DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[0004], line 1, the term “units” is unclear,
[0004], second to last lines, “people’s” should be replaced with –personalized--,
[0005], last line, “people’s” should be replaced with –individual--,
[0005], second line, “awning” should be replaced with –tent--,
[0006], last line, “its” should be removed,
[0016], second line, “deformed are embedded” is unclear,
{0016], second line, “adaptively connected” is unclear,
[0063], line 1, “the embodiment discloses an outdoor tent” should be replaced with –an embodiment of an outdoor tent is disclosed—,
[0063], line 1, “to” should be removed,
[0064], second to last line, “and screws” should be replaced with –with screws (not shown)--,
[0065], fourth to last line, “other edges” should be replaced with –the other edges--,
[0065], third to last line, “other edges” should be replaced with –the other edges--,
[0069], first line, “8” should be replaced with –3 to 5, 8,--,
[0074], second line, “to” should be removed,
[0074], fourth line, “or/and” should be replaced with –and/or--,
[0074], fifth line from the bottom, “people’s” should be replaced with –user--,
[0074], each incidence of “movable bolts” should be replaced with –movable bolts 9’--,
[0074], third line from the bottom, “elastic straps 26’ deformed are embedded after the movable bolts are adaptively connected to the insertion holes” should be replaced with –the embedded elastic straps 26’ are deformed by the movable bolts 9’ when the movable bolts 9’ are inserted into the insertion holes 6’--,
[0075], seventh line, “of the” should be removed,
[0076], second line, “formed by cutting a profile” is unclear,
[0079], second line from the bottom, “people’s” should be replaced with –user--,
[0083], first line, “2” should be replaced with –24--,
[0083], second line, “typically molded to enable” should be replaced with –used to mold--,
[0086], first line, “figures” should be replaced with –Figs. 28-30--,
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities, changes indicated by additions in underline and deletions in strikethrough:
1. An outdoor tent, comprising a tent body and window body components, wherein the window body components are disposed on the tent body; each of the window body components comprising facing side of the frame, hasand is disposed in the window frame; an upper part of the flexible window body is fixedly connected to the window frame, and the other edges of the flexible window body are connected to the window frame in an openable and closable manner; the flexible window body comprises an inner light-transmitting window body and an outer screen window; and upper edges of the screen window and the light-transmitting window body are fixedly connected to the window frame, the other edges of the screen window are connected to an outer window frame in an openable and closable manner, and the other edges of the light-transmitting window body are connected to an inner facing side of the window frame in an openable and closable manner.
The above suggested changes to claim 1 are non-limiting examples, Applicant should thoroughly review the claims for similar issues and correct where needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors. The following are some non-limiting examples. Applicant should thoroughly review all claims for any unclear or indefinite language and correct as needed.
Specifically, claim 1, line 4, the term “fixedly embedded” is unclear. Also, in line 4, it is unclear what is being referred to by the recitation of “inner side of the frame”, for example, the side facing the interior of the tent and/or the side of frame defined by the opening.
Claim 1, line 6, “other edges” is unclear.
Also claim 1, second and third line from the bottom, recites the limitation "an outer window frame” and the last line of claim 1 recites the limitation “an inner window frame”. It is unclear if these limitations are referring to “the window frame” of line 3.
Claim 2, it is unclear if the “left, right and lower edges” are the same as or in addition to the “other edges” already set forth in claim 1.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the connecting frame". It is unclear if the connection of the connecting frame to the window frame replaces the connection of the flexible window body to the window frame in claim 1.
Claim 7, line 2, “through the mounting holes and screws” is unclear.
Claim 9, line 2, “deformed are embedded” is unclear.
Claim 9, line 3, “adaptively connected” is unclear.
Claim 11, line 2, “formed by cutting a profile” is unclear.
Claim 15, line 3, “formed by adopting” is unclear, also, in line 4, “molded in a surrounding manner’ is unclear.
Claim 17, line 2, “molded in a surrounding manner” is unclear.
Claim 18, line 2, “molded in a surrounding manner” is unclear.
