DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 3/25/2026 in which Claims 1-21 are pending of which Claims 20, 21 are new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues with respect to Claim 1, on page 12, that Garnica does not disclose control the wireless communicator circuitry to maintain use of the second communication protocol when the electronic controller circuitry does not receive, via the wireless communication circuitry, the first signal including the first information indicative of the first communication protocol. Examiner disagrees and points to Garnica’s teaching that the processor of the second electronic bicycle component may not receive the one or more first messages or generate a response to the one or more first messages and/or transmit the response to the first electronic bicycle component when the memory of the second electronic bicycle component stores a different communication protocol (e.g., the second communication protocol) than what was used by the first electronic bicycle component to generate the one or more first messages in act 406. For example, when the memory of the second electronic bicycle component stores the second communication protocol, the processor of the second electronic bicycle component may not know what data to look for and where to look within the one or more first messages, such that the one or more messages are not identified as, for example, a pairing signal (see ¶ 0102). Garnica’s Figure 4 illustrates acts 412: when, response received by first component is no [second component is unable to transmit response in first protocol], proceeds to act 416: first component broadcasts one or more second messages, proceeds to act 418: second component receives one or more second messages, proceeds to act 420: second component conditionally generates a response to the one or more second messages, proceeds to act 420: when, response received by first component is yes, proceed to act 424: establish second network [maintain use of second protocol by second component when unable to communicate in first protocol, i.e. messages to first component not received]. Under a broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. The plain meaning of a term means the ordinary and customary meaning given to the term by those of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time. The ordinary and customary meaning of a term may be evidenced by a variety of sources, including the words of the claims themselves, the specification, drawings, and prior art. However, the best source for determining the meaning of a claim term is the specification - the greatest clarity is obtained when the specification serves as a glossary for the claim terms. Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1315, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2005). Examiner construes that when the same communication protocol is used to communicate with the second electronic bicycle component as the one used by the first bicycle component to send the messages, for instance, the second communication protocol, the second messages are received by the first bicycle component.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0109945 to Garnica in view of Japanese Patent Publication 2022/182968 to Kure et al (“Kure”) (relied upon English Translation).
As to Claim 1, Garnica teaches a human-powered vehicle component comprising: wireless communicator circuitry configured to communicate wirelessly with additional wireless communicator circuitry of an additional human-powered vehicle component (the first electronic bicycle component includes a first communication interface [wireless communicator circuitry] configured to communicate wirelessly with a second electronic bicycle component…the second electronic bicycle component includes a second communication interface [additional wireless communicator circuitry] configured to communicate wirelessly with the first electronic bicycle component, see ¶ 0018);
electronic controller circuitry electrically connected to the wireless communicator circuitry and configured to receive a first signal from the additional wireless communicator circuitry via the wireless communicator circuitry (if the electronic controller device receives a response to the one or more first messages from an electronic bicycle component [receive a first signal from the additional wireless communicator circuitry], such as a derailleur, within a first predetermined time period, the electronic controller device establishes a first wireless network that includes the electronic controller device and, for example, the derailleur, according to the first communication protocol, see ¶ 0038; the first controller device 120 and the second controller device 122 employ the first shift lever 120a and the second shift lever 122a as respective input elements to generate corresponding wireless signals 120b, 122b (e.g., including messages and/or message packets) to actuate the front derailleur 108d and the rear derailleur 108f, see ¶ 0055),
the electronic controller circuitry being configured to store a first communication protocol and a second communication protocol as a communication protocol of the wireless communicator circuitry (an electronic controller device stores a first communication protocol and a second communication protocol within firmware, see ¶ 0038);
the electronic controller circuitry being configured to: control the wireless communicator circuitry to maintain use of the second communication protocol when the electronic controller circuitry does not receive, via the wireless communicator circuitry, the first signal including the first information indicative of the first communication protocol (In act 406, the processor of the first electronic bicycle component broadcasts (e.g., advertises with no known destination) one or more first messages (e.g., packets) once the first electronic bicycle component enters the first pairing mode in act 404. The processor of the first electronic bicycle component generates the one or more first messages based on a first communication protocol stored in a memory of the first electronic bicycle component, see ¶ 0097; The second electronic bicycle component includes a memory that stores a communication protocol (e.g., a single communication protocol). For example, the memory of the second electronic bicycle component may store the first communication protocol or the second communication protocol, see ¶ 0099; In act 408, the second electronic bicycle component receives, via the communication interface of the second electronic bicycle component, the one or more first messages generated and broadcast by the first electronic bicycle component in act 406 when the memory of the second electronic bicycle component stores a same communication protocol (e.g., the first communication protocol), see ¶ 0100; the processor of the second electronic bicycle component may not receive the one or more first messages or generate a response to the one or more first messages and/or transmit the response to the first electronic bicycle component when the memory of the second electronic bicycle component stores a different communication protocol (e.g., the second communication protocol) than what was used by the first electronic bicycle component to generate the one or more first messages in act 406. For example, when the memory of the second electronic bicycle component stores the second communication protocol, the processor of the second electronic bicycle component may not know what data to look for and where to look within the one or more first messages, such that the one or more messages are not identified as, for example, a pairing signal [control the wireless communicator circuitry to maintain use of the second communication protocol when the electronic controller circuitry does not receive, via the wireless communication circuitry, the first signal including the first information indicative of the first communication protocol] (see ¶ 0102). Garnica’s Figure 4 illustrates acts 412: when, response received by first component is no [second component is unable to transmit response in first protocol], proceeds to act 416: first component broadcasts one or more second messages, proceeds to act 418: second component receives one or more second messages, proceeds to act 420: second component conditionally generates a response to the one or more second messages, proceeds to act 420: when, response received by first component is yes, proceed to act 424: establish second network [maintain use of second protocol by second component when unable to communicate in first protocol, i.e. messages to first component not received]. Under a broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. The plain meaning of a term means the ordinary and customary meaning given to the term by those of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time. The ordinary and customary meaning of a term may be evidenced by a variety of sources, including the words of the claims themselves, the specification, drawings, and prior art. However, the best source for determining the meaning of a claim term is the specification - the greatest clarity is obtained when the specification serves as a glossary for the claim terms. Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1315, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2005). Examiner construes that when the same communication protocol is used to communicate with the second electronic bicycle component as the one used by the first bicycle component to send the messages, for instance, the second communication protocol, the second messages are received by the first bicycle component.
