DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, 9, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Alla et al., US Patent Application Publication Number 2015/0019322 (hereinafter Alla).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, Alla discloses a method comprising: obtaining, at a server of an audience measurement entity, media identifying information associated with a user viewing media content on a mobile device [paragraphs 0035, 0044]; storing the media identifying information [paragraphs 0035, 0044]; determining that the user viewed media content on the mobile device using a cellular network [paragraph 0035]; querying a third-party database associated with the cellular network for a location of the mobile device [paragraphs 0035, 0043]; obtaining, at the server of the audience measurement entity, the location of the mobile device [paragraph 0043]; and storing the location in association with the media identifying information [paragraph 0103].
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, Alla discloses wherein the media identifying information associated with the user viewing the media content on the mobile device is obtained from a beacon transmitted to the server of the audience measurement entity [paragraph 0028].
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 9, 11, 15, and 16 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,057,718. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are generic to all that is recited in the patented claims and are therefore an obvious variant thereof. Specifically, instant independent claims 1, 8 and 15 are taught in patented claim 1 but are broader as they omit the limitation regarding a beacon parser. Instant dependent claims 2, 9, and 16 are taught in patented claim 1. Instant dependent claims 4 and 11 are taught in patented claim 1.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 9, 11, 15, and 16 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,197,125. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are generic to all that is recited in the patented claims and are therefore an obvious variant thereof. Specifically, instant independent claims 1, 8 and 15 are taught in patented claim 1 but are broader as they omit the limitation regarding using a timestamp to retrieve a location. Instant dependent claims 2, 9, and 16 are taught in patented claim 5. Instant dependent claims 4 and 11 are taught in patented claim 5.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,069,534. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are generic to all that is recited in the patented claims and are therefore an obvious variant thereof. Specifically, instant independent claims 1, 8 and 15 are taught in patented claim 1 but are broader as they omit the limitation regarding generating a user profile. Instant dependent claims 2, 9, and 16 are taught in patented claim 1. Instant dependent claims 3, 10 and 17 are taught in patented claim 2. Instant dependent claims 4, 11, and 18 are taught in patented claim 1. Instant dependent claims 5, 12, and further regarding claim 18, are taught in patented claim 2. Instant dependent claims 6, 13, and 19 are taught in patented claim 1. Instant dependent claims 7, 14, and 20 are taught in patented claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chandrashekar, US Patent Application Publication Number 2015/0032883 disclose a method of identification of multimedia flows and corresponding apparatus.
Shah et al., US Patent Application Publication Number 2008/0255944, disclose a campaign management platform for network-based online advertising and directed media transmission system.
McMillan, US Patent Application Publication Number 2014/0325551, discloses methods and apparatus to corelate census measurement data with panel data.
/EAW/
August 17, 2026
/ERIKA A WASHINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644