DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyasa et al. (# US 2021/0129568) in view of Ono et al. (# US 4882220).
Miyasa et al. discloses:
A recording method (see Abstract) comprising:
a fragrant ink (pretreatment and white ink; see Abstract; [0054]-[0063]) adhesion step in which is ejected by an ink jet method and is adhered to a recording medium (figure: 1-3); and
a color ink adhesion step in which at least one color ink containing a colorant ([0137]-[0141]), resin particles ([0137]), and water (same as whiter ink; [0075]-[0076]; see Table 2) is ejected by an ink jet method and is adhered to the recording medium (figure: 1-3),
wherein the fragrant ink and the color ink are adhered to the recording medium so as to be at least partially overlapped with each other thereon ([0171]; see Example).
2. The recording method according to claim 1, wherein the fragrant ink (pretreatment & white ink; see Abstract) adhesion step and the color ink adhesion step are performed in the same main scanning (figure: 1, [0027]-[0050]).
3. The recording method according to claim 1, wherein the number of fragrant inks to be used in combination is at least two (pretreatment agent & white ink; see Examples).
4. The recording method according to claim 1, wherein the fragrant ink adhesion step includes at least a preceding main scanning and a succeeding main scanning, and the fragrant ink is adhered by the succeeding main scanning so as to be at least partially overlapped with a region to which the fragrant ink is adhered by the preceding main scanning ([0027]-[0066]).
5. The recording method according to claim 1, wherein the colorant includes a pigment (white pigment; [0067]-[0074]; non-white pigment; [0137]-[0141]).
6. The recording method according to claim 1, wherein the fragrant ink contains a moisturizer (solvent; [0129]).
7. The recording method according to claim 1, wherein the fragrant ink contains a surfactant ([0057]; [0064]; [0077]).
8. The recording method according to claim 1, wherein the fragrant ink contains resin particles at a content of 0.1 percent by mass or less ([0060]-[0063]; see Examples).
13. The recording method according to claim 1, wherein the recording medium includes a cloth (textile; see Abstract; [0165]).
14. An ink set which includes at least two types (pretreatment, white ink and non-white ink; see Abstract; see Examples) of inks to be ejected by an ink jet method (see Abstract), the ink set comprising:
a fragrant ink (pretreatment agent; [0054]-[0066]) containing microcapsules which enclose a fragrance, and
a color ink containing a colorant (white pigment; [0067]-[0074]; non-white pigment; [0137]-[0141]), resin particles ([0137]), and water (same as whiter ink; [0075]-[0076]; see Table: 2).
Miyasa et al. explicitly did not discloses:
At least one fragrant ink containing microcapsules which enclose a fragrance.
9. The recording method according to claim 1, wherein the fragrant ink and the color ink each have a viscosity of 2 to 20 mPa.Math.s.
10. The recording method according to claim 1, wherein the microcapsules are formed of a material containing at least one selected from the group consisting of an urethane resin and a melamine resin.
11. The recording method according to claim 1, wherein the microcapsules have an average particle diameter of 10 nm to 10 μm.
12. The recording method according to claim 1, wherein the microcapsules have a shell thickness of 0.3 μm or less.
14. a fragrant ink containing microcapsules which enclose a fragrance.
Ono et al. teaches to have the printed fabric having durable fragrance,
1.At least one fragrant ink containing microcapsules which enclose a fragrance (see Abstract; column: 8, line: 10-25).
9. The recording method according to claim 1, wherein the fragrant ink and the color ink each have a viscosity of 2 to 20 mPa.Math.s (column: 8, line: 10-25).
10. The recording method according to claim 1, wherein the microcapsules are formed of a material containing at least one selected from the group consisting of an urethane resin and a melamine resin (see Examples).
11. The recording method according to claim 1, wherein the microcapsules have an average particle diameter of 10 nm to 10 μm (5 to 15 micrometer; column: 6, line: 5-10).
12. The recording method according to claim 1, wherein the microcapsules have a shell thickness of 0.3 μm or less (0.3 to 30 micrometer; column: 6, line:10-16).
14. a fragrant ink containing microcapsules which enclose a fragrance (see Abstract; column: 8, line: 10-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the fragrant ink in the recording method of Miyasa et al. by the aforementioned teaching of Ono et al. in order to have the printed fabric having durable fragrance.
.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(1) Soane et al. (# US 2003/0013369) discloses The microcapsules are attached to cotton fabric using well-known methylol chemistry to link the carbohydrate shell of the microcapsule to the cotton. DMDHEU is added to the solution to 8% by weight, followed by addition of MgCl.sub.2 to 2% by weight of solution. 10-oz. cotton cloth is padded with this solution to 70% wet pickup and cured at 165.degree. C. for 2 minutes to covalently link the fragrance-laden nanoparticles to the fabric ([0147]).
