DETAILED ACTION
1. The instant application No. 18806555 has claims 1-20 are pending.
2 The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-9 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Awoniyi-oteri et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0058304 A1; hereinafter Awoniyi) in view of Zhou et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0185614 A1; hereinafter Zhou).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Awoniyi disclose a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising: a transceiver (See 0099, the transmission component 806 may be co-located with the reception component 802 in a transceiver) configured to receive, from a base station (BS), downlink control information (DCI), wherein the DCI includes information indicating to skip a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring; (20210058304-See ¶0057, dynamic PDCCH skipping is desirable for implementing PDCCH skipping in the presence of aperiodic or relatively irregular traffic. In some such cases, a downlink control information (DCI) format with one or more fields that allow for identification of number of slots to be skipped during PDCCH monitoring may be used.) and at least one processor coupled with the transceiver and configured to determine a transmission of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) after receiving the DCI, (See 0069, the UE may resume PDCCH monitoring after the reception or transmission of a physical channel (for example, the PDSCH, the PUCCH, or the PUSCH).) and perform the PDCCH monitoring after transmission of the PUCCH. (See 0069, the UE may resume PDCCH monitoring after the reception or transmission of a physical channel (for example, the PDSCH, the PUCCH, or the PUSCH).)
However, Awoniyi fails to disclose the PUCCH includes a positive scheduling request (SR), wherein the transceiver is further configured to: transmit, to the BS, the PUCCH;
Zhou disclose the PUCCH includes a positive scheduling request (SR), wherein the transceiver is further configured to: transmit, to the BS, the PUCCH (20210185614-See -0307, a UE may transmit at least one of the one or more uplink signals/channels (e.g., SRSs, PRACH, DRMS, PUCCH/PUSCH, or uplink positioning reference signal) via an uplink BWP of a cell during the wake-up duration; See 0328, . A wireless device may transmit a PUCCH in a PUCCH resource for a corresponding SR configuration only when the wireless device transmits a positive SR.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify transmitting the PUCCH after the DCI to include the PUCCH for the SR. The motivation to combine is a by using PUCCH for SR, the UE can request uplink resources without consuming PUSCH resources, which are reserved for user data. This optimizes radio resource usage and allows the network to allocate PUSCH for actual data transmission.
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Awoniyi disclose the indication to skip the PDCCH monitoring is applicable for a duration after a reception timing of the DCI. (20210058304-See ¶0057, dynamic PDCCH skipping is desirable for implementing PDCCH skipping in the presence of aperiodic or relatively irregular traffic. In some such cases, a downlink control information (DCI) format with one or more fields that allow for identification of number of slots to be skipped during PDCCH monitoring may be used.)
Regarding claim 7, Awoniyi disclose the information indicates skipping of the PDCCH monitoring for a number of slots. (20210058304-See ¶0057, dynamic PDCCH skipping is desirable for implementing PDCCH skipping in the presence of aperiodic or relatively irregular traffic. In some such cases, a downlink control information (DCI) format with one or more fields that allow for identification of number of slots to be skipped during PDCCH monitoring may be used.)
Regarding claim 8, Awoniyi disclose a base station (BS) in a wireless communication system, the BS comprising: a transceiver configured to: (See 0107, the transmission component 906 may be co-located with the reception component 902 in a transceiver.) transmit, to a user equipment (UE), downlink control information (DCI), wherein the DCI includes information indicating to skip a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring; (20210058304-See ¶0057, dynamic PDCCH skipping is desirable for implementing PDCCH skipping in the presence of aperiodic or relatively irregular traffic. In some such cases, a downlink control information (DCI) format with one or more fields that allow for identification of number of slots to be skipped during PDCCH monitoring may be used; See 0064, indication may be carried in (that is, transmitted by the base station, and received by the UE) DCI included in the PDCCH that schedules the first physical channel,) receive, from the UE, a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) after transmitting the DCI, (See 0069, the UE may resume PDCCH monitoring after the reception or transmission of a physical channel (for example, the PDSCH, the PUCCH, or the PUSCH).) wherein the PUCCH and at least one processor coupled with the transceiver wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit, to the UE, PDCCH after reception of the PUCCH. (See 0069, the UE may resume PDCCH monitoring after the reception or transmission of a physical channel (for example, the PDSCH, the PUCCH, or the PUSCH).)
However, Awoniyi fails to disclose configured to determine that the PUCCH includes the positive SR
Zhou disclose configured to determine that the PUCCH includes the positive SR, (20210185614-See -0307, a UE may transmit at least one of the one or more uplink signals/channels (e.g., SRSs, PRACH, DRMS, PUCCH/PUSCH, or uplink positioning reference signal) via an uplink BWP of a cell during the wake-up duration; See 0328, . A wireless device may transmit a PUCCH in a PUCCH resource for a corresponding SR configuration only when the wireless device transmits a positive SR.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify transmitting the PUCCH after the DCI to include the PUCCH for the SR. The motivation to combine is a by using PUCCH for SR, the UE can request uplink resources without consuming PUSCH resources, which are reserved for user data. This optimizes radio resource usage and allows the network to allocate PUSCH for actual data transmission.
