friends, colleagues, and living in the same city simultaneously, but linked via one single edge that omits such interconnections; in the co-purchasing scenario [5], products are bought together for different reasons like promotion, and functional complementary, but are often ignored in the graph construction.” The graph nodes being represented as people or products and edges representing relations between the people or products correlates to wherein said at least one segment of said second data type comprises agents assigned to graph nodes and relationships between said agents assigned to graph edges).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Parashar with wherein said specialized computation model comprises a quantum cognition model as taught by Cruz Benito because typical classical AI platforms can offer commercial products that can attempt to solve a specific problem using different approaches and benchmarking approaches to find optimal solutions, but do not offer quantum features or algorithms to solve quantum-related tasks using quantum hardware units automatically and intelligently. Intelligent systems which support quantum or hybrid procedures can assist researchers to discover new ways of solving quantum-computing related tasks and to test different combinations of algorithms, parameters, procedures, and hardware to solve problems and find optimal solutions that can improve upon existing solutions (Cruz Benito: paragraphs 27, 29 and 32).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Parashar with and wherein said at least one segment of said second data type comprises agents assigned to graph nodes and relationships between said agents assigned to graph edges as taught by Yiding because many real world graphs have multiple heterogeneous relations between nodes. For example, social networks can represent people, and their relationships can be represented by edges in a graph. Applying graph-level disentangling can produce block-wise interpretable node features by analyzing the input graph to account for higher-order relations between edges and nodes (Yiding: Section 1, paragraphs 4-5).
With regards to claim 6, Parashar in view of Rijavec, Cruz Benito and Yiding teaches the system of claim 5 above. Yiding further teaches:
wherein said relationships between said agents include entanglement between a pair of agents (Abstract, “Graphs have been widely adopted to denote structural connections between entities. The relations are in many cases heterogeneous, but entangled together and denoted merely as a single edge between a pair of nodes. For example, in a social network graph, users in different latent relationships like friends and colleagues, are usually connected via a bare edge that conceals such intrinsic connections.” The edge between nodes being represented as an entangled relationship correlates to wherein said relationships between said agents include entanglement between a pair of agents)
Yiding does not explicitly teach that the entanglement’s contextualization of a proposition is tracked in a quantum representation. However, contextualiz[-ing of a proposition such as entanglement] in a quantum representation is a popular method of representing entanglements as evidenced by Cruz Benito (Paragraph 40, “In various embodiments, the machine learning model can specify the quantum hardware, qubits, entanglements, and other aspects that can be employed to solve computational problem 116. For example, in an embodiment, the machine learning model can specify a quantum hardware and the number of qubits of the quantum hardware that can be employed to solve computational problem 116.” The machine learning model specifying the entanglements and associated quantum hardware to solve the computational problem would involve specifying the entanglement with respect to the quantum hardware and therefore correlates to an entanglement whose contextualization of a proposition is tracked in a quantum representation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Parashar with entanglement whose contextualization of a proposition is tracked in a quantum representation as taught by Cruz Benito because typical classical AI platforms can offer commercial products that can attempt to solve a specific problem using different approaches and benchmarking approaches to find optimal solutions, but do not offer quantum features or algorithms to solve quantum-related tasks using quantum hardware units automatically and intelligently. Intelligent systems which support quantum or hybrid procedures can assist researchers to discover new ways of solving quantum-computing related tasks and to test different combinations of algorithms, parameters, procedures, and hardware to solve problems and find optimal solutions that can improve upon existing solutions (Cruz Benito: paragraphs 27, 29 and 32).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Parashar with wherein said relationships between said agents include entanglement between a pair of agents as taught by Yiding because many real world graphs have multiple heterogeneous relations between nodes. These heterogeneous relations can heterogeneous but entangled together and can hide intrinsic connections. For example, social networks can represent people, and their relationships can be represented by edges in a graph. Applying graph-level disentangling can produce block-wise interpretable node features by analyzing the input graph to account for higher-order relations between edges and nodes (Yiding: Abstract, Section 1, paragraphs 4-5).
