DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-25 are pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments regarding the restriction requirement of claims 7-20 in the reply filed on July 27, 2026, are persuasive. Therefore, the restriction requirement of claims 7-20 has been withdrawn. All claims are being examined in this office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/16/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The use of the term WiFi, see para [0027], which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US Publication No. 20240414063 A1 and Liu hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 7, Liu suggests a first network element (Figure 8), comprising: a transceiver; a memory configured to store executable instructions; and a processor configured to execute the executable instructions stored in the memory to cause the transceiver to (In FIG. 8, a bus architecture may include any number of interconnected buses and bridges, specifically, one or more processors represented by the processor 810 and various circuits of the memory represented by the memory 820 are linked together…The transceiver 800 may be multiple elements, i.e., including a transmitter and a receiver, providing elements for communicating with various other apparatuses over transmission mediums) Para [0253]:
obtain an Artificial Intelligence (AI) service data and second identification information of a terminal device from a second network element (according to the area information and the address information (i.e. identification information) of the UE(s) and the respective AF transferring the AI/ML model, a data network access identifier DNAI and area information and address information of UE(s) and a respective AF corresponding to the DNAI, where the area information and the address information of the UE(s) and the respective AF corresponding to the DNAI are used to provide a path for optimization of the AI/ML model transfer status) Para [0271]; and
send the AI service data to the terminal device based on the second identification information of the terminal device (an identifier of a user equipment UE or identifiers of a group of UEs receiving an AI/ML model (AI service data)) Para [0259].
Regarding Claim 8, Liu discloses all the limitations of claim 7 as discussed above. Further Liu suggests wherein the first network element is a trusted network element, or an untrusted network element (When the AF sends an analytics request to the NWDAF, if the AF is in a trusted area, the AF may send the request to the NWDAF directly; if the AF is not in the trusted area, the AF may send the request to the NWDAF through the NEF, that is, the AF sends the request to the NEF, and then the NEF sends the request to the NWDAF.) Para [0118].
Regarding Claim 9, Liu discloses all the limitations of claim 8 as discussed above. Further Liu suggests receive a first message sent by the second network element, wherein the first message comprises the second identification information of the terminal device and the AI service data (according to the area information and the address information of the UE(s) (i.e. second identification information) and the respective AF (i.e. first identification information) transferring the AI/ML model (i.e. AI service data), a data network access identifier DNAI and area information and address information of UE(s) and a respective AF corresponding to the DNAI, where the area information and the address information of the UE(s) and the respective AF corresponding to the DNAI are used to provide a path for optimization of the AI/ML model transfer status) Para [0271].
Regarding Claim 10, Liu discloses all the limitations of claim 8 as discussed above. Further Liu suggests obtain context information from the terminal device, wherein the context information comprises the second identification information of the terminal device (in an application scenario, the AF requests the NWDAF to provide an analytics of AI/ML model transfer status, the analytics result (or analytics information) includes: an identifier of an application (i.e. Application ID) using the AI/ML model, area information using the AI/ML model, a time period for transferring the AI/ML model, a size of an AI/ML transfer model, quality of service (i.e., QoS) related information for transferring the AI/ML model, a network slice used for the AI/ML model transfer, and data network name (DNN) information; if there is a federated learning, it also includes: a group identifier (i.e., a federated learning group ID), a UE ID (i.e. context information) or UE group ID participating in the federated learning, address information of an application server providing a model or participating in the federated learning.) Para [0117]; and send a first registration request to a Network Repository Function (NRF) (the NWDAF instance needs to provide its support Analytic ID when registering with a network repository function (NRF)) Para [0116], wherein the first registration request comprises the second identification information of the terminal device and first identification information of the first network element (a group identifier (i.e., a federated learning group ID), a UE ID (i.e. context information) or UE group ID participating in the federated learning, address information of an application server providing a model or participating in the federated learning.) Para [0117], and wherein the second identification information of the terminal device is used to establish a mapping relationship with the first identification information of the first network element by the NRF (the area information and the address information of the UE(s) and the respective AF corresponding (i.e. mapping relationship) to the DNAI are used to provide a path for optimization of the AI/ML model transfer status) Para [0271].
