DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 are pending in Instant Application.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of PCT/CN2022/076900 filed 02/18/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 08/16/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8-12, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schloss et al. (USPGPub 2018/0135325). As per claim 1, Schloss discloses a method for return control of a swimming pool cleaning robot, comprising: in response to a trigger of a return instruction (see at least paragraph 0057; wherein the robotic pool cleaner may be configured to directly return (e.g., along the shortest route, e.g., a straight line in a pool where all walls are either flat or convex) to the reference point upon generation of a command to do so), acquiring a current position of the swimming pool cleaning robot (see at least paragraph 0056; wherein the robotic pool cleaner may be configured to continually monitor a displacement from the reference point) in a map for a swimming pool (see at least paragraph 0117; wherein monitoring the orientation of robotic pool cleaner 10 relative to a mapped shape of curved pool 60 (e.g., mapped while monitoring the location of robotic pool cleaner 10, and thus of the map, relative to reference point 55)); generating a return path according to a reachable block in the map for the swimming pool, a predetermined return position and the current position (see at least paragraph 0118; wherein an operator of robotic pool cleaner 10 may operate a control to issue a command to return to reference point 55. Controller 31 may then operate robotic pool cleaner 10 to travel along return path 59 to return to reference point 55 from path end point 57d); and controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to return from the current position to the predetermined return position on the basis of the return path (see at least paragraph 0118; wherein an operator of robotic pool cleaner 10 may operate a control to issue a command to return to reference point 55. Controller 31 may then operate robotic pool cleaner 10 to travel along return path 59 to return to reference point 55 from path end point 57d). As per claims 2 and 11, Schloss discloses further comprising: determining the predetermined return position according to one of an initial position of the swimming pool cleaning robot (see at least paragraph 0106; wherein at one point during travel of robotic pool cleaner 10 in pool 53, the current location of robotic pool cleaner 10 may be designated as reference point 55), a position of a charging post for the swimming pool cleaning robot and a designated position in the swimming pool. As per claims 3 and 12, Schloss discloses wherein the initial position of the swimming pool cleaning robot is determined by: determining the initial position of the swimming pool cleaning robot according to a position at a bottom of the swimming pool to which the swimming pool cleaning robot freely sinks; or controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to move, in response to a move instruction, to the designated position relative to the bottom of the swimming pool, and determining the designated position as the initial position of the swimming pool cleaning robot (see at least paragraph 0118 and Figure 3C; wherein an operator of robotic pool cleaner 10 may operate a control to issue a command to return to reference point 55. Controller 31 may then operate robotic pool cleaner 10 to travel along return path 59 to return to reference point 55 from path end point 57d). As per claims 8 and 17, Schloss discloses wherein the trigger of the return instruction comprises a system automatic trigger in response to fulfillment of a predetermined rule, or a manual trigger in response to a man-machine interactive input (see at least paragraph 0121; wherein when a time period for operation within a pool 53 has elapsed, controller 31 may be configured to automatically operate robotic pool cleaner 10 to return to reference point 55. As another example, an operator of robotic pool cleaner 10 may operate a control to issue a command to return to reference point 55).
As per claims 9 and 18, Schloss discloses wherein the system automatic trigger in response to fulfillment of the predetermined rule comprises at least one of: a system automatic trigger in response to detecting that the swimming pool cleaning robot completes a predetermined task (see at least paragraph 0121; wherein when a time period for operation within a pool 53 has elapsed, controller 31 may be configured to automatically operate robotic pool cleaner 10 to return to reference point 55. As another example, an operator of robotic pool cleaner 10 may operate a control to issue a command to return to reference point 55), a system automatic trigger in response to detecting that a current power amount of the swimming pool cleaning robot is lower than a predetermined power amount threshold, a system automatic trigger in response to detecting that a clogging degree of a filter basket of the swimming pool cleaning robot satisfies a predetermined clogging condition, a system automatic trigger in response to detecting that the swimming pool cleaning robot encounters a fault, and a system automatic trigger in response to detecting that a running duration of the swimming pool cleaning robot satisfies a predetermined duration.
