DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Martin (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0210962).
Regarding Claim 1, Martin discloses a row cleaner configured for use with an agricultural row unit, the row cleaner comprising:
A row cleaner arm (Martin: 221, 222);
A row cleaner disc (Martin: 202) coupled to the row cleaner arm (Martin: 221, 222) for rotation relative thereto, the row cleaner disc (Martin: 202) including a central disc portion (Martin: 231) and a plurality of teeth (Martin: 206) extending radially outwardly from the central disc portion (Martin: 231), the row cleaner disc (Martin: 202) defining an inner face; and
A scraper blade (Martin: 210, 211) supported relative to the row cleaner disc (Martin: 202) and including a mounting portion (Martin: Figure 5: end of 211 closest to 221) and a blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202), the mounting portion (Martin: Figure 5: end of 211 closest to 221) of the scraper blade (Martin: 210, 211) being coupled to the row cleaner arm (Martin: 221, 222), the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) extending in a fore-aft direction (Martin: 211: seen from above in Figure 10) between a forward end and an aft end and in a lateral direction between an inner lateral end positioned adjacent to the mounting portion (Martin: Figure 5: end of 211 closest to 221) and an outer lateral end (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 flush against 202) spaced apart from the mounting portion (Martin: Figure 5: end of 211 closest to 221);
Wherein: the outer lateral end (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 flush against 202) of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) is positioned adjacent to the inner face of the row cleaner disc (Martin: 202) and is oriented substantially parallel to the inner face of the row cleaner disc (Martin: 202) as the outer lateral end (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 flush against 202) extends between the forward and aft ends of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202); and
The blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) is oriented non-perpendicular to the inner face of the row cleaner disc (Martin: 202) as the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) extends from the outer lateral end (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 flush against 202) of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) to the inner lateral end of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) in the lateral direction.
Regarding Claim 2, Martin discloses the row cleaner of claim 1, wherein:
Each tooth of the plurality of teeth (Martin: 206) of the row cleaner disc (Martin: 202) extends radially between a base end (Martin: end of 206 attached to 202) joined with the central disc portion (Martin: 231) and a tip end (Martin: end of 206 furthest from 202) spaced radially outwardly form the base end (Martin: end of 206 attached to 202); and the scraper blade (Martin: 210, 211) is positioned relative to the row cleaner disc (Martin: 202) such that the forward end of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) is positioned radially inwardly from the base end (Martin: end of 206 attached to 202) of each tooth and the aft end of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) is positioned radially outwardly from the tip end (Martin: end of 206 furthest from 202) of each tooth (blade portion extends past tip portion).
Regarding Claim 3, Martin discloses the row cleaner of claim 1, wherein the outer lateral end (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 flush against 202) of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) is angled upwardly relative to the fore-aft direction as the outer lateral end (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 flush against 202) extends from the forward end of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) to the aft end of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202).
Regarding Claim 4, Martin discloses the row cleaner of claim 1, wherein:
Each tooth of the plurality of teeth (Martin: 206) of the row cleaner disc (Martin: 202) extends radially between a base end (Martin: end of 206 attached to 202) joined with the central disc portion (Martin: 231) and a tip end (Martin: end of 206 furthest from 202) spaced radially outwardly form the base end (Martin: end of 206 attached to 202); each tooth of the plurality of teeth (Martin: 206) of the row cleaner disc (Martin: 202) includes a leading edge (Martin: leading edge of 202) extending between the base and tip end (Martin: end of 206 furthest from 202)s of the tooth; and
The blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) is oriented relative to the row cleaner disc (Martin: 202) such that a portion of the leading edge (Martin: leading edge of 202) of each tooth is oriented substantially perpendicular to the outer lateral end (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 flush against 202) of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) as such portion of the leading edge (Martin: leading edge of 202) of each tooth passes across the outer lateral end (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 flush against 202) with rotation of the row cleaner disc (Martin: 202) relative to the scraper blade (Martin: 210, 211) (Martin: Figure 10: aft-most surface of 211 is mostly perpendicular to leading edges of teeth).
Regarding Claim 5, Martin discloses the row cleaner disc (Martin: 202) of claim 1, wherein the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) is angled upwardly relative to the lateral direction as the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) extends from the outer lateral end (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 flush against 202) of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) to the inner lateral end of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202).