Regarding Claim 11, Liu discloses all the limitations of claim 8 as discussed above. Further Liu suggests receive a third message sent by a Network Exposure Function (NEF) (Step 102, the AF receives, directly or through the NEF, the analytics information of the AI/ML model transfer status sent by the NWDAF.) Para [0129], wherein the third message comprises the second identification information of the terminal device and the AI service data (Step 102, the AF receives, directly or through the NEF, the analytics information of the AI/ML model transfer status sent by the NWDAF.) Para [0129], wherein the AI service data is sent by the second network element to the NEF via the second message (The analytics information is determined by the NWDAF according to received data of the AI/ML model transfer status sent by other network function(s) of a 5G core network 5GC NF(s).) Para [0130], and wherein the second message comprises first identification information of the first network element, the second identification information of the terminal device, and the AI service data (the second message includes at least one of the following: a current location of a UE (i.e., UE location) using the AI/ML model, the identifier of the application using the AI/ML model (i.e., Application ID, which may be an ID of a server, or may also be an ID of the AF)… the second message further includes at least one of the following: the identifier designating the federated learning group (i.e., the Federated Learning (FL) group ID) for analytics, the UE identifier or UE(s) identifier(s) participating in the federated learning (i.e., Federated Learning (FL) UE ID or UE group ID), the identifier of the application participating in the federated learning (i.e., Federated Learning (FL) Application ID)) Para [0132-133].
Regarding Claim 12, Liu discloses all the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above. Further Liu suggests wherein the AI service data in the second message comprises an internal AI service data (step 101, an AF sends a first message to a network data analytic function NWDAF directly or through a network exposure function NEF. The first message is configured to request a subscription of analytics information (i.e. internal AI service data) of artificial intelligence/machine learning AI/ML model transfer status in the network.) Para [0122-0123], wherein the internal AI service data is used for the NEF to map to an external AI service data (The AI/ML model transfer status subscription request may carry the parameters shown in Table 1 or Table 2, requesting to subscribe to the analytics information of the AI/ML model transfer in the network.) Para [0128], and wherein the external AI service data in the third message is sent to the first network element (Step 102, the AF receives, directly or through the NEF, the analytics information of the AI/ML model transfer status (i.e. external AI service data) sent by the NWDAF. The analytics information is determined by the NWDAF according to received data of the AI/ML model transfer status sent by other network function(s) of a 5G core network 5GC NF(s).) Para [0129-0130].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 16-18 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US Publication No. 20240414063 A1 and Liu hereinafter) in view of Jin et al. (US Publication No. 20230412513 A1 and Jin hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1, Liu suggests a terminal device (an identifier of a user equipment UE (terminal device) or identifiers of a group of UEs) Para [0259], comprising: a transceiver; a memory configured to store executable instructions; and a processor configured to execute the executable instructions stored in the memory to cause the transceiver to (The transceiver 800 may be multiple elements, i.e., including a transmitter and a receiver, providing elements for communicating with various other apparatuses over transmission mediums, these transmission mediums include wireless channels, wired channels, fiber optic cables, and other transmission mediums. The processor 810 is responsible for managing the bus architecture and general processing, and the memory 820 may store data used by the processor 810 when performing operations.) Para [0253]:
receive Artificial Intelligence (AI) service data (an identifier of a user equipment UE or identifiers of a group of UEs receiving an AI/ML model (i.e. AI service data)) Para [0259], wherein the Al service data is(according to the area information and the address information (i.e. identification information) of the UE(s) and the respective AF transferring the AI/ML model, a data network access identifier DNAI and area information and address information of UE(s) and a respective AF corresponding to the DNAI, where the area information and the address information of the UE(s) and the respective AF corresponding to the DNAI are used to provide a path for optimization of the AI/ML model transfer status) Para [0271].
Liu doesn’t explicitly teach
receive Artificial Intelligence (AI) service data sent by a first network element serving the terminal device
However in a similar field of endeavor Jin suggests
receive Artificial Intelligence (AI) service data sent by a first network element serving the terminal device (Figure 6A; Operation 607: The AN node (e.g., gNB) (i.e. first network element) forwards the local model portions of the AI model (i.e. AI service data) (i.e., [Local Model portion, Local model weight]) to the UE (i.e. terminal device). To differentiate MDM related data traffic from other mobile traffic, a different IP address/prefix may be allocated to the UE (e.g., an IPv6 multi-homing address) for the traffic of the distributed AI application.) Para [0108].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu with the teachings suggested by Jin. The motivation would be to provide the distributed AI model with the network QoS parameters for distribution to at least one other node of the communication network, see Jin at Abstract.
