DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s Application filed on August 16, 2024 has been reviewed.
Claims 9 and 10 are newly added in the amendment.
Claims 1-8 are amended in the amendment.
Claims 1-10 have been examined.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in Application No. JAPAN 2023-138077, filed on August 28, 2023.
The effective priority date for the subject matter in the pending claims in this application is August 28, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on February 13, 2026 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Go et al. (US 2024/0187503 A1), hereinafter referred to as Go.
With respect to claim 1, Go teaches A service proxy device (the gateway device 101B, para. 0097; fig. 2) comprising
a first communicator configured to be connected to a client (the gateway device 101A is a client of a service X to be provided in the vehicle 1, para. 0074; the vehicle-mounted device to which a service is provided is also referred to as a “client”, para. 0071) via a first communication (the gateway device 101B is not limited to a configuration in which three communication ports 24 are provided, para. 0080; The communication port 24 is a terminal to which the cable 14 can be connected to a vehicle-mounted device of the vehicle 1; communication port 24A is connected to the gateway device 101A, via the cables 14, para. 0081),
a second communicator configured to be connected to a server (the vehicle-mounted ECU 111B is a server of the service X, para. 0075) via a second communication (the vehicle-mounted ECUs 111A and 111B are connected to the gateway device 101B, para. 0072; the gateway device 101B is not limited to a configuration in which three communication ports 24 are provided, para. 0080; The communication port 24 is a terminal to which the cable 14 can be connected to a vehicle-mounted device of the vehicle 1; three communication ports 24B and 24C, are respectively connected to the vehicle-mounted ECU 111A, and the vehicle-mounted ECU 111B via the cables 14, para. 0081),
a database (The storage unit 23 is a nonvolatile memory, para. 0079), and
a controller (The conversion processing unit 21 and the relay unit 22 are realized by a processor such as a CPU (Central Processing Unit) or a DSP (Digital Signal Processor, para. 0079), wherein
the database (The storage unit 23 is a nonvolatile memory, para. 0079) is configured to
store a map table that associates functions with services and identifies, for each function from among the functions at least one server having the function and, for each service from among the services, at least one client requesting the service (the relay rule table Ta1 includes, for each communication port 24 of the gateway device 101B, a set of Transmission source, Transmission destination, Communication protocol in the TCP/IP layer, and Type of service of communication data to be received, and Content of control to be performed on the communication data, para. 0084; fig. 3 and 5),
the controller (The conversion processing unit 21 and the relay unit 22 are realized by a processor such as a CPU (Central Processing Unit) or a DSP (Digital Signal Processor, para. 0079) is configured to
receive, via the first communicator, a service execution instruction requesting execution of one service, from among the services, from the client (the gateway device 101B receives the request data transmitted from the gateway device 101A, para. 0175; fig. 9; the gateway device 101B transmits the request data conforming to the converted communication protocol P2 to the vehicle-mounted ECU 111B, para. 0177),
receive, via the second communicator, an execution result of one function, from among the functions, associated with the service from the server (the vehicle-mounted ECU 111B transmits communication data (hereinafter, also referred to as “response data”) including a response message of responding to the request data for the service X to the gateway device 101A (step S53), continuously using the communication protocol P2, para. 0179), and
transmit, via the first communicator, the execution result of one function associated with one service based on the service execution instruction and the map table, to the client (the gateway device 101B transmits the response data conforming to the converted communication protocol P1 to the gateway device 101A (step S56); as a result of the operations in, the service X is realized in the vehicle-mounted communication system, para. 0181).
With respect to claim 2, Go teaches The service proxy device according to claim 1, wherein
the database is further configured to
store a server management table (the vehicle-mounted ECU 111B has multicast provision data for the service X conforming to the communication protocol P1 after the update of the relay rule table Ta1, the relay unit 22 receives the provision data via the communication port 24C, and checks the rule to be applied to the provision data, para. 0113; also see para. 0119) that identifies whether the function is available or not in association with the server (the conversion processing unit 21 perform processing of displaying, messages meaning that the service X corresponding to the conversion processing of the communication protocol is not available and that the service X is available if you switch the driving state of the vehicle 1 from automated driving to manual driving, para. 0132),
the controller is further configured to
transmit, via the second communicator, a function check instruction to the server to check whether the function is available (the vehicle-mounted ECU 111B has multicast provision data for the service X conforming to the communication protocol P1 after the update of the relay rule table Ta1, the relay unit 22 receives the provision data via the communication port 24C, and checks the rule to be applied to the provision data, para. 0113; also see para. 0119),
receive, via the second communicator, an answer data transmitted from the server based on the function check instruction (the vehicle-mounted ECU 111B has multicast provision data for the service X conforming to the communication protocol P1 after the update of the relay rule table Ta1, the relay unit 22 receives the provision data via the communication port 24C, and checks the rule to be applied to the provision data, para. 0113; also see para. 0119), and
update the server management table based on the answer data (the conversion processing unit 21 changes the content of the rule 32 to content that the communication data for use in the service X received from the vehicle-mounted ECU 111B via the communication port 24C is to be permitted to pass and relay processing be performed, and updates the relay rule table Ta1, para. 0110; also see para. 0119).
