DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 14, 15, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kobayashi, U.S. 8,388,796.
Regarding claim 1, Kobayashi discloses a coupling (fig 4, metal insertion portion 1A; col. 7, lines 44-55) for connecting an end of a first shaft (metal pipes 3 at the opposite ends, col. 7, lines 57-60) having a cross section to an end of a second shaft having the cross section, the coupling (1A) having a first sleeve (sleeve of coupling 1A) having an interior opening having a shape complementary to the cross section (cross-sections of pipes 3 at 3A), the interior opening being delimited by an interior surface (interior of 1A at ball members 5), and a friction increasing coating (adhesive 6; col. 8, lines 3-18) on the interior surface (interior of 1A), the friction increasing coating including asperities (bearings 5; col. 7, line 64 - col. 8, line 3) projecting from the interior surface and pores (spaces between bearings 5) between the asperities (bearings 5) and a sealant (adhesive 6) filling the pores between the asperities (fig, 4 shows the space between the asperities or ball bearings filled with the adhesive 6),
wherein a first portion (a portion at metal pipes 3) of a radially inner surface of the sealant (sealant 6) directly faces a diametrically opposite second portion (a portion of one of the metal pipes 30) of the radially inner surface of the sealant (sealant 6) with no structure (col. 8, lines 48-56) between the first portion (at one pipe 3) of the radially inner surface of the sealant and the second portion (at the other pipe 3) of the radially inner surface of the sealant (sealant 6).
As to claim 2, the reference discloses a thickness of the sealant (adhesive 6) is equal to a maximum height of the asperities (fig 4, the layer of bearings 5 and adhesive appear uniform).
As to claim 6, the reference discloses in figure 4 the first and second shafts (each pipe numbered 3), first shaft end and second shaft end extends into respective ends of the first sleeve (1A) and is frictionally coupled (via adhesive layer 6) to opposing ends of the first sleeve (1A).
Regarding claim 7, Kobayashi discloses a method of forming a coupling (fig 4, 1A) for connecting an end of a first shaft (pipe 3) having a cross section to an end of a second shaft having the cross section,
a sleeve (sleeve of coupling 1a) having an interior opening delimited by an interior surface and having a shape complementary to the cross section,
applying a friction increasing coating (ball bearings 5 and adhesive layer 6) to the interior surface, the friction increasing coating including angular asperities (ball bearings 5 are spaced radially of the coupling at 90 degrees axially to the pipes and sleeve) projecting from the interior surface and pores (spaces between the ball bearings 5) between the angular asperities (ball bearings 5), and
after applying the friction increasing coating (adhesive layer 6), applying a sealant (more adhesive layer 6 as required; col. 6; lines 24-36) to the friction increasing coating to coat surfaces of the angular asperities and fill the pores between the angular asperities (fig. 4 shows the space between the angular asperities or ball bearings filled with the adhesive 6).
As to claim 8, the reference discloses application the sealant (adhesive 6) includes painting (col. 8, lines 4-9) or bathing (via through hole 8; col. 8; lines 35-47).
As to claim 10, the reference discloses inserting the end of the first shaft (pipe 3 at 3A) into a first end of the first sleeve (1A) to form a friction connection (formed by 5 and 6) between the end of the first shaft and the sleeve (1A), and inserting the end of the second shaft (pipe 3 at 3A) into a second end of the first sleeve to form a friction connection (formed by bearings 5 and adhesive 6) between the end of the second shaft and the first sleeve (col. 8, lines 4-13).
As to claim 11, the reference discloses the first sleeve (sleeve of coupling 1A) is a tubular body portion having a first end (at surface 10, fig 5; col. 8, lines 35-47) and a flange (block 9) at the first end formed as one piece (the elements appear to be integral or monolithic) with the tubular body (coupling 1A), wherein a first annular side of the flange (block 9) faces a second end of the tubular body portion (coupling 1A) and a second annular side of the flange (block 9) faces away from the second end of the tubular body portion (each block axially faces the sleeve), and wherein the friction-increasing coating at least partially covers the second annular side of the flange (col. 8, lines 42-48).
As to claims 14 and 15, the reference discloses applying the friction-increasing coating (adhesive layer 6) by spraying (col. 8, lines 44-47; pouring is considered a form of “spraying” or applying a material) under the temperature of the reference’s endeavor.
As to claim 19, the reference discloses after spraying the sealant, smoothing (col. 8, lines 44-47; the release of air has a smoothing effect) the sealant.
As to claim 20, the reference discloses after applying the sealant, inserting the end of the first shaft (metal shaft 3) into a first end of the interior opening of the sleeve (coupling 1A) and inserting the end of the second shaft (the other metal shaft 3) into a second end of the interior opening of the sleeve (col. 7, line 64 – col. 8, line 13).
Claims 1-4, 6, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Margis, U.S. 3,325,195.
