DETAILED ACTION
This action is written in response to application number 18/806,947 filed 08/16/2024
Election/Restrictions
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-12, drawn to a tray, classified in B65D 5/26.
II. Claims 13-24, drawn to a blank, classified in B65D 21/0233.
III. Claims 25-36, drawn to a method of forming a tray, classified in B31B 50/262.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions I and II are related as combination and subcombination. Inventions in this relationship are distinct if it can be shown that (1) the combination as claimed does not require the particulars of the subcombination as claimed for patentability, and (2) that the subcombination has utility by itself or in other combinations (MPEP § 806.05(c)). In the instant case, the combination as claimed does not require the particulars of the subcombination as claimed because the two products can be used separate from one another. The subcombination has separate utility such as for carrying food while the blank can be used to wrap glassware instead of a tray.
The examiner has required restriction between combination and subcombination inventions. Where applicant elects a subcombination, and claims thereto are subsequently found allowable, any claim(s) depending from or otherwise requiring all the limitations of the allowable subcombination will be examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. See MPEP § 821.04(a). Applicant is advised that if any claim presented in a divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, a claim that is allowable in the present application, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application.
Inventions (I-II) and III are related as process of making and product made. The inventions are distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) that the process as claimed can be used to make another and materially different product or (2) that the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different process (MPEP § 806.05(f)). In the instant case the process can be used to construct cabinet drawers with interior reinforcement walls.
Claims 25-36 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected group/invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 01/06/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-9, 13-17 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manizza (US 4,114,797) in view of Sielski (US 8,590,707).
Claims 1, 13. Manizza discloses a tray/blank 10 for holding at least one food product (abstract), the tray comprising:
a plurality of panels extending at least partially around an interior of the tray, the plurality of panels comprising a bottom panel 17, a front panel 34, a back panel 35, and at least one side panel 46/47 (fig. 4);
a plurality of top end flaps 36/37 foldably connected to a respective panel of the plurality of panels and cooperating to form a rim extending outwardly from the plurality of panels (fig. 1);
a plurality of side end flaps 24-27 foldably connected to a respective panel of the plurality of panels; and
locking features including a locking tab 57 protruding from the locking end flap, and a plurality of locking flaps 65 at least partially positioned in a respective panel of the plurality of panels at least partially receiving a respective locking tab therebetween (col. 2, ll. 63-37 – col. 3, ll. 1-40; fig.2).
Manizza fails to disclose a foldably connected end flap. Sielski teaches including a locking end flap 44 foldably @38 connected to at least one side end flap 20 of the plurality of side end flaps (fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the locking end flap of Manizza to include the hinged locking end flap of Sielski to maintain both the design and structural integrity of the locking feature.
Claims 2, 14. Manizza-Sielski discloses the tray of claim 1, wherein each locking flap of the plurality of locking flaps is at least partially separated from a respective adjacent locking flap of the plurality of locking flaps at a cut 28 (Sielski; col. 3, ll. 41-55).
Claims 3, 5. Manizza-Sielski discloses the tray of claim 2, wherein the plurality of locking flaps comprises a first locking flap at least partially separable from the respective panel of the plurality of panels, a second locking flap at least partially separable from the respective panel of the plurality of panels, and a third locking flap at least partially separable from the respective panel of the plurality of panels (Manizza; see annotated figure below).
Claims 4, 16. Manizza-Sielski discloses the tray of claim 3, wherein the third locking flap is foldably connected to a respective top end flap of the plurality of top end flaps (Manizza; fig. 4).
Claim 8, 20. Manizza-Sielski discloses the tray of claim 3, wherein the plurality of locking flaps is a first plurality of locking flaps at least partially positioned in a respective panel of the plurality of panels, and the locking features comprise a second plurality of locking flaps at least partially positioned in a respective panel of the plurality of panels (Manizza; fig. 4).
Claims 9, 21. Manizza-Sielski discloses the tray of claim 3, wherein the first plurality of locking flaps is longitudinally spaced apart from the second plurality of locking flaps along the respective panel of the plurality of panels (Manizza; see annotated figure below).
Claims 15, 17. Manizza-Sielski discloses the tray of claim 13, wherein the plurality of locking flaps comprises a first locking flap at least partially separable from the respective panel of the plurality of panels, a second locking flap at least partially separable from the respective panel of the plurality of panels, and a third locking flap at least partially separable from the respective panel of the plurality of panels (Manizza; see annotated figure below).
Claim(s) 10-12 and 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manizza (US 4,114,797) in view of Sielski (US 8,590,707) in view of McGlynn et al. (US 3,883,067).
Claim 10, 22. Manizza-Sielski discloses the tray of claim 3, but fails to disclose the locking flaps being formed in at least one side panel. Webster McGlynn teaches wherein the plurality of locking flaps 47/49 is at least partially positioned in the at least one side panel 40 of the plurality of panels (fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the locking flaps of Manizza-Sielski to be positioned in the side panel as taught by McGlynn to assist create a stronger and stable connection of the panels.
Manizza discloses the claimed invention except for the locking flaps being formed in a side panel. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to position the tabs in the side panel from the crease line. McGlynn performs the same function whether located in the side panel or top end flap. It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim 11, 23. Manizza-Sielski- McGlynn discloses the tray of claim 10, wherein the at least one side panel 46 is a first side panel foldably connected to the bottom panel 17 and the plurality of panels further comprises a second side panel 47 foldably connected to the bottom panel (Manizza; fig. 1-2, 4).
Manizza discloses the claimed invention except for the locking flaps being formed in a side panel. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to position the tabs in the side panel from the crease line. McGlynn performs the same function whether located in the side panel or top end flap. It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claims 12, 24. Manizza-Sielski-McGlynn discloses the tray of claim 11, wherein the at least one side end flap is a first side end flap foldably connected to one of the front panel and the back panel and the locking end flap is a first locking end flap foldably connected to the first side end flap, the locking tab of the first locking end flap at least partially received between respective locking flaps of the first plurality of locking flaps, the plurality of side end flaps further comprises a second side end flap foldably connected to the other of the front panel and the back panel, the locking features further comprise a second locking end flap foldably connected to the second side end flap and having a locking tab extending therefrom at least partially received between respective locking flaps of the second plurality of locking flaps (Manizza; fig. 1-2, 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RAVEN COLLINS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3735
/Anthony D Stashick/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735