With respect to claim 3, Go teaches The service proxy device according to claim 2, wherein
the controller is further configured to
determine whether the one function associated with the one service related to the service execution instruction is available based on the server management table (the vehicle-mounted ECU 111B multicasts again the provision data for the service X in accordance with the communication protocol P1. In this case, the gateway device 101B permits passage of the provision data and relays the provision data to the gateway device 101A, in accordance with the rule registered in the updated relay rule table Ta1 (step S80), communication connection between the server and the client of the service X is established in the vehicle-mounted communication system, para. 0191), and
transmit the execution result to the client in a case of determining that the one function is available (the vehicle-mounted ECU 111B multicasts again the provision data for the service X in accordance with the communication protocol P1. In this case, the gateway device 101B permits passage of the provision data and relays the provision data to the gateway device 101A, in accordance with the rule registered in the updated relay rule table Ta1 (step S80), communication connection between the server and the client of the service X is established in the vehicle-mounted communication system, para. 0191).
With respect to claim 4, Go teaches The service proxy device according to claim 2, wherein
the controller is further configured to
receive the execution result from the server(The gateway device 101B receives the provision data newly transmitted from the vehicle-mounted ECU 111B in accordance with the common protocol, checks the application rule of the provision data, and performs the above-described protocol determination, the gateway device 101B determines that the communication protocols of the gateway device 101A and the vehicle-mounted ECU 111B that are to communicate with each other match each other; the operation described in “(a) When Communication Protocols Match Each Other” is performed, and the relay rule table Ta1 is updated, para. 0119), and
update the server management table by associating the one function with the execution result (The gateway device 101B receives the provision data newly transmitted from the vehicle-mounted ECU 111B in accordance with the common protocol, checks the application rule of the provision data, and performs the above-described protocol determination, the gateway device 101B determines that the communication protocols of the gateway device 101A and the vehicle-mounted ECU 111B that are to communicate with each other match each other; the operation described in “(a) When Communication Protocols Match Each Other” is performed, and the relay rule table Ta1 is updated, para. 0119).
With respect to claim 5, Go teaches The service proxy device according to claim 1, wherein
the controller is further configured to
transmit a function execution instruction to the server that has the one function, the function execution instruction requesting execution of the one function associated with the service related to the one service execution instruction (Upon receiving the notification of the common protocol from the gateway device 101B, the vehicle-mounted ECU 111B determines whether or not it is possible to switch to the common protocol, and notifies the gateway device 101B of the determination result. If it is possible to switch to the common protocol, the vehicle-mounted ECU 111B switches to the common protocol, and transmits the provision data in accordance therewith, para. 0118), and
receive, from the server, the execution result based on the function execution instruction (Upon receiving the notification of the common protocol from the gateway device 101B, the vehicle-mounted ECU 111B determines whether or not it is possible to switch to the common protocol, and notifies the gateway device 101B of the determination result. If it is possible to switch to the common protocol, the vehicle-mounted ECU 111B switches to the common protocol, and transmits the provision data in accordance therewith, para. 0118).
With respect to claim 6, Go teaches The service proxy device according to claim 1, wherein
the database is further configured to
store a client management table that identifies the one service requested by the client in association with the client (the gateway device 101A has multicast search data for the service X conforming to the communication protocol P1 after the update of the relay rule table Ta1. In this case, the relay unit 22 receives the search data via the communication port 24A, and checks the rule to be applied to the search data, para. 0111),
the controller is further configured to
receive a service check instruction for checking presence or absence of the one service from the client via the first communicator (the gateway device 101A has multicast search data for the service X conforming to the communication protocol P1 after the update of the relay rule table Ta1. In this case, the relay unit 22 receives the search data via the communication port 24A, and checks the rule to be applied to the search data, para. 0111),
determine whether the one function corresponding to the one service exists based on the service check instruction and the map table (the gateway device 101A has multicast search data for the service X conforming to the communication protocol P1 after the update of the relay rule table Ta1. In this case, the relay unit 22 receives the search data via the communication port 24A, and checks the rule to be applied to the search data, para. 0111), and
update the client management table and the map table based on the service check instruction in a case where the one function corresponding to the one service exists (the conversion processing unit 21 changes the content of the rule 12 to content that the communication data for use in the service X received from the gateway device 101A via the communication port 24A is to be permitted to pass and relay processing be performed, and updates the relay rule table Ta1, para. 0109).
