DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 08/16/2024.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figure 3 contains blank boxes lacking descriptive labels. The drawings should be amended to include labels for each box in the circuit. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 20, it appears that “an inverter switching arrangement” (line 1) should read “the inverter switching arrangement”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-18, & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Doc ID US 20190288678 A1 (Hereinafter Mochiki) in view of US Doc ID US 20170345917 A1 (Hereinafter Basler).
Regarding claim 1, Mochiki discloses an inverter switching arrangement [e.g. Fig. 13, element 20A] to operate a system with an electric drive [e.g. Fig. 13, element 10], comprising: an alternating signal connection [e.g. Fig. 13, connection between elements 11 and 20A] to connect a component [e.g. Fig. 13, element 10], and which is configured to operate with an alternating signal [e.g. Fig. 13, power flowing from 20A to 11], a direct signal connection [e.g. Fig. 13, connection between 21 & 20A] to connect a component [e.g. Fig. 13, element 21], and which is configured to operate with a direct signal [e.g. Fig. 13, power from element 21], an inverter circuit [e.g. 13, element 20A], which couples the alternating signal connection and the direct signal connection to each other [e.g. Fig. 13, connection between 11 & 21], wherein the inverter circuit includes at least two phases [e.g. Fig. 13, elements 11; three phases shown in Fig. 13], which are connected to a first contact of the direct signal connection with a first side [e.g. Fig. 13, elements MH] and to a second contact of the direct signal connection with a second side [e.g. Fig. 13, elements MH], respectively, wherein each phase of the at least two phases includes at least two first switching elements connected in series [e.g. Fig. 13, elements SH1 and SL1], and each phase of the at least two phases is connected to a respective contact of contacts of the alternating signal connection, via a center tap [e.g. Fig. 13, connection between elements 11, MH, & ML], at least one second switching element associated with each phase of the at least two phases to form a hybrid circuit [e.g. Fig. 13, SH2 & SL2], and at least one control circuit [e.g. Fig. 14, Drive Circuit] to operate the inverter circuit [e.g. Fig. 13, element 20A] in a short circuit operation to short-circuit the alternating signal connection by each respective phase of the at least two phases in case of a fault [e.g. paragraph 0031, “A drive circuit is configured to alternately turn on the upper- and lower-arm switches. The drive circuit is specially configured to turn off each of the upper- and lower-arm switches upon determining that a failure, such as an overcurrent failure, has occurred in the on-state switch, making it possible to protect the upper- and lower-arm switches”], and to switch the at least two first switching elements and the at least one second switching element in a switching operation [e.g. paragraph 0049, “The control apparatus 30 is configured to control on-off switching operations of each of the upper-arm switches SH via the corresponding one of the upper-arm drive circuits DrCH, and on-off switching operation of each of the lower-arm switches SL via the corresponding one of the lower-arm drive circuits DrCL to thereby control a controlled variable”].
Mochiki fails to disclose wherein the at least two first switching elements are semiconductor switches of a semiconductor technology different from a semiconductor switch of a semiconductor technology of the at least one second switching element.
Basler teaches wherein the at least two first switching elements are semiconductor switches of a semiconductor technology different from a semiconductor switch of a semiconductor technology of the at least one second switching element [e.g. Fig. 3D; paragraph 0017, “FIG. 3D is a schematic circuit diagram of an electric assembly according to an embodiment concerning a parallel connection of a reverse blocking IGBT and a normally-on SiC MOSFET with integrated body diode”; Si IGBT has higher thermal mass than the MOSFET].
It would be obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Mochiki to further include wherein the at least two first switching elements are semiconductor switches of a semiconductor technology different from a semiconductor switch of a semiconductor technology of the at least one second switching element as taught by Basler to improve power conversion efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, Mochiki discloses wherein the at least one control circuit controls the switching operation of the at least two first switching elements and the at least one second switching element depending on a temperature value of a respective switching element of the at least two first switching elements and the at least one second switching element [e.g. paragraph 0238, “the opposite arm controller obtains a first opposite arm temperature Tos 1 indicative of the temperature of the first opposite arm switch, and a second opposite arm temperature Tos 2 indicative of the temperature of the second opposite arm switch in step S 44”; paragraph 0241, “upon determining that the first opposite arm temperature Tos 1 has exceeded the temperature threshold Tα (YES in step S 45 ), the opposite arm controller performs the discharging task for the opposite arm switch to thereby turn off or maintain off the first opposite arm switch in step S 47”].
