DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 and 17-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dascola et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2022/0214743; hereinafter Dascola) and Reichelt et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2017/0043995; hereinafter Reichelt).
With reference to claim 1, Dascola discloses a device (101) for extended reality (see paragraph 56; Figs. 1-3) comprising:
a sensor (190) configured to generate image data representative of a physical environment (105) of the device (101) (in teaching image sensors; see paragraphs 56, 79, 139; Figs. 1-2, 7);
a tracking sensor (140/244) configured to determine movement of the device (101) within the physical environment (in teaching the tracking unit configured to track the position of the display generation component with respect to the scene, wherein the device (101) includes the display generation component; see paragraphs 56, 79; Fig. 1);
a display (120) configured to show a view of an extended reality environment (see paragraphs 56, 69-70, 72; Fig. 3);
a processor (110) configured to control the view of the extended reality environment (7104) based on the image data, the determined movement of the device, and a position of the device in the physical environment (see paragraphs 71-72, 132-133, 136; Figs. 1, 7); and
a control mechanism (306) configured to obtain user input effective to interact with the extended reality environment (7207) (in teaching movement of the device (101-t) which includes an IMU, accelerometer, or gyroscope; see paragraphs 72, 85, 153, 281; Figs. 7E-F) by causing, in response to actuation of the control mechanism (306), movement of the device (101-t) within the physical environment to be used as an input to manipulate a virtual object (7004-t’, 7008-t’, 7203’, 7205’) in the extended reality environment (7207) (see paragraph 136, 281-282, 284-285; Figs. 1-3, 7V-X, 15).
While disclosing the display as described above, Dascola fails to specifically disclose a circular display as intended by the claims.
Reichelt discloses a display device (18), wherein a substantially circular portion of the display is visible to the user (see paragraph 63; Figs. 1, 4-10, 12-14).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow a circular shaped display similar to that which is taught by Reichelt to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Dascola to thereby provide an alternative housing arrangement to be viewed by the user (see Reichelt; paragraph 63).
With reference to claim 2, Dascola and Reichelt disclose the device of claim 1, wherein Dascola further discloses wherein the processor is configured to generate, based on the image data, the extended reality environment as a virtual representation of the physical environment (see paragraph 56; Figs. 7).
With reference to claim 3, Dascola and Reichelt disclose the device of claim 1, wherein Dascola further discloses wherein the tracking sensor includes at least one of an accelerometer, a magnetometer, a gyroscope, or a magnetic compass (see paragraph 85).
With reference to claim 4, Dascola and Reichelt disclose the device of claim 1, wherein Dascola further discloses wherein the tracking sensor includes a global positioning system (see paragraph 74).
With reference to claim 5, Dascola and Reichelt disclose the device of claim 1, wherein Dascola further discloses an eye tracking device (243) configured to track at least one of a location, an orientation, or movement of an eye of a user to orient the view of the extended reality environment shown on the display (see paragraph 79).
With reference to claim 6, Dascola and Reichelt disclose the device of claim 5, wherein Dascola further discloses wherein: the extended reality environment comprises a virtual character including an eye (in teaching viewpoint of a front facing head position of virtual participants; see paragraphs 277-278; Figs. 7V); and the eye tracking device is configured to track at least one of the location, the orientation, or the movement of the eye of the user to adjust a direction of a gaze of the eye of the virtual character to maintain apparent eye contact with the user (see paragraphs 277-278; Figs. 7V).
With reference to claim 7, Dascola and Reichelt disclose the device of claim 1, wherein Dascola further discloses wherein: the extended reality environment comprises a virtual character (7203) (see paragraph 276; Figs. 7U-V); and the device further comprises a speaker configured to output audible sounds representative of speech of the virtual character (see paragraph 307-308; Figs. 7Y-Z).
With reference to claim 8, Dascola and Reichelt disclose the device of claim 1, wherein Dascola further discloses wherein the sensor includes a camera (see paragraph 72).
