DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
The present application is being examined under the AIA (America Invents Act) First Inventor to File.
This Office Action is Non-Final.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are independent claims. Claims 2-7, 9-14, 16-20 are dependent claims.
This action is responsive to the following communication: corresponding claims filed on 05-23-2025.
Continuation Application
This application discloses and claims only subject matter disclosed in prior Application No. 18/176,473 and names an inventor or inventors named in the prior application. Accordingly, this application constitutes a continuation claiming benefit of the filing date of February 28, 2020 which is acknowledged.
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. under 35 U.S.C. 120 (continuation) is acknowledged. Applicant has complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date:
a) The later filed Application is filed prior to the patent issued of the earlier application. [copendency; MPEP 211.01(b) (I)]
b) At least one common inventor [MPEP 201.07]
c) The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the "right to exclude" granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. See In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and, In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
For faster processing of Terminal Disclaimer the USPTO Internet website contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit www.uspto.gov/ patent/patents-forms. The filing date of the application in which the form is filed determines what form (e.g., PTO/SB/25, PTO/SB/26, PTO/AIA /25, or PTO/AIA /26) should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/ eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claim Analysis
Claims 1-20 of the instant application are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 11,593,118 & over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,086,606 since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the "right to exclude" already granted in the patent.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because as illustrated by the table below, each feature claimed is directly mapped and taught by the cited prior art that is commonly owned. For example, analysis of each of the claims represented below are directed to a method and system for installation of a package to at least one or more. Furthermore, these claims are further directed to an installation package that provides a microservice and resides within one or more registries. Thus, combining the above facts, a later application claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier patent claim if the later claim is anticipated by, the earlier claim. In re Longi, 759 F.2d at 896, 225 USPQ at 651 (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting because the claims at issue were obvious over claims in four prior art patents); In re Berg, 140 F.3d at 1437, 46 USPQ2d at 1233 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting where a patent application claim to a genus is anticipated by a patent claim to a species within that genus).” ELI LILLY AND COMPANY v BARR LABORATORIES, INC., United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, ON PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC (DECIDED: May 30, 2001).
Inst. Appl. 18/806,617
Patent No. 11,593,118
Patent No. 12,086,606
Claim 1
A non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon a sequence of instructions which, when stored in memory and executed by a processor cause the processor to perform acts, the acts comprising:
receiving an installation package at a first node,
wherein the installation package was sent from a second node that is remote from the first node, and the second node holds container registry content to be sent to local nodes;
installing a local container registry that is local to the first node;
a microservice from the installation package at the first node from the local container registry.
Claim 1
A non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon a sequence of instructions which, when stored in memory and executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform acts
for bootstrapping a microservices container registry, the acts comprising: receiving an installation package at a computing system node;
and bootstrapping an invocation of a microservice at least by installing a local container registry from the installation package and further at least by installing the microservice from the installation package,
wherein the installation package comprises a file system composed of a first code image of the local container registry and a second code image that corresponds to a microservice URL, and the microservice URL is referenced in the first code image using at least a fully qualified domain name (FQDN).
Claim 1
A non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon a sequence of instructions which, when stored in memory and executed by a processor cause the processor to perform acts, the acts comprising:
bootstrapping an invocation of a microservice at a leader node in a first domain at least by installing a microservice registry and
the microservice from an installation package that is sent to the leader node, wherein a leader-follower relationship is established between the leader node and the follower node in a second domain, and a server points to the microservices registry at the leader node; and responsive to an event where the follower node is unable to reach the leader node, changing an entry in the server to point to a network address at the follower node in the second domain.
Claims Objections
Claims 3-4, 10-11, 17-18 are objected to because of the following informalities: The use of acronyms without first defining them, for example, URL, DNS entry. An acronym must be first defined before using it as the meaning of the acronym may change with time or depending on the context in which is used.
Claims 7, 14 are objected to because the use of symbol “/” may interpreted in different ways, thus making the claims unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8,15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2020/0348846 (hereinafter, “Chopra”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2017/0344910 (hereinafter, “Wu”).
