DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 7-8 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 7, “further comprising a comprising a first…” should be corrected to “further
Regarding claim 8, “further comprising a comprising a second front” should be corrected to “further
Regarding claim 18, “to the remaining drive shafts which not directly connected to said first and second drive means…” should be corrected to “to the remaining drive shafts which are not directly connected to said first and second drive means…”
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “the first and second drive means” in claims 1,2,7,8,18-20. There is sufficient structure cited in the Specification on page 9 lines 1-6, “…the drive means may be an internal combustion motor/engine.”, as well as in claim 1, “…such that said wheel is directly driven by said first drive means…”.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, there is a lack of clarity regarding which of the wheels is being referred to with the limitation “of one of the first front or first rear wheel such that said wheel”. It is unclear whether “said wheel” refers to “first front wheel” or the “first rear wheel”. Additionally there is a lack of clarity regarding which of the wheels is being referred to with the limitation “of one of the second front or second rear wheel such that said wheel”. It is unclear whether “said wheel” refers to the “second front wheel” or the “second rear wheel”. Further clarification is necessary.
Regarding Claim 13, there is a lack of clarity regarding which of the mounting plates is being referred to with the limitation “said housing mounting plates being attachable to the chassis of the skid steer vehicle.” It is unclear whether “said housing mounting plates” refers to both “the first housing mounting plates” and “the second housing mounting plates” or just one of the sets of plates. Further clarification is necessary.
Regarding Claim 20, there is a lack of clarity regarding which of the wheels is being referred to with the limitation “of one of the first front or first rear wheel such that said wheel”. It is unclear whether “said wheel” refers to “first front wheel” or the “first rear wheel”. Additionally there is a lack of clarity regarding which of the wheels is being referred to with the limitation “of one of the second front or second rear wheel such that said wheel”. It is unclear whether “said wheel” refers to the “second front wheel” or the “second rear wheel”. Further clarification is necessary.
Claims 2-17 are rejected as indefinite as they are dependent upon a rejected parent claim (See above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wada (US 20170327000 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wada teaches a skid steer vehicle comprising:
at least first and second front wheels 21,31 (Fig 2B) located on opposing sides of the vehicle (Fig 2B);
at least first and second rear wheels 22,32 (Fig 2B) located on opposing sides of the vehicle (Fig 2B);
a drive assembly comprising;
a first drive means 41L (Fig 2B) connected directly via a first drive shaft 42L (Fig 2B) to a gearbox 43L (Fig 2B) [of one of the first front 31 (Fig 2B) or first rear wheel such that said wheel is directly driven by said first drive means] (“Two motors, consisting of an electric motor 41R for driving the right-side front and rear wheels 21 and 22 and an electric motor 42L for driving the left-side front and rear wheels 31 and 32, are provided on the front wheel side of a bottom face 15 of the chassis 10.” para 0031);
a second drive means 41R (Fig 2B) connected directly via a second drive shaft 42R (Fig 2B) to a gearbox 43L (Fig 2B) [of one of the second front 21 (Fig 2B) or second rear wheel such that said wheel is directly driven by said first drive means] (“Two motors, consisting of an electric motor 41R for driving the right-side front and rear wheels 21 and 22 and an electric motor 42L for driving the left-side front and rear wheels 31 and 32, are provided on the front wheel side of a bottom face 15 of the chassis 10.” para 0031);
first and second power transfer 21a,21b,31a,31b,23,33 (Figs 2A and 2B) [arrangements coupled to the first and second drive shafts 21a,22b (Fig 2A) [respectively and configured to transfer power from the first and second drive means to the remaining wheels] (“A power transmission member is provided in each of a pair of right-side front and rear wheels and a pair of left-side front and rear wheels. Specifically, the sprocket 21b and the sprocket 22b are respectively provided for the axle 21a of the front wheel 21 and the axle 22a of the rear wheel 22 on the right side, and a belt 23 on an inner side of which are provided protrusions that mesh with the sprockets” para 0028) which are not connected directly to said drive means] (“A power transmission member is provided in each of a pair of right-side front and rear wheels and a pair of left-side front and rear wheels. Specifically, the sprocket 21b and the sprocket 22b are respectively provided for the axle 21a of the front wheel 21 and the axle 22a of the rear wheel 22 on the right side, and a belt 23 on an inner side of which are provided protrusions that mesh with the sprockets, for example, is looped around the sprocket 21b for the front wheel and the sprocket 22b for the rear wheel” para 0028).
