DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because minor informalities including hand-drawn lines, hand-written numericals, and certain features that have been manually crossed out or obscured by ink markings.
The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the recitation “the downstream air panels extending from a concave face to a convex face, the concave face facing the air outlet end and the convex face facing the air intake end.” This appears to conflict with the figures and the last sentence in paragraph [0021] of the instant specification stating “The downstream air panels 46b may be installed such that the convex face 48 faces the air outlet end 16.”
Similarly, in claim 1 the recitation “the upstream air panels extending from a concave face to a convex face, the concave face facing the air intake end and the convex face facing the air outlet end.” This also appears to conflict with the figures and paragra [0021] of the instant specification that reads “The upstream air panels 46a may be installed such that the convex face 48 faces the air intake end 14.”
Based on the specification [0021] and Figures 1 and 2, the Examiner assumes the claim is meant to read as:
the upstream air panels extending from a convex face to a concave face, the convex face facing the air intake end and the concave face facing the air outlet end; and
a plurality of downstream air panels disposed within the water separation zone, the downstream air panels extending from a concave face to a convex face, the concave face facing the air intake end and the convex face facing the air outlet end.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maisey US Patent 10,760,797 in view of Neuschwander et al. US Patent 6,648,939.
Regarding claim 1, Maisey teaches a filtration system for purifying and conditioning intake air comprising (Figure 2A):
a) A housing (Figure 2A) comprising and air intake on the left side and an air outlet on the right side (column 9 lines 10-15);
b) An enclosed chamber within the housing that comprises a misting zone (considered as the area with the nozzles 403) and a water separation zone (considered as the zone with eliminator 402 (column 9 lines 24-26);
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Water spearation zone)][AltContent: textbox (misting zone)]
c) A fluid conduit (spray washer 401) disposed within the misting zone of the chamber (column 9 lines 15-16);
d) Nozzles 403 provided along the fluid conduit 401 (column 9 lines 19-20 and column 10 lines 10-15).
Maisey does not explicitly teach the upstream air panels extending from a convex face to a concave face, the convex face facing the air intake end and the concave face facing the air outlet end; and a plurality of downstream air panels disposed within the water separation zone, the downstream air panels extending from a concave face to a convex face, the concave face facing the air intake end and the convex face facing the air outlet end.
However, Neuschwander teaches an inertial separator 10 for removing debris-laden droplets from a gas stream. In housing 18 are first and second separation lamellae 13. The first group of separation lamellae has its convex side facing the intake 11 (hereinafter “convex lamellae”) and the second group of separation lamellae has its concave side facing the intake (hereinafter “concave lamellae”)(Figure 1, Figure 8, and column 5 lines 55-65). These lamellae are shaped to direct and guide incoming airflow and ‘bundle’ streams which allow impurities in the air to be efficiently propelled and gathered (column 2 lines 53-60 and Figure 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the eliminator in Maisey with the concave lamellae (where the concave side faces the intake) because the curvature of the lamellae provides maximum surface area allowing for efficient collecting of debris-laden mist (column 2 lines 61-67). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide concave lamellae in the water separation zone of Maisey to increase the collection efficiency of the debris-entrained mist.
Although Neuschwander teaches both the convex and concave lamellae in the water separation zone, Neuschwander teaches the convex lamellae placed upstream (convex side facing the intake) direct and guide the airflow towards the concave lamellae downstream (concave side facing the intake) where entrained droplets impinge, collect, and separate from the airflow (column 2 lines 61-63). Figures 6-7 shows a schematic diagram of the flow stream of the intake air through the separation lamellae indicating the convex lamellae guide the air to the concave lamellae.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to position the convex lamellae upstream in the misting zone of Maisey and the concave lamellae downstream within the water separation zone. Such an arrangement would predictably guide the debris-laden mist produced in the misting zone toward the concave collecting surfaces, thereby increasing impingement, coalescence, and removal of entrained liquid droplets.
Conclusion
/SHARON PREGLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772