DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Application No. #18/806,737 filed on August 16, 2024. Claims 1-20 are subject to examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the claim recites the limitation, “a first transmitter, transmitting first information …” (Emphasis added). It is unclear if these elements are intended to be different than those in the preceding dependent claim 2. For purposes of examination, the Examiner has interpreted the limitation to read, “the first transmitter, transmitting the first information …” (Emphasis added).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8-11, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Uchino et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20240414576, hereinafter, “Uchino”).
Regarding claim 1, Uchino teaches:
A first node for wireless communications, comprising (Uchino: [0019] FIG. 11 depicts another process flow for communications in a network between a UE [i.e., first node], a master node, and a secondary node for performing a radio link monitoring, failure detection, and recovery process in DC architecture.):
a first receiver, receiving a first signaling, the first signaling configuring a first timer (Uchino: [0155] … secondary node 1106 transmits, at step 1114, to UE 1102, instructions to adjust the timing of performing at least one of steps of the radio link management procedure ... Figs. 11, 12);
an expiration of the first timer determining that there is a connection problem (Uchino: [0140] ... Steps 1014-1030 are similar to steps of the radio link management procedure illustrated in FIGS. 8A and 8B; however, steps 1014-1030 [similar to steps 1116-1132 of Fig. 11] may be performed based on timing determined by UE 1002. Further, steps 1014-1030 include UE 1002 setting a timer value for a timer (e.g., period of time from start to expiration of the timer) user to initiate an RRC re-establishment procedure [indicates a connection problem] for the radio link (e.g., process illustrated in FIGS. 8A and 8B used a static value for the timer). Figs. 11, 12); and
a first transceiver, starting the first timer, a value of the first timer depending on a first condition (Uchino: [0153] … secondary node 1106 determines, at step 1110, one or more conditions of UE 1002. In certain aspects, the one or more conditions include a capability of UE 1102. For example, in certain aspects, UE 1102 is configured to be capable of adjusting timing for one or more steps of a radio link management procedure … : [0140] ... Further, steps 1014-1030 [similar to steps 1116-1132 of Fig. 11] include UE 1002 setting a timer value for a timer (e.g., period of time from start to expiration of the timer) user to initiate an RRC re-establishment procedure for the radio link ... Figs. 11, 12);
when the first condition is met, a value of the first timer being a first value; when the first condition is not met, a value of the first timer being a second value (Uchino: [0153] … secondary node 1106 determines, at step 1110, one or more conditions of UE 1002. In certain aspects, the one or more conditions include a capability of UE 1102. For example, in certain aspects, UE 1102 is configured to be capable of adjusting timing for one or more steps of a radio link management procedure. [0154] At step 1112, secondary node 1106 determines to adjust a timing for performing one or more steps of a radio link monitoring, failure detection, or recovery process for a radio link [i.e., timer value is adjusted based on UE’s condition; e.g.; one value is associated with radio link monitoring, while another for failure detection] of one or more cells. Secondary node 1106 determines to adjust the timing for performing one or more of the steps based on, at least, the one or more conditions determined at step 1010 [similar to step 1110 of Fig. 11] (e.g., based on a capability of UE 1102) … [0033] Adjusting the timing for performing a step of the radio link management procedure may involve lengthening (or delaying) the timing for performing the step (e.g., based on a timing currently specified in a specification), shortening (or advancing) the timing for performing the step (e.g., based on a timing currently specified in a specification) … Figs. 11, 12);
wherein the meaning of an expiration of the first timer determining that there is a connection problem is:
an expiration of the first timer triggers an RRC connection re-establishment (Uchino: [0140] ... Steps 1014-1030 are similar to steps of the radio link management procedure illustrated in FIGS. 8A and 8B; however, steps 1014-1030 [similar to steps 1116-1132 of Fig. 11] may be performed based on timing determined by UE 1002. Further, steps 1014-1030 include UE 1002 setting a timer value for a timer (e.g., period of time from start to expiration of the timer) user to initiate an RRC re-establishment procedure [indicates a connection problem] for the radio link (e.g., process illustrated in FIGS. 8A and 8B used a static value for the timer) … [0142] … For example, in the 3GPP specification, initiating an RRC re-establishment procedure for a failed radio link is performed when a T316 timer expires … Figs. 11, 12);
the first condition depends on at least one of first location information or first time information (Uchino: [0153] ... In certain aspects, the one or more conditions include a capability of UE 1102. For example, in certain aspects, UE 1102 is configured to be capable of adjusting timing for one or more steps of a radio link management procedure … [0137] At 1010 [similar to step 1110 of Fig. 11] … determines one or more conditions of UE 1002. The one or more conditions may include, for example, a location of UE 1002, a time, a velocity of UE 1002 ... Figs. 11, 12).