Regarding claim 2, Wada anticipates the first and second drive means 41L, 41R (Fig 2B) are [connected directly to respective first and second front gearboxes 43L,43R of respective first and second front wheels 21,31 by respective first and second front drive shafts (via axles 42L and 42R)] (“Similarly, a gearbox 43L is provided as a drive force transmission mechanism between a motor axis 42L of the left-side electric motor 41L and the axle 31a of the left-side front wheel 31.” para 0031), and the first and second power transfer arrangements 21a,21b,31a,31b,23,33 (Figs 2A and 2B) [are coupled to the first and second front drive shafts respectively and configured to transfer power from the first and second drive means to the first and second rear wheels respectively] (“Specifically, the sprocket 21b and the sprocket 22b are respectively provided for the axle 21a of the front wheel 21 and the axle 22a of the rear wheel 22 on the right side, and a belt 23 on an inner side of which are provided protrusions that mesh with the sprockets, for example, is looped around the sprocket 21b for the front wheel and the sprocket 22b for the rear wheel. Similarly, the sprocket 31b and the sprocket 32b are respectively provided for the axle 31a of the front wheel 31 and the axle 32a of the rear wheel 32 on the left side, and a belt 33 similar to the belt 23 is looped around the sprocket 31b for the front wheel and the sprocket 32b for the rear wheel.” para 0028).
Regarding claim 3, Wada anticipates the first and second power transfer arrangements 21a,21b,31a,31b,23,33 (Figs 2A and 2B) [comprise a first front pulley 21b (Fig 2A) in operable engagement with the first front drive shaft 21a (Fig 2B) and a second front pulley 31b (Fig 2B) in operable engagement with the second front drive shaft 31a (Fig 2B)] (“Specifically, the sprocket 21b and the sprocket 22b are respectively provided for the axle 21a of the front wheel 21 and the axle 22a of the rear wheel 22 on the right side…Similarly, the sprocket 31b and the sprocket 32b are respectively provided for the axle 31a of the front wheel 31 and the axle 32a of the rear wheel 32 on the left side,” para 0028) .
Regarding claim 4, Wada anticipates the first and second power transfer arrangements 21a,21b,31a,31b,23,33 (Figs 2A and 2B) comprise a first rear pulley 22b (Fig 2B) in operable engagement with a first rear drive shaft 22a (Fig 2B) and a second rear pulley 32b (Fig 2B) in operable engagement with a second rear drive shaft 32a (Fig 2b) , [the first and second rear drive shafts being operably engagable with the first and second rear wheels respectively] (“Axles 21a and 31a and axles 22a and 32a that rotatably support the front wheels 21 and 31 and the rear wheels 22 and 32, are respectively provided underneath the respective covers 18.” para 0027 and “Similarly, the sprocket 31b and the sprocket 32b are respectively provided for the axle 31a of the front wheel 31 and the axle 32a of the rear wheel 32 on the left side, and a belt 33 similar to the belt 23 is looped around the sprocket 31b for the front wheel and the sprocket 32b for the rear wheel.” Para 0028).
Regarding claim 5, Wada anticipates the first and second power transfer arrangements 21a,21b,31a,31b,23,33 (Figs 2A and 2B) comprise first chain or belt member 23 (Fig 2B) extending between the first front pulley 21b (Fig 2A) and the first rear pulley 22b (Fig 2B) and a second chain or belt member 33 (Fig 2B) extending between the second front pulley 31b (Fig 2B) and the second rear pulley 32B (Fig 2B) [such that rotation of the first and second front drive shafts causes synchronous rotation of the first and second rear drive shafts respectively] (“Specifically, the sprocket 21b and the sprocket 22b are respectively provided for the axle 21a of the front wheel 21 and the axle 22a of the rear wheel 22 on the right side, and a belt 23 on an inner side of which are provided protrusions that mesh with the sprockets, for example, is looped around the sprocket 21b for the front wheel and the sprocket 22b for the rear wheel. Similarly, the sprocket 31b and the sprocket 32b are respectively provided for the axle 31a of the front wheel 31 and the axle 32a of the rear wheel 32 on the left side, and a belt 33 similar to the belt 23 is looped around the sprocket 31b for the front wheel and the sprocket 32b for the rear wheel.” para 0028).
