DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitations "the first frame portion" & “the second frame portion” in line 1 & line 1 to line 2 respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 9 and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Je (Document Identification No. WO 2018/199579) provided in the Applicant’s information disclosure statement.
It is first noted that the English Translation of Document Identification No. WO 2018/199579) to Je will be referenced herein.
Concerning claims 1 & 13, Je discloses a system including:
An antimicrobial mesh (2) having at least a partially corrugated structure (page 4, lines 5-30; Figure 6); and
A filter (1) configured to be received at least partially within a frame (page 4, lines 4-30) as shown in Figure 6.
Je does not appear to specifically disclose that the embodiment of Figure 6 is provided with a frame however. Nonetheless, in Figures 1, 4 & 5, the reference discloses the antimicrobial mesh (2), and a frame configured to at least partially receive a filter (1) such that at least a portion of fluid flow through the filter interacts with the anti-microbial mesh (page 4, line 36 to page 5, line 17). Je discloses that the frame is provided in order to offer structural support for said mesh and said filter (page 4, lines 11-42). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a frame comprising the corrugated anti-microbial mesh and the filter in the embodiment of Figure 6 of Je, in which the frame is configured to at least partially receive said filter such that a portion of fluid flow through the filter interacts with the mesh in order to offer structural support for said mesh and said filter as shown in the embodiments of Figures 1, 4 & 5 of Je.
As such, claims 1 & 13 are not patentable over Je (herein referred to as modified Je).
Concerning claims 2-6, Je continues to disclose that the anti-microbial mesh is constructed at least partially of a copper-containing material including a mesh consisting essential of copper metal; and/or that said mesh is constructed at least partially of a copper-containing material including a mesh constructed at least partially from a copper alloy (page 4, lines 11-15).
Regarding claims 8 & 9, modified Je continues to disclose that the frame includes a frame portion (1a) defining a recess configured to at least partially receive the filter (1) as shown in figures 4 & 5; and that said frame includes a first frame portion (1a) at top, and a second frame portion (1a) at bottom.
With respect to claim 11, modified Je also discloses that the frame includes a rectilinear frame supporting a substantially planar anti-microbial mesh (2) as shown in Figures 1-5.
Concerning claim 12, while Je discloses that the frame and mesh are rectilinear (Figure 1), the reference does not appear to disclose that the frame supports an at least partially cylindrical mesh. Nonetheless, In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F .2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. Denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Accordingly, the claimed dimensions and shapes of an at least partially cylindrical anti-microbial mesh and a frame to support said mesh are considered to be not patentably distinct from the disclosed Je device (See MPEP 2144.04).
Thus, claim 12 is not patentable over Je as well.
Regarding claims 14-16, Je discloses a system comprising:
An antimicrobial mesh (2) having an open area percentage (page 4, lines 5-30; Figures 1-3); and
A frame (10/1a & 1b) configured to at least partially receive a filter (1) such that at least a portion of fluid flow through the filter interacts with the anti-microbial mesh as shown in Figures 1-5 (page 4, line 11 to page 5, line 3).
Je does not appear to specifically disclose that the open area percentage is approximately 30% however. However, the Courts have held that "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456,105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.). As such, it would have been well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the open-area percentage of the anti-microbial mesh to approximately 30% is in to maximize the contact between said airflow and said mesh to create the greatest anti-bacterial effect while minimizing pressure loss for a particular application, as such is considered a result effective variable that would be optimized by one of ordinary skill through routine experimentation. Only the expected results would be attained.
Thus, claims 14-16 are not patentable over Je as well.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Je (Document Identification No. WO 2018/199579) in view of Tharval et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0047978).
Je is relied upon as set forth above. Je does not appear to disclose that the anti-microbial mesh includes a substrate at least partially coated with an anti-microbial material. Tharval discloses a system that includes an anti-microbial mesh (14) and a filter (12) configured to be received within a frame (Figure 2) as set forth in paragraph 67 (See also paragraph 45). The reference continues to disclose that the anti-microbial mesh includes a substrate at least partially coated with an anti-microbial material in order to form a positively charged protective shield that inactivates bacterial cells on a substrate that also captures dust particles (paragraphs 45 & 46). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize an anti-microbial mesh that includes a substrate at least partially coated with an anti-microbial material in the system of Je in order to form a positively charged protective shield that inactivates bacterial cells on a substrate that also captures dust particles as exemplified by Tharval.
As such, claim 7 is not patentable over Je in view of Tharval.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Je (Document Identification No. WO 2018/199579) in view of Grimes (U.S. Publication No. 2018/0207572).
Je is relied upon as set forth above. Je does not appear to disclose that the first frame portion defines a recess configured to at least partially receive both the filter and the second frame portion. Grimes discloses a system comprising a frame configured to receive a filter (16) as shown in Figures 1-5 (paragraphs 5-7). The reference continues to disclose a first frame portion (18/22) that defines a recess (Figure 5) configured to at least partially receive both the filter (16) and a second frame portion (10) in order to provide insulation and further support for said filter (paragraph 21). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a frame in Je with a first frame portion that defines a recess configured to at least partially receive both the filter and the second frame portion in order to provide insulation and further support for said filter as exemplified by Grimes.
Therefore, claim 10 is not patentable over Je in view of Grimes.
Conclusion
/KEVIN JOYNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799