Regarding claim 17, Uchino teaches:
A method in a first node for wireless communications, comprising (Uchino: [0019] FIG. 11 depicts another process flow for communications in a network between a UE [i.e., first node], a master node, and a secondary node for performing a radio link monitoring, failure detection, and recovery process in DC architecture.):
receiving a first signaling, the first signaling configuring a first timer (Uchino: [0155] … secondary node 1106 transmits, at step 1114, to UE 1102, instructions to adjust the timing of performing at least one of steps of the radio link management procedure ... Figs. 11, 12);
an expiration of the first timer determining that there is a connection problem (Uchino: [0140] ... Steps 1014-1030 are similar to steps of the radio link management procedure illustrated in FIGS. 8A and 8B; however, steps 1014-1030 [similar to steps 1116-1132 of Fig. 11] may be performed based on timing determined by UE 1002. Further, steps 1014-1030 include UE 1002 setting a timer value for a timer (e.g., period of time from start to expiration of the timer) user to initiate an RRC re-establishment procedure [indicates a connection problem] for the radio link (e.g., process illustrated in FIGS. 8A and 8B used a static value for the timer). Figs. 11, 12); and
starting the first timer, a value of the first timer depending on a first condition (Uchino: [0153] … secondary node 1106 determines, at step 1110, one or more conditions of UE 1002. In certain aspects, the one or more conditions include a capability of UE 1102. For example, in certain aspects, UE 1102 is configured to be capable of adjusting timing for one or more steps of a radio link management procedure … : [0140] ... Further, steps 1014-1030 [similar to steps 1116-1132 of Fig. 11] include UE 1002 setting a timer value for a timer (e.g., period of time from start to expiration of the timer) user to initiate an RRC re-establishment procedure for the radio link ... Figs. 11, 12);
when the first condition is met, a value of the first timer being a first value; when the first condition is not met, a value of the first timer being a second value (Uchino: [0153] … secondary node 1106 determines, at step 1110, one or more conditions of UE 1002. In certain aspects, the one or more conditions include a capability of UE 1102. For example, in certain aspects, UE 1102 is configured to be capable of adjusting timing for one or more steps of a radio link management procedure. [0154] At step 1112, secondary node 1106 determines to adjust a timing for performing one or more steps of a radio link monitoring, failure detection, or recovery process for a radio link [i.e., timer value is adjusted based on UE’s condition; e.g.; one value is associated with radio link monitoring, while another for failure detection] of one or more cells. Secondary node 1106 determines to adjust the timing for performing one or more of the steps based on, at least, the one or more conditions determined at step 1010 [similar to step 1110 of Fig. 11] (e.g., based on a capability of UE 1102) … [0033] Adjusting the timing for performing a step of the radio link management procedure may involve lengthening (or delaying) the timing for performing the step (e.g., based on a timing currently specified in a specification), shortening (or advancing) the timing for performing the step (e.g., based on a timing currently specified in a specification) … Figs. 11, 12);
wherein the meaning of an expiration of the first timer determining that there is a connection problem is:
an expiration of the first timer triggers an RRC connection re-establishment (Uchino: [0140] ... Steps 1014-1030 are similar to steps of the radio link management procedure illustrated in FIGS. 8A and 8B; however, steps 1014-1030 [similar to steps 1116-1132 of Fig. 11] may be performed based on timing determined by UE 1002. Further, steps 1014-1030 include UE 1002 setting a timer value for a timer (e.g., period of time from start to expiration of the timer) user to initiate an RRC re-establishment procedure [indicates a connection problem] for the radio link (e.g., process illustrated in FIGS. 8A and 8B used a static value for the timer) … [0142] … For example, in the 3GPP specification, initiating an RRC re-establishment procedure for a failed radio link is performed when a T316 timer expires … Figs. 11, 12);
the first condition depends on at least one of first location information or first time information (Uchino: [0153] ... In certain aspects, the one or more conditions include a capability of UE 1102. For example, in certain aspects, UE 1102 is configured to be capable of adjusting timing for one or more steps of a radio link management procedure … [0137] At 1010 [similar to step 1110 of Fig. 11] … determines one or more conditions of UE 1002. The one or more conditions may include, for example, a location of UE 1002, a time, a velocity of UE 1002 ... Figs. 11, 12)..