Regarding claim 18, Wada anticipates a drive assembly for a skid steer vehicle, said drive assembly comprising:
first and second front drive shafts 21a,31a (Fig 2B) and first and second rear drive shafts 22a,32a (Fig 2B) ;
a first drive means 41L (Fig 2B) [connected directly via a first front 42L (Fig 2B) or rear drive shaft to a respective first front or rear gearbox 43L (Fig 2B) on a first side of the vehicle] (“Similarly, a gearbox 43L is provided as a drive force transmission mechanism between a motor axis 42L of the left-side electric motor 41L and the axle 31a of the left-side front wheel 31.” para 0031); a second drive means 41R (Fig 2B) connected directly via the second drive shaft 42R (Fig 2B) to a second respective front or rear gearbox 43R (Fig 2B) [on a second side of the vehicle] (“A gearbox 43R is provided as a drive force transmission mechanism between a motor axis 42R of the right-side electric motor 41R and the axle 21a of the right-side front wheel 21.” Para 0031); and
first and second power transfer arrangements 21a,21b,31a,31b,23,33 (Figs 2A and 2B) [configured to transfer power from the first and second drive means to the remaining drive shafts which not directly connected to said first and second drive means] (“the sprockets 21b and 22b and the belt 23 on the right side which serves as the power transmission member are arranged outside the right side face 12R and underneath the cover 18, and the sprockets 31b and 32b and the belt 33 on the left side are arranged outside the left side face 12L and underneath the cover 18, but each of the power transmission members may be arranged inside the chassis 10 with the cover 18 omitted.” para 0030).
Regarding claim 19, Wada anticipates the first drive means 41L, (Fig 2B) is [connected directly via the first front drive shaft 42L (Fig 2B) to the front gearbox 43L (Fig 2B)] (“Similarly, a gearbox 43L is provided as a drive force transmission mechanism between a motor axis 42L of the left-side electric motor 41L and the axle 31a of the left-side front wheel 31.” para 0031) ; the second drive means 41R (Fig 2B) [is connected directly via the second front drive shaft 42R (Fig 2B) to the second front gearbox 43R (Fig 2B) respectively and configured to transfer power from the first and second motors to first and second rear drive shafts respectively] (“A gearbox 43R is provided as a drive force transmission mechanism between a motor axis 42R of the right-side electric motor 41R and the axle 21a of the right-side front wheel 21.” Para 0031); and the first and second power transfer arrangements 21a,21b,31a,31b,23,33 (Figs 2A and 2B) [are coupled to the first and second front drive shafts] (“Specifically, the sprocket 21b and the sprocket 22b are respectively provided for the axle 21a of the front wheel 21 and the axle 22a of the rear wheel 22 on the right side, and a belt 23 on an inner side of which are provided protrusions that mesh with the sprockets, for example, is looped around the sprocket 21b for the front wheel and the sprocket 22b for the rear wheel.” Para 0028).
Examiner’s Note: Claim 20 is interpreted as a Product by Process per MPEP 2113 where patentability depends on the product itself.