Garnica does not expressly disclose the electronic controller circuitry being configured to change the communication protocol of the wireless communicator circuitry from the second communication protocol to the first communication protocol based on the first signal when the first signal includes first information indicative of the first communication protocol.
Kure teaches the electronic controller circuitry being configured to change the communication protocol of the wireless communicator circuitry from the second communication protocol to the first communication protocol based on the first signal when the first signal includes first information indicative of the first communication protocol (The switching section 22 is electrically connected to at least one first electrical terminal 24 , the first communication section 18 and the second communication section 20. The switching unit 22 is configured to switch the connection state of at least one of the first electrical terminal 24, the first communication unit 18, and the second communication unit 20 between a first state and a second state. The first state is a state in which the first communication section 18 can communicate via at least one first electrical terminal 24 . The second state is a state in which the second communication section 20 can communicate via at least one first electrical terminal 24, see pg. 3, 5th – 6th para; The first control unit 28 is configured to control the switching unit 22 to switch the connection state between the first state and the second state. For example, the first control section 28 controls the switching section 22 by transmitting a switching command [first signal] to the switching section 22. The switching command includes a signal corresponding to the first state [first signal] and a signal corresponding to the second state, see pg. 5, 6th para); and
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Garnica with Kure to teach the electronic controller circuitry being configured to change the communication protocol of the wireless communicator circuitry from the second communication protocol to the first communication protocol based on the first signal when the first signal includes first information indicative of the first communication protocol. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the predetermined electrical component to communicate via either one of the first communication scheme or the second communication scheme (see pg. 7, 8th para).
As to Claim 2, Garnica and Kure teach wherein the electronic controller circuitry is configured to control, in a paired state where the human-powered vehicle component is paired with the additional human-powered vehicle component, the wireless communicator circuitry to use the second communication protocol before receipt of the first signal (In act 402, a processor of an electronic bicycle component (e.g., the second electronic bicycle component acting as the network coordinator, or a master or a bridge) [second communication protocol] opens a pairing session (e.g., a first pairing session), see ¶ 0088; In act 406, the processor of the first electronic bicycle component [additional component] broadcasts (e.g., advertises with no known destination) one or more first messages (e.g., packets) once the first electronic bicycle component enters the first pairing mode in act 404, see ¶ 0097; In act 408, the second electronic bicycle component receives, via the communication interface of the second electronic bicycle component, the one or more first messages generated and broadcast by the first electronic bicycle component in act 406 when the memory of the second electronic bicycle component stores a same communication protocol (e.g., the first communication protocol) [controller circuitry uses second communication protocol before receipt of first signal in a paired state with the additional component], see ¶ 0100), and
the electronic controller circuitry is configured to change, in a paired state where the human-powered vehicle component is paired with the additional human-powered vehicle component, the communication protocol of the wireless communicator circuitry from the second communication protocol to the first communication protocol based on the first signal in a case where the first signal includes the first information indicative of the first communication protocol (The processor of the second electronic bicycle component may not receive the one or more first messages or generate a response to the one or more first messages and/or transmit the response to the first electronic bicycle component when the memory of the second electronic bicycle component stores a different communication protocol (e.g., the second communication protocol) than what was used by the first electronic bicycle component to generate the one or more first messages in act 406, see ¶ 0102; In act 412, the processor of the first electronic bicycle component identifies whether the first electronic bicycle component (e.g., the communication interface of the first electronic bicycle component) has received the response to the one or more first messages from the second electronic bicycle component within a first predetermined time period, see ¶ 0103; When the processor of the first electronic bicycle component identifies receipt of the response to the one or more first messages prior to timeout, the method 400 moves to act 414, see ¶ 0106; In act 414, the processor of the second electronic bicycle component establishes a first wireless network that includes at least the first electronic bicycle component and the second electronic bicycle component. The first wireless network enables communication (e.g., wireless communication) between at least the first electronic bicycle component and the second electronic bicycle component according to the first communication protocol, see ¶ 0107; In order to allow a bicycle component (e.g., the electronic controller device) to wirelessly communicate with other bicycle components (e.g., operation-enacting devices) configured to communicate according to different communication protocols, respectively, the bicycle component is configured to switch between the different communication protocols to provide time dependent pairing compatibility for the different communication protocols. In other words, the bicycle component is programmed (e.g., within firmware) with all logic and configuration details for the different communication protocols (e.g., different versions of a communication protocol), and the bicycle component switches between broadcasting different pairing messages generated according to the different communication protocols until a compatible communication protocol is determined or a pairing session times out, see ¶ 0037; If the electronic controller device does not receive the response from the derailleur, for example, within the first predetermined time period, the electronic controller device transitions to broadcasting one or more second messages generated according to the stored second communication protocol. If the electronic controller device receives a response to the one or more second messages from the derailleur within a second predetermined time period, the electronic controller device establishes a second wireless network, which includes the electronic controller device and the derailleur, according to the second communication protocol [change the communication protocol from the second communication protocol to the first communication protocol based on the first signal based on first communication protocol in a paired state], see ¶ 0038).