Regarding claims 2 and 18, Uchino discloses on the features with respect to claims 1 and 17as outlined above.
Uchino further teaches:
a first transmitter, transmitting first information; the first information indicating a first capability; wherein the first capability supports using multiple values for the first timer; the first signaling depends on the first capability (Uchino: [0153] ... In certain aspects, the one or more conditions include a capability of UE 1102. For example, in certain aspects, UE 1102 is configured to be capable of adjusting timing for one or more steps of a radio link management procedure ... Figs. 11, 12).
Regarding claim 8, Uchino discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Uchino further teaches:
wherein the first signaling configuring a first timer comprises configuring the first value and the second value (Uchino: [0143] As another example, in some cases, to delay the timing of performing the step of the process already associated with a timer, UE 1002 increases a time value configured for the timer. For example, the configured time value may be five seconds [first value], and UE 1002 may extend this value to be ten seconds [second value; i.e., first value plus increment of 5 seconds] …).
Regarding claim 9, Uchino discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Uchino further teaches:
wherein the first signaling configuring a first timer comprises configuring the first value and the first increment, and the second value is equal to a sum of the first value and the first increment (Uchino: [0143] As another example, in some cases, to delay the timing of performing the step of the process already associated with a timer, UE 1002 increases a time value configured for the timer. For example, the configured time value may be five seconds [first value], and UE 1002 may extend this value to be ten seconds [second value; i.e., first value plus increment of 5 seconds] …).
Regarding claim 10, Uchino discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Uchino further teaches:
wherein the first signaling configuring a first timer comprises configuring the first value and a first value range, and the second value depends on the first value and the first range (Uchino: [0144] As another example, in some cases, to delay the timing of performing the step of the process already associated with a timer, UE 1002 increases a time value configured for the timer [i.e., first value] by applying a scaling factor [i.e., range] to the time value configured for the timer. The scaling factor applied by UE 1002 in this case is greater than one. For example, the configured time value may be five seconds, and UE 1002 may extend this time by applying a scaling factor of two, such that the configured time value with the scaling factor applied is equal to ten seconds. UE 1002 may then delay performance of the step until an expiration of the timer, where the expiration of the timer occurs after an amount of time equal to the time value configured for the timer with the scaling factor applied has passed.).
Regarding claim 11, Uchino discloses on the features with respect to claim 2 as outlined above.
Uchino further teaches:
wherein the first signaling configuring a first timer comprises configuring the first value and a first value range, and the second value depends on the first value and the first range (Uchino: [0144] As another example, in some cases, to delay the timing of performing the step of the process already associated with a timer, UE 1002 increases a time value configured for the timer [i.e., first value] by applying a scaling factor [i.e., range] to the time value configured for the timer. The scaling factor applied by UE 1002 in this case is greater than one. For example, the configured time value may be five seconds, and UE 1002 may extend this time by applying a scaling factor of two, such that the configured time value with the scaling factor applied is equal to ten seconds. UE 1002 may then delay performance of the step until an expiration of the timer, where the expiration of the timer occurs after an amount of time equal to the time value configured for the timer with the scaling factor applied has passed.).
Regarding claim 16, Uchino discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Uchino further teaches:
wherein
the starting the first timer comprising setting a value of the first timer according to whether the first condition is met (Uchino: [0140] ... Further, steps 1014-1030 [similar to steps 1116-1132 of Fig. 11] include UE 1002 setting a timer value for a timer (e.g., period of time from start to expiration of the timer) user to initiate an RRC re-establishment [first condition] procedure for the radio link ... Figs. 11, 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uchino in view of Kumar et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20230362625, hereinafter, “Kumar”).
Regarding claims 3 and 19, Uchino discloses on the features with respect to claims 1 and 18 as outlined above.