Regarding claim 20, Wada anticipates a method of manufacturing a skid steer vehicle comprising the steps of:
providing at least first and second front wheels 21,31 (Fig 2B) located on opposing sides of the vehicle (Fig 2B);
Providing at least first and second rear wheels 22,32 (Fig 2B) located on opposing sides of the vehicle (Fig 2B);
Forming a drive assembly comprising;
a first drive means 41L (Fig 2B) connected directly via a first drive shaft 42L (Fig 2B) to a gearbox 43L (Fig 2B) [of one of the first front 31 (Fig 2B) or first rear wheel such that said wheel is directly driven by said first drive means] (“Two motors, consisting of an electric motor 41R for driving the right-side front and rear wheels 21 and 22 and an electric motor 42L for driving the left-side front and rear wheels 31 and 32, are provided on the front wheel side of a bottom face 15 of the chassis 10.” para 0031);
a second drive means 41R (Fig 2B) connected directly via a second drive shaft 42R (Fig 2B) to a gearbox 43L (Fig 2B) [of one of the second front 21 (Fig 2B) or second rear wheel such that said wheel is directly driven by said first drive means] (“Two motors, consisting of an electric motor 41R for driving the right-side front and rear wheels 21 and 22 and an electric motor 42L for driving the left-side front and rear wheels 31 and 32, are provided on the front wheel side of a bottom face 15 of the chassis 10.” para 0031); and
providing first and second power transfer 21a,21b,31a,31b,23,33 (Figs 2A and 2B) [arrangements coupled to the first and second drive shafts 21a,22b (Fig 2A) [respectively and configured to transfer power from the first and second drive means to the remaining wheels] (“A power transmission member is provided in each of a pair of right-side front and rear wheels and a pair of left-side front and rear wheels. Specifically, the sprocket 21b and the sprocket 22b are respectively provided for the axle 21a of the front wheel 21 and the axle 22a of the rear wheel 22 on the right side, and a belt 23 on an inner side of which are provided protrusions that mesh with the sprockets” para 0028) which are not connected directly to said drive means] (“A power transmission member is provided in each of a pair of right-side front and rear wheels and a pair of left-side front and rear wheels. Specifically, the sprocket 21b and the sprocket 22b are respectively provided for the axle 21a of the front wheel 21 and the axle 22a of the rear wheel 22 on the right side, and a belt 23 on an inner side of which are provided protrusions that mesh with the sprockets, for example, is looped around the sprocket 21b for the front wheel and the sprocket 22b for the rear wheel” para 0028).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada (US 20170327000 A1) in view of Li (CN114084239A-Machine Translation and Original Patent Provided in Present OA).
Regarding claim 6, Wada teaches the belt elements of claim 5.
Wada does not teach first and second tensioning members configured to tension the first and second chain or belt member respectively, preferably the first and second tensioning members comprising an idler pulley assembly.
Li (CN114084239A) teaches an equivalent vehicle (Fig 2) with a first and second tensioning members 13 (Figs 3 and 4) [ configured to tension the first and second chain or belt member respectively 1004 (Fig 2)] (“The mountain light and simple intelligent electric crawler transport vehicle further includes two travel crawler tension adjustment assemblies 13 crimped with the two travel crawler belts 1004,” pg 7 para 10) , [preferably the first and second tensioning members comprising an idler pulley assembly 135,134] (“The pinch roller 135 is rotatably connected to the upper and lower adjusting platen 134 and is in rolling contact with the outer surface of the walking track 1004.The walking crawler 1004 is provided with a plurality of positioning tooth holes 10041 at intervals, and the outer edge of the pinch pulley 135 and the outer edge of the driving wheel 1001 have a plurality of positioning teeth 1351, and the positioning teeth 1351 are meshed with the positioning tooth holes 10041.” pg 7 para 0015).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the tensioning mechanism of Li with the vehicle of Wada with a reasonable expectation of success because it would prevent slippage or separation from the pulleys and can extend the overall belt lifespan by using a constant force for even ware on the belt.
Claims 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada and Li in further view of Lundstrom (US 20070089916 A1)
Regarding claim 7, Wada and Li teach [a first front gearbox Wada-43L (Fig 2B) bearing associated with the gearbox of the first front wheel 31 (Fig 2B)] (para 0032), wherein the first front drive shaft Wada 21a (Fig 2B) , and the first front pulley Wada-21b (Fig 2B) form a partial sub-assembly.
Wada and Li do not teach a first front drive bearing associated with the first drive means and the first front drive shaft extending through said first front drive bearing and said first front gearbox bearing to engage with the first drive means and gearbox of the first front wheel respectively.