As to Claim 3, Garnica depending from Claim 1, Garnica teaches wherein the electronic controller circuitry is configured to control the wireless communicator circuitry to use a pairing protocol in a pairing process regardless of whether the additional human-powered vehicle component is configured to use the first communication protocol or the second communication protocol (The first processor is configured, within a pairing session establishable by the first electronic bicycle component or the second electronic bicycle component, to generate one or more first messages based on one communication protocol of the first communication protocol and the second communication protocol stored in the first memory, and broadcast, via the first communication interface, the one or more first messages. The second electronic bicycle component includes a second communication interface configured to communicate wirelessly with the first electronic bicycle component, a second memory configured to store a communication protocol, and a second processor in communication with the second communication interface and the second memory. The communication protocol stored in the second memory is the first communication protocol or the second communication protocol. The second processor is configured, within the pairing session, to generate and transmit, via the second communication interface, a response to the broadcast one or more first messages according to the one communication protocol when the communication protocol stored in the second memory matches the one communication protocol, based on which the one or more messages are generated, see ¶ 0018).
As to Claim 4, Garnica depending from Claim 1, Garnica teaches wherein the additional human-powered vehicle component includes a first additional human-powered vehicle component and a second additional human-powered vehicle component (The bicycle 100 includes a first or right controller device 120 [first additional human-powered vehicle component] coupled to the right drop bar 114a. The first controller device 120 includes a first or right brake lever 116 to allow the user to operate the rear brake 112. Correspondingly, the bicycle 100 includes a second or left controller device 122 [second additional human-powered vehicle component] coupled to the left drop bar 114b. The second controller device 122 includes a second or left brake lever 118 to allow the user to operate the front brake 110, see ¶ 0043),
the wireless communicator circuitry is configured to communicate wirelessly with first additional wireless communicator circuitry of the first additional human-powered vehicle component and second additional wireless communicator circuitry of the second additional human-powered vehicle component (the first controller device 120 and the second controller device 122 employ the first shift lever 120a and the second shift lever 122a as respective input elements to generate corresponding wireless signals 120b, 122b (e.g., including messages and/or message packets), see ¶ 0055. Figure 1B illustrates a first communication interface 120d comprised within the first controller device 120 [first additional wireless communication circuitry of the first additional human-powered vehicle component] and a second communication interface 120d comprised within the second controller device 122 [second additional wireless communication circuitry of the second additional human-powered vehicle component]),
the first additional wireless communicator circuitry being configured to use the first communication protocol, the second additional wireless communicator circuitry being configured to use the second communication protocol, and the electronic controller circuitry is configured to cause the human-powered vehicle component to be in a paired state where the human-powered vehicle component is paired with both the first additional human-powered vehicle component and the second additional human-powered vehicle component (The first processor is configured, within a pairing session establishable by the first electronic bicycle component or the second electronic bicycle component, to generate one or more first messages based on one communication protocol of the first communication protocol and the second communication protocol stored in the first memory, and broadcast, via the first communication interface, the one or more first messages. The second electronic bicycle component includes a second communication interface configured to communicate wirelessly with the first electronic bicycle component, a second memory configured to store a communication protocol, and a second processor in communication with the second communication interface and the second memory. The communication protocol stored in the second memory is the first communication protocol or the second communication protocol. The second processor is configured, within the pairing session, to generate and transmit, via the second communication interface, a response to the broadcast one or more first messages according to the one communication protocol when the communication protocol stored in the second memory matches the one communication protocol, based on which the one or more messages are generated, see ¶ 0018).
As to Claim 8, Garnica depending from Claim 1, Garnica teaches wherein the electronic controller circuitry is configured to transmit wirelessly, via the wireless communicator circuitry, a second signal including second information indicative of the first communication protocol (The first processor is configured, within a pairing session establishable by the first electronic bicycle component or the second electronic bicycle component, to generate one or more first messages based on one communication protocol of the first communication protocol and the second communication protocol stored in the first memory, and broadcast, via the first communication interface, the one or more first messages, see ¶ 0018; In order to allow a bicycle component (e.g., the electronic controller device) to wirelessly communicate with other bicycle components (e.g., operation-enacting devices) configured to communicate according to different communication protocols, respectively, the bicycle component is configured to switch between the different communication protocols to provide time dependent pairing compatibility for the different communication protocols. In other words, the bicycle component is programmed (e.g., within firmware) with all logic and configuration details for the different communication protocols (e.g., different versions of a communication protocol), and the bicycle component switches between broadcasting different pairing messages generated according to the different communication protocols until a compatible communication protocol is determined or a pairing session times out [second message includes second information indicative of first communication protocol], see ¶ 0037).
