DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I(Claims 1-18) and Species E (FIG.5) in the reply filed on 06/29/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/29/2026.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 19552570 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they commonly claim a smart cat scratcher (claim 1, ln 1) comprising a scratching surface (claim 1, ln 2); one or more sensors (claim 1, ln 3-4); and a scratcher controller (claim 1, ln 6-12).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6,10,11,15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brackett et al. herein Brackett (US 20210282368 A1).
Regarding claim 1:
Brackett discloses:
A smart cat scratcher, comprising: (abstract and figs)
a scratching surface; (110, fig 1, 2A-2D,para0043)
one or more sensors configured to: (106, fig 1, 2B, para0043)
detect a scratching activity by a cat upon the scratching surface; (para0043,0045)
and detect one or more characteristics associated with the scratching activity by the cat; (para0053)
a scratcher controller configured to: (104, fig 1)
determine, based on the one or more characteristics associated with the scratching activity by the cat, whether to dispense one or more rewards; (para0053)
and send one or more signals to a reward dispenser in response to a determination to dispense one or more rewards; (para0053,0043)
the reward dispenser configured to dispense the one or more rewards in response to receiving the one or more signals from the scratcher controller. (para0043+0045)
Regarding claim 2:
Brackett discloses claim 1 and further discloses:
wherein the one or more sensors include a pressure-sensitive sensor configured to detect a pressure associated with the scratching activity by the cat upon the scratching surface, wherein detecting the scratching activity is based on the pressure associated with the scratching activity by the cat upon the scratching surface. (para0017+0022)
Regarding claim 3:
Brackett discloses claim 1 and further discloses:
wherein the one or more characteristics associated with the scratching activity includes one or more of an intensity of the scratching activity, a duration of the scratching activity, and a pattern of the scratching activity. (para0017+0059)
Regarding claim 4:
Brackett discloses claim 3 and further discloses:
wherein the scratcher controller is further configured to determine a quality level of the scratching activity based, at least in part, on the one or more characteristics associated with the scratching activity. (para0022,0059, fig 4)
Regarding claim 5:
Brackett discloses claim 4 and further discloses:
wherein the configuration of the scratcher controller to determine whether to dispense the one or more rewards is based on the quality level of the scratching activity exceeding a predetermined quality threshold, wherein the scratcher controller is configured to determine to dispense the one or more rewards when the quality level of the scratching activity exceeds the predetermined quality threshold. (Fig 4, para0059)
Regarding claim 6:
Brackett discloses claim 1 and further discloses:
wherein the configuration of the scratcher controller to determine whether to dispense the one or more rewards includes configuration to determine whether to dispense the one or more rewards based on a reward protocol including: a maintenance protocol configured to generate and manage a partial reinforcement schedule in which rewards are dispensed intermittently based on the detected scratching activity to maintain the cat's established scratching behavior; (Fig 4, para0054-0060)
and a training protocol configured to train the cat's scratching behavior to guide the cat's scratching activities towards the scratching surface of the smart cat scratcher and away from other objects. (Fig 5, para0061-0067)
Regarding claim 10:
Brackett discloses claim 6 and further discloses:
wherein the scratcher controller is configured to analyze the one or more characteristics associated with the scratching activity to assess the cat's engagement with the scratching surface and to adjust one or more of the training protocol and the maintenance protocol dynamically. (Figs 4-5, para0054-0067)
Regarding claim 11:
Brackett discloses claim 10 and further discloses:
wherein the scratcher controller is configured to adjust a reward schedule of the reward protocol based on the cat's scratching activity, increasing or decreasing the frequency of rewards to optimize reward protocol's effectiveness. (para0067)
Regarding claim 15:
Brackett discloses:
A method of manufacturing a smart cat scratcher, comprising: (abstract and figs)
disposing a scratching surface configured to withstand scratching activity by a cat; (110, fig 1, 2A-2D,para0043)
coupling one or more sensors to the scratching surface, (106, fig 1, 2B, para0043)
wherein the one or more sensors are configured to detect the scratching activity by the cat upon the scratching surface (para0043,0045)
and to detect one or more characteristics associated with the scratching activity by the cat; (para0053)
including a scratcher controller, (104, fig 1)
wherein the scratcher controller is configured to determine, based on the one or more characteristics associated with the scratching activity by the cat, whether to dispense one or more rewards (para0053)
and to send one or more signals in response to a determination to dispense one or more reward; (para0053,0043)
and attaching a reward dispenser to the smart cat scratcher, wherein the reward dispenser is configured to dispense the one or more rewards in response to receiving the one or more signals from the scratcher controller. (108, fig 1, para0043+0045)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brackett, as applied to claims 1,6 above, and in view of Yin (US 20100275851 A1).
