DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of
in the reply filed on 09/11/2029 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the following grounds set forth below.
That the compounds share similar core or scaffold wherein A and Y may independently represent CH or N, and that searching compounds containing this scaffold would not require different classes, subclasses, electronic resources, search strategies, or search inquiries.
In response, this is not found persuasive. The Examiner acknowledges that the disclosed compounds share a common structural framework However, the presence of a common scaffold does not, by itself, establish that the compounds constitute patentably indistinct species or that examination of the entire genus would not impose a serious search and/or examination burden.
In particular, the disclosed compounds encompass different heteroatoms arrangements resulting from variation of A and Y between CH or N, as well as additional structural variations arising from the alternative substituents represented by R1-R7 and L. These variations define chemically distinct compounds that are not established to be obvious variants of one another on the present record.
Searching compounds with Y and A being CH would not necessarily give hits for compounds where Y and A are N.
Accordingly, the Examiner maintains that examination of the disclosed patentably distinct species would impose a serious search burden and/or examination burden. See MPEP §§806.04, 808.01(a), and 809.02(a).
Applicant alternatively request that the Examiner extends the search to compounds wherein A is N, Y is CH.
This request is not persuasive because fixing A and Y does not necessarily define a single compound or a grouping of patentably distinct species. The remaining substituent definitions encompass additional structurally distinct compounds. Applicant has not established that all such compounds are patentably distinct from elected compound 16.
Therefore, the election of species requirement is maintained, and examination will proceed on the basis of elected Compound 16 and the claims readable thereon, subject to the applicable practice concerning generic claims and rejoinder
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 7 and 16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
This application claims priority to Provisional Application Number 63/533,364, filed on 08/18/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/17/2025 & 09/11/2026
has been considered by the examiner.
Claim status
Claims 1-16 are pending. Claims 7 and 16 are withdrawn. Claims 1-6 and 8-15 are examined to the extent they read on the elected species.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of an informality in the recitation of “R3 and R4 can together with the atom to which they are attached may joined to form a 3-membered carbocyclic ring.”.
The use of both “can” and “may” is grammatically redundant. Applicant is required to amend the claim to remove “can” or “may” to provide proper grammatical construction.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 10-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouyssou et al. (WO2019/081637 A1).
Bouyssou teaches a method of treating a disease or disorder that can be alleviated TRPC6 inhibition comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a compound according to any one of claims 1 to 16, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, to patient in need thereof. See claims 1-16 and 18.
Bouyssou identifies focal segmental glomerulosclerosis (FSGS) as the disease or disorder that can be alleviated TRPC6 inhibition and compound 16
as the compound. See claims 16 and 19. The dose range for the compound is about 1-1000 mg/day. See second paragraph of page 154.
Moreover, Bouyssou reports that subsequent studies identified additional TRPC6 mutations associated with steroid-resistant nephrotic syndrome where further studies demonstrated that TRPC6 is important in normal podocyte function by controlling calcium influx and nuclear-factor of activated T cell activation in which elevated current through the channel is associated with renal injury and the induction of proteinuria. In addition to Gain of Function mutations, it has been shown that expression of TRPC6 is elevated in human chronic kidney diseases including FSGS, minimal change disease, membranous glomerulonephritis, and diabetic nephropathy See first paragraph of page 5.
Bouyssou does not expressly teach Compound 16 for treating FSGS and FSGS resulting from TRPC6 gene variants in a subject/adult subject. However, Bouyssou discloses that TRPC6 and TRPC3 antagonists (GSK2332255B and GSK833503A) exhibited dose-dependent inhibition of cell hypertrophy signaling in neonatal and adult cardiac myocytes. Second paragraph of page 4.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to administer a therapeutically effective amount of Compound 16, as disclosed by Bouyssou, to a patient having focal segmental glomerulosclerosis (FSGS), including FSGS associated with TRPC6 gene variant, for the treatment of the disease.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to administer Compound 16 to such patients because Bouyssou expressly identifies FSGS as a disease amenable to treatment by TRPC6 inhibition, discloses Compound 16 as a TRPC6 inhibitor, and teaches administering therapeutically effective amount of its disclosed compounds to subjects in need of treatment. Moreover, Bouyssou explains TRPC6 plays an important role in podocyte function and that increased TRPC6 channel activity is associated with renal injury and proteinuria. Thus, Bouyssou provides a direct relationship between TRPC6 inhibition and the treatment of FSGS.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in treating FSGS by administering Compound 16 because Bouyssou identifies the same compound, the same therapeutic target, and the same disease, and provide a mechanistic basis for expecting that inhibition of TRPC6 activity would alleviate TRPC6-associated renal pathology.
Accordingly, the claimed administration of Compound 16 to patients having FSGS would have represented the application of Bouyssou’s express therapeutic teachings with a reasonable expectation of achieving therapeutic benefit.
Claims 1 and 8-11
With respect to the recitation of reducing the level of proteinuria and/or preserving renal function in claim 1, reducing proteinuria in claim 8, preserving renal function in claim 10, and preserving estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) in claim 11, Bouyssou teaches administration of identical compound 16 for treating FSGS and further identifies increased TRPC6 activity as being associated with podocyte function, renal injury, and proteinuria.
