DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 35-50 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102- Necessitated by Amendment
Bruggen as evidenced by Bos
Claims 35-38, 42-44 and 49-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being unpatentable over:
Bruggen et al. “Bruggen”; (US5965381A) (European application provided in IDS of 9/4/2024)
as evidenced by Bos et al (Bos JL. p21ras: an oncoprotein functioning in growth factor-induced signal transduction. Eur J Cancer. 1995 Jul-Aug;31A(7-8):1051-4) (Provided in IDS of 9/4/2024)
Regarding claim 35, 42, and 49, Bruggen teaches a recombinant Yersinia Pestis cell and the use thereof for delivery of proteins into eukaryotic cells (Bruggen, column 1, paragraph 1.) Bruggen’s Yersinia strain is transformed with a vector comprising a promoter, a first DNA sequence encoding a delivery signal from a bacterial T3SS effector protein, operably linked to said promoter, and a second DNA sequence encoding a heterologous protein fused in frame to the 3’ end of said first DNA sequence (claim 3), wherein the heterologous protein is a GTPase.
Bruggen teaches the use of several heterologous “tumor associated” proteins fused to the YopE delivery signal (Bruggen claim 12). One of Bruggen’s claimed “tumor associated” proteins is p21ras, which is a small GTPase that functions as a molecular switch in intracellular signal transduction pathways activated by a large variety of growth factors (Bruggen claim 12 , Bos, Abstract). In other words, p21ras is a cell signalling protein
Bruggen also teaches that the recombinant gram-negative bacterial strain is a Yersinia strain (Bruggen Claim 1, column 1, paragraph 1), and the delivery signal is a YopE or an N terminal fragment thereof (Bruggen Claim 5, Example 3, Figure 1, claim 30, claim 34).
So, Bruggen teaches a recombinant Yersinia pestis transformed with a vector comprising in the 5’ to 3’ direction a promoter, a first sequence encoding a YopE effector protein linked to the promoter, and a second sequence encoding a heterologous cell signalling protein fused in frame to the 3’ end of the first DNA sequence.
Bruggen anticipates claim 35.
Regarding claim 36 and 43, Bruggen teaches the inclusion of a PstI site (protease cleavage site) between a first DNA sequence, in this case MAGE-1, and an N terminal fragment of the effector protein YoPE. “The sequence encoding protein MAGE-1 was inserted in frame with a sequence encoding a truncated YopE, YopE130 containing the first 130 amino acids of YopE. Such a plasmid is graphically depicted in FIG. 1.” Figure 1 shows a PstI site between the YopE gene and MAGE-1. (Bruggen Example 3, Figure 1)
Regarding claim 37 and 44, Bruggen’s bacteria may be deficient in the production of at least one functional effector protein, and the delivery signal includes YopE (Bruggen claim 30, 34). Bruggen’s claim 34 is not limited to truncated variations, so claim 34 encompasses YopE effector protein, including the claimed N-terminal 138 amino acids of the Yersinia enterocoliticia YopE effector protein. “More preferably, the effector protein is YopE of Yersinia enterocolitica.” (column 7, paragraph 6).
Regarding claim 38, Bruggen discloses that Yops promote adhesion of Yersinia to the surface of host cells (paragraph 4 starting with “Genetic studies…”). Bruggen also teaches that the recombinant bacteria may also be deficient in certain Yop effector proteins, therefore Bruggen teaches a bacteria that is deficient in cell adhesion proteins.
Regarding claim 42, Bruggen teaches the use of a number of heterologous “tumor associated” proteins fused to the YopE delivery signal (Bruggen claim 12). One of the claimed proteins in particular is p21ras. p21ras, is a small GTPase that functions as a molecular switch in intracellular signal transduction pathways activated by a large variety of growth factors. (Bos, Abstract).
Regarding claim 50, Bruggen teaches that the bacteria may be employed as an in vivo regime, i.e., as a recombinant vaccine to treat subjects. (Summary of invention, paragraph 7)
Double Patenting
US12091670 (Application 17/111,332)
Claims 35-50 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the following claims of U.S. Patent No. 12091670. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 35, 42, and 45, claim 1 of the reference patent encompasses the scope of claim 35, 42 and 45.
Regarding claim 36 and 43, claim 2 of the reference patent encompasses the scope of claim 36 and 43.
Regarding claim 37 and 44, claim 3 of the reference patent encompasses the scope of claim 37 and 43.
Regarding claim 38, claim 4 of the reference patent encompasses the scope of claim 38.
Regarding claim 39, claim 1 of the reference patent encompasses the scope of claim 39.
Regarding claims 40, 41, 46, 47, claim 6 of the reference patent encompasses the scope of claims 40, 41, 46, 47.
Regarding claim 48, claim 8 of the reference patent encompasses the scope of claim 48.
Regarding claim 49, claim 9 of the reference patent encompasses the scope of claim 49.
Regarding claim 50, claim 10 of the reference patent encompasses the scope of claim 50.
US10889823B2 (15/311,424)
Claims 35-50 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the following claims of U.S. Patent No. 12091670. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 35, 42, and 45, claim 1 of the reference patent encompasses the scope of claims 35, 42 and 45.
Regarding claim 36 and 43, claim 2 of the reference patent encompasses the scope of claim 36 and 43.
Regarding claim 37 and 44, claim 3 of the reference patent encompasses the scope of claim 37 and 43.
Regarding claim 38, claim 4 of the reference patent encompasses the scope of claim 38.
Regarding claim 39, claim 1 of the reference patent encompasses the scope of claim 39.
Regarding claims 40, 41, 46, 47, claim 7 of the reference patent encompasses the scope of claims 40, 41, 46, 47.
Regarding claim 48, claim 9 of the reference patent encompasses the scope of claim 48.
Regarding claim 49, claim 10 of the reference patent encompasses the scope of claim 49.
Regarding claim 50, claim 11 of the reference patent encompasses the scope of claim 50.
Conclusion
Claims 35-50 are rejected.
/THOMAS R. AMICK/ Examiner, Art Unit 1638
/Tracy Vivlemore/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638