Regarding claim 3, Mochiki discloses the inverter switching arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the at least one control circuit controls the switching operation of the at least two first switching elements and the at least one second switching element depending on a respective current value of each respective phase of the at least two phases [e.g. paragraph 0289. “upon it being determined that the sum of the drain currents flowing through the respective first and second target switches has not started to decrease (NO in step S 70 ), the target arm controller terminates the target-arm switch driving routine”; paragraph 0290, “target arm controller can determine, based on the phase currents measured by the phase current sensor 23 , whether the sum of the drain currents flowing through the respective first and second target switches has started to decrease”).
Regarding claim 5, Mochiki fails to disclose wherein each second switching element of the at least one second switching element has a higher thermal capacity than each first switching element of the at least two first switching elements at identical current utilization.
Basler teaches wherein each second switching element of the at least one second switching element [e.g. has a higher thermal capacity than each first switching element of the at least two first switching elements at identical current utilization [e.g. paragraph 0017, “FIG. 3D is a schematic circuit diagram of an electric assembly according to an embodiment concerning a parallel connection of a reverse blocking IGBT and a normally-on SiC MOSFET with integrated body diode”; Si IGBT has higher thermal mass than the MOSFET].
It would be obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Mochiki to further include wherein each second switching element of the at least one second switching element has a higher thermal capacity than each first switching element of the at least two first switching elements at identical current utilization as taught by Basler to improve power conversion efficiency.
Regarding claim 6, Mochiki fails to disclose wherein each first switching element of the at least two first switching elements is a semiconductor switch from a group of unipolar semiconductor switches, and each second switching element of the at least one second switching element is a semiconductor switch from a group of bipolar semiconductor switches.
Basler teaches wherein each first switching element of the at least two first switching elements [e.g. Fig. 3D, element 563] is a semiconductor switch from a group of unipolar semiconductor [e.g. paragraph 0017, “FIG. 3D is a schematic circuit diagram of an electric assembly according to an embodiment concerning a parallel connection of a reverse blocking IGBT and a normally-on SiC MOSFET with integrated body diode”; MOSFET is unipolar], and each second switching element [e.g. Fig. 3D, element 512] of the at least one second switching element is a semiconductor switch from a group of bipolar semiconductor switches [e.g. paragraph 0017, “FIG. 3D is a schematic circuit diagram of an electric assembly according to an embodiment concerning a parallel connection of a reverse blocking IGBT and a normally-on SiC MOSFET with integrated body diode”; Si IGBT is bipolar].
It would be obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Mochiki to further include wherein each first switching element of the at least two first switching elements is a semiconductor switch from a group of unipolar semiconductor switches, and each second switching element of the at least one second switching element is a semiconductor switch from a group of bipolar semiconductor switches as taught by Basler to improve power conversion efficiency.
Regarding claim 7, Mochiki fails to disclose wherein each first switching element of the at least two first switching elements is a semiconductor switch from a group of Metal Oxide Semiconductor Field Effect Transistors (MOSFETs) or High Electron Mobility Transistors (HEMTs), and each second switching element of the at least one second switching element is a semiconductor switch from a group of Insulated Gate Bipolar Transistors (IGBTs) or Gate Turn-off (GTOs) or thyristors.
Basler teaches wherein each first switching element of the at least two first switching elements is a semiconductor switch from a group of Metal Oxide Semiconductor Field Effect Transistors (MOSFETs) or High Electron Mobility Transistors (HEMTs), and each second switching element of the at least one second switching element is a semiconductor switch from a group of Insulated Gate Bipolar Transistors (IGBTs) or Gate Turn-off (GTOs) or thyristors [e.g. Fig. 3D; paragraph 0017, “FIG. 3D is a schematic circuit diagram of an electric assembly according to an embodiment concerning a parallel connection of a reverse blocking IGBT and a normally-on SiC MOSFET with integrated body diode”].
It would be obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Mochiki to further include wherein each second switching element of the at least one second switching element has a higher thermal capacity than each first switching element of the at least two first switching elements at identical current utilization as taught by Basler to improve power conversion efficiency.
