DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 14, 17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20230109587 by Seokwoo Lee et al. (hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches: An antenna device (electronic device 3 ¶ 0093, fig. 3), comprising:
an antenna (the antenna module 6 may include an antenna structure 61 ¶ 0095, fig. 5-7) configured to radiate an electromagnetic wave (the electromagnetic wave radiated from the antenna structure 61 ¶ 0111); and
a supporting member (support member 7 ¶ 0094, fig. 15) configured to accommodate and support the antenna (The support member 7 is an element for stably positioning the antenna module 6 ¶ 0094, fig. 5, 8 and 15), the supporting member having a storage space where the antenna is disposed (see, fig. 8 [7 and 6]), and the supporting member (support member 7 ¶ 0145, fig. 15) having a first aperture (plurality of openings 1521 ¶ 0145, fig. 15) facing the first direction (fig. 15 [D1]), and a second aperture (plurality of openings 1521 ¶ 0145, fig. 15) facing a second direction (fig. 15 [D2]) different (see fig. 15) from the first direction (fig. 15 [D1]);
The support member 7 has a plurality of openings 1521 oriented in different directions D1-D3.
The antenna module 6 may include an antenna structure 61 ¶ 0095.
The second portion 72 including at least one opening in the support member 7 may be provided (or configured) in various other forms without being limited to the illustrated example ¶ 0146.
Lee – Figure 15
wherein the antenna (antenna structure 61 ¶ 0145, fig. 15) radiates the electromagnetic wave (energy radiated ¶ 0145) in the first direction (fig. 15 [D1]) through the first aperture (plurality of openings 1521 ¶ 0145 ,fig. 15) and in the second direction (fig. 15 [D2]) through the second aperture (plurality of openings 1521 ¶ 0145, fig. 15).
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches: The antenna device of claim 1, wherein the supporting member (support member 7 ¶ 0145, fig. 15) further has a third aperture (plurality of openings 1521 ¶ 0145 ,fig. 15) facing a third direction (fig. 15 [D3]) different from the first direction (fig. 15 [D1]) and the second direction (fig. 15 [D2]), and the antenna (antenna structure 61 ¶ 0145, fig. 15) radiates the electromagnetic wave (energy radiated ¶ 0145) further in the third direction (fig. 15 [D3]) through the third aperture (plurality of openings 1521 ¶ 0145 ,fig. 15).
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches: The antenna device of claim 1, wherein the supporting member (support member 7 ¶ 0113, fig. 8) further comprises a secure portion (first support parts (1) ¶ 0113, fig. 8) having a hole (first hole H1/second hole H2 ¶ 0113, fig. 8 [1]) for securing (fastening ¶ 0113) the supporting member (support member 7 ¶ 0113, fig. 8) onto a wireless communications device (front cover 511 ¶ 0113, fig. 5 and 10) with a screw (screw ¶ 0113).
Regarding claim 17, Lee teaches: The antenna device of claim 1, wherein the supporting member (support member 7 ¶ 0112, fig. 8) further comprises a plurality of positioning elements (a pair of first support (1), a second support part (2), a third support part (3), and/or a fourth support part (4) ¶ 0112, fig. 8), and the antenna (antenna module 6 ¶ 0095, fig. 5-8 and 15) is affixed (see fig. 8) by the plurality of positioning elements (pair of first support (1), second support part (2), third support part (3), and/or fourth support part (4) ¶ 0112, fig. 8).
Regarding claim 19, Lee teaches: The antenna device of claim 1, wherein:
the antenna (antenna module 6 ¶ 0095, fig. 5-8 and 15) comprises a conductive plate (antenna array 612 ¶ 0095, fig. 6) configured to radiate the electromagnetic wave (radiate electromagnetic waves ¶ 0125), a circuit (communication circuit 62/power management circuit 63 ¶ 0095, fig. 7) linked to the conductive plate and configured to process a signal corresponding to the electromagnetic wave (The communication circuit 62, which include a radio frequency integrate circuit (hereinafter RFIC), and may be disposed on the second surface 602, may transmit and/or receive signals through the antenna array 612, may down-convert an RF signal received through the antenna array 612 into an IF signal, and the IF signal may be provided to a wireless communication circuit (e.g., the wireless communication module 192) ¶ 0099, fig. 6-7), and a connector (connector 64 ¶ 0095, fig. 7) coupled to the circuit (communication circuit 62/power management circuit 63 ¶ 0095, fig. 7) and configured to transmit the signal to an external circuit (the electrical path 65 such as a flexible printed circuit board may be connected, directly or indirectly, to the connector 64. The other end of the electrical path 65 may include a connector 651 for electrical connection with another printed circuit board, e.g., a printed circuit board on which the element such as the processor 120, the memory 130, or the communication module 190 are disposed, for example, the printed circuit board 530 ¶ 0104, fig. 1 and 5-7); and
the supporting member (support member 7 ¶ 0094, fig. 6-7) further comprises:
a conductive component (the support member 7 may include a first portion 71 coupled to the antenna structure 61, and a second portion 72 ¶ 0111, fig. 8 and 15) disposed corresponding to the conductive plate (antenna array 612 ¶ 0095, fig. 6) of the antenna (antenna module 6 ¶ 0095, fig. 5-8 and 15) and comprising a conductive sheet (second portion 72 extending from the first portion 71 ¶ 0111, fig. 8 and 15) and two sidewalls (third support part (3), fourth support part (4) ¶ 0111, fig. 8 and 15) connected to the conductive sheet (first portion 71 ¶ 0111, fig. 8 and 15);
wherein the first aperture (plurality of openings 1521 ¶ 0145, fig. 15) is formed on the conductive sheet (second portion 72 extending from the first portion 71 ¶ 0111, fig. 8 and 15), the second aperture (plurality of openings 1521 ¶ 0145, fig. 15) is formed between the sidewalls (see fig. 15 [(3) and (4)]).