With regards to claim 7, Parashar in view of Rijavec and Cruz Benito teaches the system of claim 4 above. Parashar in view of Rijavec and Cruz Benito does not explicitly teach:
wherein said Central Processing Unit performs a non-classicality test on said at least one segment, said non-classicality test comprising a factorizability test
However, Yiding teaches:
wherein said Central Processing Unit performs a non-classicality test on said at least one segment, said non-classicality test comprising a factorizability test (Fig. 1, Section 1, paragraph 3, “In the disentangling step, the input graph is decomposed into several factor graphs, each of which represents a latent relation among nodes… Our approach, termed as factorizable graph convolutional network (FactorGCN), takes as input a simple graph, and decomposes it into several factor graphs, each of which corresponds to a disentangled and interpretable relation space, as shown in Fig. 1.” The input graph being decomposed into several factor graphs representing a latent relation among the nodes would testing the factorizability of at least one segment of the graph and therefore correlates to wherein said Central Processing Unit performs a non-classicality test on said at least one segment, said non-classicality test comprising a factorizability test).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Parashar with wherein said Central Processing Unit performs a non-classicality test on said at least one segment, said non-classicality test comprising a factorizability test as taught by Yiding because many real world graphs have multiple heterogeneous relations between nodes. These heterogeneous relations can heterogeneous but entangled together and can hide intrinsic connections. For example, social networks can represent people, and their relationships can be represented by edges in a graph. Applying graph-level disentangling can produce block-wise interpretable node features by analyzing the input graph to account for higher-order relations between edges and nodes (Yiding: Abstract, Section 1, paragraphs 4-5).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Rijavec and Sait et al. (U.S. Publication No. US 12108697 B1), hereinafter “Sait.”
With regards to claim 10, Parashar in view of Rijavec teaches the system of claim 1 above. Parashar further teaches:
wherein said at least one specialized processing unit comprises at least one unit selected from among Neural Network Processing Units (Paragraphs 7-8, “Consider an example scenario as depicted in FIG. 1, wherein an electronic device includes a Central Processing Unit (CPU), a Graphics Processing Unit (GPU), a Digital Signal Processor (DSP), and a Neural Processing Unit (NPU). The NPU may be also referred to as a neural processor, a deep learning processor, or an artificial intelligence (AI) accelerator... Upon or after receiving a request to perform the object classification on one or more inputs, the electronic device enables the DSP and the NPU to process the one or more layers of the neural network defined for the object classification in the pre-defined order for each of the inputs using the pre-compiled models.” The electronic device enabling the NPU to process layers of the neural network for the inputs correlates to wherein said at least one specialized processing unit comprises at least one unit selected from among Neural Network Processing Units)
Parashar does not explicitly teach that the Neural Network Processing Units are Liquid Neural Network Processing Units. However, liquid neural networks are a popular type of neural network used in processing as evidenced by Sait below (Col. 5, lines 10-16, “Fast region GANs are developed using liquid neural networks and GANs, as shown in FIG. 4. Liquid neural networks process the images and extract features through a test and generating manner. Using this approach, a set of features called feature maps are generated. The feature maps are generated as a single image and forwarded to the generator and discriminator units.” The liquid neural network processing the image correlates to a liquid neural network).
Parashar in view of Rijavec does not explicitly teach:
wherein said at least one specialized processing unit comprises at least one unit selected from among Neural Ordinary Differential Equations Processing Units.
However, Sait teaches:
wherein said at least one specialized processing unit comprises at least one unit selected from among Neural Ordinary Differential Equations Processing Units (Col. 5, lines 10-16, “Fast region GANs are developed using liquid neural networks and GANs, as shown in FIG. 4. Liquid neural networks process the images and extract features through a test and generating manner. Using this approach, a set of features called feature maps are generated. The feature maps are generated as a single image and forwarded to the generator and discriminator units.” The liquid neural network processing the image correlates to wherein said at least one specialized processing unit comprises at least one unit selected from among Neural Ordinary Differential Equations Processing Units).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Parashar with liquid neural networks and wherein said at least one specialized processing unit comprises at least one unit selected from among Neural Ordinary Differential Equations Processing Units as taught by Sait because liquid neural networks and GANs can be used to process images and extract features through a test and generating manner to generate feature maps. These maps can be generated as a single image and forwarded to the generator and discriminator units for training the AI-based image processing and machine learning techniques (Sait: Col. 5, lines 10-19).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Rijavec, Sait and Iskender et al. (U.S. Publication No. US 20250163793 A1), hereinafter “Iskender.”