Lundstrom teaches an equivalent vehicle 10 (Fig 1a) with a first front drive bearing 340 (Fig 4) associated with the first drive means 330 (Fig 4) and the first front drive shaft 410 (Fig 4) [extending through said first front drive bearing and said first front gearbox bearing to engage with the first drive means and gearbox of the first front wheel respectively] (“The drive axle 300 comprises an axle beam 310 with a drive arrangement 320H and 320V, respectively, detachably arranged at each end. Both drive arrangements 320H, V are structurally identical and comprise an electrical motor 330, a gear arrangement with wheel bearings 340 and a hub 350.” Para 0046). Lundstrom further teaches teach the first and second drive means 320V and 320H (Fig 4) [are attachable to the chassis of the skid steer vehicle via corresponding first and second drive bearing carrier elements 420H,420V (Fig 4)] (para 0047), [said first and second drive bearing carrier elements housing the first and second front drive bearings respectively] (“The axle beam 410 is comprised of a central section that is attached to the vehicle frame and a right and a left side telescopic mounting means, 420H, V, respectively. Drive arrangements 320H, V are arranged at the outer ends of the telescopic mounting means 420H, V respectively, as disclosed in the above embodiment.”, para 0047- Fig 4 shows the beam elements 420V and 420H support the motor and bearing 330 and 340 inside the beam elements). Lundstrom further teaches the first and second front gearbox bearings 340 (Fig 4, claim 11) [are attachable to the first and second front gearboxes respectively by first and second gearbox bearing carrier elements 420H,V (Fig 4) , said first and second gearbox bearing carrier elements housing the first and second front gearbox bearings respectively] (para 0047 and claims 10-14). Additionally, Lundstrom teaches a first and second front housing element 410 (Fig 4) [configured to at least partially house and/or connect the first and second front gearbox] (Fig 4 shows axle beam 410 supporting elements 420 H and V that comprise wheel elements 320H and V), the first and second gearbox bearing carrier element 420H,V (Fig 4) , so that these components form a sub-assembly (See Fig 4 that combines with Wada sub assembly above) [configured for attachment and detachment as a single unit] (“a drive arrangement 320H and 320V, respectively, detachably arranged at each end.” Para 0046), and of the first and second front housing elements 410 (Fig 4) comprise a first end attachable to the first and second front gearbox (See Fig 4 for how element 420 is attached to each end and supports assemblies 320H and V) respectively [and a second end attachable to first and second housing mounting plates respectively] (“The axle beam 410 is comprised of a central section that is attached to the vehicle frame and a right and a left side telescopic mounting means, 420H, V, respectively. Drive arrangements 320H, V are arranged at the outer ends of the telescopic mounting means 420H, V respectively, as disclosed in the above embodiment.” para 0047), [said housing mounting plates being attachable to the chassis of the skid steer vehicle] (“FIG. 4 shows an embodiment of an extendable drive axle 400 according to the present invention. In this embodiment, the axle beam 410 is of telescopic design, enabling variable track width. The axle beam 410 is comprised of a central section that is attached to the vehicle frame and a right and a left side telescopic mounting means, 420H, V, respectively” (emphasis added- para 0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the wheel bearings and detachable wheel drive sub-assembly of Lundstrom with the vehicle of Wada and Li with a reasonable expectation of success because it would provide rotational support of the wheels in relation to the gearbox and motors. By including the wheel bearings within the axle to support the wheels, the axle is supported by the bearing and the rotation of the axle is less likely to slip and fall out of alignment. Additionally, by making the wheel assembly detachable from the main frame, the vehicle can be more easily serviced and replaced if a component in the sub-assembly were to fail.
Regarding claim 8, Wada/Li/Lundstrom fully teach a second front drive bearing 320H, (“Both drive arrangements 320H, V are structurally identical and comprise an electrical motor 330, a gear arrangement with wheel bearings 340 and a hub 350” para 0046) associated with the second drive means 340 (Fig 3) and a second front gearbox bearing Wada-43R (Fig 2B) [associated with the gearbox of the second front wheel Wada-21 (Fig 2B)], [the second front drive shaft extending through said second front drive bearing and said second front gearbox bearing to engage with the second drive means and gearbox of the second front wheel respectively] (“The drive axle 300 comprises an axle beam 310 with a drive arrangement 320H and 320V, respectively, detachably arranged at each end. Both drive arrangements 320H, V are structurally identical and comprise an electrical motor 330, a gear arrangement with wheel bearings 340 and a hub 350.” Para 0046).
Regarding claim 9, Wada/Li/Lundstrom teach the first and second drive means are attachable to the chassis of the skid steer vehicle via corresponding first and second drive bearing carrier elements, said first and second drive bearing carrier elements housing the first and second front drive bearings respectively (See modification of Wada and Li in view of Lundstrom in claim 7 above).
Regarding claim 10, Wada/Li/Lundstrom teach the first and second front gearbox bearings are attachable to the first and second front gearboxes respectively by first and second gearbox bearing carrier elements, said first and second gearbox bearing carrier elements housing the first and second front gearbox bearings respectively (See modification of Wada and Li in view of Lundstrom in claim 7 above).
