DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 8/13/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I drawn to claim 1-9 in the reply filed on 8/13/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no burden on examination. This is not found persuasive because one or more of the following reasons apply: the inventions require separate field of search due to their different subclasses; the prior art that is applicable to one invention would not likely to be applicable to another invention; the inventions have different statutory patent-eligible subject matter categories: one group of claims directed to a process and another group of claims directed to a machine.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11513413 B2 to McCreary et al. in view of US 9721365 B2 to Worfolk further in view of US 20150331506 A1 to Vandermeijden et al.
Regarding Claim 1. McCreary discloses a display method of a color electrophoretic display, in which the color electrophoretic display comprises an achromatic color particle and a plurality of chromatic color particles (at least Fig. 3 black pigment particles 108 and colored pigment particles 106), comprising: S1: turning on a stylus mode (Col 10 lines 26-29); S2: providing an assigned stylus color (Col 9 lines 32-33); S3: sensing a movement of a stylus to output a black trace, in which a color of the black trace is shown when the achromatic color particle and the chromatic color particles move toward a top electrode (See Fig. 3 Col 10 lines 39-47).
McCreary does not specifically disclose that a refresh time of the color of the black trace is smaller than 50 ms; and S4: transferring the black trace into a color trace of the assigned stylus color when the movement of the stylus stops, in which a color of the assigned stylus color and the color of the black trace have a brightness difference and at least one of a hue difference or a saturation difference.
However, Worfolk discloses a refresh time of the color of the black trace is smaller than 50 ms (Col 9 line 13), so the trace corresponds to the location of the input object.
Further, Vandermeijden discloses transferring the black trace into a color trace of the assigned stylus color when the movement of the stylus stops, in which a color of the assigned stylus color and the color of the black trace have a brightness difference and at least one of a hue difference or a saturation difference (para 121, it is noted that when the color of the trace is changing from black to any chromatic color there will inherently be a brightness difference and at least one of a hue difference or a saturation difference), as the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP2143(I)(B), KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s effective filing date to include that a refresh time of the color of the black trace is smaller than 50 ms; and S4: transferring the black trace into a color trace of the assigned stylus color when the movement of the stylus stops, in which a color of the assigned stylus color and the color of the black trace have a brightness difference and at least one of a hue difference or a saturation difference.
Regarding Claim 4. McCreary further discloses the achromatic color particle is a white particle (See at least Fig. 2 white pigment particles 104), and the chromatic color particles are cyan particles, yellow particles, and magenta particles (Col 6 lines 33-34).
Regarding Claim 5. McCreary further discloses a distance between the black trace and a stylus tip of the stylus is smaller than 3 mm (Col 9 lines 56-57 indicating stylus is in contact with the display thus less than 3 mm).
Regarding Claim 7. Worfolk further discloses S3 further comprises: sensing a pressure of the stylus pressing against the color electrophoretic display to determine that the stylus touches the color electrophoretic display and begins to draw based on the pressure increasing (Col 4 lines 54-56).
Regarding Claim 8. Worfolk further discloses S4 further comprises: sensing a pressure of the stylus pressing against the color electrophoretic display to determine that the stylus moves away from the color electrophoretic display and stops drawing based on the pressure decreasing (Col 4 lines 54-56).
Regarding Claim 9. McCreary discloses further discloses the S2 is provided before the S3 or after the S3 (See Fig. 3 Col 10 lines 39-47).
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCreary, Worfolk and Vandermeijden as applied to claim 1 in view of US 20190333454 A1 to Lin
Regarding Claim 2. As stated above McCreary, Worfolk and Vandermeijden disclose all the limitations of base claim 1.
McCreary, Worfolk and Vandermeijden do not specifically disclose the color of the black trace has a shortest refresh time among colors of the color electrophoretic display.
However, Lin discloses an electrophoretic display where black particles move faster than color particles (para 237), which would result in the color of the black trace has a shortest refresh time among colors of the color electrophoretic display, as the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP2143(I)(B), KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s effective filing date to include that the color of the black trace has a shortest refresh time among colors of the color electrophoretic display.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/EDMOND C LAU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871