DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As of claim 1, the limitation “assuming that a radius of a maximum effective image circle on the reduction side is Imax” is vague. The word “assuming” means a hypothetical scenario instead of a definite value. For the purpose of the examination, the Examiner has interpreted “assuming that a radius of a maximum effective image circle on the reduction side is Imax” as “a radius of a maximum effective image circle on the reduction side is Imax”.
Claims 2-20 are rejected as being dependent on claim 1.
As of claim 5, the limitation “assuming that an average value of Abbe numbers of all negative lenses included in the front group based on a d line is vnave” is vague. The word “assuming” means a hypothetical scenario instead of a definite value. For the purpose of the examination, the Examiner has interpreted “assuming that an average value of Abbe numbers of all negative lenses included in the front group based on a d line is vnave” as “an average value of Abbe numbers of all negative lenses included in the front group based on a d line is vnave”.
As of claim 6, the limitation “assuming that an average value of refractive indexes of all negative lenses included in the front group at a d line is Nnave” is vague. The word “assuming” means a hypothetical scenario instead of a definite value. For the purpose of the examination, the Examiner has interpreted “assuming that an average value of refractive indexes of all negative lenses included in the front group at a d line is Nnave” as “an average value of refractive indexes of all negative lenses included in the front group at a d line is Nnave”.
As of claim 10, the limitation “assuming that an air conversion distance on the optical axis from a surface closest to the reduction side in the front group to a surface closest to the magnification side in the rear group is Dfr” is vague. The word “assuming” means a hypothetical scenario instead of a definite value. For the purpose of the examination, the Examiner has interpreted “assuming that an air conversion distance on the optical axis from a surface closest to the reduction side in the front group to a surface closest to the magnification side in the rear group is Dfr” as “an air conversion distance on the optical axis from a surface closest to the reduction side in the front group to a surface closest to the magnification side in the rear group is Dfr”.
As of claim 12, the limitation “assuming that a thickness of the prism along the optical axis is Dpr” is vague. The word “assuming” means a hypothetical scenario instead of a definite value. For the purpose of the examination, the Examiner has interpreted “assuming that a thickness of the prism along the optical axis is Dpr” as “a thickness of the prism along the optical axis is Dpr”.
As of claim 13, the limitation “assuming that a maximum effective radius of the lens surface closest to the magnification side in the first optical system is ERf” is vague. The word “assuming” means a hypothetical scenario instead of a definite value. For the purpose of the examination, the Examiner has interpreted “assuming that a maximum effective radius of the lens surface closest to the magnification side in the first optical system is ERf” as “a maximum effective radius of the lens surface closest to the magnification side in the first optical system is ERf”.
As of claim 14, the limitation “assuming that a maximum value of a height of an on-axis marginal ray from the optical axis on all lens surfaces of the first optical system is AH1” is vague. The word “assuming” means a hypothetical scenario instead of a definite value. For the purpose of the examination, the Examiner has interpreted “assuming that a maximum value of a height of an on-axis marginal ray from the optical axis on all lens surfaces of the first optical system is AH1” as “a maximum value of a height of an on-axis marginal ray from the optical axis on all lens surfaces of the first optical system is AH1”.
As of claim 15, the limitation “assuming that a maximum value of a height of an on-axis marginal ray from the optical axis on all lens surfaces of the first optical system is AH1” is vague. The word “assuming” means a hypothetical scenario instead of a definite value. For the purpose of the examination, the Examiner has interpreted “assuming that a maximum value of a height of an on-axis marginal ray from the optical axis on all lens surfaces of the first optical system is AH1” as “a maximum value of a height of an on-axis marginal ray from the optical axis on all lens surfaces of the first optical system is AH1”.
As of claim 15, the limitation “assuming that a position of the real image in an optical axis direction is set as a first position” is vague. The word “assuming” means a hypothetical scenario instead of a definite value. For the purpose of the examination, the Examiner has interpreted “assuming that a position of the real image in an optical axis direction is set as a first position” as “a position of the real image in an optical axis direction is set as a first position”.
Claims 16-19 are rejected as being dependent on claim 15.