Regarding claim 8, Mochiki discloses the inverter switching arrangement according to claim 1, wherein to form the hybrid circuit [e.g. Fig. 13, element 20A], a second switching element of the at least one second switching element is connected in parallel with either all of the at least two first switching elements or with each first switching element of the at least two first switching elements [e.g. Fig. 13, connection between SH1 & SH2 along with between SL2 & SL1] which is immediately connected to the first contact of the direct signal connection [e.g. Fig. 13, connection between connections between MH and ML and element 24] or the second contact of the direct signal connection in each respective phase of the at least two phases [e.g. Fig. 13, connection between MH and ML and each phase of element 10].
Regarding claim 9, Mochiki discloses the inverter switching arrangement according to claim 1, wherein to form the hybrid circuit [e.g. Fig. 13, element 20A], each second switching element of a plurality of second switching elements of the at least one second switching element is connected to each phase of the at least two phases [e.g. Fig. 13, Sh2 & SL2], respectively, wherein the plurality of second switching elements are connected to each other in a star connection [e.g. Fig. 13, connection between SH2 transistors and SL2 transistors].
Regarding claim 11, Mochiki discloses a motor vehicle with an inverter switching arrangement according to claim 1 [e.g. paragraph 0107, “for example, a vehicle is safely pulled over in a limp-home mode when the control system CS is installed in the vehicle”], including an electrical machine [e.g. Fig. 13, element 21], which is connected to the alternating signal connection [e.g. Fig. 13, connection between elements 11 and 20A], and an electrical energy storage [e.g. Fig. 13, element 21], which is connected to the direct signal connection [e.g. Fig. 13, connection between 21 & 20A].
Regarding claim 12, Mochiki fails to disclose wherein the at least one control circuit controls the switching operation of the at least two first switching elements and the at least one second switching element depending on a temperature value of a respective switching element of the at least two first switching elements and the at least one second switching element.
Basler teaches wherein the at least one control circuit controls the switching operation of the at least two first switching elements and the at least one second switching element depending on a temperature value of a respective switching element of the at least two first switching elements and the at least one second switching element [e.g. Fig. 1A; paragraph 0008, “FIG. 1A is a schematic circuit diagram of an electric assembly including a parallel circuit of a bipolar switching device and a transistor circuit including a normally-on WBGT (wide bandgap transistor”].
It would be obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Mochiki to further include wherein the at least one control circuit controls the switching operation of the at least two first switching elements and the at least one second switching element depending on a temperature value of a respective switching element of the at least two first switching elements and the at least one second switching element as taught by Basler to improve power conversion efficiency.
Regarding claim 13. Mochiki discloses the motor vehicle according to claim 11, wherein the at least one control circuit controls the switching operation of the at least two first switching elements and the at least one second switching element depending on a respective current value of each respective phase of the at least two phases [e.g. paragraph 0238, “the opposite arm controller obtains a first opposite arm temperature Tos 1 indicative of the temperature of the first opposite arm switch, and a second opposite arm temperature Tos 2 indicative of the temperature of the second opposite arm switch in step S 44”; paragraph 0241, “upon determining that the first opposite arm temperature Tos 1 has exceeded the temperature threshold Tα (YES in step S 45 ), the opposite arm controller performs the discharging task for the opposite arm switch to thereby turn off or maintain off the first opposite arm switch in step S 47”].
Regarding claim 14. Mochiki fails to disclose the motor vehicle according to claim 11, wherein each second switching element of the at least one second switching element has a higher thermal capacity than each first switching element of the at least two first switching elements at identical current utilization.
Basler teaches wherein each second switching element of the at least one second switching element has a higher thermal capacity than each first switching element of the at least two first switching elements at identical current utilization [e.g. Fig. 3D; paragraph 0017, “FIG. 3D is a schematic circuit diagram of an electric assembly according to an embodiment concerning a parallel connection of a reverse blocking IGBT and a normally-on SiC MOSFET with integrated body diode”; Si IGBT has higher thermal mass than the MOSFET].
It would be obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Mochiki to further include wherein each second switching element of the at least one second switching element has a higher thermal capacity than each first switching element of the at least two first switching elements at identical current utilization as taught by Basler to improve power conversion efficiency.