Regarding claim 20, Lee teaches: The antenna device of claim 1, wherein the antenna (antenna module 6 ¶ 0095, fig. 5-8 and 15) device is installed inside one of a mobile phone, a laptop and a tablet (The electronic device may include, for example, a portable communication device (e.g., a smartphone ), a computer device, a portable multimedia device, a portable medical device, a camera, a wearable device, or home appliances. The electronic device according is not limited to the above-described devices ¶ 0086).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of CN 115149250 A (see attached translation for the following citation) by Sun Guanghua et al. (hereinafter Guanghua).
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches: The antenna device of claim 2, the second direction (fig. 15 [D2]) the first direction (fig. 15 [D1]), and the third direction (fig. 15 [D3]).
Lee does not explicitly teach wherein the second direction is substantially perpendicular to the first direction, and the third direction is substantially perpendicular to the first direction and opposite to the second direction.
However, Guanghua teaches the upper wall 11, the lower wall 12, and the rear wall 13 of the cavity form a U-shaped cavity 100. The U-shaped cavity 100 includes a first opening facing a first direction, a second opening facing a second direction, and a third opening facing a third direction, with the third opening facing away from the rear wall 13 of the cavity (¶ 0085, fig. 3-4).
Guanghua – Figure 3
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Guanghua to include the U-shaped cavity with the electronic device of the art of Lee with the benefit that the maximum radiation direction of the antenna is in the open state, so that the resonant frequency of the antenna can be reduced, the maximum radiation direction of the antenna is adjusted, and broadband and miniaturization are realized (Guanghua, Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee and Guanghua to obtain the invention:
Guanghua teaches wherein the second direction (second direction ¶ 0085, fig. 3) is substantially perpendicular (see fig. 3) to the first direction (third direction ¶ 0085, fig. 3), and the third direction (first direction ¶ 0085, fig. 3) is substantially perpendicular to the first direction (third direction ¶ 0085, fig. 3) and opposite to the second direction (second direction ¶ 0085, fig. 3).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee.
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches: The antenna device of claim 1, wherein:
the supporting member (support member 7 ¶ 0094, fig. 15) further comprises a first conductive sheet (second portion 72 ¶ 0111, fig. 15), a second conductive sheet (first portion 71 ¶ 0111, fig. 15);
the antenna (antenna module 6 ¶ 0095, fig. 5-7 and 15) is disposed between (see fig. 8) the first conductive sheet (second portion 72 ¶ 0111, fig. 15) and the second conductive sheet (first portion 71 ¶ 0111, fig. 15);
Lee does not explicitly teach in the embodiment of the figure 15 the supporting member further having a fourth aperture facing the first direction and formed on the first conductive sheet, the first conductive sheet comprising a reinforcement bar configured to separate the first aperture and the fourth aperture;
wherein the antenna further radiates the electromagnetic wave in the first direction through the fourth aperture.
However, in another embodiment Lee teaches a modification of the support member 7 including a plurality of openings 1201, 1202, 1203, and 1204 provided (or formed) in the second portion 72, wherein the plurality of openings 1201, 1202, 1203, and 1204 may be positioned such that some of the energy radiated from the antenna structure 61 may pass there through. The plurality of openings 1201, 1202, 1203, and 1204 may be aligned one-to-one with the plurality of antenna elements 612a, 612b, 612c, and 612d in the x-axis direction when viewed from above the second side surface S2 of the antenna structure 61 (¶ 0137, fig. 6-8 and 12-14).
The plurality of openings may have different shapes from others. The separation distance between any two neighboring openings among the plurality of openings may be constant, or in some cases, may not be constant (¶ 0139, fig. 12-13).