As to Claim 9, Garnica depending from Claim 8, Garnica teaches wherein the electronic controller circuitry is configured to wirelessly receive, via the wireless communicator circuitry, the first signal transmitted using the second communication protocol, the first signal includes the first information indicative of the first communication protocol, the electronic controller circuitry is configured to wirelessly transmit the second signal using the first communication protocol via the wireless communicator circuitry, and the second signal includes second information indicative of the first communication protocol (The first processor is configured, within a pairing session establishable by the first electronic bicycle component or the second electronic bicycle component, to generate one or more first messages based on one communication protocol of the first communication protocol and the second communication protocol stored in the first memory, and broadcast, via the first communication interface, the one or more first messages, see ¶ 0018; In order to allow a bicycle component (e.g., the electronic controller device) to wirelessly communicate with other bicycle components (e.g., operation-enacting devices) configured to communicate according to different communication protocols, respectively, the bicycle component is configured to switch between the different communication protocols to provide time dependent pairing compatibility for the different communication protocols. In other words, the bicycle component is programmed (e.g., within firmware) with all logic and configuration details for the different communication protocols (e.g., different versions of a communication protocol), and the bicycle component switches between broadcasting different pairing messages generated according to the different communication protocols until a compatible communication protocol is determined or a pairing session times out [first message includes first information indicative of second communication protocol and second message includes second information indicative of first communication protocol], see ¶ 0037).
As to Claim 10, Garnica depending from Claim 9, Garnica teaches wherein the additional human-powered vehicle component is configured to wirelessly transmit the first signal in response to an additional user input received by an additional user interface of the additional human-powered vehicle component (The first controller device 120 and the second controller device 122 include a first controller processor 120e and a second controller processor 122e, respectively, that electronically process the manual input received by the first shift lever 120a and the second shift lever 122a, respectively. For example, the right input triggers a first controller communication interface 120d to wirelessly send a first signal 120b, see ¶ 0051; Each controller device 302 includes at least one respective input element 302a configured to receive input [additional user input] from a user. For example, as described above, the controller devices 302 may include a right controller device and a left controller device coupled to a handlebar assembly, where respective shifter levers act as input elements 302a. In general, input elements 302a may include any variety of shifter, pushbutton, clicker, switch, other toggled device, sensor (e.g., peddling sensor, etc.), or the like, see ¶ 0065; The plurality of controller devices 302 are configured to transmit to, for example, a plurality of operation-enacting devices 304, signals 302b (e.g., data streams including messages and/or message packets) indicating input received by the input elements 302a of the controller devices 302. For example, the first controller device 120 and the second controller device 122 may wirelessly transmit a first shift signal 120b and a second shift signal 120a as described above to indicate input received by the first shift lever 120a and the second shift lever 122a, respectively, see ¶ 0066).
As to Claim 11, Garnica depending from Claim 10, Garnica teaches
wherein the additional user interface is configured to receive an additional user gear-change input (The first controller device 120 and the second controller device 122 include a first controller processor 120e and a second controller processor 122e, respectively, that electronically process the manual input [additional gear-change input] received by the first shift lever 120a and the second shift lever 122a, respectively. For example, the right input triggers a first controller communication interface 120d to wirelessly send a first signal 120b, see ¶ 0051; Each controller device 302 includes at least one respective input element 302a [additional user input] configured to receive input [additional user gear-change input] from a user. For example, as described above, the controller devices 302 may include a right controller device and a left controller device coupled to a handlebar assembly, where respective shifter levers act as input elements 302a. In general, input elements 302a may include any variety of shifter, pushbutton, clicker, switch, other toggled device, sensor (e.g., peddling sensor, etc.), or the like, see ¶ 0065; The plurality of controller devices 302 are configured to transmit to, for example, a plurality of operation-enacting devices 304, signals 302b (e.g., data streams including messages and/or message packets) indicating input received by the input elements 302a of the controller devices 302. For example, the first controller device 120 and the second controller device 122 may wirelessly transmit a first shift signal 120b and a second shift signal 120a as described above to indicate input received by the first shift lever 120a and the second shift lever 122a, respectively, see ¶ 0066).
As to Claim 12, Garnica depending from Claim 8, Garnica teaches wherein the electronic controller circuitry is configured to wirelessly transmit the second signal using the second communication protocol via the wireless communicator circuitry (the electronic controller device transitions to broadcasting one or more second messages generated according to the stored second communication protocol. If the electronic controller device receives a response to the one or more second messages from the derailleur within a second predetermined time period, the electronic controller device establishes a second wireless network, see ¶ 0038).
