DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species C (figure 4), including claims 1-20, in the reply filed on 06/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-13 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected species (Species B, figure 3). Therefore, only claims 14-20 are pending for examination.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first to fourth surfaces must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouderkirk et al. (US 2020/0096780) in view of Robbins et al. (US 2016/0097930).
Regarding claim 14, Ouderkirk et al. (figure 100) discloses an electronic device comprising:
a display panel configured to emit light (The object 100 may be a display panel, for example, such as a liquid crystal display (LCD) panel or an organic light emitting diode (OLED) display panel; see at least paragraph 0019); and
a first optical wedge (311) having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface;
a second optical wedge (411) having a third surface;
a third optical wedge (211) having a fourth surface;
an air gap (between 201, 301, or 401) defined between a portion of the first surface and a portion of the fourth surface;
a reflective polarizer (222) sandwiched between the second surface and the third surface;
a partial reflector (321) layered on the first surface within the air gap; and
a quarter waveplate (421) layered on the partial reflector within the air gap,
wherein the reflective polarizer, the partial reflector, and the quarter waveplate are configured to redirect the light.
Ouderkirk et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 14 above. However, Ouderkirk et al. is silent regarding a second optical wedge having a third surface at the second surface; a third optical wedge having a fourth surface at the first surface. Robbins et al. (figure 3B) teaches a second optical wedge having a third surface at the second surface; a third optical wedge having a fourth surface at the first surface (260, 262, 264, and 266). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the surfaces as taught by Robbins et al. in order to achieve an optical system for converting a source of projected light to uniform light for a liquid crystal on silicon microdisplay in a confined space.
Regarding claim 15, Ouderkirk et al. (figure 10) discloses wherein the reflective polarizer is configured to reflect the light after a total internal reflection of the light at the air gap, the partial reflector is configured to reflect the light after reflection by the reflective polarizer, and the reflective polarizer is configured to transmit the light after reflection by the partial reflector (figure 100).
Regarding claim 16, Ouderkirk et al. (figure 10) discloses wherein the first surface has a freeform curvature that is rotationally asymmetric.
Regarding claim 17, Ouderkirk et al. (figure 10) discloses wherein the third optical wedge has a fifth surface opposite the fourth surface, the electronic device further comprising: an additional quarter waveplate layered onto the fifth surface and overlapping the partial reflector; and an absorptive polarizer layered onto the additional quarter waveplate (361 and 363).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouderkirk et al. (US 2020/0096780) in view of Togino (US 5,517,366).
Regarding claim 18, Ouderkirk et al. (figure 10) discloses an electronic device comprising:
a display panel configured to emit light (The object 100 may be a display panel, for example, such as a liquid crystal display (LCD) panel or an organic light emitting diode (OLED) display panel; see at least paragraph 0019);
a first optical wedge (411);
a second optical wedge (311) having a curved surface separated from the first optical wedge by an air gap; and
a partial reflector (321) layered on the curved surface within the air gap.
Ouderkirk et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 18 above. However, Ouderkirk et al. is silent regarding total internal reflection. Togino (figure 4) teaches a first optical wedge (L) configured to reflect the light twice via total internal reflection; the partial reflector (2, 3) being configured to receive the light after the light has been reflected by the first optical wedge twice via total internal reflection, the partial reflector being configured to reflect the light towards an eye box through the first optical wedge. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the surfaces as taught by Togino in order to provide a head-mounted display system which enables observation of an image that is clear as far as the edges of visual field at a wide presentation view angle.
Regarding claim 19, Ouderkirk et al. discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the eye box has a horizontal dimension and a vertical dimension equal to the horizontal dimension. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the horizontal dimension and vertical dimension of the eyebox equal to each other, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouderkirk et al. (US 2020/0096780) in view of Togino (US 5,517,366); further in view of McDowall et al. (US 2009/0052838).
Regarding claim 20, Ouderkirk et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 18 above. However, Ouderkirk et al. is silent regarding a switchable shutter. McDowall et al. (figure 1) teaches a switchable shutter (24 and 26; see at least paragraph 0027) overlapping the first and second optical wedges (16, 30), the switchable shutter being configured to transmit light from an external device to the eye box through the first and second optical wedges and the curved surface, and the switchable shutter being synchronized with a display of the external device (see at least paragraph 0029). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the switchable shutter as taught by McDowall et al. in order to provide a method for altering an optical system's configuration without physically moving any of the optics, allowing a compact, durable, quickly adjustable optical package.
Conclusion
/LAUREN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871