Regarding Claim 16, Liu suggests a second network element (Figure 10) ,comprising: a transceiver; a memory configured to store executable instructions; and a processor configured to execute the executable instructions stored in the memory to cause the transceiver to (In FIG. 10, a bus architecture may include any number of interconnected buses and bridges, specifically, one or more processors represented by the processor 1010 and various circuits of the memory represented by the memory 1020 are linked together…The transceiver 1000 may be multiple elements, i.e., including a transmitter and a receiver, providing elements for communicating with various other apparatuses over transmission mediums) Para [0355]:
obtain first identification information of a first network element serving a terminal device (according to the area information and the address information (i.e. identification information) of the UE(s) and the respective AF transferring the AI/ML model, a data network access identifier DNAI and area information and address information of UE(s) and a respective AF corresponding to the DNAI, where the area information and the address information of the UE(s) and the respective AF corresponding to the DNAI are used to provide a path for optimization of the AI/ML model transfer status) Para [0271];
send an Artificial Intelligence (AI) service data to the first network element based on the first identification information of the first network element (Figure 6A; As shown in FIG. 6A, The deployment can thus be conducted using the PDU session specially established for the distributed AI service (i.e. the PDU session includes identification information for the network elements to send data). Operation 606: The AMF (i.e. the second network element) forwards the edge model portions of the AI model (i.e., [Edge Model portion, Edge model weight]) and local model portions of the AI model (i.e., [Local Model portion, Local model weight]) to a node of the access network (i.e. first network element) (e.g., to a gNB).) Para [0107]
Liu doesn’t explicitly suggest
wherein the AI service data is sent by the first network element to the terminal device
However, in a similar field of endeavor Jin suggests
wherein the AI service data is sent by the first network element to the terminal device (Figure 6A; Operation 607: The AN node (e.g., gNB) (i.e. first network element) forwards the local model portions of the AI model (i.e. AI service data) (i.e., [Local Model portion, Local model weight]) to the UE (i.e. terminal device). To differentiate MDM related data traffic from other mobile traffic, a different IP address/prefix may be allocated to the UE (e.g., an IPv6 multi-homing address) for the traffic of the distributed AI application.) Para [0108].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu with the teachings suggested by Jin. The motivation would be to provide the distributed AI model with the network QoS parameters for distribution to at least one other node of the communication network, see Jin at Abstract.
Regarding Claim 2, Liu-Jin discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Further Liu suggests wherein the first network element is a trusted network element, or an untrusted network element (When the AF sends an analytics request to the NWDAF, if the AF is in a trusted area, the AF may send the request to the NWDAF directly; if the AF is not in the trusted area, the AF may send the request to the NWDAF through the NEF, that is, the AF sends the request to the NEF, and then the NEF sends the request to the NWDAF.) Para [0118].
Regarding Claim 3 and Claim 18, Liu-Jin discloses all the limitations of claim 2 and 16, respectively as discussed above. Further Liu suggests wherein the first identification information of the first network element is used for the second network element to send a first message to the first network element, and the first message comprises second identification information of the terminal device and the Al service data (according to the area information and the address information of the UE(s) and the respective AF (i.e. first identification information) transferring the AI/ML model (i.e. AI service data), a data network access identifier DNAI and area information and address information of UE(s) and a respective AF corresponding to the DNAI, where the area information and the address information of the UE(s) and the respective AF corresponding to the DNAI are used to provide a path for optimization of the AI/ML model transfer status) Para [0271], or
wherein the first identification information of first network element is used by the second network element to send the second message to a Network Exposure Function (NEF), and is used by the NEF to send a third message to the first network element (Step 102, the AF receives, directly or through the NEF, the analytics information of the AI/ML model transfer status sent by the NWDAF.) Para [0129], wherein the second message includes the first identification information of first network element (Step 102, the AF receives, directly or through the NEF, the analytics information of the AI/ML model transfer status sent by the NWDAF.) Para [0129], the second identification information of terminal device and the Al service data, and the third message includes the second identification information of terminal device and the Al service data (the second message includes at least one of the following: a current location of a UE (i.e., UE location) using the AI/ML model, the identifier of the application using the AI/ML model (i.e., Application ID, which may be an ID of a server, or may also be an ID of the AF)… the second message further includes at least one of the following: the identifier designating the federated learning group (i.e., the Federated Learning (FL) group ID) for analytics, the UE identifier or UE(s) identifier(s) participating in the federated learning (i.e., Federated Learning (FL) UE ID or UE group ID), the identifier of the application participating in the federated learning (i.e., Federated Learning (FL) Application ID)) Para [0132-133].
