DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification does not describe “a planarization part configured to horizontally move the planarization rod”. The specification describes the planarization rod moves up and down or sample bucket movies horizontally (see para 101-117).
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 11-17 and 21 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakamoto (US 20220291149) in view of Ursella et al. (US 20190240864).
Regarding claims 1, 11 and 21, Sakamoto teaches an apparatus for detecting foreign substances in an active material for a secondary battery (para 3), the apparatus or method comprising:
means for moving 50 the input active material;
an irradiator 10 configured to apply radiation to the moving active material; and
a radiation detector 30 configured to detect radiation that passes through the moving active material.
However Sakamoto fails to teach means for equalizing an amount of the active material that is input to the apparatus;
Ursella teaches means for equalizing 14 an amount of a material that is input to the apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the apparatus of Sakamoto with the equalizer as taught by Ursella, since it would provide batter material uniformity.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Ursella teaches a discharge part 4 configured to discharge the input active material after detection of foreign substances by the irradiator and the detector has been completed.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Ursella teaches the means for equalizing the amount of the active material comprises a planarization rod 14 configured to spread the active material such that a height of the input active material is constant (figure 1).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Ursella teaches the means for equalizing S1 the amount of input of the active material further comprises a controller configured to move the planarization rod up and down (figure 1).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Ursella teaches a sensor 22 configured to measure a height of the active material that has been spread by the planarization rod.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Ursella teaches the means for moving 2 the input active material comprises a conveyer belt.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Sakamoto fails to teach a controller configured to change a moving speed of the conveyer belt.
Conveyer moving speed control is known.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the conveyor of Ursella with the known speed control, since it would provide batter material uniformity.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 10, 18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 8, 10, 18 and 20, the prior art fails to teach the means for equalizing the amount of input of the active material comprises: a sample bucket configured to contain the active material; and a planarization rod configured to spread the active material contained in the sample bucket such that the active material has a constant height as claimed in claim 8 and 18.
Conclusion
/HOON K SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884