As to Claim 13, Garnica depending from Claim 8, Garnica teaches a user interface configured to receive a user input, wherein the electronic controller circuitry is configured to transmit the second signal wirelessly via the wireless communicator circuitry in response to the user input received by the user interface (The first controller device 120 and the second controller device 122 include a first controller processor 120e and a second controller processor 122e, respectively, that electronically process the manual input [additional gear-change input] received by the first shift lever 120a and the second shift lever 122a, respectively. For example, the right input triggers a first controller communication interface 120d to wirelessly send a first signal 120b, and the left input triggers a second controller communication interface 122d to wirelessly send a second signal 122b, see ¶ 0051; Each controller device 302 includes at least one respective input element 302a [user interface] configured to receive input [user input] from a user. For example, as described above, the controller devices 302 may include a right controller device and a left controller device coupled to a handlebar assembly, where respective shifter levers act as input elements 302a. In general, input elements 302a may include any variety of shifter, pushbutton, clicker, switch, other toggled device, sensor (e.g., peddling sensor, etc.), or the like, see ¶ 0065; The plurality of controller devices 302 are configured to transmit to, for example, a plurality of operation-enacting devices 304, signals 302b (e.g., data streams including messages and/or message packets) indicating input received by the input elements 302a of the controller devices 302. For example, the first controller device 120 and the second controller device 122 may wirelessly transmit a first shift signal 120b and a second shift signal 120a as described above to indicate input received by the first shift lever 120a and the second shift lever 122a, respectively, see ¶ 0066).
As to Claim 14, Garnica depending from Claim 13, Garnica teaches
wherein the user interface is configured to receive a user gear-change input, and the electronic controller circuitry is configured to transmit the first signal wirelessly via the wireless communicator circuitry in response to the user gear-change input received by the user interface (The first controller device 120 and the second controller device 122 include a first controller processor 120e and a second controller processor 122e, respectively, that electronically process the manual input [user gear-change input] received by the first shift lever 120a and the second shift lever 122a, respectively. For example, the right input triggers a first controller communication interface 120d to wirelessly send a first signal 120b, and the left input triggers a second controller communication interface 122d to wirelessly send a second signal 122b, see ¶ 0051; Each controller device 302 includes at least one respective input element 302a [user interface] configured to receive input [user gear-change input] from a user. For example, as described above, the controller devices 302 may include a right controller device and a left controller device coupled to a handlebar assembly, where respective shifter levers act as input elements 302a. In general, input elements 302a may include any variety of shifter, pushbutton, clicker, switch, other toggled device, sensor (e.g., peddling sensor, etc.), or the like, see ¶ 0065; The plurality of controller devices 302 are configured to transmit to, for example, a plurality of operation-enacting devices 304, signals 302b (e.g., data streams including messages and/or message packets) indicating input received by the input elements 302a of the controller devices 302. For example, the first controller device 120 and the second controller device 122 may wirelessly transmit a first shift signal 120b and a second shift signal 120a as described above to indicate input received by the first shift lever 120a and the second shift lever 122a, respectively, see ¶ 0066).
As to Claim 15, Garnica depending on Claim 1, Garnica teaches wherein the electronic controller circuitry is configured to transmit an acknowledgement signal via the wireless communicator circuitry in response to the first signal regardless of whether the first signal includes first information indicative of the first communication protocol or the second communication protocol (The processor is further configured, within the pairing session, to broadcast, via the communication interface, the one or more first messages and identify whether the communication interface receives a response [transmit acknowledgement signal via wireless communicator circuitry in response to first signal indicative of first communication protocol] from the other electronic bicycle component within a predetermined time period. The predetermined time period is after the broadcast of a first message of the one or more first messages. The response is a response to the broadcast one or more first messages. When, based on the identification, the communication interface does not receive the response within the predetermined time period, the processor is further configured to generate one or more second messages based on the stored second communication protocol and broadcast, via the communication interface, the one or more second messages [transmit acknowledgement signal via wireless communicator circuitry in response to first signal indicative of second communication protocol], see ¶ 0004).
As to Claim 16, Garnica depending on Claim 1, Garnica teaches wherein the electronic controller circuitry is configured to maintain use of the second communication protocol based on the first signal in a case where the first signal includes first information indicative of the second communication protocol (In other embodiments, the second electronic bicycle component may not receive the one or more second messages or may only receive a portion of the one or more second messages due to interference and/or the second electronic bicycle component being out of range of the first electronic bicycle component (e.g., when one of the components is not yet installed on the bicycle) [maintain use of second communication protocol when controller does not receive the first signal], see ¶ 0109).