Regarding Claim 4, Liu-Jin suggests all the limitations of claim 3 as discussed above. Further Liu suggests wherein the Al service data in the second message comprises an internal Al service data (step 101, an AF sends a first message to a network data analytic function NWDAF directly or through a network exposure function NEF. The first message is configured to request a subscription of analytics information (i.e. internal AI service data) of artificial intelligence/machine learning AI/ML model transfer status in the network.) Para [0122-0123], and the internal Al service data is used for the NEF to map to an external Al service data (The AI/ML model transfer status subscription request may carry the parameters shown in Table 1 or Table 2, requesting to subscribe to the analytics information of the AI/ML model transfer in the network.) Para [0128], and to send the external Al service data in the third message to the first network element (Step 102, the AF receives, directly or through the NEF, the analytics information of the AI/ML model transfer status (i.e. external AI service data) sent by the NWDAF. The analytics information is determined by the NWDAF according to received data of the AI/ML model transfer status sent by other network function(s) of a 5G core network 5GC NF(s).) Para [0129-0130].
Regarding Claim 5, Liu-Jin suggests all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Further Liu suggests the processor configured to cause the transceiver to: send a context information of the terminal device to the first network element, wherein the context information comprises second identification information of the terminal device (in an application scenario, the AF requests the NWDAF to provide an analytics of AI/ML model transfer status, the analytics result (or analytics information) includes: an identifier of an application (i.e. Application ID) using the AI/ML model, area information using the AI/ML model, a time period for transferring the AI/ML model, a size of an AI/ML transfer model, quality of service (i.e., QoS) related information for transferring the AI/ML model, a network slice used for the AI/ML model transfer, and data network name (DNN) information; if there is a federated learning, it also includes: a group identifier (i.e., a federated learning group ID), a UE ID (i.e. context information) or UE group ID participating in the federated learning, address information of an application server providing a model or participating in the federated learning.) Para [0117], wherein after the first network element successfully registers in a Network Repository Function (NRF) (i.e. the NWDAF instance needs to provide its support Analytic ID when registering with a network repository function (NRF)) Para [0116], the second identification information of the terminal device is used to be stored and establish a mapping relationship with the first identification information of the first network element by the NRF (the area information and the address information of the UE(s) and the respective AF corresponding (i.e. mapping relationship) to the DNAI are used to provide a path for optimization of the AI/ML model transfer status) Para [0271].
Regarding Claim 6, Liu-Jin suggests all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Further Liu suggests wherein the first identification information of the first network element comprises at least one of: an Identification (ID) of the first network element, an address of the first network element (according to the area information and the address information of the UE(s) and the respective AF (i.e. address information being the recited identification (ID) of first network element) transferring the AI/ML model) Para [0271], or an Uniform Resource Locator (URL) of the first network element, and wherein the Al service data comprises at least one of: an Al or machine learning ML model, an analysis result, metadata, intermediate results of model training, or raw data (according to the area information and the address information of the UE(s) and the respective AF (i.e. identification information of first network element) transferring the AI/ML model, a data network access identifier DNAI and area information and address information of UE(s) and a respective AF corresponding to the DNAI, where the area information and the address information of the UE(s) and the respective AF corresponding to the DNAI are used to provide a path for optimization of the AI/ML model transfer status) Para [0271].
Regarding Claim 17, Liu-Jin suggests all the limitations of claim 16 as discussed above. Further Liu suggests send a first message to the first network element based on the first identification information of the first network element, wherein the first message comprises second identification information of the terminal device and the AI service data (according to the area information and the address information of the UE(s) (i.e. second identification information) and the respective AF (i.e. first identification information) transferring the AI/ML model (i.e. AI service data), a data network access identifier DNAI and area information and address information of UE(s) and a respective AF corresponding to the DNAI, where the area information and the address information of the UE(s) and the respective AF corresponding to the DNAI are used to provide a path for optimization of the AI/ML model transfer status) Para [0271].