The coverage formed by the antenna structure 61 and the second portion 72 of the support member 7 may include first coverage 1410, second coverage 1420, and third coverage 1430. Some of the energy (or electromagnetic waves) radiated from the antenna structure 61 may pass through the plurality of openings 1201, 1202, 1203, and 1204 of the second portion 72, thereby forming a third beam pattern for the third coverage 1430. The third beam pattern may form the third coverage 1430 in a corresponding angular range in a direction between the +x-axis direction and the -z-axis direction ( e.g., see the direction in which the line indicated by the reference numeral "1401" extends) (¶ 0140, fig. 14).
Lee – Figure 12
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the second embodiment of Lee to include the plurality of openings located in a longitudinal direction with the second portion of the embodiment of figure 15 of the art of Lee with the benefit of providing an opening to each of the antenna elements (Lee, ¶ 0137).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the embodiments of Lee to obtain the invention:
Lee teaches the supporting member (support member 7 ¶ 0137, fig. 8 and 12-14) further having a fourth aperture (plurality of openings 1201, 1202, 1203, and 1204 ¶ 0137, fig. 12-14) facing the first direction (¶ 0140, fig. 14 [1401]) and formed on the first conductive sheet (second portion 72 ¶ 0137, fig. 8 and 12-14), the first conductive sheet (second portion 72 ¶ 0137, fig. 8 and 12-14) comprising a reinforcement bar (see fig. 12 [reinforcement]) configured to separate (separation distance ¶ 0139, fig. 12-13) the first aperture (see fig. 12 [1201]) and the fourth aperture (see fig. 12 [1204]);
wherein the antenna (antenna module 6 ¶ 0095, fig. 5-7 and 14) further radiates the electromagnetic wave (energy (or electromagnetic waves) radiated ¶ 0140) in the first direction (¶ 0140, fig. 14 [1401]) through (pass through ¶ 0140) the fourth aperture (fig. 14 [1204]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 15, 16 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
a. The prior art fails to anticipate or make obvious claim 4 because although the art of Lee teaches a conductive support member (e.g., the support member 7), wherein the support member 7 may include a first portion 71 and a second portion 72, a plurality of openings 1521 and a third surface 721; and an antenna module 6, wherein the antenna module 6 comprises a first surface 601, the modification of the art of Lee is incompatible with “the second conductive sheet has a second conductive portion between a first edge of the second conductive sheet and the first side of the antenna; and the first conductive portion and the second conductive portion are wider than a predetermined length”. Further search and consideration did not find any combination of prior art can be found to incorporate all the claimed features. Claims 5-12 depend from claim 4 and would also then be allowable if claim 4 is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
b. The prior art fails to anticipate or make obvious claim 15 because although the art of Lee teaches a first support parts (1) and a first direction, the modification of the art of Lee is incompatible with “wherein a normal of the secure portion is in line with the first direction”. Further search and consideration did not find any combination of prior art can be found to incorporate all the claimed features.
c. The prior art fails to anticipate or make obvious claim 16 because although the art of Lee teaches a first support parts (1) and a first direction, the modification of the art of Lee is incompatible with “wherein a normal of the secure portion is perpendicular to the first direction”. Further search and consideration did not find any combination of prior art can be found to incorporate all the claimed features.
d. The prior art fails to anticipate or make obvious claim 18 because although the art of Lee teaches a support member 7, a plurality of openings 1521, an opening formed, a printed circuit board 611 with a first surface 601 and a second surface 602, an antenna array 612, a communication circuit 62, a power management circuit 63, a connector 64, and/or an electrical path 65, wherein the antenna array 612 may include a plurality of antenna elements 612a, 612b, 612c, and 612d disposed on the first surface 601 or in the inside of the printed circuit board 611. Wherein: the communication circuit 62 comprises a radio frequency integrate circuit (RFIC), and may be disposed on the second surface 602, may transmit and/or receive signals through the antenna array 612, may down-convert an RF signal received through the antenna array 612 into an IF signal, and the IF signal may be provided to a wireless communication circuit (e.g., the wireless communication module 192); the connector 64 may be disposed on the second surface 602 of the printed circuit board 611 wherein the communication circuit 62 and the power management circuit 63 are disposed; the electrical path 65 such as a flexible printed circuit board may be connected, directly or indirectly, to the connector 64, and the other end of the electrical path 65 may include a connector 651 for electrical connection with another printed circuit board, e.g., a printed circuit board on which the element such as the processor 120, the memory 130, or the communication module 190 are disposed, for example, the printed circuit board 530, the modification of the art of Lee is incompatible with “the second aperture is formed between first conductive component and the second conductive component”. Further search and consideration did not find any combination of prior art can be found to incorporate all the claimed features.
Conclusion
/JOSE A. MIRANDA GONZALEZ/ Examiner, Art Unit 2844
/REGIS J BETSCH/ SPE, Art Unit 2844