Regarding claim 15, Mochiki fails to disclose the motor vehicle according to claim 11, wherein each first switching element of the at least two first switching elements is a semiconductor switch from a group of unipolar semiconductor switches, and each second switching element of the at least one second switching element is a semiconductor switch from a group of bipolar semiconductor switches.
Basler teaches wherein each first switching element of the at least two first switching elements [e.g. Fig. 3D, element 563] is a semiconductor switch from a group of unipolar semiconductor [e.g. Fig. 3D; paragraph 0017, “FIG. 3D is a schematic circuit diagram of an electric assembly according to an embodiment concerning a parallel connection of a reverse blocking IGBT and a normally-on SiC MOSFET with integrated body diode”; Si IGBT has], and each second switching element [e.g. Fig. 9A, element 512] of the at least one second switching element is a semiconductor switch from a group of bipolar semiconductor switches [e.g. Fig. 3D; paragraph 0017, “FIG. 3D is a schematic circuit diagram of an electric assembly according to an embodiment concerning a parallel connection of a reverse blocking IGBT and a normally-on SiC MOSFET with integrated body diode”; Si IGBT has higher thermal mass than the MOSFET].
It would be obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Mochiki to further include wherein each first switching element of the at least two first switching elements is a semiconductor switch from a group of unipolar semiconductor switches, and each second switching element of the at least one second switching element is a semiconductor switch from a group of bipolar semiconductor switches as taught by Basler to improve power conversion efficiency.
Regarding claim 16, Mochiki fails to disclose the motor vehicle according to claim 11, wherein each first switching element of the at least two first switching elements is a semiconductor switch from a group of Metal Oxide Semiconductor Field Effect Transistors (MOSFETs) or High Electron Mobility Transistors (HEMTs), and each second switching element of the at least one second switching element is a semiconductor switch from a group of Insulated Gate Bipolar Transistors (IGBTs) or Gate Turn-off (GTOs) or thyristors.
Basler teaches wherein each first switching element of the at least two first switching elements is a semiconductor switch from a group of Metal Oxide Semiconductor Field Effect Transistors (MOSFETs) or High Electron Mobility Transistors (HEMTs), and each second switching element of the at least one second switching element is a semiconductor switch from a group of Insulated Gate Bipolar Transistors (IGBTs) or Gate Turn-off (GTOs) or thyristors [e.g. Fig. 3D; paragraph 0017, “FIG. 3D is a schematic circuit diagram of an electric assembly according to an embodiment concerning a parallel connection of a reverse blocking IGBT and a normally-on SiC MOSFET with integrated body diode”].
It would be obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Mochiki to further include wherein each second switching element of the at least one second switching element has a higher thermal capacity than each first switching element of the at least two first switching elements at identical current utilization as taught by Basler to improve power conversion efficiency.
Regarding claim 17, Mochiki discloses the motor vehicle according to claim 11, wherein to form the hybrid circuit [e.g. Fig. 13, element 20A], a second switching element of the at least one second switching element is connected in parallel with either all of the at least two first switching elements or with each first switching element of the at least two first switching elements [e.g. Fig. 13, connection between SH1 & SH2 along with between SL2 & SL1] which is immediately connected to the first contact of the direct signal connection [e.g. Fig. 13, connection between connections between MH and ML and element 24] or the second contact of the direct signal connection in each respective phase of the at least two phases [e.g. Fig. 13, connection between MH and ML and each phase of element 10].
Regarding claim 18, the motor vehicle according to claim 11, wherein to form the hybrid circuit [e.g. Fig. 13, element 20A], each second switching element of a plurality of second switching elements of the at least one second switching element is connected to each phase of the at least two phases [e.g. Fig. 13, Sh2 & SL2], respectively, wherein the plurality of second switching elements are connected to each other in a star connection [e.g. Fig. 13, connection between SH2 transistors and SL2 transistors].