As per claims 1, 8, 15 1 discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon a sequence of instructions which, when stored in memory and executed by a processor cause the processor to perform acts, the acts comprising:
receiving an installation package at a first node, (Fig. 1 illustrates one or more production hosts, in which according to ¶ [0018]-[0019] they may be client devices. These client devices are further configured to received an “ installation package” ¶ [0002]. )
wherein the installation package was sent from a second node that is remote from the first node, and (management device 120 may be implemented as a computing device ¶ [0028] that is responsible for providing the installation package as further illustrated by Fig. 3B)
the second node holds container registry content to be sent to local nodes; (Fig. 1 illustrates a management device 120 having a “Global Registry” to determine whether a particular “components” needs to be installed for production hosts; ¶ [0047])
installing a local container registry that is local to the first node; (production hosts are equipped with a “local registry 119” as illustrated by Fig. 1 )
installing a microservice from the installation package at the first node from the local container registry. (populate the local registry with data structures that may identify the software component as either being “unique” or “common”. ¶s [0035], [0038], [0059]. Because of that, it is therefore seen that the type of software component serves as having a specific utility to one or more client production hosts, and thus is similar to the claimed feature of “microservice”. )
Chopra does not distinctly disclose where the claimed feature “microservice” is more narrowly interpreted as a service that is independent.
However, Wu discloses that. In particular, Wu discloses the following:
receiving an installation package at a first node, (Fig. 2 illustrates one or more client service node that may receive container “packages” from a provisioning node 102, ¶ [0037] ) .
wherein the installation package was sent from a second node that is remote from the first node, and (Fig. 2 illustrates one or more client service node that may receive container “packages” from a provisioning node 102, ¶ [0037] )
the second node holds container registry content to be sent to local nodes; (¶ [0026] states “ container builder 208, publishes the generated model containers to the global container registry 210. In response to publishing the model containers, the continuous provisioning system 102, utilizing the model container provisioning tool 212 deploys the model container to one or more serving nodes of the serving node cluster 214” )
installing a local container registry that is local to the first node; (inter alia: ¶ [0038] states “container provisioning tool 212 provisions the one or more model containers to the local container registry of the one or more serving nodes” )
installing a microservice from the installation package at the first node from the local container registry. (the provisioning of the containers may allow “ micro-services” ¶ [007])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chopra and Wu because both references are in the same field of endeavor. Wu’s teaching of micro-services would enhance Chopra’s system by allowing development that is more scalable and fault tolerant than a monolithic services.
Claim(s) 2, 9, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2020/0348846 (hereinafter, “Chopra”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2017/0344910 (hereinafter, “Wu”) and further view of U.S. Publication No. 2019/0339986 (hereinafter, “Khatri”) .
As per claims 2, 9 and 16, Chopra as modified discloses non-transitory computer readable medium, wherein the installation package comprising the local container registry is downloaded to the computing system node by at least one of, and wherein the local container registry is extracted before invocation of the microservice. (Chopra: local and global registry for installing unique and common software components; Fig’s 1, 6) & (Wu: local and global registry for installing container for microservices; Fig. 2, ¶s [0035], [007], [0026] ) )
Chopra as modified does not distinctly disclose a basic 11O system (BIOS) or a pre-boot execution environment PXE.
However, Khatri explicitly discloses a basic 11O system (BIOS) or a pre-boot execution environment PXE. ( provisioning system includes a pre-boot execution environment system coupled to a server device through a network.; abstract)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chopra as modified and Khatri because all references are in the same field of endeavor. Khatris’ teaching of implementing an PXE technology would enhance Chopra’s as modified system by provisioning software packages to bare machines without physical local memory, thus enhances costs in deploying large scale software to computer systems.
Claim(s) 3, 10, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2020/0348846 (hereinafter, “Chopra”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2017/0344910 (hereinafter, “Wu”) and further view of U.S. Patent No. 10,623,508 (hereinafter, “Chauhan”) .
As per claims 3, 10, 17, Chopra as modified discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium wherein the installation package comprises a file system composed of a first code image of the local container registry and a second code image that corresponds to at least one microservice that is referenced in the first code image of the local container registry (WU: receiving, storing, and sending files having unique and common components using local and global registry ¶ [0040], Fig’s 1, 6), (Chopra: contents may be implemented using file system ¶s [0064], [0066] )
Chopra as modified does not distinctly a URL and using at least a fully qualified domain name (FQDN).
However, Chauhan explicitly discloses a URL and using at least a fully qualified domain name (FQDN). (implementing URLs and FQDNs for resource location; Col 37 lines 31-41)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chopra as modified and Chauhan because all references are in the same field of endeavor. Chauhan’s teaching of URLs and FQDNs would enhance Chopra’s as modified system by allowing sharing of resources that are faster and more secure.
