DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito et al. (JP2005214483A).
Regarding claim 1, Ito discloses a refrigeration system comprising a circulation circuit (see figure 4), the circulation circuit comprising:
a main flow path (the main flow path which associated with the condenser 37 and compressor 40; see figure 4); and
a first branch (55) and a second branch (56) that are connected to the main flow path and are connected in parallel (see figure 4), wherein:
the main flow path (the main flow path which associated with the condenser 37 and compressor 40) is provided with a condenser (37) and a compressor (40), the condenser (37) having an output end (the outlet of the condenser 37) in communication with an end (the inlet) of the first branch (55) and an end (the inlet) of the second branch (56; see figure 4), and the compressor (40) having two suction holes (the two suction holes which associated with outlets of the first and second branches 55 and 56) in communication with another end (the outlet) of the first branch (55) and another end (the outlet) of the second branch (56), respectively (see figure 4); and
the first branch (55) and the second branch (56) are provided with a first evaporator (32) and a second evaporator (27), respectively (see figure 4).
Regarding claim 7, Ito discloses the refrigeration system further comprises at least one diverter valve (the three-way valve 39) disposed at a connection between the first branch (55), the second branch (56), and the main flow path (the main flow path which associated with the condenser 37 and compressor 40; see figure 4).
Regarding claim 8, Ito discloses at least one of the first branch (55) and the second branch (56) is provided with a control valve (34 and 29; see figure 4).
Regarding claim 9, Ito discloses the refrigeration system further comprising two throttling elements (34 and 29) disposed at the first branch (55) and the second branch (56), respectively (see figure 4), one (34) of the two throttling elements (34 and 29) being located between the condenser (37) and the first evaporator (32), and another (29) of the two throttling elements (34 and 29) being located between the condenser (37) and the second evaporator (27; see figure 4).
Regarding claim 10, Ito discloses each of the two throttling elements (34 and 29) is a capillary tube (the first and second capillary tubes 34 and 29; see figure 4) or an expansion valve.
Regarding claim 11, Ito discloses a refrigeration device (1; see figures 3-4) comprising the refrigeration system according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 12, Ito discloses the refrigeration device comprises a refrigerator (1; see figures 3-4).
Regarding claim 1, Ito applied as an alternative discloses a refrigeration system comprising a circulation circuit (see figure 4), the circulation circuit comprising:
a main flow path (the main flow path which associated with the condenser 37 and compressor 40; see figure 4); and
a first branch (56) and a second branch (55) that are connected to the main flow path and are connected in parallel (see figure 4), wherein:
the main flow path (the main flow path which associated with the condenser 37 and compressor 40) is provided with a condenser (37) and a compressor (40), the condenser (37) having an output end (the outlet of the condenser 37) in communication with an end (the inlet) of the first branch (56) and an end (the inlet) of the second branch (55; see figure 4), and the compressor (40) having two suction holes (the two suction holes which associated with outlets of the first and second branches 56 and 55) in communication with another end (the outlet) of the first branch (56) and another end (the outlet) of the second branch (55), respectively (see figure 4); and
the first branch (56) and the second branch (55) are provided with a first evaporator (27) and a second evaporator (32), respectively (see figure 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito in view of Ota et al. (JP2001295756A).
Regarding claim 2, Ito discloses the compressor (40) comprises: a cylinder body (the case 41) having a working chamber (see figure 5), the working chamber having a first suction hole (the first suction hole which associated with a suction pipe 55) at the working chamber (see figure 5) and a second suction hole (the second suction hole which associated with a suction pipe 56) at a side wall of the working chamber (see figure 5), the first suction hole (the first suction hole which associated with a suction pipe 55) and the second suction hole (the second suction hole which associated with a suction pipe 56) being in communication with the first branch (55) and the second branch (56), respectively (see figures 4-5); and a piston assembly (the pistons 46a and 46b) comprising a piston (46a or 46b) movably disposed in the working chamber (see figure 5).
However, Ito fails to disclose the first suction hole at a bottom of the working chamber and the piston having a first dead center at the bottom of the working chamber and a second dead center away from the bottom of the working chamber during an operation stroke of the piston.
Ota teaches a compressor comprising a piston assembly (the pistons 15) comprising a piston (15) movably disposed in the working chamber (see figure 1), the piston (15) having a first dead center (the bottom dead center) at the bottom of the working chamber (see figure 1) and a second dead center (the top dead center) away from the bottom of the working chamber during an operation stroke of the piston (15; paragraph 1 of page 5; see figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the refrigeration system of Ito to incorporate the claimed first and second dead center associated with the piston as taught by Ota in order to improve the stroke displacement of the compressor.