With respect to claim 7, Go teaches A service providing system comprising
a client (the gateway device 101A is a client of a service X to be provided in the vehicle 1, para. 0074),
a server (the vehicle-mounted ECU 111B is a server of the service X, para. 0075), and
a service proxy device (the gateway device 101B, para. 0097; fig. 2), wherein
the service proxy device (the gateway device 101B, para. 0097; fig. 2) includes
a first communicator configured to be connected to the client (the gateway device 101A is a client of a service X to be provided in the vehicle 1, para. 0074; the vehicle-mounted device to which a service is provided is also referred to as a “client”, para. 0071) via a first communication (the gateway device 101B is not limited to a configuration in which three communication ports 24 are provided, para. 0080; The communication port 24 is a terminal to which the cable 14 can be connected to a vehicle-mounted device of the vehicle 1; communication port 24A is connected to the gateway device 101A, via the cables 14, para. 0081),
a second communicator configured to be connected to the server (the vehicle-mounted ECU 111B is a server of the service X, para. 0075) via a second communication (the vehicle-mounted ECUs 111A and 111B are connected to the gateway device 101B, para. 0072; the gateway device 101B is not limited to a configuration in which three communication ports 24 are provided, para. 0080; The communication port 24 is a terminal to which the cable 14 can be connected to a vehicle-mounted device of the vehicle 1; three communication ports 24B and 24C, are respectively connected to the vehicle-mounted ECU 111A, and the vehicle-mounted ECU 111B via the cables 14, para. 0081),
a database (The storage unit 23 is a nonvolatile memory, para. 0079), and
a controller (The conversion processing unit 21 and the relay unit 22 are realized by a processor such as a CPU (Central Processing Unit) or a DSP (Digital Signal Processor, para. 0079), wherein
the database (The storage unit 23 is a nonvolatile memory, para. 0079) is configured to
store a map table that associates functions with services and identifies, for each function from among the functions, at least one server having the function and, for each service from among the services, at least one client requesting the service (the relay rule table Ta1 includes, for each communication port 24 of the gateway device 101B, a set of Transmission source, Transmission destination, Communication protocol in the TCP/IP layer, and Type of service of communication data to be received, and Content of control to be performed on the communication data, para. 0084; fig. 3 and 5),
the controller (The conversion processing unit 21 and the relay unit 22 are realized by a processor such as a CPU (Central Processing Unit) or a DSP (Digital Signal Processor, para. 0079) is configured to
receive, via the first communicator, a service execution instruction requesting execution of one service, from among the services, from the client (the gateway device 101B receives the request data transmitted from the gateway device 101A, para. 0175; fig. 9; the gateway device 101B transmits the request data conforming to the converted communication protocol P2 to the vehicle-mounted ECU 111B, para. 0177),
receive, via the second communicator, an execution result of one function, from among the functions, associated with the one service from the server (the vehicle-mounted ECU 111B transmits communication data (hereinafter, also referred to as “response data”) including a response message of responding to the request data for the service X to the gateway device 101A (step S53), continuously using the communication protocol P2, para. 0179), and
transmit, via the first communicator, the execution result of the one function associated with the one service based on the service execution instruction and the map table, to the client (the gateway device 101B transmits the response data conforming to the converted communication protocol P1 to the gateway device 101A (step S56); as a result of the operations in, the service X is realized in the vehicle-mounted communication system, para. 0181).
With respect to claim 8, Go teaches A service proxy method for a service proxy device (the gateway device 101B, para. 0097; fig. 2) including a first communicator connected to a client (the gateway device 101A is a client of a service X to be provided in the vehicle 1, para. 0074; the vehicle-mounted device to which a service is provided is also referred to as a “client”, para. 0071) via a first communication (the gateway device 101B is not limited to a configuration in which three communication ports 24 are provided, para. 0080; The communication port 24 is a terminal to which the cable 14 can be connected to a vehicle-mounted device of the vehicle 1; communication port 24A is connected to the gateway device 101A, via the cables 14, para. 0081), a second communicator connected to a server (the vehicle-mounted ECU 111B is a server of the service X, para. 0075) via a second communication (the vehicle-mounted ECUs 111A and 111B are connected to the gateway device 101B, para. 0072; the gateway device 101B is not limited to a configuration in which three communication ports 24 are provided, para. 0080; The communication port 24 is a terminal to which the cable 14 can be connected to a vehicle-mounted device of the vehicle 1; three communication ports 24B and 24C, are respectively connected to the vehicle-mounted ECU 111A, and the vehicle-mounted ECU 111B via the cables 14, para. 0081), a database (The storage unit 23 is a nonvolatile memory, para. 0079), and a controller (The conversion processing unit 21 and the relay unit 22 are realized by a processor such as a CPU (Central Processing Unit) or a DSP (Digital Signal Processor, para. 0079),
the service proxy method comprising,
by using the database (The storage unit 23 is a nonvolatile memory, para. 0079),
storing a map table that associates functions with services and identifies, for each function from among the functions, at least one server having the function and, for each service from among the services, at least one client requesting the service (the relay rule table Ta1 includes, for each communication port 24 of the gateway device 101B, a set of Transmission source, Transmission destination, Communication protocol in the TCP/IP layer, and Type of service of communication data to be received, and Content of control to be performed on the communication data, para. 0084; fig. 3 and 5),