The above-identified issues are non-limiting examples, Applicant should thoroughly review the claims for similar issues and correct where needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duffield (US8240269) in view of Xu (CN202899745)
1. Duffield discloses an outdoor tent (10, Fig. 1), comprising a tent body (16) and window body components (14), wherein the window body components are disposed on the tent body (16); each of the window body components comprises a frame (18, 20, Fig. 4) , a window frame (19, 30), and a flexible window body (26); the frame is fixed on the tent body (col. 4, lines 8-14: “The joists 18 at its upper ends may be connected to each other with a header 20. For example, as shown in FIG. 4, joists 18a, b are connected to each other with header 20a. The header 20, two adjacent joists 18 and joist covers 19 may define the window opening 24 and the window 26 is removeably attachable to the window opening 24”), an outer edge of the window frame is fixedly embedded on an inner side of the frame (col. 4, lines 50-55: “The inner and outer layers 44, 46 that are attached to each of the two vertical edge portions 48a, b may also be attached (e.g., sown) to a first row of teeth 52 of a zipper 54 and a mating second row of teeth 56 may be attached to joist covers 19a, b attached to immediately adjacent joists 18a, b (see FIG. 4)”); an upper part of the flexible window body is fixedly connected to the window frame (col. 4, lines 14-16: “ The window 26 may have at least two retaining loops 30 attached to an upper rail 32 of the window and looped onto the header 20”), and other edges of the flexible window body are connected to the window frame in an openable and closable manner (col. 7, lines 32-40: “With the cabin enclosure 10 assembled and the windows 26 placed in a closed position, the zippers 54 may be unzipped. Thereafter, the hooks and loops 70a may be detached from the hooks and loops 70b by pulling or pushing the lower rail 36 outwardly. For example, the horizontal edge portion 50a and more particularly, the lower rail 36 may be pulled outward such that the hooks and loops 70a disengage the hooks and loops 70b. Thereafter, the window 26 may be pushed inward toward the passenger area”).
Duffield fails to disclose wherein the flexible window body comprises an inner light-transmitting window body and an outer screen window; and upper edges of the screen window and the light-transmitting window body are fixedly connected to the window frame, other edges of the screen window are connected to an outer window frame in an openable and closable manner, and other edges of the light-transmitting window body are connected to an inner window frame in an openable and closable manner. Xu teaches, in the context of outdoor tents, wherein the flexible window body comprises an inner light-transmitting window body (2, Fig. 1) and an outer screen window (1); and upper edges of the screen window and the light-transmitting window body are fixedly connected to the window frame (Fig. 1), other edges of the screen window are connected to an outer window frame in an openable and closable manner (Fig. 1), and other edges of the light-transmitting window body are connected to an inner window frame in an openable and closable manner (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included wherein the flexible window body comprises an inner light-transmitting window body and an outer screen window; and upper edges of the screen window and the light-transmitting window body are fixedly connected to the window frame, other edges of the screen window are connected to an outer window frame in an openable and closable manner, and other edges of the light-transmitting window body are connected to an inner window frame in an openable and closable manner in the outdoor tent of Duffield according to the teachings of Xu in order to allow for access to the light transmitting window from the interior of the outdoor tent (see MT [0001] to [0003] of Xu).
2. Duffield in view of Xu disclose the outdoor tent according to claim 1, wherein left, right, and lower edges of the screen window and the light-transmitting window body are connected to an inner edge of the window frame through a zipper or in a magnetic attraction manner (col. 7, lines 32-40: “With the cabin enclosure 10 assembled and the windows 26 placed in a closed position, the zippers 54 may be unzipped. Thereafter, the hooks and loops 70a may be detached from the hooks and loops 70b by pulling or pushing the lower rail 36 outwardly. For example, the horizontal edge portion 50a and more particularly, the lower rail 36 may be pulled outward such that the hooks and loops 70a disengage the hooks and loops 70b. Thereafter, the window 26 may be pushed inward toward the passenger area”).
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duffield (US8240269) in view of Xu (CN202899745) and further in view of White (US1162268).
