Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regards to applicant’s arguments that Kosch’s protrusions and engagement members do not support the panels in spaced relation from the wall – Examiner disagrees - as shown in the previously presented figure and magnified below, Kosch’s protrusions and engagements do support the panels in space relation from the wall:
With regards to applicant’s arguments that Kosch does not teach the claimed slot-and-cavity arrangement – again, as shown in the previously presented annotated figure, Kosch does disclose a slot between first and second panels, and a cavity located at least partially behind a portion of said first panel:
In regards to applicant’s arguments that Kosch does not disclose a retaining member engaging a retention surface adjacent such a cavity – Examiner disagrees - see below figure for retention surface. With respect to the retaining member, see subsequent figure.
Regarding applicant’s arguments that Kosch does not disclose an accessory that abuts an adjacent panel to support the accessory when engaged with the retention surface – Examiner disagrees – see below figure indicating multiple points of abutment:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosch (US 11805925) in view of Mack (US 20210156644). Kosch teaches a storage system comprising a first panel (14 or 16) having a first protrusion; a second panel (other of 14, 16) having a second protrusion, said second panel proximate said first panel; a first engagement member (see annotated figure) extending from said first protrusion, a second engagement member (see annotated figure) extending from said second protrusion, a slot (see annotated figure) between said first and second panels, wherein a cavity (see annotated figure) extends upwardly from said slot; and an accessory (68) having a bracket adapted to fit in said slot, wherein said bracket has a retaining member and a portion of said retaining member is adapated to fit within said cavity, wherein said cavity is located at least partially behind a portion of said first panel, wherein said first and second engagement members extend rearwardly from the panels and support the panels in spaced relation an interior wall (see annotated figure). Although Kosch does not show said accessory in said slot, such arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since it has been held that rearranging of parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art; and furthermore, the accessory would perform equally well in any of the grooves/slots of Kosch. Accordingly, Kosh teaches wherein said retaining member engages a retention surface adjacent said cavity, and wherein said accessory abuts at least a portion of said second panel to support the accessory when engaged with said retention surface. However, Kosch does not teach the storage system is attached to a wall of a storage compartment. Mack teaches a storage system attached to a wall of a storage compartment (figure 1; 0029). Kosch and Mack are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor, i.e. storage systems. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to include the storage system of Kosch in a storage compartment as taught by Mack. The motivation would have been to provide a convenient and modifiable storage system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the invention to Kosch as specified in claim 1. Accordingly, Kosch as modified teaches wherein said first engagement member is attached to the interior wall of the storage compartment; said second engagement member attached to the interior wall of the storage compartment, and wherein said fist and second engagement members extend rearwardly from the panels and support the panels in spaced relation the interior wall of the storage compartment.
With regards to claims 2, 8, and 16, said slot is generally horizontal.
In regards to claims 3 and 9, said first protrusion comprises a rearwardly extending ledge extending from an upper longitudinal edge of the first panel.
With regards to claims 4 and 10, said first engagement member extends downwardly from said ledge.
In regards to claims 5 and 11, said second protrusion comprises a rearwardly extending back support member located between an upper and lower longitudinal edge of the second panel.
With regards to claims 6, 12, and 17 said accessory is a barrel rest.
In regards to claims 13 and 18, said compartment wall is adapted to be fire resistant (Mack: 0022)
Regarding claim 7, Kosch as modified (see above discussion) teaches a compartment with a wall-mounted storage system comprising: a compartment wall (Mack: 30) having a first side and a second side, said first side facing the interior of said compartment and said second side facing the exterior of said compartment; a first panel (Kosch: 14 or 16) having a first protrusion; a second panel (Kosch: other of 14, 16) having a second protrusion, said second panel proximate said first panel; a first engagement member extending from said first protrusion, said first engagement member secured to said first side of said compartment wall; a second engagement member extending from said second protrusion, said second engagement member secured to said first side of said compartment wall; a slot between said first and second panels, wherein a cavity extends upwardly from said slot; and an accessory having a bracket adapted to fit in said slot, wherein said bracket has a retaining member and a portion of said retaining member is adapted to fit within said cavity, wherein said cavity is located at least partially behind a portion of said first panel, wherein said first and second engagement members extend rearwardly from the panels and support the panels in spaced relation from said first side of said compartment wall, wherein said retaining member engages a retention surface adjacent said cavity, and wherein said accessory abuts at least a portion of said second panel to support the accessory when engaged with said retention surface.
Regarding claim 15, Kosch as modified (see above discussion) teaches a compartment with wall-mounted storage system comprising: a compartment wall (Mack: 30) having a first side and a second side, said first said facing the interior of said compartment and said second side facing the exterior of said compartment; a first panel sheet (Kosch: 14 or 16) having a plurality of panels, wherein at least one of said plurality of panels on said first panel sheet includes an engagement member secured to said first side of said compartment wall, wherein said first panel sheet includes a channel; a second panel sheet (Kosch: other of 14, 16) having a plurality of panels, wherein at least one of said plurality of panels on said second panel sheet includes an engagement member secured to said fist side of said compartment wall, wherein said second panel sheet includes a tongue and said tongue is received within said channel; a slot formed between at least two of said plurality of panels on said first panel sheet wherein a cavity extends upwardly from said slot and is located at least partially behind a portion of one of said plurality of panels; and an accessory (Kosch: 68) having a bracket adapted to fit in said slot, wherein the engagement members extend rearwardly from protrusions formed on the respective panels and support the panels in spaced relation from said first side of said compartment wall, and wherein said bracket includes a retaining member having a portion adapted to fit within said cavity and engage a retention surface adjacent said cavity such that the accessory abuts at least a portion of an adjacent panel to support the accessory when engaged with said retention surface.
Claim(s) 16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosch (US 11805925) in view of Mack (US 20210156644), and in further view of Shaha et al. (US 20090230067). Kosch as modified, teaches the invention of claims 15 and 18. However, Kosch as modified does not teach wherein said compartment wall includes gypsum board. Shaha et al. teach a storage system comprising a wall of gypsum board (8; 0056). Kosch and Shaha et al. are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor, i.e. storage systems. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to modify the invention to Kosch (as modified) to include gypsum board within the compartment wall. The motivation would have been to provide an easy and convenient support wall to attach the panels thereto. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the inventio to Kosch as specified in claims 16 and 19.
Regarding claim 20, said compartment wall includes a generally vertical reinforcement member (Kosch: 12 or 18) proximate said gypsum board.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosch (US 11805925) in view of Mack (US 20210156644) and Shaha et al. (US 20090230067), and in further view of Olsen (US 20100115858). Kosch as modified, teaches the invention of claim 19. However, Kosch as modified does not teach a vertical reinforcement member. Olsen teaches a safe compartment structure for firearms (0013) comprising a generally vertical reinforcement member (70) proximate the wall. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to include reinforcement members with the invention to Kosch (as modified). The motivation would have been to increase the structural rigidity/safety of the compartment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the invention to Kosch (as modified) as specified in claim 20.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN LIU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3631