Regarding claim 11, Wada/Li/Lundstrom teach a first front housing element configured to at least partially house and/or connect the first front gearbox, the first gearbox bearing carrier element, the first front drive shaft, and the first front pulley such that at least these components form a sub-assembly configured for attachment and detachment as a single unit (See modification of Wada and Li in view of Lundstrom in claim 7 above).
Regarding claim 12, Wada/Li/Lundstrom teach a second front housing element configured to at least partially house and/or connect the second front gearbox, the second gearbox bearing carrier element, the second front drive shaft, and the second front pulley such that at least these components form a sub-assembly configured for attachment and detachment as a single unit. (See modification of Wada and Li in view of Lundstrom in claim 7 above).
Regarding claim 13, Wada/Li/Lundstrom teach the first and second front housing elements comprise a first end attachable to the first and second front gearbox respectively and a second end attachable to first and second housing mounting plates respectively, said housing mounting plates being attachable to the chassis of the skid steer vehicle (See modification of Wada and Li in view of Lundstrom in claim 7 above).
Regarding claim 14, Wada and Li additionally teach the first and second front drive shafts Wada- 21a,31a (Fig 2B).
Wada and Li do not teach the first and second front housing elements respectively and the first and second front gearbox bearings and a portion of the first and second front shafts are housed within the first and second front housing elements respectively.
Lundstrom teaches the first and second front housing elements 410 (Fig 4) respectively and the first and second front gearbox bearings 340 (Fig 4) and a portion of the first and second front shafts are housed [within the first and second front housing elements respectively] (“The axle beam 410 is comprised of a central section that is attached to the vehicle frame and a right and a left side telescopic mounting means, 420H, V, respectively. Drive arrangements 320H, V are arranged at the outer ends of the telescopic mounting means 420H, V respectively, as disclosed in the above embodiment.” para 0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the housing elements of Lundstrom to support the drive axles of Wada and Li with a reasonable expectation of success because it would provide axial support along the length of the drive axle. By including the housing of Lundstrom to support the gearbox, motor and drive shaft of Wada and Li, the sub-assembly is supported within the housing element and is strengthen to prevent damage to the assembly or vehicle.
Regarding claim 15, Wada/Li and Lundstrom discloses the claimed invention except for the housing elements are cylindrical in shape. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to make the housing element cylindrical in shape since it has been held that the configuration or shape of an invention is a matter of personal choice. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47. Please note that in the instant application, the Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada and Lundstrom.
Regarding claim 16, Wada teaches a vehicle comprising first and second rear gear boxes 43L and 43R (Fig 3) and first and second rear drive shafts 22a and 32a (Fig 3, para 0042).
Wada does not teach first and second rear mounting elements attachable to the chassis of the skid steer vehicle and corresponding first and second rear gear boxes attachable to said first and second rear mounting elements via corresponding first and second rear housing elements.
Lundstrom teaches first and second rear mounting elements 410 (Fig 4, para 0047) attachable to the chassis of the skid steer vehicle and corresponding first and second rear gear boxes with gearbox bearings 320V and H (Fig 4) attachable to said first and second rear mounting elements via corresponding first and second rear housing elements 420H and V (Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the housing elements of Lundstrom to support the rear gear boxes and drive shafts of Wada with a reasonable expectation of success because it would provide axial support along the length of the gear box and strengthen the overall assembly. By including the housing of Lundstrom to support the gearbox, the sub-assembly is supported within the housing element and is strengthen to prevent damage to the assembly or vehicle.
Regarding claim 17, Wada and Lundstrom fully teach the first and second rear drive shafts travel through the first and second rear housing elements respectively, and first and second corresponding rear gearbox bearings are housed by said first and second rear housing elements respectively (See modification of Wada in view of Lundstrom in claim 16 above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lamela (US 20050045390 A1) teaches a skid steer vehicle has a suspension that includes two bogies pivotally connected to the sides of the vehicle and extending fore-and-aft along each side of the vehicle. The bogies are pivotally connected to the vehicle in the middle and have a wheel mounted at each end. A hydraulic motor is coupled to each of the bogies and drives the two wheels on each bogie.
/M.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/JACOB D KNUTSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611