The Examiner notes that these limitations characterize therapeutic results of the positively recited administering step rather than additional affirmative method steps.
Bouyssou teaches administering the identical Compound 16 for treating FSGS and further discloses that increased TRPC6 channel activity is associated with renal injury and the induction of proteinuria. See page 5, first paragraph. Thus, Bouyssou provides a technical basis for expecting that administration of Compound 16, a TRPC6 inhibitor, to and FSGS patient would reduce TRPC6-associated renal pathology, including proteinuria.
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation that administration of Compound 16 to an FSGS patient would result in a reduction in proteinuria and improvement or preservation of renal function.
Claim 12
With respect to the amounts claimed in claim 12. Bouyssou teaches the administration of its disclosed compounds in an amount of about 1-1000 mg/day (page 154, second paragraph), which encompasses the claimed amount of 10 mg through 90 mg.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select an administered amount within the disclosed dosage range, including the amounts recited in claim 12, because Bouyssou expressly teaches a broad range of therapeutically effective daily dosages for its TRPC6 inhibitors. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select and optimize the administered amount within this range to provide a therapeutically effective dose while accounting for the patient’s therapeutic response and tolerability.
Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in identifying a suitable administered amount within Bouysoou’s disclosed range through routine optimization, absent evidence that the specifically claimed amounts exhibit criticality or unexpected results.
Claims 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouyssou et al. (WO2019/081637 A1) as applied to claims 1-6, 8, 10-13, and 15 in view of KDIGO, (KDIGO 2012 Clinical Practice Guideline for the Evaluation and Management of Chronic Kidney Disease, VOL 3, ISSUE 1, January (1) 2013).
The teachings of Bouyssou have been discussed supra.
Bouyssou does not expressly teach the patient has an estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) ≥ 30 mL/min/1.73 m2.
However, Bouyssou teaches subsequent studies identified additional TRPC6 mutations associated with steroid-resistant nephrotic syndrome where further studies demonstrated that TRPC6 is important in normal podocyte function by controlling calcium influx and nuclear-factor of activated T cell activation in which elevated current through the channel is associated with renal injury and the induction of proteinuria. In addition to Gain of Function mutations, it has been shown that expression of TRPC6 is elevated in human chronic kidney diseases including FSGS, minimal change disease, membranous glomerulonephritis, and diabetic nephropathy See first paragraph of page 5.
KDIGO teaches that chronic kidney disease is classified according to cause glomerular filtration rate (GFR), and albuminuria. KDIGO further identifies GFR categories G1 through G5, wherein G1 corresponds to GFR ≥ 90 mL/min/1.76 m2, G2 corresponds to 60-89 mL/min/1.73 m2, G3a corresponds to 45-59 mL/min/1.73 m2, and G3b corresponds to 30-44 mL/min/1.73 m2/ See page 27, Table 5. Thus, KDIGO expressly identifies patients having an eGFR ≥ 30 mL/min/1.73 m2 as encompassing recognized categories of kidney function.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to administer Bouyssou’s Compound 16 to a patient suffering from FSGS and having an eGFR ≥ 30 mL/min/1.73 m2, as taught by KDIGO, for the purpose of treating FSGS through inhibition of TRPC6 activity.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to treat such patients because Bouyssou identifies TRPC6 activity as contribution to podocyte dysfunction, renal injury, and proteinuria associated with FSGS, while KDIGO establishes that patients within the recited eGFR range represent recognized categories of kidney function for which clinical evaluation and management of kidney disease as appropriate.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in administering Compound 16 to such patients because Bouyssou expressly identifies Compound 16 as a TRPC6 inhibitor useful for treating disease associated with TRPC6 activity, including FSGS. Furthermore, the claimed eGFR limitation identifies patient population according to their established measure of kidney function and does not require a different compound or mechanism of action from that disclosed by Bouyssou.
Claim 9
With respect to claim 9, reducing proteinuria by at least 25% based on the 24-hour urine protein-creatinine ratio (UPCR) relative to baseline at week 12, the Examiner notes that KDIGO establishes that proteinuria is a recognized marker of Kidney damage and that urinary protein-to-creatinine ratio (PCR) is an established quantitative measurement for evaluating proteinuria, KDiGO further teaches that GFR and albuminuria are used to assess the progression of chronic kidney disease and that, in certain conditions, more frequent monitoring at intervals 1-3 months may guide therapeutic decisions. See pages 56-59 and 63.
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that clinical significance of monitoring proteinuria and renal function following administration of Bouyssou’s TRPC6 inhibitor to a patient suffering from FSGS. Because Bouyssou associates increased TRPC6 activity with renal injury and proteinuria, a person of ordinary skill would have had a reason to evaluate reduction in proteinuria as an indication of therapeutic response to TRPC6 inhibition.
The claimed percentage reduction and assessment at 12-week represents a quantitative therapeutic outcome of the administering step rather than an additional affirmative treatment step.
Conclusion
Claims 1-6 and 8-15 are not allowed.
/JEAN P CORNET/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628