With reference to claim 9, Dascola and Reichelt disclose the device of claim 1, wherein Dascola further discloses further comprising a hand-tracking sensor (245) configured to track movement of a hand of a user in the physical environment to permit interaction of the user with the virtual object in the extended reality environment (see paragraph 79; Fig. 4).
With reference to claim 10, Dascola and Reichelt disclose the device of claim 1, wherein Dascola further discloses wherein the processor is configured to maintain a particular orientation of the extended reality environment regardless of the movement of the device (see paragraph 66).
With reference to claim 11, Dascola and Reichelt disclose the device of claim 1, wherein Dascola further discloses wherein the display is touch sensitive and the display is configured to show an on-screen user interface that a user may interact with via touch (see paragraphs 244, 282).
With reference to claim 12, Dascola and Reichelt disclose the device of claim 1, wherein Dascola further discloses wherein: the display is configured to show an on-screen user interface that a user may interact with; and a position of the on-screen user interface on the display is based on a handedness of a user (see paragraphs 139-140; Fig. 7A).
With reference to claim 13, Dascola and Reichelt disclose the device of claim 1, wherein Dascola further discloses wherein the control mechanism includes a button configured to indicate an interaction of a user with the extended reality environment (see paragraph 132).
With reference to claim 14, Dascola and Reichelt disclose the device of claim 1, wherein Dascola further discloses wherein the control mechanism permits interaction of a user with the extended reality environment based on a rotational angle of the device (see paragraph 281).
With reference to claim 15, Dascola and Reichelt disclose the device of claim 1, wherein Dascola further discloses further comprising a rechargeable battery (in teaching the device can be one of a device well-known to include a rechargeable battery; see paragraphs 72, 275).
With reference to claim 17, Dascola discloses a system (101) (see Figs. 1-3) comprising:
a display (120) configured to show a view of an extended reality environment (see paragraph 72; Fig. 3);
a processor (110) configured to control the view of the extended reality environment (see paragraphs 71-72; Fig. 1);
a housing (101) configured to house the processor and the display (120) (see paragraph 79; Figs. 1-2, 7); and
a button (in teaching movement of the first display generation component as controlled by the first user using a controller device or one or more input devices in communication with the first computer system (101-t); see paragraphs 281-282) configured to receive user input effective to initiate engagement with the extended reality environment by causing, in response to actuation of the button, movement of the device within the physical environment to be used as an input to manipulate a virtual object in the extended reality environment (see paragraph see paragraph 136, 281-282, 284-285; Figs. 1-3, 7V-X, 15).
While disclosing the usage of an handheld device (101) (see paragraphs 56, 72), however fails to disclose a lower housing as recited.
Reichelt discloses a housing comprising an upper body (12) for housing a display (18) and a lower body (10) stemming from the upper body (12), the lower body configured to act as a handle for the system (see paragraphs 40 for manipulation of a virtual environment (see column 13, lines 42-50; Fig. 1B) wherein the housing comprising a lower body (10) configured to act as a handle for the system (see Fig. 1B); and a button (29) attached to the lower body, the button (29) configured to receive user input (see paragraph 40; Fig. 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to allow for usage of a handle similar to that which is taught by Reichelt to be used as a portion of the handheld device similar to that which is taught by Dascola to provide the user with ease of holding the device.
With reference to claim 18, Dascola and Reichelt disclose the system of claim 17, wherein Dascola further discloses that the processor is configured to generate the virtual object (7002) within the extended reality environment (see paragraph 144; Figs. 7).
With reference to claim 19, Dascola and Reichelt disclose the system of claim 17, wherein Dascola further discloses that the processor is configured to maintain a particular orientation of the extended reality environment regardless of movement of the system (see paragraph 66).
With reference to claim 20, Dascola and Reichelt disclose the system of claim 17, wherein Dascola further discloses a tracking sensor (244) configured to determine the movement of the system (see paragraph 79; Fig. 1).
