DETAILED ACTION
This action is written in response to the amendment filed 05/22/2026
Claims 1, 3, 8-9, 11, 13, 15, 20-21 and 23 have been amended and claims 37-38 have been added
Claims 1-9, 11-21, 23-24 and 37-38 are presented for examination
This action is Final
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-9, 13-17, 20-21 and 37-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bevier (US 11,370,576) in view of Manizza (US 4,114,797).
Claims 1, 13. Bevier discloses a tray/blank 10 for holding a product (abstract), the tray comprising:
a plurality of panels extending at least partially around an interior of the tray, the plurality of panels comprising a bottom panel 17, a front panel 34, a back panel 35, and at least one side panel (fig. 1);
a plurality of top end flaps 34,36 foldably connected to a respective panel of the plurality of panels and cooperating to form a rim extending outwardly from the plurality of panels;
a plurality of side end flaps 44a,b foldably connected to a respective bottom panel and front panel;
the at least one side end flap is in face-to -face contact with the at least one side panel (fig. 2),
the plurality of top end flaps comprise a side top end 48,58 foldably connected to the at least one side panel,
the locking end flap is in at least partial face-to-face contact with the side top end flap to reinforce the rim (col. 7, ll. 40-60; fig. 2-4).
Bevier fails to disclose a locking end flap being received by the side panel. Manizza teaches locking features including a locking end flap 57 capable of protruding from the locking end flap, and a plurality of locking flaps 65 at least partially positioned in the at least one side panel at least partially receiving a respective locking tab therebetween (col. 2, ll. 63-67 – col. 3, ll. 1-40; fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the side panels of Berver to include the locking flaps of Manizza to assist in securing the side end panels to the side panels.
Claims 2, 14. Bevier-Manizza discloses the tray of claim 1, wherein each locking flap of the plurality of locking flaps 57 is at least partially separated from a respective adjacent locking flap 24 of the plurality of locking flaps at a cut 53 (Manizza; fig. 4).
Claims 3, 5. Bevier-Manizza discloses the tray of claim 2, wherein the plurality of locking flaps comprises a first locking flap at least partially separable from the at least one side panel, a second locking flap at least partially separable from the at least one side panel, and a third locking flap at least partially separable from the at least one side panel (Manizza; see annotated figure below).
Claims 4, 16. Bevier-Manizza discloses the tray of claim 3, wherein the third locking flap is foldably connected to a respective top end flap of the plurality of top end flaps (Manizza; fig. 4).
Claim 8, 20. Bevier-Manizza discloses the tray of claim 3, wherein the plurality of locking flaps is a first plurality of locking flaps at least partially positioned in a respective panel of the plurality of panels, and the locking features comprise a second plurality of locking flaps at least partially positioned in a respective panel of the plurality of panels (Manizza; fig. 4).
Claims 9, 21. Bevier-Manizza discloses the tray of claim 3, wherein the first plurality of locking flaps is longitudinally spaced apart from the second plurality of locking flaps along the respective panel of the plurality of panels (Manizza; see annotated figure below).
Claims 15, 17. Bevier-Manizza discloses the tray of claim 13, wherein the plurality of locking flaps comprises a first locking flap at least partially separable from the respective panel of the plurality of panels, a second locking flap at least partially separable from the respective panel of the plurality of panels, and a third locking flap at least partially separable from the respective panel of the plurality of panels (Manizza; see annotated figure below).
Claim 37. Bevier-Manizza discloses the tray of claim 1, wherein the rim is generally parallel and planar relationship with respect to the bottom panel (Bevier; fig. 2-3).
Claim 38. Bevier-Manizza discloses the tray of claim 1, wherein the locking tab 72 extends inwardly toward the interior of the tray (Bevier; fig. 1).
Claim(s) 11-12 and 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bevier (US 11,370,576) in view of Manizza (US 4,114,797) in view of McGlynn et al. (US 3,883,067).
Claim 11, 23. Bevier-Manizza-McGlynn discloses the tray of claim 10, wherein the at least one side panel 46 is a first side panel foldably connected to the bottom panel 17 and the plurality of panels further comprises a second side panel 47 foldably connected to the bottom panel (Manizza; fig. 1-2, 4). Manizza discloses the claimed invention except for the locking flaps being formed in a side panel. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to position the tabs in the side panel from the crease line. McGlynn performs the same function whether located in the side panel or top end flap. It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claims 12, 24. Bevier-Manizza-McGlynn discloses the tray of claim 11, wherein the at least one side end flap is a first side end flap foldably connected to one of the front panel and the back panel and the locking end flap is a first locking end flap foldably connected to the first side end flap, the locking tab of the first locking end flap at least partially received between respective locking flaps of the first plurality of locking flaps, the plurality of side end flaps further comprises a second side end flap foldably connected to the other of the front panel and the back panel, the locking features further comprise a second locking end flap foldably connected to the second side end flap and having a locking tab extending therefrom at least partially received between respective locking flaps of the second plurality of locking flaps (Manizza; fig. 1-2, 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but in view of the amendment the search has been updated, new prior art has been identified and applied, and a new rejection has been made.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAVEN COLLINS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3735
/Anthony D Stashick/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735