Regarding Claim 21, Liu-Jin suggests all the limitations of claim 5 as discussed above. Further Liu suggests wherein a first registration request is used by the first network element to register in the NRF (the NWDAF instance needs to provide its support Analytic ID when registering with a network repository function (NRF)) Para [0116], wherein the first registration request comprises the second identification information of the terminal device and the first identification information of the first network element (the AF requests the NWDAF to provide an analytics of AI/ML model transfer status, the analytics result (or analytics information) includes: an identifier of an application (i.e. Application ID) using the AI/ML model, area information using the AI/ML model, a time period for transferring the AI/ML model, a size of an AI/ML transfer model, quality of service (i.e., QoS) related information for transferring the AI/ML model, a network slice used for the AI/ML model transfer, and data network name (DNN) information; if there is a federated learning, it also includes: a group identifier (i.e., a federated learning group ID), a UE ID or UE group ID participating in the federated learning, address information of an application server providing a model or participating in the federated learning. According to the data analytics provided by the NWDAF, the AF requests to adjust a network policy of a 5GS or adjust an application layer AI/ML model parameter to optimize the AI/ML model transfer status, the 5GC NF(s) adjust(s) the network policy based on the request or the AF adjusts the application layer AI/ML model parameter based on the data analytics) Para [0117].
Regarding Claim 22, Liu-Jin suggests all the limitations of claim 21 as discussed above. Further Liu suggests wherein the first registration request further comprises at least one of: a service area of the first network element or an address of the first network element (according to the area information and the address information (i.e. identification information) of the UE(s) and the respective AF transferring the AI/ML model, a data network access identifier DNAI and area information and address information of UE(s) and a respective AF corresponding to the DNAI, where the area information and the address information of the UE(s) and the respective AF corresponding to the DNAI are used to provide a path for optimization of the AI/ML model transfer status) Para [0271].
Claims 13-15, 19-20 and 23-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US Publication No. 20240414063 A1 and Liu hereinafter) in view of Jin et al. (US Publication No. 20230412513 A1 and Jin hereinafter) and further in view of Muñoz De La Torre Alonso et al. (US Publication No. 20220369212 and Alonso hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 13, Liu-Jin suggests all the limitations of claim 8 as discussed above. Further Liu suggests the processor configured to cause the transceiver to: obtain context information from the terminal device, wherein the context information comprises the second identification information of the terminal device (in an application scenario, the AF requests the NWDAF to provide an analytics of AI/ML model transfer status, the analytics result (or analytics information) includes: an identifier of an application (i.e. Application ID) using the AI/ML model, area information using the AI/ML model, a time period for transferring the AI/ML model, a size of an AI/ML transfer model, quality of service (i.e., QoS) related information for transferring the AI/ML model, a network slice used for the AI/ML model transfer, and data network name (DNN) information; if there is a federated learning, it also includes: a group identifier (i.e., a federated learning group ID), a UE ID (i.e. context information) or UE group ID participating in the federated learning, address information of an application server providing a model or participating in the federated learning.) Para [0117]; (The AF invokes an API in the default or front-end NEF (e.g. Application QoS, etc.), specifying the AF-ID, the UE-ID, and (optionally) other parameters (e.g. App-ID, . . . ).) Para [0093],
wherein the second registration request is used to trigger the NEF to send a third registration request to a Network Repository Function (NRF), and the third registration request comprises the second identification information of the terminal device, the first identification information of the first network element, and third identification information of the NEF (The NEF serving the UE registers the mapping between UE and AF instance in the NRF by invoking the Nnrf_NFUpdate service, and specifying the AF-ID and the UE-ID. Other parameters might optionally also be registered along the UE-ID, e.g. the App-ID, etc.) Para [0100]
Liu and Jin don’t explicitly teach
send a second registration request to a Network Exposure Function (NEF);
wherein the second identification information of the terminal device is used to establish a mapping relationship between the first identification information of the first network element and the third identification information of the NEF by the NRF.
However, in a similar field of endeavor Alonso suggests
send a second registration request to a Network Exposure Function (NEF) (The AF sends an onboard request to NEF, specifying the AF-ID, and the App-ID… The NEF acknowledges the onboarding request, including whether the AF is deemed as trusted or untrusted.) Para [0081--0083];
wherein the second identification information of the terminal device is used to establish a mapping relationship between the first identification information of the first network element and the third identification information of the NEF by the NRF (The 5GC network function entity 300a, 300b, 300c (such as NRF, BSF, or UDM) receives, from the AF when the AF is in trusted mode, registration of a mapping between the UE and the AF.) Para [0070].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Liu-Jin with the method suggested by Alonso. The motivation would be for data collection and analytics, see Alonso at [0003].