With reference to claim 21, Dascola and Reichelt disclose the system of claim 17, wherein Dascola further discloses wherein the processor is configured to control the view of the extended reality environment based on the determined movement of the system (see paragraphs 71-72).
With reference to claim 22, Dascola and Reichelt disclose the system of claim 17, wherein Dascola further discloses a camera configured to capture image data representative of the physical environment of the system, wherein the extended reality environment is generated based on the image data (see paragraph 72).
With reference to claim 23, Dascola and Reichelt disclose the system of claim 17, wherein Dascola further discloses a hand-tracking sensor (245) configured to track movement of a hand of a user in the physical environment of the system to permit interaction of the user with the virtual object in the extended reality environment (see paragraph 79; Fig. 4).
With reference to claim 24, Dascola discloses a device (101) for extended reality (see Figs. 1-3) comprising:
a sensor configured to generate environmental data (see paragraph 72);
a processor (110) configured to generate an extended reality environment based on the environmental data (see paragraphs 71-72; Fig. 1);
a display (120) configured to show a view of the extended reality environment (see paragraph 72; Fig. 3);
a housing (101) configured to partially house the display, the housing being sized and shaped to be held in a hand of a user (see paragraphs 56, 72); and
a control mechanism (306) positioned on a periphery of the housing (in teaching movement input detected by a joystick or button; see paragraph 282), the control mechanism (306) configured to obtain user input effective to interact with the extended reality environment by causing, in response to actuation of the control mechanism, movement of the device within the physical environment to be used as an input to manipulate a virtual object in the extended reality environment (see paragraph 136, 281-282, 284-285; Figs. 1-3, 7V-X, 15), wherein the processor is configured to control the view of the extended reality environment shown on the display based on the user input (see paragraphs 281-282).
While disclosing the display as described above, Dascola fails to specifically disclose a circular display as intended by the claims.
Reichelt discloses a display device (18), wherein a substantially circular portion of the display is visible to the user (see paragraph 63; Figs. 1, 4-10, 12-14).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow a circular shaped display similar to that which is taught by Reichelt to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Dascola to thereby provide an alternative housing arrangement to be viewed by the user (see Reichelt; paragraph 63).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that Dascola fails to disclose a control mechanism, or button, configured to obtain user input effective to interact with the extended reality environment by causing, in response to actuation of the control mechanism or button, movement of the device within the physical environment to be used as an input to manipulate a virtual object in the extended reality environment as recited in claims 1, 17, and 24. The examiner disagrees and finds that Dascola not only teaches usage of gestures of the user to manipulate the displayed interface of the extended reality environment as noted by the applicant, but additionally teaches the recited limitations. Dascola teaches, with reference to Figs. 1-3, 7V-X, and 15, the usage of a control mechanism, discloses as a sensor of the handheld device, a joystick or button, is configured to detect user input for interaction with the extended reality environment in response to actuation of the control mechanism or button within the physical environment to change a virtual objected in the extended reality environment (see paragraph see paragraph 136, 281-282, 284-285). Therefore, Dascola discloses that the movement of the user device (101) includes a sensor for detecting movement of the device within the physical environment for interaction with the extended reality environment. The disclosure also includes that the actuation of a joystick or button of the user device (101) is used as input for interaction with the extended reality environment. For these reasons it is found that Dascola discloses the features as recited.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
ELMIEH et al. (US11,172,189) discloses a system configured to provide augmented-reality to the user based on the captured environment (se column 8, lines 2-column 9, line 4; Figs. 1-5).
WEISING et al. (US 2014/0235311) discloses a system for controlling a view of a virtual scene with a handheld device including operations for creating an augmented view for presentation of virtual objects on a display of the device, wherein a user interacts with the game client via an input module (see abstract; paragraphs 43-54. 58-61-69, 99-111; Figs. 1-23).
Conclusion
/ADE/Examiner, Art Unit 2625
/WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625