3. Duffield in view of Xu disclose wherein an outer edge of a connecting frame is connected to the window frame (see the top edge of the light transmitting body of Xu in Fig. 1). Duffield in view of Xu fails to disclose the outdoor tent according to claim 1, wherein the light-transmitting window body comprises a connecting frame and light-transmitting modules, the light-transmitting modules are fixed on the connecting frame. teaches, in the context of outdoor tents, wherein a light-transmitting window body (L, Fig. see Figs. 1-3 of White comprises a connecting frame (2 and 3 in Figs. 1-3 of White)) and light-transmitting modules (see the individual panes 7 in Figs. 1-3 of White), the light-transmitting modules are fixed on the connecting frame. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included wherein a light-transmitting window body comprises a connecting frame and light-transmitting modules, the light-transmitting modules are fixed on the connecting frame in the outdoor tent of Duffield in view of Xu according to the teachings of White in order to provide a window with the aesthetic of individual panes.
4. Duffield in view of Xu and further in view of White disclose the outdoor tent according to claim 3, wherein the light-transmitting modules (7, Fig. 1 of White) are light-transmitting flexible films (see line 83 of White: “celluloid or other flexible transparent material”) that are fixed on the connecting frame (4) through sutures (9, see lines 82-89 of White).
5. Duffield in view of Xu and further in view of White disclose the outdoor tent according to claim 3, wherein the light-transmitting modules are light-transmitting panels that are fixed on the connecting frame through sutures, see col. 4, lines 40-50 of Duffield: “The border or periphery 42 (see FIG. 4) of the sheet 40 may be sown to a plurality of respective inner layers 44 (see FIG. 4) and outer layers 46 (see FIG. 2). By way of example and not limitation, the layers 44, 46 may be fabricated from a vinyl material, fabric material, plastic material, SUNBRELLA fabric, SUNBRELLA acrylic canvas, STAMOID vinyl, nylon or other flexible material. The border 42 of the sheet 40 may define two vertical edge portions 48a, b and two horizontal edge portions 50a, b with each edge portion 48a, 48b, 50a, 50b having sown thereto an inner layer 44 and an outer layer 46 (see FIGS. 2-4)”), hooks (38, Fig. 4 of Duffield) or magnets are disposed inside lower parts of the light-transmitting panels, and the light-transmitting panels are connected to a ceiling (note that the beam 22 forms part of the ceiling) of the tent body through the hooks or in a magnetic attraction manner (see col. 7, lines 39-47 of Duffield: “the window 26 may be pushed inward toward the passenger area. Since the retaining loops 30 are engaged to the header 20 and the window 26 is pivotable thereabout, the window 26 may be swung upwards toward the beams 22 of the frame 14. With the window 26 pushed upward so that it is approximately in a horizontal position, the bungee cord 34 (see FIG. 4) attached to the window 26 may be wrapped around a button 38 attached to the beam 22 to hold the window 26 in the opened position”).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duffield (US8240269) in view of Xu (CN202899745) and further in view of Farmer (US20040194723).
6. Duffield in view of Xu fails to disclose the outdoor tent according to claim 1, wherein ties are disposed on the tent body, the ties are located above the flexible window body, magic tapes are disposed at upper and lower ends of the ties , magic tapes are disposed on the tent body, and the magic tapes of the ties are connected to the magic tapes on the tent body in an attaching manner after the flexible window body is rolled up. Farmer teaches, in the context of outdoor tents, wherein ties (50) are disposed on the tent body, the ties are located above the flexible window body (42, Fig. 1), magic tapes are disposed at upper and lower ends of the ties (note per [0049] of Farmer that the securing means on the strap 50 which may be hook and loop material that is attachable to securing means 106 on the tent body), magic tapes are disposed on the tent body (106), and the magic tapes of the ties are connected to the magic tapes on the tent body in an attaching manner after the flexible window body is rolled up ([0049]: “The top panel 26 of the cover 22 preferably includes a retaining strap 50 secured near the first edge 44 of the mesh portion 42 forming the top opening 48. An end of the strap 50 preferably includes securing means (not shown), such as a button, snap or hook-and-loop fastener. When the mesh portion 42 is unzipped and rolled up, as shown in FIG. 1, the strap 50 is securable around the rolled up mesh portion 42. The securing means on the strap 50 is attachable to a mating securing means 106 that is preferably attached to an inside surface of the open mesh portion 42, or to an inside surface of the cover 22”). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included wherein ties (112) are disposed on the tent body, the ties are located above the flexible window body (111), magic tapes are disposed at upper and lower ends of the ties , magic tapes are disposed on the tent body, and the magic tapes of the ties are connected to the magic tapes on the tent body in an attaching manner after the flexible window body is rolled up in the outdoor tent of Duffield in view of Xu according to the teachings of Farmer in order to maintain the flexible window in an open position.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duffield (US8240269) in view of Xu (CN202899745) and further in view of Cashman (US2010242385).