Regarding Claim 14, Liu-Jin in view of Alonso, hereinafter Liu-Jin-Alonso suggests all the limitations of claim 13 as discussed above. Further Alonso suggests wherein the second identification information of the terminal device included in the second registration request is the identification information used by the terminal device outside a core network (There might be different examples of queries that are provided in action S102. According to some embodiments, the query invokes a discovery service in the 5GC network function entity 300a, 300b, 300c. According to some embodiments, the query comprises an ID of the UE.) Para [0041], wherein the second identification information of the terminal device included in the third registration request is the identification information used by the terminal device inside the core network (The NWDAF entity 200 provides, to the NEF, a request for event subscription for the UE. The request comprises an ID of the UE and at least one identifier of metrics to be collected by the NWDAF for the UE.) Para [0048], and wherein the identification information used by the terminal device outside the core network is used for the NEF to map to the identification information used by the terminal device inside the core network ( The NWDAF entity 200 receives, from the NEF, an acknowledgement of the event subscription.) Para [0049].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Liu-Jin with the method suggested by Alonso. The motivation would be for data collection and analytics, see Alonso at [0003].
Regarding Claim 15, Liu-Jin-Alonso suggests all the limitations of claim 13 as discussed above. Further Liu suggests wherein the first registration request further includes at least one of: a service area of the first network element, or an address of the first network element (according to the area information and the address information (i.e. identification information) of the UE(s) and the respective AF transferring the AI/ML model, a data network access identifier DNAI and area information and address information of UE(s) and a respective AF corresponding to the DNAI, where the area information and the address information of the UE(s) and the respective AF corresponding to the DNAI are used to provide a path for optimization of the AI/ML model transfer status) Para [0271].
Further Alonso suggests
wherein the second registration request further comprises at least one of: an external service area of the first network element, an address of the first network element (when the 5GC network function entity 300a, 300b, 300c is an NRF, an address to the NEF or the AF (i.e. first network element) is provided in the response.) Para [0059], or a first indication information, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate the first network element to register with the NRF (Figure 5; i.e. when the 5GC network function entity 300a, 300b, 300c is an NRF, an address to the NEF or the AF (i.e. first network element) is provided in the response. As above, in some embodiments, the address to the AF is provided when the AF is in trusted mode, and wherein the address to the NEF is provided when the AF is in untrusted mode. As above, in some embodiments, an explicit indication of whether the AF is in trusted mode or in untrusted mode is provided to the NWDAF entity 200.) Para [0059], and wherein the third registration request further comprises at least one of: an internal service area of the first network element, the address of the first network element (Figure 5; i.e. when the 5GC network function entity 300a, 300b, 300c is an NRF, an address to the NEF or the AF (i.e. first network element) is provided in the response) Para [0059], or an address of the NEF (Figure 5; i.e. when the 5GC network function entity 300a, 300b, 300c is an NRF, an address to the NEF or the AF (i.e. first network element) is provided in the response) Para [0059].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Liu-Jin with the method suggested by Alonso. The motivation would be for data collection and analytics, see Alonso at [0003].
Regarding Claim 19, Liu-Jin suggests all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Liu and Jin don’t explicitly teach
send a first network element discovery request to a Network Repository Function (NRF), wherein the first network element discovery request comprises second identification information of the terminal device; and receive a first network element discovery response sent by the NRF, wherein the first network element discovery response comprises the first identification information of the first network element, wherein the first identification information of the first network element is information of the first network element having a mapping relationship to the second identification information of the terminal device obtained from a first registration information.