As to Claim 17, Garnica depending on Claim 1, Garnica teaches wherein the electronic controller circuitry is configured to transmit or receive a control signal via the wireless communicator circuitry using the first communication protocol after the electronic controller circuitry changes the communication protocol from the second communication protocol to the first communication protocol (In act 408, the second electronic bicycle component receives, via the communication interface of the second electronic bicycle component, the one or more first messages generated and broadcast by the first electronic bicycle component in act 406 when the memory of the second electronic bicycle component stores a same communication protocol (e.g., the first communication protocol). In other embodiments, the second electronic bicycle component may not receive the one or more first messages or may only receive a portion of the one or more first messages due to interference and/or the second electronic bicycle component being out of range of the first electronic bicycle component (e.g., when one of the components is not yet installed on the bicycle), see ¶ 0100; In act 410, the processor of the second electronic bicycle component generates a response to the one or more first messages broadcast in act 406 when the memory of the second electronic bicycle component stores a same communication protocol (e.g., the first communication protocol) as which the first electronic bicycle component used to generate the one or more first messages [transmit a control signal using first communication protocol after controller changes from second communication protocol to first communication protocol] in act 406. For example, when the memory of the second electronic bicycle component stores the first communication protocol, the processor of the second electronic bicycle component knows how to respond to the one or more first messages generated and broadcast by the first electronic bicycle component according to the first communication protocol in act 406, see ¶ 0101; In act 414, the processor of the second electronic bicycle component establishes a first wireless network that includes at least the first electronic bicycle component and the second electronic bicycle component. The first wireless network enables communication (e.g., wireless communication) between at least the first electronic bicycle component and the second electronic bicycle component according to the first communication protocol, see ¶ 0107), and
the electronic controller circuitry is configured to transmit or receive a control signal via the wireless communicator circuitry using the second communication protocol in a case where the electronic controller circuitry maintains use of the second communication protocol (The processor of the second electronic bicycle component may not receive the one or more first messages or generate a response to the one or more first messages and/or transmit the response to the first electronic bicycle component when the memory of the second electronic bicycle component stores a different communication protocol (e.g., the second communication protocol) than what was used by the first electronic bicycle component to generate the one or more first messages in act 406. For example, when the memory of the second electronic bicycle component stores the second communication protocol, the processor of the second electronic bicycle component may not know what data to look for and where to look within the one or more first messages, such that the one or more messages are not identified as, for example, a pairing signal [maintain use of the second communication protocol when first messages are not received], see ¶ 0102).
As to Claim 18, Garnica depending on Claim 1, Garnica teaches wherein a version of the first communication protocol is newer than a version of the second communication protocol (electronic control devices of different generations may define different communication protocols within firmware, respectively, such that a newer generation device (e.g., electronic control device) may not be pairable with an older generation device (e.g., an operation-enacting device such as a rear derailleur), see ¶ 0003).
As to Claim 19, Garnica depending on Claim 1, Garnica teaches a human-powered vehicle system comprising the additional human-powered vehicle component (an electronic bicycle component for a bicycle includes a communication interface configured to communicate wirelessly with another electronic bicycle component, see ¶ 0004).
Claim(s) 5-7, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0109945 to Garnica in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0170060 to Inoue et al (“Inoue”).
As to Claim 5, Garnica teaches a human-powered vehicle component comprising: wireless communicator circuitry configured to communicate wirelessly with first additional wireless communicator circuitry of a first additional human-powered vehicle component and second additional wireless communicator circuitry of a second additional human-powered vehicle component (the first controller device 120 and the second controller device 122 employ the first shift lever 120a and the second shift lever 122a as respective input elements to generate corresponding wireless signals 120b, 122b (e.g., including messages and/or message packets), see ¶ 0055. Figure 1B illustrates a first communication interface 120d comprised within the first controller device 120 [first additional wireless communication circuitry of the first additional human-powered vehicle component] and a second communication interface 120d comprised within the second controller device 122 [second additional wireless communication circuitry of the second additional human-powered vehicle component]),
the first additional wireless communicator circuitry being configured to use a first communication protocol, the second additional wireless communicator circuitry being configured to use a second communication protocol (The first processor is configured, within a pairing session establishable by the first electronic bicycle component or the second electronic bicycle component, to generate one or more first messages based on one communication protocol of the first communication protocol and the second communication protocol stored in the first memory, and broadcast, via the first communication interface, the one or more first messages. The second electronic bicycle component includes a second communication interface configured to communicate wirelessly with the first electronic bicycle component, a second memory configured to store a communication protocol, and a second processor in communication with the second communication interface and the second memory, see ¶ 0018. Figure 1B illustrates a first communication interface 120d comprised within the first controller device 120 [first additional wireless communication circuitry of the first additional human-powered vehicle component] and a second communication interface 120d comprised within the second controller device 122 [second additional wireless communication circuitry of the second additional human-powered vehicle component]),
each of the first additional human-powered vehicle component and the second additional human-powered vehicle component having only a function relating to a human-powered vehicle (The first shift lever 120a is configured to receive a right input from the right hand of the user and actuate the first electrical switch 120c. The second shift lever 122a is configured to receive a left input from the left hand of the user and actuate the second electrical switch 122c, see ¶ 0049);
electronic controller circuitry electrically connected to the wireless communicator circuitry and configured to receive a first signal from at least one of the first additional wireless communicator circuitry and the second additional wireless communicator circuitry via the wireless communicator circuitry (the first controller device 120 and the second controller device 122 employ the first shift lever 120a and the second shift lever 122a as respective input elements to generate corresponding wireless signals 120b, 122b (e.g., including messages and/or message packets), see ¶ 0055. Figure 1B illustrates a first communication interface 120d comprised within the first controller device 120 [first additional wireless communication circuitry of the first additional human-powered vehicle component] and a second communication interface 120d comprised within the second controller device 122 [second additional wireless communication circuitry of the second additional human-powered vehicle component]); and
Garnica does not expressly disclose the electronic controller circuitry being configured to cause the human-powered vehicle component to be in a paired state where the human-powered vehicle component is paired with both: the first additional human-powered vehicle component using the first communication protocol, and the second additional human-powered vehicle component using the second communication protocol.
