DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Bair (EP 0622873).
Regarding claim 1, Bair discloses a connector crimping device (Fig. 1-15), comprising: a first movable block (20) movable along a first direction (up and down) and formed with a sliding slot (24) extending along the first direction; a second movable block (40) installed in the sliding slot of the first movable block and movable along the sliding slot; and an installation shaft (50) rotatably installed to the first movable block (20) and passing through the second movable block, the installation shaft includes a first shaft portion (53) and a second shaft portion (52), the first shaft portion is rotationally mated with the first movable block and has a first central axis (59) extending along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, the second shaft portion is rotationally mated with the second movable block and has a second central axis (55) extending along the second direction, the second central axis is offset by a predetermined distance ( Fig. 13 “E”) from the first central axis, a movement distance of the second movable block relative to the first movable block in the first direction is adjustable by rotating the installation shaft. (& Col. 11 line 17-34)
Regarding claim 3, Bair discloses the connector crimping device according to claim 1, wherein a second mounting hole (44) is formed in the second movable block (40), the second shaft portion (52) is rotatably fitted in the second mounting hole.
Regarding claim 20, Bair discloses the connector crimping device according to claim 1, further comprising a driving device (2) connected to the first movable block for driving the first movable block and the second movable block to move together in the first direction. (Col. 7 lines 22-33 & Fig. 3, 4, 9)
Claims 2, 4-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, Bair discloses the connector crimping device according to claim 1.
Bair fails to disclose wherein a pressing head is disposed on the second movable block (40), the pressing head presses against a terminal module of a connector to crimp a terminal of the terminal module to a cable.
Bair’s pressing head would be disposed on the first movable block rather than the second movable block, element 40 as interpreted. Therefore, claim 2 is indicated allowable.
Regarding claim 4, Bair discloses the connector crimping device according to claim 1, wherein the installation shaft has a front end (“front” shown below) and a rear end (“rear”) opposite to each other in an axial direction of the installation shaft, the first shaft portion (53) has a first rear shaft portion (shown below) at the rear end of the installation shaft and a first front shaft portion axially opposite to the first rear shaft portion.
Bair fails to disclose the second shaft portion (52) is connected between the first rear shaft portion and the first front shaft portion. Therefore, claims 4-19 are indicated allowable.
Conclusion
/BOBBY YEONJIN KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 3725