DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-6 are pending and are subject to this Office Action. This is the first Office Action on the merits of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McFarlane (US 20170150751 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, McFarlane teaches a method for preparing a tobacco composition ([0026]), comprising:
a heating step of heating a tobacco leaf (Tobacco leaf of any type is provided and heated. [0031]-[0032], [0035])
for not less than 30 minutes (The tobacco material is heated for at least 30 minutes. [0035])
at a temperature of not lower than 80°C (The tobacco material is heated to a temperature of 80°C or more. [0035])
in the presence of water (Water may be added to the tobacco material prior to the heating step or during the heating step by introducing steam. [0051]-[0053]).
Regarding Claim 2, McFarlane teaches a method for preparing a tobacco composition wherein the tobacco leaf is a fresh leaf (Any tobacco may be used, such as shredded leaves or shredded ground tobacco/botanical plant material. [0032]).
Regarding Claim 3, McFarlane teaches a method for preparing a tobacco composition wherein the tobacco leaf is a cured leaf (Any tobacco may be used, such as stem and lamina derived from various sources and curing types. [0032]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pontes (US 20200187551 A1, cited in IDS dated 8/16/24).
Regarding Claim 6, Pontes discloses a method for extracting solanone ([0034], [0074]), the method comprising:
a heating step of heating a tobacco leaf (The method of extracting volatile compounds from tobacco material involves subjecting tobacco plant material, such as a tobacco leaf, to a distillation step and an extracting step. [0034], [0039])
for not less than 30 minutes (The distillation step and the extraction step are carried out in a period of time from about 8 to about 15 hours. [0066])
at a temperature of not lower than 80°C (The distillation step is carried out at a temperature of about 100°C to 130°C. [0069])
in the presence of water (The distillation step involves subjecting the product to steam. [0053]); and
an extraction step of extracting solanone from the tobacco leaf which has been subjected to the heating step (The compound extracted from the tobacco material during the extraction step may be solanone. [0034], [0074]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McFarlane.
Regarding Claim 4, McFarlane teaches a method for preparing a tobacco composition as discussed above in Claim 1, wherein:
the heating step includes heating the tobacco leaf at a temperature of not lower than 80°C (The tobacco material is heated to a temperature of 80°C or more. [0035]) and
not higher than 100°C (The tobacco material may be heated to 100°C. [0036]).
McFarlane does not explicitly disclose wherein the heating step occurs under atmospheric pressure. However, McFarlane teaches that the tobacco material is heated in a vessel and any suitable vessel can be used. ([0031]). Wherein any suitable vessel may be used, an open or unsealed vessel may be used such that the heating occurs under atmospheric pressure. Moreover, where McFarlane is silent on the pressure conditions of the vessel during the heating step, one of ordinary skill in the art would assume the tobacco composition is heated under atmospheric pressure.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woodman (US 20150366262 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Woodman discloses a method for producing a tobacco material ([0029]), the method comprising:
a heating step of heating a tobacco leaf (In a first step S101, a tobacco bale of unprocessed tobacco leaves is provided. [0030]. A second conditioning step S106 is carried out on the tobacco material, during which the tobacco material is heated. [0035])
for not less than 30 minutes (The second conditioning step may be carried out over a period between 10 minutes and 150 minutes. [0035]. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP § 2144.05(I))
at a temperature of not lower than 80°C (The second conditioning step may be carried out at a temperature between 28°C and 140°C. [0035]. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP § 2144.05(I))
in the presence of water (Before the second conditioning step S106, a first conditioning step S103 is carried out in which the tobacco material is exposed to saturated water steam such that added water content would be present during the second conditioning step. [0031]); and
a curing step of subjecting, to a curing treatment, the tobacco leaf which has been subjected to the heating step (Subsequent to the second conditioning step, the tobacco material enters drying stage S109 in which water evaporates and moisture content is reduced. [0045]).
Conclusion
/JEFFREY A. BUCKMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755