Uchino does not explicitly teach:
a first transmitter, transmitting first information; the first information indicating a second capability; wherein the second capability supports a first-type generator; the first-type generator depends on training; the first-type generator determines whether the first condition is met.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kumar teaches:
a first transmitter, transmitting first information; the first information indicating a second capability; wherein the second capability supports a first-type generator; the first-type generator depends on training; the first-type generator determines whether the first condition is met (Kumar: [0096] As shown by reference number 435, the UE may transmit, and the network node may receive, an update to the previously reported set of UE AI and/or ML capabilities. In some aspects, the UE may transmit the update via UAI and/or via dynamic capability update signaling (e.g., an RRC message). In some aspects, the UE may transmit the update based at least in part on detecting the change in UE AI or ML capabilities (e.g., a threshold amount of change), identifying satisfaction of the trigger condition, and/or the prohibition timer being expired (e.g., the prohibition time not restricting transmission of the update), among other examples … [0065] … Artificial Intelligence/Machine Learning (AI/ML) workflows including model training and updates ... Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Uchino to include the features as taught by Kumar above in order to provide updated artificial intelligence or machine learning capabilities reporting. (Kumar, ¶ [0082]).
Regarding claim 4, Uchino discloses on the features with respect to claim 2 as outlined above.
Uchino does not explicitly teach:
first transmitter, transmitting first information; the first information indicating a second capability; wherein the second capability supports a first-type generator; the first-type generator depends on training; the first-type generator determines whether the first condition is met.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kumar teaches:
a first transmitter, transmitting first information; the first information indicating a second capability; wherein the second capability supports a first-type generator; the first-type generator depends on training; the first-type generator determines whether the first condition is met (Kumar: [0096] As shown by reference number 435, the UE may transmit, and the network node may receive, an update to the previously reported set of UE AI and/or ML capabilities. In some aspects, the UE may transmit the update via UAI and/or via dynamic capability update signaling (e.g., an RRC message). In some aspects, the UE may transmit the update based at least in part on detecting the change in UE AI or ML capabilities (e.g., a threshold amount of change), identifying satisfaction of the trigger condition, and/or the prohibition timer being expired (e.g., the prohibition time not restricting transmission of the update), among other examples … [0065] … Artificial Intelligence/Machine Learning (AI/ML) workflows including model training and updates ... Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Uchino to include the features as taught by Kumar above in order to provide updated artificial intelligence or machine learning capabilities reporting. (Kumar, ¶ [0082]).
Regarding claim 12, Uchino-Kumar discloses on the features with respect to claim 3 as outlined above.
Uchino further teaches:
wherein the first signaling configuring a first timer comprises configuring the first value and a first value range, and the second value depends on the first value and the first range (Uchino: [0144] As another example, in some cases, to delay the timing of performing the step of the process already associated with a timer, UE 1002 increases a time value configured for the timer [i.e., first value] by applying a scaling factor [i.e., range] to the time value configured for the timer. The scaling factor applied by UE 1002 in this case is greater than one. For example, the configured time value may be five seconds, and UE 1002 may extend this time by applying a scaling factor of two, such that the configured time value with the scaling factor applied is equal to ten seconds. UE 1002 may then delay performance of the step until an expiration of the timer, where the expiration of the timer occurs after an amount of time equal to the time value configured for the timer with the scaling factor applied has passed.).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uchino in view of Shan et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20250330983, hereinafter, “Shan”).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Uchino discloses on the features with respect to claims 1 and 2 as outlined above.
Uchino does not explicitly teach:
the first receiver, receiving a second signaling, the second signaling comprising a first parameter set, and a generation of the first location information and the first time information depending on the first parameter set;
wherein the meaning of a generation of the first location information and the first time information depending on the first parameter set comprises:
the first parameter set indicates a prediction model that generates at least one of the first location information or the first time information, or
the training of the prediction model that generates at least one of the first location information or the first time information depends on the first parameter set.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Shan teaches:
the first receiver, receiving a second signaling, the second signaling comprising a first parameter set, and a generation of the first location information and the first time information depending on the first parameter set;
wherein the meaning of a generation of the first location information and the first time information depending on the first parameter set comprises:
the first parameter set indicates a prediction model that generates at least one of the first location information (Shan: [0070] Thereby, the data generation apparatus transmits request information for collecting data to a model deployment apparatus, receives AI/ML model-related information from the model deployment apparatus, and transmits data to the model deployment apparatus according to the AI/ML model-related information. Real-time data collection is able to be performed between positioning-involved network entities and/or between a network entity and a terminal which are involved in positioning, so as to optimize a wireless positioning AI/ML model, performance of the AI/ML model for wireless positioning is better or generalization thereof is better, whereby a more accurate positioning result is able to be obtained.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Uchino to include the features as taught by Shan above in order to provide more accurate positioning result. (Shan, ¶ [0070]).