As of claim 16, the limitation “assuming that natural number of 1 to 10 is k, a point, of which a height from the optical axis on the maximum effective image circle on the reduction side is a height of k tenths of a radius of the maximum effective image circle” is vague. The word “assuming” means a hypothetical scenario instead of a definite value. For the purpose of the examination, the Examiner has interpreted “assuming that natural number of 1 to 10 is k, a point, of which a height from the optical axis on the maximum effective image circle on the reduction side is a height of k tenths of a radius of the maximum effective image circle” as “natural number of 1 to 10 is k, a point, of which a height from the optical axis on the maximum effective image circle on the reduction side is a height of k tenths of a radius of the maximum effective image circle”.
Claims 17-19 are rejected as being dependent on claim 16.
As of claim 17, the limitation “assuming that an air conversion distance on the optical axis from a surface closest to the reduction side in the front group to a surface closest to the magnification side in the rear group is Dfr” is vague. The word “assuming” means a hypothetical scenario instead of a definite value. For the purpose of the examination, the Examiner has interpreted “assuming that an air conversion distance on the optical axis from a surface closest to the reduction side in the front group to a surface closest to the magnification side in the rear group is Dfr” as “an air conversion distance on the optical axis from a surface closest to the reduction side in the front group to a surface closest to the magnification side in the rear group is Dfr”.
As of claim 19, the limitation “assuming that a thickness of the prism along the optical axis is Dpr, and a refractive index of the prism at a d line is Npr” is vague. The word “assuming” means a hypothetical scenario instead of a definite value. For the purpose of the examination, the Examiner has interpreted “assuming that a thickness of the prism along the optical axis is Dpr, and a refractive index of the prism at a d line is Npr” as “a thickness of the prism along the optical axis is Dpr, and a refractive index of the prism at a d line is Npr”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-9, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAGATOSHI (US 2018/0059380 A1).
As of claims 1, 20, NAGATOSHI teaches a projection optical system [fig 19] that projects an image on a reduction side G2 [fig 3] [0065] to a magnification side G1 [fig 3] [0065], wherein the projection optical system [fig 19] does not include a reflecting surface having a power (the projection optical system does not have any reflector with a power except for a total reflection mirror 38 as shown in fig 19), the projection optical system [fig 19] consists of, in order from the magnification side G1 [fig 3] to the reduction side G2 [fig 3] along an optical path (shown with dotted line) [fig 3], a first optical system G1 [fig 3] and a second optical system G2 [fig 3], an intermediate image is formed between the first optical system and the second optical system (the intermediate image is formed between the magnification side and the reduction side) [0041], the first optical system G1 [fig 3] includes an optical path deflection surface R [fig 3] which deflects an optical path (towards the prism PP1) [fig 3].
NAGATOSHI teaches all the claimed limitations through prior art knowledge of through a variety of disclosed embodiments. It would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill that the various embodiments and known prior art could be combined without yielding unpredictable results. It has been held that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results.” KSR., 127 S. Ct. at 1739, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (2007) (Citing Graham, 383 U.S. at 12).
NAGATOSHI does not specifically teach assuming that a radius of a maximum effective image circle on the reduction side is Imax, a distance on an optical axis from a lens surface closest to the magnification side in the first optical system to the optical path deflection surface is Ddef, and Ddef is a value at a wide-angle end in a case where the projection optical system is a variable magnification optical system, Conditional Expression (1) is satisfied, which is represented by 0.2<Imax/Ddef<0.7.(1). However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a radius of a maximum effective image circle on the reduction side is Imax, a distance on an optical axis from a lens surface closest to the magnification side in the first optical system to the optical path deflection surface is Ddef, and Ddef is a value at a wide-angle end in a case where the projection optical system is a variable magnification optical system, Conditional Expression (1) is satisfied, which is represented by 0.2<Imax/Ddef<0.7.(1) as a design choice (Rearrangement of Parts; MPEP 2144.04 VI C) in order to be capable of satisfactorily correcting various aberrations with a wide angle while achieving reduction in size of the lens system and the entire apparatus.
As of claim 8, NAGATOSHI teaches the second optical system G21 [fig 4] includes two or more movable groups that move along the optical axis during magnification change (the second-1 lens group G21 and the second-3 lens group G23 are configured to move by changing spacings of the groups adjacent to each other in the direction of the optical axis during zooming) [0103].