Regarding claim 20, Mochiki discloses a method, comprising: operating an inverter switching arrangement according to claim 1 [e.g. Fig. 13, inverter circuit] to operate a system with an electric drive [e.g. Fig. 13, element 10], wherein to operate the inverter switching arrangement, the at least one control circuit [e.g. Fig. 14, Driver Circuit] operates the inverter circuit in a short circuit operation to short circuit the alternating signal connection by each respective phase of the at least two phases in case of a fault [e.g. paragraph 0031, “A drive circuit is configured to alternately turn on the upper- and lower-arm switches. The drive circuit is specially configured to turn off each of the upper- and lower-arm switches upon determining that a failure, such as an overcurrent failure, has occurred in the on-state switch, making it possible to protect the upper- and lower-arm switches”], with the at least two first switching elements and the at least one second switching element switching in a switching operation [e.g. paragraph 0049, “The control apparatus 30 is configured to control on-off switching operations of each of the upper-arm switches SH via the corresponding one of the upper-arm drive circuits DrCH, and on-off switching operation of each of the lower-arm switches SL via the corresponding one of the lower-arm drive circuits DrCL to thereby control a controlled variable”].
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Doc ID US 20190288678 A1 (Hereinafter Mochiki) in view of US Doc ID US 20170345917 A1 (Hereinafter Basler) and US Doc ID US 20180138853 A1 (Hereinafter Tseng)
Regarding claim 4, Mochiki fails disclose wherein the at least one control circuit comprises two control circuits, wherein a first one of the two control circuits is to control the at least two first switching elements and a second one of the two control circuits is to control the at least one second switching element.
Tseng teaches wherein the at least one control circuit [e.g. Fig. 2B, element 30] comprises two control circuits [e.g. Fig. 2B, elements 30A & 30B], wherein a first one of the two control circuits is to control the at least two first switching elements and a second one of the two control circuits is to control the at least one second switching element [e.g. Fig. 2B, connection between 30B & 20 along with connection between 10 & 30A; 30A and 30B both control two different sets of switches].
It would be obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Mochiki to further include wherein the at least one control circuit comprises two control circuits, wherein a first one of the two control circuits is to control the at least two first switching elements and a second one of the two control circuits is to control the at least one second switching element as taught by Tseng to improve the efficiency of the converter.
Claims 10 & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Doc ID US 20190288678 A1 (Hereinafter Mochiki) in view of US Doc ID US 20170345917 A1 (Hereinafter Basler) and DE Doc ID DE 102020215370 B4 (Hereinafter Katzmann)
Regarding claim 10, Mochiki fails to disclose wherein to form the hybrid circuit, each phase of the at least two phases are connected to each other via a delta connection of the plurality of second switching elements, wherein the plurality of second switching elements are bidirectionally blocking semiconductor switches.
Katzmann teaches wherein to form the hybrid circuit, each phase of the at least two phases are connected to each other [e.g. Fig. 1, elements P1, P2, & P3] via a delta connection of the plurality of second switching elements [e.g. Fig. 1, element PKS], wherein the plurality of second switching elements are bidirectionally blocking semiconductor switches [e.g. Fig. 1, switches in PKS; switches are back to back so they are bidirectionally blocking semiconductor switches].
It would be obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Mochiki to further include wherein to form the hybrid circuit, each phase of the at least two phases are connected to each other via a delta connection of the plurality of second switching elements, wherein the plurality of second switching elements are bidirectionally blocking semiconductor switches as taught by Katzmann to support current flow and decrease power loss.
Regarding claim 19, Mochiki fails to disclose the motor vehicle according to claim 18, wherein to form the hybrid circuit, each phase of the at least two phases are connected to each other via a delta connection of the plurality of second switching elements, wherein the plurality of second switching elements are bidirectionally blocking semiconductor switches.
Katzmann teaches wherein to form the hybrid circuit, each phase of the at least two phases are connected to each other [e.g. Fig. 1, elements P1, P2, & P3] via a delta connection of the plurality of second switching elements [e.g. Fig. 1, element PKS], wherein the plurality of second switching elements are bidirectionally blocking semiconductor switches [e.g. Fig. 1, switches in PKS; switches are back to back so they are bidirectionally blocking semiconductor switches].
It would be obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Mochiki to further include wherein to form the hybrid circuit, each phase of the at least two phases are connected to each other via a delta connection of the plurality of second switching elements, wherein the plurality of second switching elements are bidirectionally blocking semiconductor switches as taught by Katzmann to support current flow and decrease power loss.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20230226936 A1 - HAGHBIN; Saeid -VEHICLE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM.
US 20200186058 A1- YUKAWA; Junichi et al. - VEHICLE DRIVING APPARATUS
US 20190214931 A1 - MINEGISHI; Shinichiro -MOTOR VEHICLE
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MONICA LEWIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/JARED RAYMOND HAUSMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2838