7. Duffield in view of Xu fails to disclose the outdoor tent according to claim 1, wherein mounting holes are formed in the frame, and the frame is fixed on the tent body through the mounting holes and screws. Cashman teaches, in the context of window frames, wherein mounting holes (36, Fig. 1) are formed in the frame (30), and the frame is fixed through the mounting holes and screws ([0020]: “Each mounting strip preferably includes a plurality of holes 36 for receiving mounting hardware such as nails or screws driven into the wall surrounding the wall penetration or window box to be surrounded by the frame”). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included wherein mounting holes are formed in the frame, and the frame is fixed on the tent body through the mounting holes and screws in the outdoor tent of Duffield in view of Xu according to the teachings of Cashman in order to simplify installation of the frame.
Claims 15-16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duffield (US8240269) in view of Xu (CN202899745) and further in view of Ellis (US988083).
15. Duffield in view of Xu fail to disclose the outdoor tent according to claim 1, wherein the tent body comprises post corners, ring beams, or middle partition posts, any one of the post corners, the ring beams, or the middle partition posts is formed by adopting a beam-post profile body, the beam-post profile body is internally provided with a cavity part, and the beam-post profile body is molded in a surrounding manner by adopting an iron sheet panel; and one side of the iron sheet panel is a butt-joint edge, and the other side of the iron sheet panel is a fixed edge, and the butt-joint edge and the fixed edge are fixed in a mutual closing and attachment manner. Ellis teaches, in the context of tube construction, a beam-post profile body (B, Fig. 1), the beam-post profile body is internally provided with a cavity part (note that B is hollow), and the beam-post profile body is molded in a surrounding manner by adopting an iron sheet panel (see line 17: “sheet metal”); and one side of the iron sheet panel is a butt-joint edge (see the right side of the joint 3 in Fig. 1), and the other side of the iron sheet panel is a fixed edge (see the left side of the joint 3 in Fig. 1), and the butt-joint edge and the fixed edge are fixed in a mutual closing and attachment manner (3, Fig. 3). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included wherein the tent body comprises post corners, ring beams, or middle partition posts, any one of the post corners, the ring beams, or the middle partition posts is formed by adopting a beam-post profile body, the beam-post profile body is internally provided with a cavity part, and the beam-post profile body is molded in a surrounding manner by adopting an iron sheet panel; and one side of the iron sheet panel is a butt-joint edge, and the other side of the iron sheet panel is a fixed edge, and the butt-joint edge and the fixed edge are fixed in a mutual closing and attachment manner in the tent of Duffield in view of Xu according to the teachings of Ellis in order to provide a lightweight yet strong tent post.
16. Duffield in view of Xu and further in view of Ellis disclose the outdoor tent according to claim 15, wherein the butt-joint edge comprises a first embedded edge (see annotated Fig. 1 below), a first bending part, and a first extension part; the fixed edge comprises a second embedded edge, a second bending part , a second extension part, and a connection part, the first extension part is a part of the beam-post profile body (see Fig. 4 of Ellis), and the first embedded edge, the second embedded edge, the first extension part, and the second extension part are overlapped with one another (see Fig. 1).
18. Duffield in view of Xu and further in view of Ellis disclose the outdoor tent according to claim 16, wherein a cross section of the beam-post profile body is rectangular (note that post profile is rectangular in Fig. 1 albeit with curved corners) after being molded in a surrounding manner, and a reinforcing groove (A, Fig. 1) is formed in at least one side.
20. Duffield in view of Xu and further in view of Ellis fail to disclose the outdoor tent according to claim 15, wherein a thickness of the beam-post profile body is 0.4 mm to 1.0 mm. However, per MPEP 2144.05, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Here, the thin walled beam taught by Ellis appears to be close to the claimed 0.4mm to 1.0mm range. Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included wherein a thickness of the beam-post profile body is 0.4 mm to 1.0 mm in the tent of Duffield in view of Xu and further in view of Ellis in order to maintain low weight while preserving the strength of the post.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-14, 17, and 19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/BAP/Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/COLLEEN M CHAVCHAVADZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634