As of claim 9, NAGATOSHI teaches a movable group G21 [fig 4] closest to the magnification side G1 [fig 1] among the movable groups of the second optical system G2 [fig 4] has a positive power [0091].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 10-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if earlier 112(b) rejection is successfully overcome and if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As of claim 2, the closest prior art NAGATOSHI (US 2018/0059380 A1) teaches a cross-sectional view illustrating a configuration of the wide-angle lens of Example 1 in a state where the optical path thereof is developed. FIG. 2 is a cross-sectional view illustrating a configuration of the wide-angle lens in an actual state. In addition, in FIGS. 1 and 2 and FIGS. 4 to 11 corresponding to Examples 2 to 5, an image display surface Sim side is the reduction side, a lens L11a side of a first optical system G1 is a magnification side, and an aperture stop St shown in the drawing does not necessarily show its real size and shape, but show a position on an optical axis Z. Further, in FIGS. 1, 4, 6, 8, and 10, on-axis rays wa and rays with a maximum angle of view wb are also shown together. The wide-angle lens of Example 1 includes the first optical system G1 on the magnification side, and a second optical system G2 on the reduction side, in a state where the intermediate image is formed therebetween. The first optical system G1 includes only a first-1 lens group G11. The second optical system G2 includes only a second-1 lens group G21. The first-1 lens group G11 includes the optical axis deflection prism PP1 and twelve lenses as lenses L11a to L11l. The second-1 lens group G21 includes eight lenses as lenses L21a to L21h. The wide-angle lens may have a reflection member R that further deflects the optical axis by 90°, at a position closer to the reduction side than the optical axis deflection prism PP1. In such an embodiment, by deflecting the optical axis twice, it is possible to more effectively achieve reduction in size of the entire wide-angle lens. NAGATOSHI does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, the first optical system consists of, in order from the magnification side to the reduction side along the optical path, a front group that has a negative power, an optical path deflection member that includes the optical path deflection surface, and a rear group that has a positive power.
Claim 3-7, 10-12 would be allowed as being dependent on claim 2.
As of claim 13, the closest prior art NAGATOSHI (US 2018/0059380 A1) teaches a cross-sectional view illustrating a configuration of the wide-angle lens of Example 1 in a state where the optical path thereof is developed. FIG. 2 is a cross-sectional view illustrating a configuration of the wide-angle lens in an actual state. In addition, in FIGS. 1 and 2 and FIGS. 4 to 11 corresponding to Examples 2 to 5, an image display surface Sim side is the reduction side, a lens L11a side of a first optical system G1 is a magnification side, and an aperture stop St shown in the drawing does not necessarily show its real size and shape, but show a position on an optical axis Z. Further, in FIGS. 1, 4, 6, 8, and 10, on-axis rays wa and rays with a maximum angle of view wb are also shown together. The wide-angle lens of Example 1 includes the first optical system G1 on the magnification side, and a second optical system G2 on the reduction side, in a state where the intermediate image is formed therebetween. The first optical system G1 includes only a first-1 lens group G11. The second optical system G2 includes only a second-1 lens group G21. The first-1 lens group G11 includes the optical axis deflection prism PP1 and twelve lenses as lenses L11a to L11l. The second-1 lens group G21 includes eight lenses as lenses L21a to L21h. The wide-angle lens may have a reflection member R that further deflects the optical axis by 90°, at a position closer to the reduction side than the optical axis deflection prism PP1. In such an embodiment, by deflecting the optical axis twice, it is possible to more effectively achieve reduction in size of the entire wide-angle lens. NAGATOSHI does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, assuming that a maximum effective radius of the lens surface closest to the magnification side in the first optical system is ERf, and a maximum value of maximum effective radii of all lens surfaces of the projection optical system is ERmax, Conditional Expression (6) is satisfied, which is represented by 0<ERf/ERmax<0.7.(6).
