DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10, and 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stepan (5,243,882).
Regarding claim 1, Stepan teaches a method comprising:
creating, by an electrical cable preparation device, a retention band of a jacket layer of one or more layers of an electrical cable by at least:
positioning, by the electrical cable preparation device, a tool head 3 of the electrical cable preparation device at a longitudinal starting position a distance from an end of the electrical cable 10;
adjusting (by levers 6), by the electrical cable preparation device, a radial depth of at least one cutting tool of the tool head to a target cutting depth; and
rotating (by motor 25), by the electrical cable preparation device, the tool head with the at least one cutting tool at the target cutting depth; and
responsive to creating the retention band, removing, by the electrical preparation device, an inner portion of the jacket layer between the longitudinal starting position and a longitudinal position defined by a target cutback length associated with the jacket layer.
See Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 10, Stephan teaches setting the cutting tool at a desire longitudinal position on the cable.
Regarding claim 11, sensor data compiling by a mechanical resistance (spring force 18, 70) is best seen in Fig. 1.
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Horrocks (3,869,791).
Regarding claim 1, Horrocks teaches a method comprising:
creating, by an electrical cable preparation device, a retention band of a jacket layer of one or more layers of an electrical cable by at least:
positioning, by the electrical cable preparation device, a tool head 1 of the electrical cable preparation device at a longitudinal starting position a distance from an end of the electrical cable 4;
adjusting, by the electrical cable preparation device, a radial depth of at least one cutting tool 51 of the tool head to a target cutting depth; and
rotating, by the electrical cable preparation device, the tool head with the at least one cutting tool at the target cutting depth; and
responsive to creating the retention band, removing, by the electrical preparation device, an inner portion of the jacket layer between the longitudinal starting position and a longitudinal position defined by a target cutback length associated with the jacket layer.
See Fig. 1.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, a drive 59 is rotated (screw or unscrew) for adjusting a radial position of the blade 51.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stepan (5,243,882) in view of Matthews (3,820,420).
The method of Stepan is cable of cutting a plurality of depths on a cable. However, Stepan does not teach the step of making a spiral cut.
Matthews teaches a method of stripping a cable in a spiral form. See Fig. 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to add a step of stripping a cable in a spiral form as taught by Matthew to the method of Stepan for stripping cables that requires stripping in a spiral form.
Claims 2, 4, 5, 7, 12, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horrocks (3,869,791) in view of Matthews (3,398,610).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, the method of Horrocks is cable of cutting a plurality of depths on a cable. However, Stepan does not teach the step of making a spiral cut.
Matthews teaches a method of stripping a cable in a spiral form. See Fig. 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to add a step of stripping a cable in a spiral form as taught by Matthew to the method of Horrocks for stripping cables that requires stripping in a spiral form.
Regarding claim 4, a drive 59 is rotated (screw or unscrew) for adjusting a radial position of the blade 51. See Fig. 1 in Horrocks.
Regarding claim 5, Horrocks teaches method substantially as claimed except for the limitations in the bolded texts comprising:
inserting, by an electrical cable preparation device, at least one cutting tool 51 of a tool head 1 of the electrical cable preparation device into at least one layer of an electrical cable to a first depth;
rotating, by the electrical cable preparation device, the tool head a partial rotation with the at least one cutting tool at the first depth to create a tab;
retracting, by the electrical cable preparation device, the at least one cutting tool to a second depth; and
performing, by the electrical cable preparation device, a spiral cut with the at least one cutting tool at the second depth.
See Fig. 1.
The method of Horrocks is cable of cutting a plurality of depths on a cable. However, Stepan does not teach the step of making a spiral cut.
Matthews teaches a method of stripping a cable in a spiral form. See Fig. 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to add a step of stripping a cable in a spiral form as taught by Matthew to the method of Horrocks for stripping cables that requires stripping in a spiral form.
Regarding claim 7, a drive 59 is rotated (screw or unscrew) for adjusting a radial position of the blade 51. See Fig. 1 in Horrocks.
Regarding claim 13, a computing device 72 is best seen in Fig. 1. It sets up different cutting depths on a cable.
Regarding claim 14, a plurality of rollers 65 are best seen in Fig. 8.
Claims 6, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horrocks (3,869,791) in view of Matthews (3,398,610) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Symington et al. (2017/0012412), hereinafter Symington.
Regarding claim 6, the modified method of Horrocks teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for moving the tool head along a linear slide.
Amrein teaches a method of preparing an electrical cable comprising a tool head 124 guided along a linear slide (42, 44, 40) for automatically preparing a large cable. See Fig. 7.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Horrocks with the step of sliding the cutting head along a linear slide as taught by Symington for automatically preparing a large cable.
Regarding claim 8, a drive 59 is rotated (screw or unscrew) for adjusting a radial position of the blade 51. See Fig. 1 in Horrocks.
Regarding claim 10, Horrock teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for the cutting tool being set at a desire longitudinal position on a cable by a computing device.
Stephan teaches setting a cutting tool at a desire longitudinal position on a cable by a computing device. See Fig. 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to automate the cable preparation device of Horrock by providing a computing device as taught by Stepan for automatically setting the cutting tool at a desire location on a cable by a computing device for precisely cutting the cable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument with respect to Stepan and Horrocks, claims 1 and 5 do not teach the structure of the band and the detail structure of the cable preparation device that transform the cable sheath at each step to form the band. Claims 1 and 5 just partially and broadly claim the steps of cutting the cover sheath into a band such as setting up the cutting tool at a longitudinal distance on the cable, setting a cutting depth, and rotating the cutting tool to cut the sheath. Those are broad steps occurring to any cable stripping device. Therefore, Stepan and Horrocks read on those partial and broad steps.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHONG H NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3724