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uchino-Kumar in view of Shan et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20250330983, hereinafter, “Shan”).
Regarding claims 7 and 20, Uchino-Kumar discloses on the features with respect to claims 3 and 19 as outlined above.
Uchino-Kumar does not explicitly teach:
the first receiver, receiving a second signaling, the second signaling comprising a first parameter set, and a generation of the first location information and the first time information depending on the first parameter set;
wherein the meaning of a generation of the first location information and the first time information depending on the first parameter set comprises:
the first parameter set indicates a prediction model that generates at least one of the first location information or the first time information, or
the training of the prediction model that generates at least one of the first location information or the first time information depends on the first parameter set.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Shan teaches:
the first receiver, receiving a second signaling, the second signaling comprising a first parameter set, and a generation of the first location information and the first time information depending on the first parameter set;
wherein the meaning of a generation of the first location information and the first time information depending on the first parameter set comprises:
the first parameter set indicates a prediction model that generates at least one of the first location information (Shan: [0070] Thereby, the data generation apparatus transmits request information for collecting data to a model deployment apparatus, receives AI/ML model-related information from the model deployment apparatus, and transmits data to the model deployment apparatus according to the AI/ML model-related information. Real-time data collection is able to be performed between positioning-involved network entities and/or between a network entity and a terminal which are involved in positioning, so as to optimize a wireless positioning AI/ML model, performance of the AI/ML model for wireless positioning is better or generalization thereof is better, whereby a more accurate positioning result is able to be obtained.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Uchino-Kumar to include the features as taught by Shan above in order to provide more accurate positioning result. (Shan, ¶ [0070]).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uchino in view of Sengupta et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20220322477, hereinafter, “Sengupta”).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Uchino discloses on the features with respect to claims 1 and 2 as outlined above.
Uchino further teaches:
a first transceiver, starting a second timer, and a value of the second timer depending on a second condition Uchino: [0153] … secondary node 1106 determines, at step 1110, one or more conditions of UE 1002. In certain aspects, the one or more conditions include a capability of UE 1102. For example, in certain aspects, UE 1102 is configured to be capable of adjusting timing for one or more steps of a radio link management procedure … : [0140] ... Further, steps 1014-1030 [similar to steps 1116-1132 of Fig. 11] include UE 1002 setting a timer value for a timer (e.g., period of time from start to expiration of the timer) user to initiate an RRC re-establishment procedure for the radio link ... Figs. 11, 12);
when the second condition is met, a value of the second timer is a third value; when the second condition is not met, a value of the second timer is a fourth value (Uchino: [0153] … secondary node 1106 determines, at step 1110, one or more conditions of UE 1002. In certain aspects, the one or more conditions include a capability of UE 1102. For example, in certain aspects, UE 1102 is configured to be capable of adjusting timing for one or more steps of a radio link management procedure. [0154] At step 1112, secondary node 1106 determines to adjust a timing for performing one or more steps of a radio link monitoring, failure detection, or recovery process for a radio link [i.e., timer value is adjusted based on UE’s condition; e.g.; one value is associated with radio link monitoring, while another for failure detection] of one or more cells. Secondary node 1106 determines to adjust the timing for performing one or more of the steps based on, at least, the one or more conditions determined at step 1010 [similar to step 1110 of Fig. 11] (e.g., based on a capability of UE 1102) … [0033] Adjusting the timing for performing a step of the radio link management procedure may involve lengthening (or delaying) the timing for performing the step (e.g., based on a timing currently specified in a specification), shortening (or advancing) the timing for performing the step (e.g., based on a timing currently specified in a specification) … Figs. 11, 12).
