Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1, 12 and 14 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, the Examiner suggests changing to “A method for end-to-end [[QoS]] Quality of Service (QoS) ...”
Claim 12 is objected for the same reason as stated above.
Claim 14, the Examiner suggests changing to “The system of claim [[2]] 12, ...” Appropriate correction(s) is/are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 12-13 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palaniappan (US 20250392665) in view of USCUMLIC (US 20250141790).
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 1/12, Palaniappan teaches A method for end-to-end QoS ([0030], “QoS profile corresponding to the application ID”) over Multi-Access Heterogeneous Networks (MAHN) ([0055], “the communication interface(s) 616 can be compatible with multiple radio access technologies, such as 5G radio access technologies and 4G/LTE radio access technologies.”), the computer-implemented method comprising :
receiving a request from an application ([0032], “car 110 may send a QoD session request 304 to create a QoD session toward the NaaS runtime logic 302.”), wherein the request is one of, a Quality on Demand (QoD) request ([0032], “QoD session request 304”) or a proactive QoS request; .
selecting at least one network of a plurality of networks for the application ([0032], “requesting to use a pre-purchased network resource (e.g., a network slice.” And [0033], “The QoD session API may further provision a user data management (UDM) for the network slice granted to the QoD session.”) based on the request, wherein when (i) the request is a QoD request ([0032], “QoD session request 304”), the selection of the at least one network is via the application and based on one of a recommended network or a preferred network ([0032], “a pre-purchased network resource.”) ...
establishing a communication path between the at least one network and the application ([0033], “The QoD session API may further provision a user data management (UDM) for the network slice granted to the QoD session.”).
However, Palaniappan does not specifically disclose (ii) when the request is a proactive QoS request, the selection of the at least one network is via an inference engine based on one more QoS parameters and a prediction model.
In an analogous art, USCUMLIC discloses ii) when the request is a proactive QoS request ([0009], “receiving quality of service (QOS) requirements of the service request.”), the selection of the at least one network ([0056], “the processor 110 may process the service request to determine a virtual path to route the service request between the first network function and a second network function.”) is via an inference engine ([0063], “machine learning algorithm”) based on one more QoS parameters ([0063], “The machine learning algorithm may be configured to determine a solution of the list of virtual paths that satisfies different QoS criteria such as the QoS parameters and the QoS requirements.”) and a prediction model ([0051], “machine learning model.”);
establishing a communication path between the at least one network and the application ([0057], “the processor 110 may establish a connection between the first network function and the second network function in order to fulfill the service request.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Palaniappan to specify QoS request as taught by USCUMLIC. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to determine a path according to the QoS request.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 2/13, Palaniappan teaches identifying the recommended network from the plurality of networks for the application based on requirements of one or more QoS parameters of the application ([0040], “the request may also include a time duration to use the network resource following an activation of the application on the computing device, e.g., a network slice configured for the navigation application.”); and
transmitting information associated with the recommended network to the application such that the QoD request from the application comprising the information associated with the recommended network ([0036], “the NaaS function 112 may send an authentication request 304 along with the request to create a QoD session to the QoD service function 306.”).
Regarding claim(s) 4/15, Palaniappan teaches wherein the QoD request comprises (i) the information associated with the recommended network ([0032], “send the QoD session request 304, requesting to use a pre-purchased network resource (e.g., a network slice pre-purchased to use the navigation app).”) and (ii) a request for connection with the recommended network.
Regarding claim(s) 5/16, Palaniappan teaches wherein the QoD request comprises (i) the information associated with the preferred network ([0032], “send the QoD session request 304, requesting to use a pre-purchased network resource (e.g., a network slice pre-purchased to use the navigation app).”)and (ii) a request for connection with the preferred network.
Claim(s) 7, 9,18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palaniappan in view of USCUMLIC, and further in view of Heikkinen (US 20240048782).
Regarding claim(s) 7/18, Heikkinen teaches collecting network metrics data from each network of the plurality of networks, wherein to collect the network metrics data ([0031], “signal quality indicators (e.g., RSSI) and packet information (e.g., response times) can be monitored and used as part of the selection process with respect to selecting the device and/or network.”), the processing circuitry is configured to at least one of, (i) periodically fetch the network metrics data associated with each network of the plurality of networks or (ii) monitor each event related to a network metric associated with each network of the plurality of networks ([0031], “packet information (e.g., response times) can be monitored.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Palaniappan to specify collecting network metrics as taught by Heikkinen. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to select a network.
Regarding claim(s) 9/20, Heikkinen teaches wherein the network metrics data comprises at least one of, data rate for downlink, data rate for uplink, bandwidth, latency for upload, latency for download, response time ([0031], “packet information (e.g., response times) can be monitored.”), or a combination thereof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Palaniappan to specify collecting network metrics as taught by Heikkinen. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to select a network.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3, 6, 8, 10-11, 14, 17, 19 and 21-22 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ZHIREN QIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2411