Regarding claim 9, Awoniyi discloses the indication to skip the PDCCH monitoring is applicable for a duration after a transmission timing of the DCI. (20210058304-See ¶0057, dynamic PDCCH skipping is desirable for implementing PDCCH skipping in the presence of aperiodic or relatively irregular traffic. In some such cases, a downlink control information (DCI) format with one or more fields that allow for identification of number of slots to be skipped during PDCCH monitoring may be used.)
Regarding claim 14, Awoniyi discloses the information indicates skipping of the PDCCH monitoring for a number of slots. (20210058304-See ¶0057, dynamic PDCCH skipping is desirable for implementing PDCCH skipping in the presence of aperiodic or relatively irregular traffic. In some such cases, a downlink control information (DCI) format with one or more fields that allow for identification of number of slots to be skipped during PDCCH monitoring may be used.)
Claim(s) 3-4, 10-11 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Awoniyi in view of Zhou and, further in view of Agiwal et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0251460 A1; hereinafter Agiwal).
Regarding claim 3 and 17, Awoniyi in view of Zhou fails to disclose the transceiver is further configured to: transmit, to the BS, a physical random access channel (PRACH); and perform the PDCCH monitoring during a random access response window or a message B window associated with transmission of the PRACH.
Agiwal discloses transmit, to the BS, a physical random access channel (PRACH); (20170251460-See 0155, At operation 1313b, the BS 1302 receives PRACH from both UEs 1301, 1303 using different RX beam in RACH slot x) and perform the PDCCH monitoring during a random access response window or a message B window associated with transmission of the PRACH. (See 0155, After transmitting the PRACH in RACH slot X, UEs 1301, 1303 monitor for PDCCH for the RAR using each best DL RX beam during the RAR window at operations 1315 and 1316.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify skip monitoring of the PDCCH to include when monitoring does occur it occurs during the PRACH procedure. The motivation to combine is to efficiently monitors for PDCCH for the RAR using best DL RX beam during the RAR window at operation 1213a (See 0150).
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Awoniyi in view of Zhou fails to disclose the transceiver is further configured to: receive, from the BS, a random access response associated with transmission of the PRACH; and perform the PDCCH monitoring after the reception of the random access response.
Agiwal discloses receive, from the BS, a random access response associated with transmission of the PRACH; (20170251460-See 0216, PDCCH indicates DL assignment for the RAR. The UE decodes TB and receives the RAR based on this DL assignment. After receiving the RAR, if the RAR includes the PRACH preamble ID, then the UE considers this Random Access Response reception successful. )
and perform the PDCCH monitoring after the reception of the random access response. (See 0216, even after receiving the RAR successfully, the UE may continue to monitor for additional RAR corresponding to its PRACH transmission in the RAR window(s).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify skip monitoring of the PDCCH to include monitoring pdcch search space sets. The motivation to combine is to efficiently monitors for PDCCH for the RAR using best DL RX beam during the RAR window at operation 1213a (See 0150).
Regarding claim 10, Awoniyi in view of Zhou fails to disclose receive, from the UE, a physical random access channel (PRACH); and transmit, to the UE, PDCCH during a random access response window or a message B window associated with reception of the PRACH.
Agiwal discloses receive, from the UE, a physical random access channel (PRACH); (20170251460-See 0155, At operation 1313b, the BS 1302 receives PRACH from both UEs 1301, 1303 using different RX beam in RACH slot x) and transmit, to the UE, PDCCH during a random access response window or a message B window associated with reception of the PRACH. (See 0155, After transmitting the PRACH in RACH slot X, UEs 1301, 1303 monitor for PDCCH for the RAR using each best DL RX beam during the RAR window at operations 1315 and 1316.)
CH transmission in the RAR window(s).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify skip monitoring of the PDCCH to include monitoring pdcch search space sets. The motivation to combine is to efficiently monitors for PDCCH for the RAR using best DL RX beam during the RAR window at operation 1213a (See 0150).
Regarding claim 11, Awoniyi in view of Zhou fails to disclose transmit, to the UE, a random access response associated with reception of the PRACH; and transmit, to the UE, PDCCH after the transmission of the random access response.
