Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 4, applicant claims the travel distance decreases when the stop rod is moved in both a first axial direction and a second axial direction. It appears that this recitation should be that the travel distance increases when the stop rod moves in one of the directions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-8, 11-14, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by EP4257462 to Koseoglu.
Regarding claim 1, Koseoglu teaches a fifth wheel system (Figure 1) comprising: a fifth wheel 1 configured to couple to a kingpin of a towed trailer, the fifth wheel including: a jaw 5 configured to engage the kingpin; a wedge 6 movable from an unlocked position (Figure 4) to a locked position (Figure 6) to urge the jaw into engagement with the kingpin; a stop rod 7 that sets a travel distance the wedge moves between the unlocked position and the locked position; an actuator 10 that adjusts position of the stop rod to thereby adjust the travel distance.
Regarding claim 2, the stop rod of Koseoglu extends along an axis and the actuator 10 axially moves the stop rod (see Figure 5).
Regarding claim 3, the actuator 10 axially translates the stop rod 7.
Regarding claim 4, the actuator 10 moves the stop rod 7 in a first axial direction to decrease the travel distance and a second axial direction to increase the travel distance.
Regarding claim 7, Koseoglu teaches a control system (control circuit 9) that controls the actuator to move the stop rod.
Regarding claim 8, the control system is configured to count adjustments to the travel distance (the actuator moves the adjusting member 1.5 turns, so it is configured to measure or count the number of turns; see para [0016]).
Regarding claim 11, Koseoglu teaches a fifth wheel system (Figure 1, for example) comprising: a fifth wheel 1 configured to couple to a kingpin of a towed trailer, the fifth wheel including: a jaw 5 configured to engage the kingpin; a wedge 6 movable from an unlocked position to a locked position to urge the jaw into engagement with the kingpin; a stop rod 7 that engages the wedge in the locked position; an actuator 10 that adjusts position of the stop rod to thereby adjust the locked position of the wedge.
Regarding claim 12, the stop rod 7 extends along an axis and the actuator 10 axially moves the stop rod (see Figure 5).
Regarding claim 13, the actuator 10 axially translates the stop rod (see Figure 5).
Regarding claim 14, the fifth wheel 1 includes a throat (see Figure 1) through which the kingpin is received, and wherein the actuator 10 moves the stop rod 7 in a first axial direction to move the locked position toward the throat and a second axial direction to move the locked position away from the throat.
Regarding claim 17, a control system (control circuit 9) controls the actuator 10 to move the stop rod 7.
Regarding claim 18, Koseoglu teaches that the control system is configured to count adjustments to the locked position (the actuator moves the adjusting member 1.5 turns, so it is configured to measure or count the number of turns; see para [0016]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koseoglu in view of CN 113353163 (CN’163).
Regarding claims 5, 6, 15, and 16, Koseoglu teaches all of the claimed elements except for a bracket that links the actuator to the stop rod and a pivotal connection between the fifth wheel frame and the actuator.
CN’163 shows a fifth wheel locking device having an actuator 1 for controlling part of the locking mechanism. The actuator is pivotally connected to the fifth wheel at first axis 17 and connected to a control arm 2 by a bracket.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to mount the actuator of Koseoglu pivotally and connect it to the stop rod by a bracket, in view of CN’163, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow flexibility in positioning the actuator on the fifth wheel.
Claim(s) 9, 10, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koseoglu.
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Koseoglu teaches the control system is configured to generate an alert (an indicator located on the sensor or anywhere visible to the user) regarding the whether the fifth wheel is locked and the operating status of the electronic board , PCB (see para [0026), but it does not specify that this is in response to when number of adjustments to the travel distance is greater than a predetermined number. However, the actuator is configured to turn the actuator a specific number of turns (para [0016]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to signal the user if actuator over-extends the stop bar in order to alert the user to a potentially dangerous position of the stop bar.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Koseoglu teaches that the adjusting member can be operated by the operator or automatically (para [0016]). It is not clear that the control system interfaces with an operator input device which is configured to receive an input to adjust position of the stop rod, but it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a user interface so the user can initiate engagement of the actuator in order to adjust the position of the stop rod as preferred by the user.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fontaine ‘328 and Laarman teach adjustable stop rids.
Fontaine ‘484 and Alguera teach actuator controlled fifth wheel elements.
/ANNE MARIE M BOEHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/ab/