Regarding Claim 6, Martin discloses the row cleaner disc (Martin: 202) of claim 5, wherein the upwardly angled orientation of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) relative to the lateral direction results in the inner lateral end of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) being positioned vertically above the outer lateral end (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 flush against 202) of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202).
Regarding Claim 7, Martin discloses the row cleaner of claim 1, wherein: the outer lateral end (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 flush against 202) of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) is angled upwardly relative to the fore-aft direction as the outer lateral end (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 flush against 202) extends from the forward end of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) to the aft end of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202); and the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) is angled upwardly relative to the lateral direction as the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) extends from the outer lateral end (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 flush against 202) of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) to the inner lateral end of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202).
Regarding Claim 8, Martin discloses the row cleaner of claim 7, wherein: each tooth of the plurality of teeth (Martin: 206) of the row cleaner disc (Martin: 202) extends radially between a base end (Martin: end of 206 attached to 202) joined with the central disc portion (Martin: 231) and a tip end (Martin: end of 206 furthest from 202) spaced radially outwardly form the base end (Martin: end of 206 attached to 202);
Each tooth of the plurality of teeth (Martin: 206) of the row cleaner disc (Martin: 202) includes a leading edge (Martin: leading edge of 202) extending between the base and tip end (Martin: end of 206 furthest from 202)s of the tooth; and
The blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) is oriented relative to the row cleaner disc (Martin: 202) such that a portion of the leading edge (Martin: leading edge of 202) of each tooth is oriented substantially perpendicular to the outer lateral end (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 flush against 202) of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) as such portion of the leading edge (Martin: leading edge of 202) of each tooth passes across the outer lateral end (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 flush against 202) with rotation of the row cleaner disc (Martin: 202) relative to the scraper blade (Martin: 210, 211) (Martin: Figure 10: aft-most surface of 211 is mostly perpendicular to leading edges of teeth).
Regarding Claim 9, Martin discloses the row cleaner disc (Martin: 202) of claim 7, wherein the upwardly angled orientation of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) relative to the lateral direction results in the inner lateral end of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) being positioned vertically above the outer lateral end (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 flush against 202) of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202).
Regarding Claim 10, Martin discloses a row unit configured for use with an agricultural implement, the row unit comprising:
A frame (Martin: Paragraph [0057]);
A row cleaner supported relative to the frame, the row cleaner comprising:
A row cleaner arm (Martin: 221, 222) pivotably coupled to the frame;
A row cleaner disc (Martin: 202) coupled to the row cleaner arm (Martin: 221, 222) for rotation relative thereto, the row cleaner disc (Martin: 202) including a central disc portion (Martin: 231) and a plurality of teeth (Martin: 206) extending radially outwardly from the central disc portion (Martin: 231), the row cleaner disc (Martin: 202) defining an inner face; and
A scraper blade (Martin: 210, 211) supported relative to the row cleaner disc (Martin: 202) and including a mounting portion (Martin: Figure 5: end of 211 closest to 221) and a blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202), the mounting portion (Martin: Figure 5: end of 211 closest to 221) of the scraper blade (Martin: 210, 211) being coupled to the row cleaner arm (Martin: 221, 222), the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) extending in a fore-aft direction between a forward end and an aft end and in a lateral direction between an inner lateral end positioned adjacent to the mounting portion (Martin: Figure 5: end of 211 closest to 221) and an outer lateral end (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 flush against 202) spaced apart from the mounting portion (Martin: Figure 5: end of 211 closest to 221);
Wherein: the outer lateral end (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 flush against 202) of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) is positioned adjacent to the inner face of the row cleaner disc (Martin: 202) and is oriented substantially parallel to the inner face of the row cleaner disc (Martin: 202) as the outer lateral end (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 flush against 202) extends between the forward and aft ends of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202); and the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) is oriented non-perpendicular to the inner face of the row cleaner disc (Martin: 202) as the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) extends from the outer lateral end (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 flush against 202) of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) to the inner lateral end of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) in the lateral direction.
Regarding Claim 11, Martin discloses the row unit of claim 10, wherein:
Each tooth of the plurality of teeth (Martin: 206) of the row cleaner disc (Martin: 202) extends radially between a base end (Martin: end of 206 attached to 202) joined with the central disc portion (Martin: 231) and a tip end (Martin: end of 206 furthest from 202) spaced radially outwardly form the base end (Martin: end of 206 attached to 202); and the scraper blade (Martin: 210, 211) is positioned relative to the row cleaner disc (Martin: 202) such that the forward end of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) is positioned radially inwardly from the base end (Martin: end of 206 attached to 202) of each tooth and the aft end of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) is positioned radially outwardly from the tip end (Martin: end of 206 furthest from 202) of each tooth.