Inoue teaches the electronic controller circuitry being configured to cause the human-powered vehicle component to be in a paired state where the human-powered vehicle component is paired with both: the first additional human-powered vehicle component using the first communication protocol, and the second additional human-powered vehicle component using the second communication protocol (the additional electric device 26 [second additional human-powered vehicle component] is configured to wirelessly communicate with another device using only the second communication protocol CP2. The additional electric device 28 [first additional human-powered vehicle component] is configured to wirelessly communicate with another device using only the first communication protocol CP1, see ¶ 0072 n a case where the user uses the additional electric device 24, the controller 24C of the additional electric device 24 controls the display 24D to display the information wirelessly transmitted from the wireless communicator 20W using the first communication protocol CP1 if the additional wireless communicator 24W is in a mode in which the first communication protocol CP1 is used, see ¶ 0132; In the second protocol connection state ST12, the wireless communicator 20W establishes the wireless connection between the wireless communicator 20W and the additional wireless communicator 26W using the second communication protocol CP2, see ¶ 0134).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Garnica with Inoue to teach the electronic controller circuitry being configured to cause the human-powered vehicle component to be in a paired state where the human-powered vehicle component is paired with both: the first additional human-powered vehicle component using the first communication protocol, and the second additional human-powered vehicle component using the second communication protocol. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to change the mode of the wireless communicator from the first communication mode to the second communication mode (see ¶ 0105).
As to Claim 6, Garnica and Inoue depending from Claim 5, Garnica teaches wherein the human-powered vehicle component is configured to be operated based on each of a first user input received by the first additional human-powered vehicle component, and a second user input received by the second additional human-powered vehicle component (the first controller device 120 and the second controller device 122 employ the first shift lever 120a and the second shift lever 122a as respective input elements, see ¶ 0038; The first shift lever 120a is configured to receive a right input from the right hand of the user and actuate the first electrical switch 120c. The second shift lever 122a is configured to receive a left input from the left hand of the user and actuate the second electrical switch 122c, see ¶ 0049);
wherein the electronic controller circuitry is configured to receive a first control signal indicative of the first user input from the first additional wireless communicator circuitry using the first communication protocol, and the electronic controller circuitry is configured to receive a second control signal indicative of the second user input from the second additional wireless communicator circuitry using the second communication protocol (the first controller device 120 and the second controller device 122 employ the first shift lever 120a and the second shift lever 122a as respective input elements, see ¶ 0038; The first shift lever 120a is configured to receive a right input from the right hand of the user and actuate the first electrical switch 120c. The second shift lever 122a is configured to receive a left input from the left hand of the user and actuate the second electrical switch 122c, see ¶ 0049; the first controller device 120 and the second controller device 122 may wirelessly transmit a first shift signal 120b and a second shift signal 120a as described above to indicate input received by the first shift lever 120a and the second shift lever 122a, respectively. The communications interface 302c may be or include any number of different types of transmitters, see ¶ 0066; a first subset of controller devices 302 of the plurality of controller devices 302 and a first subset of operation-enacting devices of the plurality of operation-enacting devices 304 are paired into a first wireless network, and a second subset of controller devices 302 of the plurality of controller devices 302 and a second subset of operation-enacting devices of the plurality of operation-enacting devices 304 are paired into a second wireless network. The first wireless network and the second wireless network operate according to, for example, different communication protocols or different communication protocol versions, see ¶ 0078. Figure 1B illustrates a first communication interface 120d comprised within the first controller device 120 [first additional wireless communication circuitry of the first additional human-powered vehicle component] and a second communication interface 120d comprised within the second controller device 122 [second additional wireless communication circuitry of the second additional human-powered vehicle component]).
As to Claim 7, Garnica and Inoue depending from Claim 5, Garnica teaches further comprising an operating device configured to receive a first user input to operate the first additional human-powered vehicle component, and a second user input to operate the second additional human-powered vehicle component (the first controller device 120 and the second controller device 122 employ the first shift lever 120a and the second shift lever 122a as respective input elements, see ¶ 0038; The first shift lever 120a is configured to receive a right input from the right hand of the user and actuate the first electrical switch 120c. The second shift lever 122a is configured to receive a left input from the left hand of the user and actuate the second electrical switch 122c, see ¶ 0049),
wherein the electronic controller circuitry is configured to transmit a first control signal indicative of the first user input via the wireless communicator circuitry using the first communication protocol, and the electronic controller circuitry is configured to transmit a second control signal indicative of the second user input via the wireless communicator circuitry using the second communication protocol (the first controller device 120 and the second controller device 122 employ the first shift lever 120a and the second shift lever 122a as respective input elements, see ¶ 0038; The first shift lever 120a is configured to receive a right input from the right hand of the user and actuate the first electrical switch 120c. The second shift lever 122a is configured to receive a left input from the left hand of the user and actuate the second electrical switch 122c, see ¶ 0049; the first controller device 120 and the second controller device 122 may wirelessly transmit a first shift signal 120b and a second shift signal 120a as described above to indicate input received by the first shift lever 120a and the second shift lever 122a, respectively. The communications interface 302c may be or include any number of different types of transmitters, see ¶ 0066; a first subset of controller devices 302 of the plurality of controller devices 302 and a first subset of operation-enacting devices of the plurality of operation-enacting devices 304 are paired into a first wireless network, and a second subset of controller devices 302 of the plurality of controller devices 302 and a second subset of operation-enacting devices of the plurality of operation-enacting devices 304 are paired into a second wireless network. The first wireless network and the second wireless network operate according to, for example, different communication protocols or different communication protocol versions, see ¶ 0078. Figure 1B illustrates a first communication interface 120d comprised within the first controller device 120 [first additional wireless communication circuitry of the first additional human-powered vehicle component] and a second communication interface 120d comprised within the second controller device 122 [second additional wireless communication circuitry of the second additional human-powered vehicle component]).