Regarding claim 1, Margis discloses a coupling (fig 2, coupling C; col. 2, lines 51-62) for connecting a first shaft (26) having a cross section to a second shaft (25) having the cross section, the coupling having a first sleeve (gripping and sealing mass sleeve or cylinder 21; col. 2, line 68 - col. 3, line 11) having an interior opening having a shape complementary to the cross section (col. 3, lines 8-11), the interior opening being delimited by an interior surface (fig 2 interior surface facing outer surface of shafts 25, 26; col. 3, lines 66-73), a friction increasing coating (injection compound 24 and grains 28; col. 3, lines 51- 64) on the interior surface having asperities (areas between grains 28; col. 3, line 57-64) projecting from the inner surface and pores between the asperities and a sealant (injection compound 24) filling the pores between the asperities (spaces between the grains),
wherein a first portion (at shaft 26) of a radially inner surface of the sealant (injection compound 24) directly faces a diametrically opposite second portion (at shaft 25) of the radially inner surface of the sealant with no structure (the spaces occupied by the sealant span between the areas of the grains where no structure exist) between the first portion (at shaft 26) of the radially inner surface of the sealant and the second portion (at shaft 25) of the radially inner surface of the sealant.
As to claim 2, the reference discloses in figure 2 a thickness of the sealant is equal to a maximum height of the asperities (col. 3, lines 3-8).
As to claim 3, the reference discloses a second sleeve (grain barrier 22; col. 3, lines 11-15) mounted on an outer surface of the first sleeve (21).
As to claim 4, the reference discloses the sealant (compound 24) is located on two spaced regions (axial ends at flanges 31 and radially outward and inward of pipes 26, 25) each positioned at one end of the first sleeve, the sealant covering each region in a circumferential direction (col. 3, lines 57- 70).
As to claim 6, the reference discloses the first shaft (26) and second shaft (25) having ends (ends at 36; col. 3, lines 32-33) both frictionally coupled (col. 5, lines 25-28) to the first sleeve.
As to claim 9, the reference discloses a coupling (coupling C) for connecting an end of a first shaft (26) having a cross section to an end of a second shaft (25) having the cross section, a sleeve (21) having an interior opening delimited by an interior surface and having a shape complementary to the cross section, and applying a friction coating (compound 24) to the interior surface, the friction coating including asperities (grains 28) projecting from the interior surface and pores between the asperities, and applying a sealant (injection compound) to the friction coating to at least partially fill the pores between the asperities wherein applying the friction coating (21) by a thermal spraying process (col. 3, lines 44-50; the injection process of spreading the compound throughout the grains inherently has a temperature).
Regarding claim 10, Margis discloses connecting an end of a first shaft (26) having a cross section to an end of a second shaft (25) having the cross section, a coupling (coupling C), the first shaft (26) within the first sleeve (21) to form a friction connection (col. 5, lines 19-28) between the end of the first shaft (26) and the sleeve (21), and inserting the end of the second shaft (25) into a second end of the first sleeve (21) to form a friction connection between the end of the second shaft and the first sleeve (as the first shaft; col. 5, lines 19-28).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12, 13, 16, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi, U.S. 8,388,796 alone.
Kobayashi discloses the angular asperities as noted above but does not disclose the asperities are carbide compounds nor having a size of the angular asperities is less than or equal to 0.1 mm.
However it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make use of the claimed material and dimensions since a change in the size of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); and the selection of a known material based upon its suitability for the intended use is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
The reference discloses after spraying the sealant, smoothing (col. 8, lines 44-47; the release of air has a smoothing effect) the sealant.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue that because the prior art of Kobayashi discloses the adhesive 6 is not added until after the pipe ends are in place, Kobayashi does not disclose a coupling device in which "a first portion of a radially inner surface of the sealant directly faces a diametrically opposite second portion of the radially inner surface of the sealant with no structure between the first portion of the radially inner surface of the sealant and the second portion of the radially inner surface of the sealant" as recited in amended claim 1. In other words, because Kobayashi's pipe ends are present before the sealant is added, there is never a time in Kobayashi when the foregoing limitation of Kobayashi is satisfied. It is therefore respectfully requested that amended claim 1 is not anticipated by Kobayashi.
The limitations are not recited in claim 1, moreover the order of insertion of the pipes to the coupling and sealant injection is within the process of assembling the prior art apparatus notwithstanding any subsequent or prior positioning or sealant injection.
Applicants argue the prior art of Kobayashi does not disclose a coating and the ball bearings are not angular asperities.
The reference discloses angularly placed ball members within an adhesive layer between radially overlapping cylindrical elements and as such constitutes a coating with angular or radially projection projections necessary the function of the invention.
Applicants argue the prior art of Margis does not disclose the compound 24 entering the pores of the grains.
The reference discloses the pressurized injection compound flows through the granular material (col. 3, lines 54-64).
Applicants argue the meritorious comparison of a thermal spray process and a friction coating as applied from the prior art of Margis.
The area between the pipes and the coupling is necessarily an operational friction connection filled with a compound at some degree of temperature and air.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
27 August 2026
/KENNETH L THOMPSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676