by using the controller (The conversion processing unit 21 and the relay unit 22 are realized by a processor such as a CPU (Central Processing Unit) or a DSP (Digital Signal Processor, para. 0079),
receiving, via the first communicator, a service execution instruction requesting execution of the one service, from among the services, from the client (the gateway device 101B receives the request data transmitted from the gateway device 101A, para. 0175; fig. 9; the gateway device 101B transmits the request data conforming to the converted communication protocol P2 to the vehicle-mounted ECU 111B, para. 0177),
receiving, via the second communicator, an execution result of one function, from among the functions, associated with one service from the server (the vehicle-mounted ECU 111B transmits communication data (hereinafter, also referred to as “response data”) including a response message of responding to the request data for the service X to the gateway device 101A (step S53), continuously using the communication protocol P2, para. 0179), and
transmitting, via the first communicator, the execution result of the one function associated with the one service based on the service execution instruction and the map table, to the client (the gateway device 101B transmits the response data conforming to the converted communication protocol P1 to the gateway device 101A (step S56); as a result of the operations in, the service X is realized in the vehicle-mounted communication system, para. 0181).
With respect to claim 9, Go teaches The service proxy device according to claim 1, wherein
the database is further configured to
store a server management table that identifies whether the one function is available or not in association with the server ((the vehicle-mounted ECU 111B has multicast provision data for the service X conforming to the communication protocol P1 after the update of the relay rule table Ta1, the relay unit 22 receives the provision data via the communication port 24C, and checks the rule to be applied to the provision data, para. 0113; also see para. 0119)) that identifies whether the function is available or not in association with the server (the conversion processing unit 21 perform processing of displaying, messages meaning that the service X corresponding to the conversion processing of the communication protocol is not available and that the service X is available if you switch the driving state of the vehicle 1 from automated driving to manual driving, para. 0132), and
store a client management table that identifies the one service requested by the client in association with the client (the conversion processing unit 21 changes the content of the rule 12 to content that the communication data for use in the service X received from the gateway device 101A via the communication port 24A is to be permitted to pass and relay processing be performed, and updates the relay rule table Ta1, para. 0109).
With respect to claim 10, Go teaches The service proxy device according to claim 10, wherein
the controller is further configured to
transmit, via the second communicator, a function check instruction to the server to check whether the one function is available (the vehicle-mounted ECU 111B has multicast provision data for the service X conforming to the communication protocol P1 after the update of the relay rule table Ta1, the relay unit 22 receives the provision data via the communication port 24C, and checks the rule to be applied to the provision data, para. 0113; also see para. 0119),
receive, via the second communicator, an answer data transmitted from the server based on the function check instruction (the vehicle-mounted ECU 111B has multicast provision data for the service X conforming to the communication protocol P1 after the update of the relay rule table Ta1, the relay unit 22 receives the provision data via the communication port 24C, and checks the rule to be applied to the provision data, para. 0113; also see para. 0119), and
update the server management table based on the answer data (the conversion processing unit 21 changes the content of the rule 32 to content that the communication data for use in the service X received from the vehicle-mounted ECU 111B via the communication port 24C is to be permitted to pass and relay processing be performed, and updates the relay rule table Ta1, para. 0110; also see para. 0119),
receive, via the first communicator, a service check instruction for checking presence or absence of the one service from the client via the first communicator (the gateway device 101A has multicast search data for the service X conforming to the communication protocol P1 after the update of the relay rule table Ta1. In this case, the relay unit 22 receives the search data via the communication port 24A, and checks the rule to be applied to the search data, para. 0111),
determine whether the one function corresponding to the one service exists based on the service check instruction and the map table (the gateway device 101A has multicast search data for the service X conforming to the communication protocol P1 after the update of the relay rule table Ta1. In this case, the relay unit 22 receives the search data via the communication port 24A, and checks the rule to be applied to the search data, para. 0111), and
update the client management table and the map table based on the service check instruction in a case where the one function corresponding to the one service exists (the conversion processing unit 21 changes the content of the rule 12 to content that the communication data for use in the service X received from the gateway device 101A via the communication port 24A is to be permitted to pass and relay processing be performed, and updates the relay rule table Ta1, para. 0109).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.H.N/Examiner, Art Unit 2447
March 19, 2026
/JOON H HWANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2447