Claim(s) 4, 11, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2020/0348846 (hereinafter, “Chopra”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2017/0344910 (hereinafter, “Wu”) and further view of U.S. Publication No. 2015/0370866 (hereinafter, “Schneider”) .
As per claims 4, 11 and 18, Chopra as modified does not distinctly disclose a non-transitory computer readable medium further comprising instructions which, when stored in memory and executed by the processor cause the processor to perform further acts of unpacking at least a portion of a domain name service at the computing system node such that an initial domain name service is hosted at a node-local IP address, and such that at least one DNS entry of the initial domain name service refers to the node-local IP address of the local container registry that was extracted from the installation package.
However, Schneider explicitly discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium further comprising instructions which, when stored in memory and executed by the processor cause the processor to perform further acts of unpacking at least a portion of a domain name service at the computing system node such that an initial domain name service is hosted at a node-local IP address, and such that at least one DNS entry of the initial domain name service refers to the node-local IP address of the local container registry that was extracted from the installation package. (¶ [106] states “The browser 112 extracts the domain name from the URL and passes the domain name to the resolver 114 on the client-side of the DNS application. As part of a DNS query message, the DNS client 114 sends the domain name to a DNS server system 121 connected to the Internet. The DNS client 114 eventually receives a reply, which includes the IP address for the domain name. The browser then opens a TCP connection 116 to the HTTP server process 120 located at the IP address” )
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chopra as modified and Schneider because all references are in the same field of endeavor. Schneider’s teaching of extracting information form domain to pass IP addresses would enhance Chopra’s as modified system by allowing quick and secure data sharing.
Claim(s) 6-7, 13-14, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2020/0348846 (hereinafter, “Chopra”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2017/0344910 (hereinafter, “Wu”) and further view of U.S. Publication No. 2019/0102155 (hereinafter, “Garvey”) .
As per claims 6, 13 Chopra as modified discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium further comprising instructions which, when stored in memory and executed by the processor cause the processor to perform further acts of deploying a first instance of the local container registry to a first availability and deploying a second instance of the local container registry to a second availability domain. (Chopra: discloses a creating a production hosts that are implemented having unique and common software components using based on the local registry; Fig’s 1, 6)
Chopra as modified does not distinctly disclose a first computing cluster having one or more domains.
However, Garvey discloses a first computing cluster having one or more domains. (Fig 7 illustrates a computer cluster comprised of sub-clusters)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chopra as modified and Garvey because all references are in the same field of endeavor. Garvey’s teaching of arranging a computer cluster as subclusters would enhance Chopra’s as modified system by allowing the user to easily identify relationships between different computer nodes, thus enhancing configuration settings.
As per claims 7, 14, 20, Chopra as modified discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium further comprising instructions which, when stored in memory and executed by the processor cause the processor to perform further acts of executing at least a portion of the installation package to establish a leader/follower relationship between a first computing system node in the first availability domain and a second computing system node in the second availability domain. (Garvey: abstract discloses “deployments of a software resource” that are arranged based on relationships defined as parent node/child node ¶ [0137] )
Allowable Subject Matter Over 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 5, 12, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Relevant Prior Art
Pertinent prior art for the instant application is U.S. Patent No. 9,612,815 which discloses the invention directed to the deployment automation tool is configured to generate one or more software bundles or virtual appliances that are configured to provide the service delivery solution and the particular service level when the software bundles or virtual appliances are installed on the one or more resources. The service delivery solution comprises a base console that is configured to invoke one or more processes on each of a plurality of containers, the one or more processes on each of the plurality of containers being configured to provide one or more service offerings that deliver functionality that differs between each of the plurality of containers
Conclusion
With respect to any newly added or amended claims, applicant should show support in the original disclosure for the new or amended claims. See MPEP §714.02 and § 2163.06. For example, when responding to this office action, applicants are advised to provide the examiner with the line numbers and page numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist the examiner in locating appropriate paragraphs.
/AUREL PRIFTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175
Aurel Prifti
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2175
Tel. (571) 270-1743
Fax (571) 270-2743
aurel.prifti@uspto.gov
1 As per independent claim(s) 8 and 15, these claims are substantially equivalent to product claim(s) 1, because the additional feature(s) presented in the system claim are present on any off the shelf general-purpose computer. Therefore, for at least this reason, claims 8 and 15 also stand rejected. Indeed, at least Fig’s 1-3 of cited prior art further discloses the claimed system features.