Regarding claim 7:
Brackett discloses claim 6 but doesn’t disclose:
wherein the training protocol includes a plurality of training levels, and the scratcher controller is configured to graduate the cat from one training level to another based on the cat's progress.
Yin discloses:
wherein the training protocol includes a plurality of training levels, and the scratcher controller is configured to graduate the animal from one training level to another based on the animal’s progress. (para0048, “plurality of tiered training programs”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the smart cat scratcher training the cat of Brackett such that comprises the features as disclosed by Yin to provide for a device that trains the animal for a time without requiring continuous presence of the owner (para0006).
Regarding claim 8:
Brackett as modified discloses claim 7, Brackett doesn’t disclose but Yin further discloses:
wherein the plurality of training levels includes a beginner level, (para0108-0113)
an advanced level, (para0114-0115)
and an expert level, (para0116-0118)
each level having corresponding reward schedules and criteria for graduation to a subsequent level. (para0108-0118)
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brackett in view of Yin, as applied to claims 7-8 above, and in view of Cole (US 5566645 A).
Regarding claim 9:
Brackett as modified discloses claim 8 but doesn’t disclose:
wherein the scratcher controller is configured to dispense rewards more frequently at the beginner level to establish an initial association between scratching the designated surface and receiving a reward, and to dispense rewards less frequently at the expert level to maintain the established scratching behavior with partial reinforcement.
Cole discloses:
wherein the controller is configured to dispense rewards more frequently at the beginner level to establish an initial association between scratching the designated surface and receiving a reward, and to dispense rewards less frequently at the expert level to maintain the established scratching behavior with partial reinforcement. (col 3 ln 63-col 4 ln21)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the scratcher controller of Brackett as modified such that it dispenses rewards more frequently at the beginner level to establish an initial association between scratching the designated surface and receiving a reward, and to dispense rewards less frequently at the expert level to maintain the established scratching behavior with partial reinforcement as taught by Cole to prevent overuse of the reward preventing satiation or diminishing of training effectiveness (Cole).
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brackett, as applied to claims 1 above, and in view of Watson (US 6273027 B1-cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 12:
Brackett discloses claim 1 and further discloses:
wherein the one or more rewards include one or more of a food-based reward (para0045-0046)
Brackett doesn’t disclose:
and an interactive reward.
Watson discloses:
Wherein the one or more rewards includes an interactive reward. (col 3 ln33-col 4 ln6)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the one or more rewards of Brackett such that it comprises an interactive reward as disclosed by Watson to provide for a non-punitive positive-reinforcement based reward (Watson).
Regarding claim 13:
Brackett discloses claim 1 and further discloses:
wherein the one or more signals from the scratcher controller to the reward dispenser include one or more of: a signal to actuate a door to allow food-based rewards to be dispensed from a container of the reward dispenser; (para0017)
Brackett doesn’t disclose:
and a signal to activate an interactive reward that includes one or more of a motion, light, video, and audio activity.
Watson discloses:
and a signal to activate an interactive reward that includes one or more of a motion, light, video, and audio activity. (col 3 ln59-col 4 ln4)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the one or more rewards of Brackett such that it comprises an interactive reward as disclosed by Watson to provide for a non-punitive positive-reinforcement based reward (Watson).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brackett, as applied to claims 1 above, and in view of Trottier et al. herein Trottier (US 20170196196 A1).