As per claim 10, Schloss discloses an electronic device, comprising: a processor (see at least Figure 1B; item 32); and a memory storing a program (see at least Figure 1B; item 34), wherein the program comprises one or more instructions, and the processor, when executing the one or more instructions (see at least paragraph 0073; wherein data storage 34 may be utilized, for example, to store programmed instructions for operation of processor 32, data or parameters for utilization by processor 32), is caused to perform operations of: in response to a trigger of a return instruction (see at least paragraph 0057; wherein the robotic pool cleaner may be configured to directly return (e.g., along the shortest route, e.g., a straight line in a pool where all walls are either flat or convex) to the reference point upon generation of a command to do so), acquiring a current position of the swimming pool cleaning robot (see at least paragraph 0056; wherein the robotic pool cleaner may be configured to continually monitor a displacement from the reference point) in a map for a swimming pool; generating a return path according to a reachable block in the map for the swimming pool, a predetermined return position and the current position (see at least paragraph 0118; wherein an operator of robotic pool cleaner 10 may operate a control to issue a command to return to reference point 55. Controller 31 may then operate robotic pool cleaner 10 to travel along return path 59 to return to reference point 55 from path end point 57d); and controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to return from the current position to the predetermined return position on the basis of the return path (see at least paragraph 0118; wherein an operator of robotic pool cleaner 10 may operate a control to issue a command to return to reference point 55. Controller 31 may then operate robotic pool cleaner 10 to travel along return path 59 to return to reference point 55 from path end point 57d).
As per claim 19, Schloss discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more computer instructions, wherein the one or more computer instructions, when executed by a computer (see at least paragraph 0073; wherein data storage 34 may be utilized, for example, to store programmed instructions for operation of processor 32, data or parameters for utilization by processor 32), cause the computer to perform operations of: in response to a trigger of a return instruction (see at least paragraph 0057; wherein the robotic pool cleaner may be configured to directly return (e.g., along the shortest route, e.g., a straight line in a pool where all walls are either flat or convex) to the reference point upon generation of a command to do so), acquiring a current position of the swimming pool cleaning robot (see at least paragraph 0056; wherein the robotic pool cleaner may be configured to continually monitor a displacement from the reference point) in a map for a swimming pool; generating a return path according to a reachable block in the map for the swimming pool, a predetermined return position and the current position (see at least paragraph 0118; wherein an operator of robotic pool cleaner 10 may operate a control to issue a command to return to reference point 55. Controller 31 may then operate robotic pool cleaner 10 to travel along return path 59 to return to reference point 55 from path end point 57d); and controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to return from the current position to the predetermined return position on the basis of the return path (see at least paragraph 0118; wherein an operator of robotic pool cleaner 10 may operate a control to issue a command to return to reference point 55. Controller 31 may then operate robotic pool cleaner 10 to travel along return path 59 to return to reference point 55 from path end point 57d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Schloss et al. (USPGPub 2018/0135325) in view of Sun et al. (USPGPub 2025/0000320).
As per claims 4 and 13, Schloss discloses map for the swimming pool; work area of the swimming pool; and swimming pool cleaning robot (see above citations). Schloss does not explicitly mention determining a central position of the map for according to the initial position; generating, according to the central position, the map covering a work area and comprising a plurality of grid blocks; controlling the cleaning robot to move relative to the map in the work area; and determining each grid block reachable by the cleaning robot in the map as the reachable block.
However Sun does disclose: determining a central position of the map for according to the initial position (see at least paragraph 0041; wherein a central area grid associated with the cleaning robot is determined in real time); generating, according to the central position, the map covering a work area and comprising a plurality of grid blocks (see at least paragraph 0038; wherein the grid map is constructed by the cleaning robot with respect to a target area); controlling the cleaning robot to move relative to the map in the work area (see at least paragraph 0045; wherein the cleaning robot is controlled to exit an edge cleaning state in response to determining a repeated section of edge cleaning of the cleaning robot based on the edge cleaning trajectory and the central area grid); and determining each grid block reachable by the cleaning robot in the map as the reachable block (see at least paragraph 0040; wherein each grid in the grid map described above may be represented by a unique identifier. For example, some identifiers indicate the presence of obstacles at these grids, and other identifiers indicate that the cleaning robot passes these grids along the edges). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Sun with the teachings as in Schloss. The motivation for doing so would have been to avoid repeated edge cleaning and improving the cleaning efficiency, see Sun abstract.