As to Claim 21, Garnica and Inoue depending on Claim 5, Inoue teaches wherein the human-powered vehicle component is a single device (the wireless communication device 20 [single device] for the human-powered vehicle VH comprises a wireless communicator 20W and a controller 20C. The wireless communicator 20W is configured to wirelessly communicate with other wireless communicators such as an additional wireless communicator 24W of the additional electric device 24, an additional wireless communicator 26W of the additional electric device 26, see ¶ 0073).
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0109945 to Garnica in view of Japanese Patent Publication 2022/182968 to Kure et al (“Kure”) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0170060 to Inoue et al (“Inoue”).
As to Claim 20, Garnica and Kure depending on Claim 1, Garnica and Kure do not expressly disclose wherein the electronic controller circuitry is configured to control the wireless communicator circuitry to use the second communication protocol before receipt of the first signal in a paired state where the human-powered vehicle component is paired with the additional human-powered vehicle component based on the second communication protocol, and the electronic controller circuitry is configured to change the communication protocol of the wireless communicator circuitry from the second communication protocol to the first communication protocol based on the first signal in a case where the first signal includes the first information indicative of the first communication protocol in a paired state where the human- powered vehicle component is paired with the additional human-powered vehicle component based on the second communication protocol. Inoue teaches wherein the electronic controller circuitry is configured to control the wireless communicator circuitry to use the second communication protocol before receipt of the first signal in a paired state where the human-powered vehicle component is paired with the additional human-powered vehicle component based on the second communication protocol (The controller 20C is configured to store paired device information indicating a paired device which has been paired with the wireless communication device 20. In this embodiment, the memory 20M is configured to store the paired device information. The paired device includes the additional electric device 24. The wireless communication device 20 has a unique identifier that is assigned to the wireless communication device 20. The additional electric device 24 has a unique identifier that is assigned to the additional electric device 24. The paired device information includes the unique identifier of the additional electric device 24. The controller 20C stores the unique identifier of the additional electric device 24 in the memory 20M after pairing of the wireless communication device 20 and the additional electric device 24, see ¶ 0075; in a case where the user uses the additional electric device 24, the controller 24C of the additional electric device 24 controls the display 24D to display the information wirelessly transmitted from the wireless communicator 20W using the first communication protocol CP1 if the additional wireless communicator 24W is in a mode in which the first communication protocol CP1 is used, see ¶ 0132; In the second protocol connection state ST12, the wireless communicator 20W establishes the wireless connection between the wireless communicator 20W and the additional wireless communicator 26W using the second communication protocol CP2, see ¶ 0134), and
the electronic controller circuitry is configured to change the communication protocol of the wireless communicator circuitry from the second communication protocol to the first communication protocol based on the first signal in a case where the first signal includes the first information indicative of the first communication protocol in a paired state where the human-powered vehicle component is paired with the additional human-powered vehicle component based on the second communication protocol (the additional electric device 26 [second additional human-powered vehicle component] is configured to wirelessly communicate with another device using only the second communication protocol CP2. The additional electric device 28 [first additional human-powered vehicle component] is configured to wirelessly communicate with another device using only the first communication protocol CP1, see ¶ 0072 n a case where the user uses the additional electric device 24, the controller 24C of the additional electric device 24 controls the display 24D to display the information wirelessly transmitted from the wireless communicator 20W using the first communication protocol CP1 if the additional wireless communicator 24W is in a mode in which the first communication protocol CP1 is used, see ¶ 0132; In the second protocol connection state ST12, the wireless communicator 20W establishes the wireless connection between the wireless communicator 20W and the additional wireless communicator 26W using the second communication protocol CP2, see ¶ 0134; The controller 20C is configured to store paired device information indicating a paired device which has been paired with the wireless communication device 20. The paired device includes the additional electric device 24. The wireless communication device 20 has a unique identifier that is assigned to the wireless communication device 20. The additional electric device 24 has a unique identifier that is assigned to the additional electric device 24. The paired device information includes the unique identifier of the additional electric device 24. The controller 20C stores the unique identifier of the additional electric device 24 in the memory 20M after pairing of the wireless communication device 20 and the additional electric device 24, see ¶ 0075).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Garnica with Inoue to teach the electronic controller circuitry being configured to cause the human-powered vehicle component to be in a paired state where the human-powered vehicle component is paired with both: the first additional human-powered vehicle component using the first communication protocol, and the second additional human-powered vehicle component using the second communication protocol. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to change the mode of the wireless communicator from the first communication mode to the second communication mode (see ¶ 0105).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EBONI N GILES/Examiner, Art Unit 2622
/PATRICK N EDOUARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622