Status of Claims
2. This Office Action is issued in response to the claims filed on 1/23/2025.
Claims 1-9 are pending in this Office Action.
Priority
3. Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s priority claim of continuation of U.S. Patent Application No. 17/814,786, which was filed July 25, 2022, now issued as U.S. Patent No. 12,093,370, which is a continuation of U.S. Patent Application No. 16/908,434, which was filed June 22, 2020, now issued as U.S. Patent No. 11,423,139, which claims priority to Japanese Patent Application No. 2019-120326, which was filed June 27, 2019.
Title
4. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
5. Claim 6 is objected to because it contains acronym ‘PC’. The acronym should be spelled out at least on first instance the term is used in a claim or claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites: “updating the software module to be updated according to the received information; and rejecting the updating before execution of the updating in a case where the updating is determined to be an unauthorized updating by using a hash value, or permitting the updating in a case where the updating is not determined to be the unauthorized updating by using the hash value.” The claim is ambiguous because limitation “updating the software module to be updated according to the received information” is required to happen and limitation “rejecting the updating before execution of the updating in a case where the updating is determined to be an unauthorized updating by using a hash value” cannot be happened after the updating already happened. Therefore, claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Similarly, claim 9 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph
For purpose of examination, the Examiner assumes the limitations as “based on the received information, permitting updating the software module in a case where the updating is not determined to be the unauthorized updating by using a hash value or rejecting the updating in a case where the updating is determined to be an unauthorized updating by using the hash value.”
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1,5, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shigeki Kimura (US 20070192835 A1), hereinafter “Kimura”.
Regarding claim 1, Kimura discloses a multi-functional peripheral storing a plurality of software modules used for controlling a printing unit comprising:
one or more memories storing instructions; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (Figs.1 and 2 with associated text, paragraphs [0049], [0056]-[0057]: Image Forming Device is a multifunction device comprising a CPU and a memory storing various programs), wherein execution of the instructions causes the one or more processors to function as:
a receiving unit configured to receive information indicating a software module to be updated among the plurality of software modules (Fig.2 with associated text, paragraphs [0060] and [0070]: Process Accepting Function-receiving unit- receives program data-software module to be updated);
an updating [unit] configured to update the software module to be updated according to the received information (paragraphs [0024] and [0058]: updating program data); and
a controlling unit configured to reject the updating before execution of the updating in a case where the updating is determined to be an unauthorized updating by using a hash value or permit the updating in a case where the updating is not determined to be the unauthorized updating by using the hash value (Fig.2 with associated text, Fig.3, S10 with associated text, paragraphs [0060]-[0062]: using hash to determine updating program data when authorized or not updating when unauthorized; determining function- controlling unit).
Kimura discloses different function units performing different functions (Fig.2 with associated text) and Kimura discloses updating function as presented above, but Kimura does not explicitly disclose an updating unit. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have different units performing specific functions of choice and to have a unit performing updating function and the motivation to do so would be to make a system easier to manage and repair which is an advantage of an integrated system.
Regarding claim 5, Kimura discloses the multi-functional peripheral according to claim 1, wherein the printing unit prints a print job to a printing medium (paragraph [0049]: image forming device is a multifunction device functioning as a copying machine, a printer, a fax machine, and a scanner in combination.)
Regarding claim 7, Kimura discloses the multi-functional peripheral according to claim 1, further comprising a scanner unit and the printing unit, and wherein the plurality of software modules are used for controlling the scanner unit (paragraphs [0005]-[0006]: programs are used for generating operating environments of multi-functional peripheral. Paragraph [0049]: image forming device is a multifunction device functioning as a copying machine, a printer, a fax machine, and a scanner in combination.)
Claims 8-9 claim similar subject matters to claim 1; therefore, claims 8-9 are rejected at least for the same reasons as claim 1.
10. Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shigeki Kimura (US 20070192835 A1), hereinafter “Kimura” in view of Lavi et al. (US 20190311115), hereinafter “Lavi”.
Regarding claim 2, Kimura discloses the multi-functional peripheral according to claim 1. Kimura discloses different function units performing different functions as presented in claim 1, but Kimura does not explicitly disclose a recording unit configured to record a log indicating that the updating is rejected. However, recording a log of prevented action when unauthorized updating is detected is known in the art and Lavi’s teaching is an example (paragraphs [0034], [0061], and [0111]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kimura’s teaching of different function units performing different functions with Lavi’s teaching of recording a log of prevented action when unauthorized updating is detected to have an obvious and predictable result of the multi-functional peripheral comprising a recording unit configured to record a log indicating that the updating is rejected.
Regarding claim 3, Kimura discloses the multi-functional peripheral according to claim 1, further comprising a notification unit configured to notify that the unauthorized updating is [blocked] in a case where the updating is rejected (Fig.2 with associated text: Notifying Function. Fig.3, S4 with associated text, paragraphs [0015], [0018], [0084]: notifying management server of unauthorized updating and not performing updating). Kimura does not explicitly disclose notifying the unauthorized updating is blocked. However, alerting prevented action when unauthorized updating is detected is known in the art and Lavi’s teaching is an example (paragraphs [0061], [0063], and [0111]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kimura’s teaching of notifying function unit notifying management server of unauthorized updating and not performing updating with Lavi’s teaching of alerting prevented action when unauthorized updating is detected to have an obvious and predictable result of the multi-functional peripheral comprising a notification unit configured to notify that the unauthorized updating is blocked in a case where the updating is rejected.
11. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shigeki Kimura (US 20070192835 A1), hereinafter “Kimura” in view of Ayuta Kawazu (US 20170249483 A1), hereinafter “Kawazu”.
Regarding claim 4, Kimura discloses the multi-functional peripheral according to claim 1. Kimura does not explicitly disclose the multi-functional peripheral further comprising a tamper-resistant security chip configured to store the hash value. However, storing hash values in tamper-resistant security chip is known in the art and Kawazu’s teaching is an example (paragraphs [0038], [0058], and [0069]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kimura’s teaching of using hash value to determine whether or not to update software module with Kawazu’s teaching of storing hash values in tamper-resistant security chip to have an obvious and predictable result of the multi-functional peripheral further comprising a tamper-resistant security chip configured to store the hash value and the motivation to do so would be to protect data as taught by Kawazu (paragraph [0038]).
12. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shigeki Kimura (US 20070192835 A1), hereinafter “Kimura” in view of Iizuka et al. (US 20080130042 A1), hereinafter “Iszuka”.
Regarding claim 6, Kimura discloses the multi-functional peripheral according to claim 5. Kimura discloses a client PC connecting to the multi-functional peripheral and transmitting data to the multi-functional peripheral via network (Fig.1 with associated text and paragraphs [0048], [0060] and [0070]), but Kimura does not explicitly disclose wherein the print job is transmitted from a client PC via a network. However, printing job transmitted from a client PC via a network to a multi-functional peripheral is known in the art and Iizuka’s teaching is an example (Fig.1 with associated text).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kimura’s teaching of a printing system including a client PC connecting to the multi-functional peripheral and transmitting data to the multi-functional peripheral with Iizuka’s teaching of printing job transmitted from a client PC via a network to a multi-functional peripheral to have an obvious and predictable result of the multi-functional peripheral wherein the print job is transmitted from a client PC via a network.
Prior Art of Record
13. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: see attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited.
Conclusion
/THANH T LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2495