Agiwal discloses transmit, to the UE, a random access response associated with reception of the PRACH; (20170251460-See 0216, PDCCH indicates DL assignment for the RAR. The UE decodes TB and receives the RAR based on this DL assignment. After receiving the RAR, if the RAR includes the PRACH preamble ID, then the UE considers this Random Access Response reception successful. )
and perform the PDCCH monitoring after the reception of the random access response. (See 0216, even after receiving the RAR successfully, the UE may continue to monitor for additional RAR corresponding to its PRACH transmission in the RAR window(s).) and transmit, to the UE, PDCCH after the transmission of the random access response. (See 0216, even after receiving the RAR successfully, the UE may continue to monitor for additional RAR corresponding to its PRACH transmission in the RAR window(s).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify skip monitoring of the PDCCH to include monitoring pdcch search space sets. The motivation to combine is to efficiently monitors for PDCCH for the RAR using best DL RX beam during the RAR window at operation 1213a (See 0150).
Claim(s) 5-6, 12-13 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Awoniyi in view of Zhou and, further in view of Jung et al. (Pub. No. US 2024/0080771 A1; hereinafter Jung).
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Awoniyi in view of Zhou fails to disclose the PDCCH monitoring is associated with UE-specific search space sets or Type-3 common search space sets.
Jung disclose the PDCCH monitoring is associated with UE-specific search space sets or Type-3 common search space sets. (20240080771-See 0144, a first search space set of the at least one search space set includes information of a plurality of monitoring occasions that comprise a plurality of regular monitoring occasions (e.g., the first set of monitoring occasions) and a second search space set of the at least one search space set includes information of a plurality of additional monitoring occasions (e.g., the second set of monitoring occasions) for the power saving PDCCH; See 0088, a UE can be provided with a group index for a respective Type3-PDCCH CSS set or USS set by searchSpaceGroupIdList-r16 for PDCCH monitoring on a serving cell)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify skip monitoring of the PDCCH to include skipping search space sets.
The motivation to combine is enhanced DCI-based power saving adaptation during DRX active time PDCCH skipping for a certain duration/DRX cycle (See 0036).
Regarding claims 6 and 20, Awoniyi in view of Zhou fails to disclose the information is applicable to UE-specific search space sets and to Type-3 common search space sets.
Jung discloses the information is applicable to UE-specific search space sets and to Type-3 common search space sets.( 20240080771-See 0046, UE receives a PDCCH skipping indication for each group of search space sets via a DCI format with scheduling information; See 0088, a UE can be provided with a group index for a respective Type3-PDCCH CSS set or USS set by searchSpaceGroupIdList-r16 for PDCCH monitoring on a serving cell.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify skip monitoring of the PDCCH to include skipping search space sets.
The motivation to combine is enhanced DCI-based power saving adaptation during DRX active time PDCCH skipping for a certain duration/DRX cycle (See 0036).
Regarding claim 12, Awoniyi in view of Zhou fails to disclose the PDCCH monitoring is associated with UE-specific search space sets or Type-3 common search space sets.
Jung discloses the PDCCH monitoring is associated with UE-specific search space sets or Type-3 common search space sets. (20240080771-See 0144, a first search space set of the at least one search space set includes information of a plurality of monitoring occasions that comprise a plurality of regular monitoring occasions (e.g., the first set of monitoring occasions) and a second search space set of the at least one search space set includes information of a plurality of additional monitoring occasions (e.g., the second set of monitoring occasions) for the power saving PDCCH; See 0088, a UE can be provided with a group index for a respective Type3-PDCCH CSS set or USS set by searchSpaceGroupIdList-r16 for PDCCH monitoring on a serving cell)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify skip monitoring of the PDCCH to include skipping search space sets.
The motivation to combine is enhanced DCI-based power saving adaptation during DRX active time PDCCH skipping for a certain duration/DRX cycle (See 0036).
Regarding claim 13, Awoniyi in view of Zhou fails to disclose the information is applicable to UE-specific search space sets and to Type-3 common search space sets.
the information is applicable to UE-specific search space sets and to Type-3 common search space sets. ( 20240080771-See 0046, UE receives a PDCCH skipping indication for each group of search space sets via a DCI format with scheduling information; See 0088, a UE can be provided with a group index for a respective Type3-PDCCH CSS set or USS set by searchSpaceGroupIdList-r16 for PDCCH monitoring on a serving cell.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify skip monitoring of the PDCCH to include skipping search space sets.
The motivation to combine is enhanced DCI-based power saving adaptation during DRX active time PDCCH skipping for a certain duration/DRX cycle (See 0036).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Guo et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0240187 A1)-See 0050, the triggering state includes at least one of identifier of power saving DCI format, a wake-up indication, a go-to-sleep indication, a PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel) monitoring periodicity indication, a PDCCH skipping duration indication, a BWP (Bandwidth Part) indicator, a spatial information, a time domain resource allocation, a QCL (Quasi-co-location) information, a SRS (Sounding Reference Signals) request, or a CSI (Channel State Information) request.
Seo et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0124623 A1)-See 0341, the WUS monitoring occasion is spaced apart from the associated DRX on-duration for a predetermined time or more, it is proposed to skip WUS monitoring and to perform PDCCH monitoring (for general DCI format) in DRX on-duration associated with the skipped WUS monitoring occasion
/Tejis Daya/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472