Regarding claim 14:
Brackett discloses claim 1 but doesn’t disclose:
wherein the one or more sensors include one or more cameras configured to capture image data related to an area surrounding the smart cat scratcher, and wherein the scratcher controller is configured to one or more of: identify, based on the image data captured by the one or more cameras, inappropriate scratching behavior by the cat, and adjust one or more of a reward schedule, reward criteria, reward intensity, and reward type based on an identification of inappropriate scratching behavior by the cat; identify, based on the image data captured by the one or more cameras, appropriate scratching behavior on the scratching surface, and determine a quality of the appropriate scratching behavior to determine whether to dispense the one or more rewards; and determine an identity of the cat based on the image captured by the one or more camera.
Trottier discloses:
wherein the one or more sensors include one or more cameras configured to capture image data related to an area surrounding the smart device, (para0102)
and wherein the controller is configured to one or more of: identify, based on the image data captured by the one or more cameras, inappropriate behavior by the animal, and adjust one or more of a reward schedule, reward criteria, reward intensity, and reward type based on an identification of inappropriate behavior by the animal; (para0104-0105)
identify, based on the image data captured by the one or more cameras, appropriate behavior, and determine a quality of the appropriate behavior to determine whether to dispense the one or more rewards; (para0102)
and determine an identity of the animal based on the image captured by the one or more camera. (para0218)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the sensors and scratcher controller training the scratching behavior of the cat of Brackett such that it comprises one or more camera and the controller configured to perform the features as disclosed by Trottier to identify appropriate/unappropriated behavior to prevent rewarding inappropriate/unwanted behavior (Trottier).
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brackett, as applied to claims 15 above, and in view of Honchariw et al. herein Honchariw (US 20190357497 A1).
Regarding claim 16:
Brackett discloses claim 15 but doesn’t disclose:
further comprising: configuring the scratcher controller with a reward protocol that includes a maintenance protocol for maintaining the cat's established scratching behavior and a training protocol for guiding the cat's scratching activities towards the scratching surface.
Honchariw discloses:
further comprising: configuring the controller with a reward protocol that includes a maintenance protocol for maintaining the animal’s established behavior and a training protocol for guiding the animal’s activities towards the training device. (para0070)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify scratcher controller training the scratching behavior of the cat of Brackett such that it comprises a reward protocol as disclosed by Honchariw to ensure the animal maintains baseline level mastery, and keeps the animal engaged and interested (Honchariw).
Regarding claim 17:
Brackett as modified discloses claim 16 Brackett doesn’t disclose but Honchariw further discloses:
wherein the training protocol includes a plurality of training levels, and wherein the scratcher controller is configured to graduate the cat from one training level to another based on the cat's progress in scratching behavior. (para0070)
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brackett, as applied to claims 15 above, and in view of Chia (US 20180352785 A1).
Regarding claim 18:
Brackett discloses claim 15 but doesn’t disclose:
wherein the smart cat scratcher is configured to be disassembled into an upper portion and a lower portion for packaging, wherein the upper portion and the lower portion complement each other rectangularly.
Chia discloses:
wherein the cat scratcher is configured to be disassembled into an upper portion (30+10, fig 3+4,para0034)
and a lower portion for packaging, (20, fig 3+4)
wherein the upper portion and the lower portion complement each other rectangularly. (see fig 4)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify smart cat scratcher of Brackett such that it comprises the features as disclosed by Chia to provide a scratcher that is easy to carry, fold, and recycle (Chia).
Conclusion
The cited prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Carlson US Patent 6,666,167 discloses a pet food dispenser in response to a scratching action upon a scratching surface.
Hanson US Pg pub 2016/0316716 discloses a pet enrichment device that tracks movement and position of an animal and if a command is done properly provides a treat to the animal.
Michelle GB 2553497 discloses a contact training aid for use in animal training.
Mundell et al US Pg pub 2021/0289747 discloses a method for autonomously training an animal and dispensing treats based on monitored behaviors.
Lofranco US Pg pub 2022/0053734 discloses a pet toy having a surface for adhering abrasive material for dulling a pet’s claw.
Shalgi US Pg pub 2025/0212839 discloses a ready made furniture or kit for assembling a piece of furniture with computer implemented devices to monitor behavior of a feline.
/SHADA MOHAMED ALGHAILANI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3643
/PETER M POON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3643