Uchino does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first signaling configures the second timer, and an expiration of the second timer determines that there is a problem with data reception;
the meaning of an expiration of the second timer determining that there is a connection problem is:
an expiration of the second timer triggers dropping at least one packet, or
an expiration of the second timer triggers submitting at least one Service Data Unit (SDU) to a higher layer, or
an expiration of the second timer triggers losing an uplink synchronization;
the second condition depends on at least one of second location information or second time information.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sengupta teaches:
wherein the first signaling configures the second timer, and an expiration of the second timer determines that there is a problem with data reception; the meaning of an expiration of the second timer determining that there is a connection problem is: an expiration of the second timer triggers losing an uplink synchronization; the second condition depends on at least one of second location information or second time information (Sengupta: [0053] In some examples, a location failure condition may result from loss of time synchronization or frequency synchronization, or both, in relation to an NTN. The present techniques enable a UE in connected mode to maintain, adjust, or reestablish synchronization (e.g., time synchronization, frequency synchronization, GNSS fix, etc.) after the UE determines that a synchronization failure event has occurred. The synchronization failure event may include … expiry of a frequency synchronization timer … [0054] The UE may take one or more actions based on the synchronization failure event. As part of the one or more actions that the UE may take, the UE may … declare synchronization error to the network, or declare timer expiry to the network …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Uchino to include the features as taught by Sengupta above in order to improve the reliability of NTN-related transmissions. (Sengupta, ¶ [0056]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uchino in view of Sengupta et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20220322477, hereinafter, “Sengupta”).
Regarding claim 15, Uchino discloses on the features with respect to claim 3 as outlined above.
Uchino further teaches:
a first transceiver, starting a second timer, and a value of the second timer depending on a second condition Uchino: [0153] … secondary node 1106 determines, at step 1110, one or more conditions of UE 1002. In certain aspects, the one or more conditions include a capability of UE 1102. For example, in certain aspects, UE 1102 is configured to be capable of adjusting timing for one or more steps of a radio link management procedure … : [0140] ... Further, steps 1014-1030 [similar to steps 1116-1132 of Fig. 11] include UE 1002 setting a timer value for a timer (e.g., period of time from start to expiration of the timer) user to initiate an RRC re-establishment procedure for the radio link ... Figs. 11, 12);
when the second condition is met, a value of the second timer is a third value; when the second condition is not met, a value of the second timer is a fourth value (Uchino: [0153] … secondary node 1106 determines, at step 1110, one or more conditions of UE 1002. In certain aspects, the one or more conditions include a capability of UE 1102. For example, in certain aspects, UE 1102 is configured to be capable of adjusting timing for one or more steps of a radio link management procedure. [0154] At step 1112, secondary node 1106 determines to adjust a timing for performing one or more steps of a radio link monitoring, failure detection, or recovery process for a radio link [i.e., timer value is adjusted based on UE’s condition; e.g.; one value is associated with radio link monitoring, while another for failure detection] of one or more cells. Secondary node 1106 determines to adjust the timing for performing one or more of the steps based on, at least, the one or more conditions determined at step 1010 [similar to step 1110 of Fig. 11] (e.g., based on a capability of UE 1102) … [0033] Adjusting the timing for performing a step of the radio link management procedure may involve lengthening (or delaying) the timing for performing the step (e.g., based on a timing currently specified in a specification), shortening (or advancing) the timing for performing the step (e.g., based on a timing currently specified in a specification) … Figs. 11, 12).
Uchino does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first signaling configures the second timer, and an expiration of the second timer determines that there is a problem with data reception;
the meaning of an expiration of the second timer determining that there is a connection problem is:
an expiration of the second timer triggers dropping at least one packet, or
an expiration of the second timer triggers submitting at least one Service Data Unit (SDU) to a higher layer, or
an expiration of the second timer triggers losing an uplink synchronization;
the second condition depends on at least one of second location information or second time information.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sengupta teaches:
wherein the first signaling configures the second timer, and an expiration of the second timer determines that there is a problem with data reception; the meaning of an expiration of the second timer determining that there is a connection problem is: an expiration of the second timer triggers losing an uplink synchronization; the second condition depends on at least one of second location information or second time information (Sengupta: [0053] In some examples, a location failure condition may result from loss of time synchronization or frequency synchronization, or both, in relation to an NTN. The present techniques enable a UE in connected mode to maintain, adjust, or reestablish synchronization (e.g., time synchronization, frequency synchronization, GNSS fix, etc.) after the UE determines that a synchronization failure event has occurred. The synchronization failure event may include … expiry of a frequency synchronization timer … [0054] The UE may take one or more actions based on the synchronization failure event. As part of the one or more actions that the UE may take, the UE may … declare synchronization error to the network, or declare timer expiry to the network …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Uchino to include the features as taught by Sengupta above in order to improve the reliability of NTN-related transmissions. (Sengupta, ¶ [0056]).
Conclusion
/LIEM H. NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416