Regarding Claim 12, Martin discloses the row unit of claim 10, wherein the outer lateral end (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 flush against 202) of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) is angled upwardly relative to the fore-aft direction as the outer lateral end (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 flush against 202) extends from the forward end of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) to the aft end of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202).
Regarding Claim 13, Martin discloses the row unit of claim 10, wherein:
Each tooth of the plurality of teeth (Martin: 206) of the row cleaner disc (Martin: 202) extends radially between a base end (Martin: end of 206 attached to 202) joined with the central disc portion (Martin: 231) and a tip end (Martin: end of 206 furthest from 202) spaced radially outwardly form the base end (Martin: end of 206 attached to 202); each tooth of the plurality of teeth (Martin: 206) of the row cleaner disc (Martin: 202) includes a leading edge (Martin: leading edge of 202) extending between the base and tip end (Martin: end of 206 furthest from 202)s of the tooth; and
The blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) is oriented relative to the row cleaner disc (Martin: 202) such that a portion of the leading edge (Martin: leading edge of 202) of each tooth is oriented substantially perpendicular to the outer lateral end (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 flush against 202) of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) as such portion of the leading edge (Martin: leading edge of 202) of each tooth passes across the outer lateral end (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 flush against 202) with rotation of the row cleaner disc (Martin: 202) relative to the scraper blade (Martin: 210, 211) (Martin: Figure 10: aft-most surface of 211 is mostly perpendicular to leading edges of teeth).
Regarding Claim 14, Martin discloses the row unit of claim 10, wherein the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) is angled upwardly relative to the lateral direction as the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) extends from the outer lateral end (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 flush against 202) of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) to the inner lateral end of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202).
Regarding Claim 15, Martin discloses the row unit of claim 14, wherein the upwardly angled orientation of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) relative to the lateral direction results in the inner lateral end of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) being positioned vertically above the outer lateral end (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 flush against 202) of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202).
Regarding Claim 16, Martin discloses the row unit of claim 10, wherein:
The outer lateral end (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 flush against 202) of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) is angled upwardly relative to the fore-aft direction as the outer lateral end (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 flush against 202) extends from the forward end of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) to the aft end of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202); and
The blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) is angled upwardly relative to the lateral direction as the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) extends from the outer lateral end (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 flush against 202) of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) to the inner lateral end of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202).
Regarding Claim 17, Martin discloses the row unit of claim 16, wherein:
Each tooth of the plurality of teeth (Martin: 206) of the row cleaner disc (Martin: 202) extends radially between a base end (Martin: end of 206 attached to 202) joined with the central disc portion (Martin: 231) and a tip end (Martin: end of 206 furthest from 202) spaced radially outwardly form the base end (Martin: end of 206 attached to 202); each tooth of the plurality of teeth (Martin: 206) of the row cleaner disc (Martin: 202) includes a leading edge (Martin: leading edge of 202) extending between the base and tip ends (Martin: ends of 206) of the tooth; and
The blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) is oriented relative to the row cleaner disc (Martin: 202) such that a portion of the leading edge (Martin: leading edge of 202) of each tooth is oriented substantially perpendicular to the outer lateral end (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 flush against 202) of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) as such portion of the leading edge (Martin: leading edge of 202) of each tooth passes across the outer lateral end (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 flush against 202) with rotation of the row cleaner disc (Martin: 202) relative to the scraper blade (Martin: 210, 211) (Martin: Figure 10: aft-most surface of 211 is mostly perpendicular to leading edges of teeth).
Regarding Claim 18, Martin discloses the row unit of claim 16, wherein the upwardly angled orientation of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) relative to the lateral direction results in the inner lateral end of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202) being positioned vertically above the outer lateral end (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 flush against 202) of the blade portion (Martin: Figure 10: end of 211 closest to 202).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20190021207 (ROW CLEANER/CLOSING WHEEL), US 8826836 (Row treating unit for agriculture implement), US 8393407 (Crop residue clearing device), US 5640914 (Debris manipulating and clearing assembly for clearing crop residue from soil).
DOUGLAS S. WOOD
Examiner
Art Unit 3672
/DOUGLAS S WOOD/Examiner, Art Unit 3672
/Nicole Coy/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3672