Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Publication 20150226479 to Fujita in view of FR2472137 to Hans (The art rejection is based on the respective English translation by PE2E)
In Reference to Claim 1
Fujita discloses a drying device which dries a recording medium on which an image is formed, while conveying the recording medium, the drying apparatus comprising: a conveying member (Fig. 1, 82) which supports and conveys the recording medium in a predetermined conveyance direction; and a heating device (Fig. 1, 40) which heats the recording medium conveyed by the conveying member under a high temperature environment, wherein, the heating device includes: a heater (Fig. 3, 43) which emits infrared ray; a reflector (Fig. 3, 48) which reflects the infrared ray emitted from the heater toward the recording medium;
Fujita does not teach a lifting mechanism.
Hans teaches a lifting mechanism (Fig. 1, 12/10) which lifts and lowers the reflector (Fig. 1, 1) relative to the heater (Fig. 1, 3) to change a number of reflections of the infrared ray.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Hans into the design of Fujita. Doing so, would result in the teaching of Hans being implemented into the design of Fujita. Both inventions of Fujita and Hans teaches to improve the adjustment possibilities of a device of this type.
In Reference to Claim 2
Fujita discloses the drying apparatus.
Fujita does not teach the adjust height of the infrared heater.
Hans teaches the lifting mechanism lifts (Fig. 1, 12/10) the reflector to decrease the number of reflections when intensity of the infrared ray irradiated on the recording medium is desired to be increased. (The office considers that the adjustment of the intensity of the infrared ray is the result of the recited structure).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Hans into the design of Fujita. Doing so, would result in the teaching of Hans being implemented into the design of Fujita. Both inventions of Fujita and Hans teaches to improve the adjustment possibilities of a device of this type.
In Reference to Claims 3 and 4
Fujita discloses a plurality of the reflectors (As showed in Fig. 1)
Fujita does not teach the height adjustable mechanism.
Hans teaches each infrared housing having a respective lifting mechanism (Fig. 1, 10/12)
The Office considers that either lift at the same time or individually is a process result of the respected structure.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Hans into the design of Fujita. Doing so, would result in the teaching of Hans being implemented into the design of Fujita. Both inventions of Fujita and Hans teaches to improve the adjustment possibilities of a device of this type.
In Reference to Claim 5
Fujita discloses the dryer system with the infrared heater.
Fujita does not teach the type of the life mechanism.
Hans teaches the lifting mechanism is a rack and pinion mechanism.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Hans into the design of Fujita. Doing so, would result in the teaching of Hans being implemented into the design of Fujita. Both inventions of Fujita and Hans teaches to improve the adjustment possibilities of a device of this type.
Conclusion
DEMING . WAN
Examiner
Art Unit 3762
/DEMING WAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762 8/21/26