With regards to claim 11, Parashar in view of Rijavec and Sait teaches the system of claim 10 above. Parashar in view of Rijavec and Sait does not explicitly teach:
wherein said specialized computation model comprises a model selected from among an initial value solver for Neural Ordinary Differential Equations by adaptive Runge- Kutta methods, a fast Jacobian Matrix evaluation for implicit Ordinary Differential Equation solution, a real- time simulation of Liquid Neural Networks with a sparse connectivity matrix, a hardware-accelerated bifurcation analysis to identify parameter regimes where the dynamics of Neural Ordinary Differential Equations change qualitatively, a backpropagation through time for Liquid Neural Networks by storing and replaying neural states, a time-stepping algorithm for solving partial differential equations related to Neural Ordinary Differential Equations, a gradient descent algorithm, a reservoir computing task with projection of high-dimensional inputs onto lower-dimensional liquid states, an evaluation of stability of fixed points and limit cycles in Neural Ordinary Differential Equation systems, a sensitivity analysis for quantifying impact of parameter variations on Neural Ordinary Differential Equation solutions, a simulation of spiking neural networks with integrate-and- fire models or Hodgkin-Huxley models, a hardware- accelerated Fast Fourier Transform for frequency domain analysis of Liquid Neural Networks.
However, Iskender teaches:
wherein said specialized computation model comprises a model selected from among an initial value solver for Neural Ordinary Differential Equations by adaptive Runge- Kutta methods, a fast Jacobian Matrix evaluation for implicit Ordinary Differential Equation solution, a real- time simulation of Liquid Neural Networks with a sparse connectivity matrix, a hardware-accelerated bifurcation analysis to identify parameter regimes where the dynamics of Neural Ordinary Differential Equations change qualitatively, a backpropagation through time for Liquid Neural Networks by storing and replaying neural states, a time-stepping algorithm for solving partial differential equations related to Neural Ordinary Differential Equations (Paragraph 28, “For example, the optimization framework 175 may use a drift flux model (DFM), a reduced drift flux model (RDFM), a Kaasa model, and any other model, computerized functionality, or approach suitable for modeling transient dynamics in the downhole environment may be used by the optimization framework 175.” The optimization framework using a drift flux model for modeling transient dynamics in the downhole environment correlates to wherein said specialized computation model comprises a model selected from among a time-stepping algorithm for solving partial differential equations related to Neural Ordinary Differential Equations), a gradient descent algorithm, a reservoir computing task with projection of high-dimensional inputs onto lower-dimensional liquid states, an evaluation of stability of fixed points and limit cycles in Neural Ordinary Differential Equation systems, a sensitivity analysis for quantifying impact of parameter variations on Neural Ordinary Differential Equation solutions, a simulation of spiking neural networks with integrate-and- fire models or Hodgkin-Huxley models, a hardware- accelerated Fast Fourier Transform for frequency domain analysis of Liquid Neural Networks.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Parashar with wherein said specialized computation model comprises a model selected from among a time-stepping algorithm for solving partial differential equations related to Neural Ordinary Differential Equations as taught by Iskender because other models may be used to model downhole transient effects within the optimization framework, such as a drift flux model (DFM), a reduced drift flux model (RDFM), a Kaasa model, and any other model, computerized functionality, or approach suitable for modeling transient dynamics in the downhole environment. Automated managed pressure drilling (MPD) with optimized pump trajectories determined by the computer may eliminate immediate human intervention which may reduce the potential for errors. Optimizing the pump trajectories in automated MPD may also minimize ramp-up times, increase the safety margin of the entire system by avoiding critical pressure peaks, and ensure the integrity of the wellbore remains operational (Iskender: Paragraphs 27-28 and 32).
Prior Art Made of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Gubbi Lakshminarasim et al. (U.S. Publication No. US 20240185024 A1); teaching a method of task adaption using a fuzzy deep learning architecture. Datasets comprising a plurality of three-dimensional images, where each of the three-dimensional images comprise a plurality of slices and modalities, are input to the system. The dataset further includes a set of labeled multi-sliced and multi-modal samples of the plurality of three-dimensional images which are related to a classification task. The dataset is used to pretrain a fuzzy deep learning architecture which comprises a plurality of convolutional blocks, fuzzy layers and a classification head comprising a plurality of average pooling layers followed by a plurality of fully connected layers and a plurality of max-pool layers.
Conclusion
The publicPAIR and privatePAIR systems are no longer available. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
SELINA HU
Examiner
Art Unit 2193
/Chat C Do/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2193