(2) Weisman et al. (# US 2020/0095733) discloses Reservoir systems are also known as a core-shell type technology, or one in which the fragrance is surrounded by a perfume release controlling membrane, which may serve as a protective shell. The material inside the microcapsule is referred to as the core, internal phase, or fill, whereas the wall is sometimes called a shell, coating, or membrane. Microparticles or pressure sensitive capsules or microcapsules are examples of this technology. Microcapsules of the current invention are formed by a variety of procedures that include, but are not limited to, coating, extrusion, spray-drying, interfacial, in-situ and matrix polymerization. The possible shell materials vary widely in their stability toward water. Among the most stable are polyoxymethyleneurea (PMU)-based materials, which may hold certain PRMs for even long periods of time in aqueous solution (or product). Such systems include but are not limited to urea-formaldehyde and/or melamine-formaldehyde. Stable shell materials include polyacrylate-based materials obtained as reaction product of an oil soluble or dispersible amine with a multifunctional acrylate or methacrylate monomer or oligomer, an oil soluble acid and an initiator, in presence of an anionic emulsifier comprising a water soluble or water dispersible acrylic acid alkyl acid copolymer, an alkali or alkali salt. Gelatin-based microcapsules may be prepared so that they dissolve quickly or slowly in water, depending for example on the degree of cross-linking. Many other capsule wall materials are available and vary in the degree of perfume diffusion stability observed. Without wishing to be bound by theory, the rate of release of perfume from a capsule, for example, once deposited on a surface is typically in reverse order of in-product perfume diffusion stability. As such, urea-formaldehyde and melamine-formaldehyde microcapsules for example, typically require a release mechanism other than, or in addition to, diffusion for release, such as mechanical force (e.g., friction, pressure, shear stress) that serves to break the capsule and increase the rate of perfume (fragrance) release. Other triggers include melting, dissolution, hydrolysis or other chemical reaction, electromagnetic radiation, and the like. The use of pre-loaded microcapsules requires the proper ratio of in-product stability and in-use and/or on-surface (on-situs) release, as well as proper selection of PRMs. Microcapsules that are based on urea-formaldehyde and/or melamine-formaldehyde are relatively stable, especially in near neutral aqueous-based solutions. These materials may require a friction trigger which may not be applicable to all product applications. Other microcapsule materials (e.g., gelatin) may be unstable in aqueous-based products and may even provide reduced benefit (versus free perfume control) when in-product aged. Scratch and sniff technologies are yet another example of PAD ([0225]).
(3) Popplewell et al. (# US 2021/0086525) discloses a method for printing and drying a flavor or fragrance. The method includes the steps of providing a source of flavor or fragrance, printing the flavor or fragrance directly onto the surface of a movable product conveyor, and conveying the printed flavor or fragrance on the movable product conveyor through or adjacent to a drying component to produce a dried flavor or fragrance product. As described herein, the flavor of fragrance feed can include a solvent and/or carrier and be in the various forms including single raw materials or blends of oils optionally in admixture with a carrier and/or solvent; an encapsulated flavor or fragrance, i.e., a core-shell microcapsule; a food product, e.g., a pureed fruit or vegetable; a reaction flavor, or a combination thereof. In addition, the flavor or fragrance can be printed as a predefined shape in a line or array on the surface of the movable product conveyor and dried under desiccated air at a temperature in the range of 30° C. to 160° C., preferably 30° C. to 110° C., more preferably 40° C. to 100° C., and most preferably 40° C. to 90° C ([0076]).
(4) Hirata et al. (# US 2012/0147085) discloses an ink jet recording method which comprises: forming a first image by applying by an ink jet method a glitter ink in which a glitter pigment is dispersed to a first region of a recording medium in which the glitter first image is to be formed, and forming a second image by applying by an ink jet method a color ink containing a coloring material to a second region of the recording medium in which the colored second image is to be formed, the amount per unit area of the glitter ink ejected in an overlapping region in which the first region overlaps the second region being smaller than the amount per unit area of the glitter ink ejected in the first region excluding the overlapping region (see claim 1).
(5) Hirata et al. (# US 2012/0223992) discloses an ink jet printing apparatus which prints an image on a printing medium using glitter ink with dispersed glitter pigment and clear ink which does not substantially include a color material, wherein the ink jet printing apparatus has a first mode of ejecting substantially only the glitter ink to the printing medium to form the image, and a second mode having a process of ejecting the glitter ink to the printing medium to form a first image by an ink jet method and a process of ejecting clear ink onto the first image by the ink jet method to form a second image, to form the image formed of the first image and the second image, and wherein a mode is selected from the first mode and the second mode to print the image on the printing medium (see Claim 1).
(6) Shiono (# US 2012/0293578) discloses an ink set comprises: a first ink containing first resin particles and not substantially containing a colorant; and a second ink containing titanium oxide particles and containing the first resin particles at less than 6 wt.%, where the second ink is ejected substantially at the same time as ejection of the first ink (see Abstract).
(7) Mitsuzawa et al. (# US 2013/0135382) disclose an ink set comprises a white ink jet pigment ink; and a non-white ink jet pigment ink containing a diene copolymer (see Abstract).
(8) Lefebvre et al. (# US 2009/0155560) discloses A scented paper laminate having a desired scent comprising: a first paper substrate; a second paper substrate; and a scented water-based adhesive composition providing bonding between the first and the second paper substrates together, the scented paper laminate having a moisture level below 10 wt% (see Claim 1).
(9) Budijono et al. (# US 2015/0284660) discloses a perfume composition that includes a first perfume microcapsule encapsulating a first perfume oil that has a Log T greater than −2.5 and a cLogP greater than 2.5 and/or a volatility value of at least 30 μg/l air; and a second perfume microcapsule encapsulating a second perfume oil ingredient that has a LogT less than −2.5 and a cLogP greater than 2.5 and/or a volatility value of at least 30 μg/l air. The invention also relates to the use of such mixtures of microcapsules as a perfuming ingredient or perfuming composition for home or personal care products, as well as to the resulting home and body care compositions. Also, a method for increasing shelf life of a home- or personal-care product that contains a perfuming composition which comprises providing the perfume composition as one of the mixtures of microcapsules disclosed herein.
MANISH S. SHAH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2853
/Manish S Shah/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853