Claims 5-6 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Schloss et al. (USPGPub 2018/0135325), in view of Sun et al. (USPGPub 2025/0000320), and further in view of Wu (USPGPub 2024/0041291). As per claims 5 and 14, Schloss and Sun do not explicitly mention wherein the generating the return path according to the reachable block in the map for the swimming pool, the predetermined return position and the current position, and the controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to return from the current position to the predetermined return position on the basis of the return path comprise: determining, according to the predetermined return position, the grid block corresponding to the predetermined return position in the map for the swimming pool as a return block; determining, according to the current position of the swimming pool cleaning robot, the grid block corresponding to the current position in the map for the swimming pool as a current block; generating, according to each reachable block in the map for the swimming pool, the return block and the current block, the return path for moving from the current block to the return block; and controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to move, on the basis of the return path, from the current block to the return block through at least one reachable block in the map for the swimming pool. However Wu does disclose: wherein the generating the return path according to the reachable block in the map for the swimming pool, the predetermined return position and the current position, and the controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to return from the current position to the predetermined return position on the basis of the return path comprise: determining, according to the predetermined return position, the grid block corresponding to the predetermined return position in the map for the swimming pool as a return block (see at least paragraph 0063; wherein the cleaning robot may start from the charging base, and after cleaning a sub-zone each time, may return to the charging base for recharging regardless of the amount of the remaining electric power); determining, according to the current position of the swimming pool cleaning robot, the grid block corresponding to the current position in the map for the swimming pool as a current block (see at least paragraph 0063; wherein after cleaning the next sub-zone, the cleaning robot may return to the charging base for recharging regardless of the amount of the remaining electric power); generating, according to each reachable block in the map for the swimming pool, the return block and the current block, the return path for moving from the current block to the return block (see at least paragraph 0065; wherein the cleaning robot may clean a third sub-zone that includes rooms A and B. After cleaning the third sub-zone that includes rooms A and B, the cleaning robot may return to the charging base for recharging. After recharging is completed, the cleaning robot may start from the charging base, and travel to the fourth sub-zone that includes rooms C, G, and E, and may clean the fourth sub-zone. After the fourth sub-zone that includes rooms C, G, and E is cleaned, the cleaning robot may return to the charging base for recharging); and controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to move, on the basis of the return path, from the current block to the return block through at least one reachable block in the map for the swimming pool (see at least paragraph 0065; wherein the cleaning robot may clean a third sub-zone that includes rooms A and B. After cleaning the third sub-zone that includes rooms A and B, the cleaning robot may return to the charging base for recharging. After recharging is completed, the cleaning robot may start from the charging base, and travel to the fourth sub-zone that includes rooms C, G, and E, and may clean the fourth sub-zone. After the fourth sub-zone that includes rooms C, G, and E is cleaned, the cleaning robot may return to the charging base for recharging). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Wu with the teachings as in Schloss and Sun. The motivation for doing so would have been to complete a sub-zone to be cleaned before the electric power is exhausted, thereby improving the user experience, see Wu paragraph 0067.
As per claims 6 and 15, Schloss discloses wherein the generating, according to each reachable block in the map for the swimming pool, the return block and the current block, the return path for moving from the current block to the return block comprises: generating, according to each reachable block in the map for the swimming pool, the return block and the current block, a shortest movement path between the current block and the return block as the return path by using a predetermined path-finding algorithm (see at least paragraph 0057; wherein he robotic pool cleaner may be configured to directly return (e.g., along the shortest route, e.g., a straight line in a pool where all walls are either flat or convex) to the reference point upon generation of a command to do so).
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Schloss et al. (USPGPub 2018/0135325), in view of Sun et al. (USPGPub 2025/0000320), in view of Wu (USPGPub 2024/0041291), and further in view of Hong et al. (USPGPub 2023/0061444).
As per claims 7 and 16, Schloss, Sun, and Wu do not explicitly mention wherein the predetermined path-finding algorithm comprises an A-STAR algorithm. However Hong does disclose: wherein the predetermined path-finding algorithm comprises an A-STAR algorithm (see at least paragraph 0085; wherein the processor 120 may detect the first unsearched area by using an A-star (A*) algorithm that searches for the shortest path to move from a starting node to a target node). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Hong with the teachings as in Schloss and Sun. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve user convenience, see Hong paragraph 0186.
Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: USPGPub 2024/0309664 – Provides a pool cleaning robot that includes a ballast tank for controlling a buoyancy of the submarine pool cleaner; at least one cleaning element for cleaning debris from an underwater surface of a pool while the pool cleaning robot hovers over the underwater surface; a propulsion module that is configured to propel the submersible pool cleaner, and a steering module that comprises a rudder and diving planes. USPGPub 2021/0317675 – Provide a pool cleaning system that may include a floating inductive charger whereby the pool cleaning robot can autonomously and automatically attach itself to the said charger in order to charge its on-board batteries and disengage from the said charger to continue cleaning the pool.
Conclusion
/MAHMOUD S ISMAIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662