Though Ito fails to disclose the first suction hole at the bottom of the working chamber, Ito discloses the first suction hole is located at the sidewall of the working chamber to supply refrigerant to the working chamber therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention that the claimed bottom location of the first suction hole is just a matter of design choice which can be achieved by rearranging the first suction hole from the sidewall of the working chamber to the bottom of the working chamber to perform the same function which is to supply refrigerant into the working chamber (see MPEP 2144.04 section VI-C).
Regarding claim 4, Ito discloses a suction pressure of the first suction hole (the first suction hole which associated with a suction pipe 55) is less than a suction pressure of the second suction hole (the second suction hole which associated with a suction pipe 56; paragraph 7 of page 7); and
a temperature of the first evaporator (27) is lower than a temperature of the second evaporator (32; paragraphs 2 and 4 of page 4; see figures 3-4).
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito.
Regarding claim 5, Ito discloses a temperature of the second evaporator (27) is T1 (1 to 5 oC; paragraph 2 of page 4), and a temperature of the first evaporator (32) is T2 (-18 to -25oC; paragraph 4 of page 4).
Though Ito fails to disclose where 0≤T1-T2≤25oC Ito discloses the temperature ranges (T1 and T2) for first and second evaporators (32 and 27; paragraphs 2 and 4 of page 4). Since Ito’s disclosure meets general condition of the claimed temperature range for the first and second evaporators, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention that the claimed temperature different (T1-T2) between the first evaporator (32) and the second evaporator (27) is just a matter of obviousness of similar range and the claimed temperature different range can be achieved or optimized through routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05 section II-A).
Regarding claim 6, Ito disclose wherein 1 oC ≤T1≤5 oC and -18 oC ≤T2≤-25 oC (paragraphs 2 and 4 of page 4).
Though Ito fails to disclose -15 oC ≤T1≤0 oC, -30 oC ≤T2≤-15 oC, wherein -15 oC ≤T1≤0 oC, -30 oC ≤T2≤-15 oC, and 10≤T1-T2≤20 oC Ito’s disclosure meets the general condition of the claimed temperature range for first and second evaporators. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention that the claimed temperature range T1, temperature range T2 and the temperature different range (T1-T2) between the first evaporator and the second evaporator are just a matter of obviousness of similar range and the claimed temperature different range can be achieved or optimized through routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05 section II-A).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito in view of Ota.
Regarding claim 2, Ito applied as an alternative discloses the compressor (40) comprises: a cylinder body (the case 41) having a working chamber (see figure 5), the working chamber having a first suction hole (the first suction hole which associated with a suction pipe 56) at the working chamber (see figure 5) and a second suction hole (the second suction hole which associated with a suction pipe 55) at a side wall of the working chamber (see figure 5), the first suction hole (the first suction hole which associated with a suction pipe 56) and the second suction hole (the second suction hole which associated with a suction pipe 55) being in communication with the first branch (56) and the second branch (55), respectively (see figures 4-5); and a piston assembly (the pistons 46a and 46b) comprising a piston (46a or 46b) movably disposed in the working chamber (see figure 5).
However, Ito fails to disclose the first suction hole at a bottom of the working chamber and the piston having a first dead center at the bottom of the working chamber and a second dead center away from the bottom of the working chamber during an operation stroke of the piston.
Ota teaches a compressor comprising a piston assembly (the pistons 15) comprising a piston (15) movably disposed in the working chamber (see figure 1), the piston (15) having a first dead center (the bottom dead center) at the bottom of the working chamber (see figure 1) and a second dead center (the top dead center) away from the bottom of the working chamber during an operation stroke of the piston (15; paragraph 1 of page 5; see figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the refrigeration system of Ito to incorporate the claimed first and second dead center associated with the piston as taught by Ota in order to improve the stroke displacement of the compressor.
Though Ito fails to disclose the first suction hole at the bottom of the working chamber, Ito discloses the first suction hole is located at the lower portion of the working chamber to supply refrigerant to the lower portion of the working chamber therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention that the claimed bottom location of the first suction hole is just a matter of design choice which can be achieved by rearranging the first suction hole from the lower sidewall portion of the working chamber to the bottom of the working chamber to perform the same function which is to supply refrigerant into the lower portion of the working chamber (see MPEP 2144.04 section VI-C).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reference Ito taken alone or in combination fails to disclose the claimed feature that “a distance between the second suction hole and the first dead center is L, and a second distance between the dead center and the second dead center is S, where 0.5S<L” of the refrigeration system as required in claim 3. Also, the prior art of record fails to provide further teachings or motivations to modify the refrigeration system of Ito in order to arrive the claim invention. Therefore, claim 3 is currently in allowable condition.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KUN KAI MA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763