As of claim 14, the closest prior art NAGATOSHI (US 2018/0059380 A1) teaches a cross-sectional view illustrating a configuration of the wide-angle lens of Example 1 in a state where the optical path thereof is developed. FIG. 2 is a cross-sectional view illustrating a configuration of the wide-angle lens in an actual state. In addition, in FIGS. 1 and 2 and FIGS. 4 to 11 corresponding to Examples 2 to 5, an image display surface Sim side is the reduction side, a lens L11a side of a first optical system G1 is a magnification side, and an aperture stop St shown in the drawing does not necessarily show its real size and shape, but show a position on an optical axis Z. Further, in FIGS. 1, 4, 6, 8, and 10, on-axis rays wa and rays with a maximum angle of view wb are also shown together. The wide-angle lens of Example 1 includes the first optical system G1 on the magnification side, and a second optical system G2 on the reduction side, in a state where the intermediate image is formed therebetween. The first optical system G1 includes only a first-1 lens group G11. The second optical system G2 includes only a second-1 lens group G21. The first-1 lens group G11 includes the optical axis deflection prism PP1 and twelve lenses as lenses L11a to L11l. The second-1 lens group G21 includes eight lenses as lenses L21a to L21h. The wide-angle lens may have a reflection member R that further deflects the optical axis by 90°, at a position closer to the reduction side than the optical axis deflection prism PP1. In such an embodiment, by deflecting the optical axis twice, it is possible to more effectively achieve reduction in size of the entire wide-angle lens. NAGATOSHI does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, assuming that a maximum value of a height of an on-axis marginal ray from the optical axis on all lens surfaces of the first optical system is AH1, and a maximum value of a height of the on-axis marginal ray from the optical axis on all lens surfaces of the second optical system is AH2, Conditional Expression (7) is satisfied, which is represented by 0<AH1/AH2<0.7.(7).
As of claim 15, the closest prior art NAGATOSHI (US 2018/0059380 A1) teaches a cross-sectional view illustrating a configuration of the wide-angle lens of Example 1 in a state where the optical path thereof is developed. FIG. 2 is a cross-sectional view illustrating a configuration of the wide-angle lens in an actual state. In addition, in FIGS. 1 and 2 and FIGS. 4 to 11 corresponding to Examples 2 to 5, an image display surface Sim side is the reduction side, a lens L11a side of a first optical system G1 is a magnification side, and an aperture stop St shown in the drawing does not necessarily show its real size and shape, but show a position on an optical axis Z. Further, in FIGS. 1, 4, 6, 8, and 10, on-axis rays wa and rays with a maximum angle of view wb are also shown together. The wide-angle lens of Example 1 includes the first optical system G1 on the magnification side, and a second optical system G2 on the reduction side, in a state where the intermediate image is formed therebetween. The first optical system G1 includes only a first-1 lens group G11. The second optical system G2 includes only a second-1 lens group G21. The first-1 lens group G11 includes the optical axis deflection prism PP1 and twelve lenses as lenses L11a to L11l. The second-1 lens group G21 includes eight lenses as lenses L21a to L21h. The wide-angle lens may have a reflection member R that further deflects the optical axis by 90°, at a position closer to the reduction side than the optical axis deflection prism PP1. In such an embodiment, by deflecting the optical axis twice, it is possible to more effectively achieve reduction in size of the entire wide-angle lens. NAGATOSHI does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, the projection optical system includes an aperture stop at a position closer to the reduction side than the intermediate image, a real image of the aperture stop is present inside the first optical system, and assuming that a position of the real image in an optical axis direction is set as a first position, and a position farthest from the first position is set as a second position, among positions where a ray, which is emitted from an optional point in a maximum effective image circle on the reduction side and passes through a center of the aperture stop toward the magnification side, intersects the optical axis at a position closer to the magnification side than the intermediate image, an intersection between the optical path deflection surface and the optical axis is positioned within a range from the first position to the second position in the optical axis direction.
Claim 16-19 would be allowed as being dependent on claim 15.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
- Prior Art Imaoka et al. (US 20220397749 A1) teaches an optical system internally having an intermediate imaging position that is conjugated to a magnification conjugate point on a magnification side and a reduction conjugate point on a reduction side, respectively, the optical system comprising: a magnification optical system positioned on the magnification side with respect to the intermediate imaging position; and a relay optical system positioned on the reduction side with respect to the intermediate imaging position; the relay optical system including: a first lens group positioned closest to the magnification side; two lens groups positioned on the reduction side with respect to the first lens group; and a negative lens group interposed between the two lens groups, wherein during zooming the negative lens is fixed, while the two lens groups are displaced;
- Prior Art KAYANO (US 20210389649 A1) teaches a projection lens having a housing of a projection apparatus having an electro-optical element. The projection lens includes a first holding portion that holds a first optical system disposed along a first optical axis through which light from the housing passes, a first reflection portion that bends light having the first optical axis into light having a second optical axis, a second holding portion that holds the first reflection portion, and a second holding portion fixing mechanism that fixes the second holding portion to the first holding portion. By weakening a fixing force of the second holding portion fixing mechanism, the second holding portion can be shifted relative to the first holding portion.
/SULTAN CHOWDHURY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882