However, in a similar field of endeavor Alonso suggests
send a first network element discovery request to a Network Repository Function (NRF), wherein the first network element discovery request comprises second identification information of the terminal device (The default NEF invokes the Nnrf_NFDiscovery service in the NRF, specifying that NFtype=NEF, the UE-ID, and (optionally) other parameters (e.g. App-ID, . . . ).) Para [0120]; and receive a first network element discovery response sent by the NRF, wherein the first network element discovery response comprises the first identification information of the first network element ((If the NRF assigns a NEF to the UE in action 7 and the mapping between UE and NEF instance is stored in the BSF) Para [0122] and (The NRF responds to the default NEF with the address of the NEF serving the UE.) Para [0127], wherein the first identification information of the first network element is information of the first network element having a mapping relationship to the second identification information of the terminal device obtained from a first registration information (If the NRF assigns a NEF to the UE in action 7 and the mapping between UE and NEF instance is stored in the BSF, the NRF registers the mapping between UE and NEF instance in the BSF by invoking the Nbsf_Register service, specifying that NFtype=NEF, the NEF-ID, and the UE-ID, and (optionally) other parameters (e.g. App-ID, . . . ).) Para [0122].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Liu-Jin with the method suggested by Alonso. The motivation would be for data collection and analytics, see Alonso at [0003].
Regarding Claim 20, Liu-Jin in view of Alonso, hereinafter Liu-Jin-Alonso suggests all the limitations of claim 19 as discussed above. Further Alonso suggests send the first network element discovery request to the NRF, wherein the first network element discovery request comprises location information of the terminal device (S102: The NWDAF entity 200 provides, to a 5GC network function entity 300a, 300b, 300c, a query of which NEF or AF is serving the UE (i.e. the network that is serving the UE would indicate its location information). There might be different examples of network function entities. According to a first example, the 5GC network function entity 300a, 300b, 300c is an NRF 300a) Para [0038]; and receive the first network element discovery response sent by the NRF, wherein the first network element discovery response comprises the first identification information of the first network element, wherein the first identification information of the first network element is obtained from second registration information of the location information of a service area covering the terminal device (S104: The NWDAF entity 200 receives, from the 5GC network function entity 300a, 300b, 300c, a response comprising an ID of the NEF or the AF when there is a NEF or AF instance stored in the 5GC network function entity 300a, 300b, 300c for the UE.) Para [0039].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Liu-Jin with the method suggested by Alonso. The motivation would be for data collection and analytics, see Alonso at [0003].
Examiner notes that while Liu does not explicitly suggest a discovery request/response to a NRF comprising location information of the terminal device. Liu suggests (the data of the AI/ML model transfer status is obtained by the NWDAF by sending a second message to the 5GC NF(s) according to the parameter requested in the received first message, the second message is configured to collect the data for analyzing the AI/ML model transfer status in the network… the second message includes at least one of the following: a current location of a UE (i.e., UE location) using the AI/ML model, the identifier of the application using the AI/ML model (i.e., Application ID, which may be an ID of a server, or may also be an ID of the AF)) Para [0129-0132].
Regarding Claim 23, Liu-Jin suggests all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Further Liu suggests wherein the processor is configured to execute the executable instructions stored in the memory to cause the transceiver to: send a context information of the terminal device to the first network element, wherein the context information comprises second identification information of the terminal device (in an application scenario, the AF requests the NWDAF to provide an analytics of AI/ML model transfer status, the analytics result (or analytics information) includes: an identifier of an application (i.e. Application ID) using the AI/ML model, area information using the AI/ML model, a time period for transferring the AI/ML model, a size of an AI/ML transfer model, quality of service (i.e., QoS) related information for transferring the AI/ML model, a network slice used for the AI/ML model transfer, and data network name (DNN) information; if there is a federated learning, it also includes: a group identifier (i.e., a federated learning group ID), a UE ID (i.e. context information) or UE group ID participating in the federated learning, address information of an application server providing a model or participating in the federated learning.) Para [0117]
Liu and Jin don’t explicitly teach
wherein after the first network element successfully registers in a Network Exposure Function (NEF), the second identification information of the terminal device is used to establish a mapping relationship between the first identification information of the first network element and third identification information of the NEF by the NRF.
However, in a similar field of endeavor Alonso suggests
wherein after the first network element successfully registers in a Network Exposure Function (NEF) (The AF sends an onboard request to NEF, specifying the AF-ID, and the App-ID… The NEF acknowledges the onboarding request, including whether the AF is deemed as trusted or untrusted.) Para [0081--0083], the second identification information of the terminal device is used to establish a mapping relationship between the first identification information of the first network element and third identification information of the NEF by the NRF (The 5GC network function entity 300a, 300b, 300c (such as NRF, BSF, or UDM) receives, from the AF when the AF is in trusted mode, registration of a mapping between the UE and the AF.) Para [0070].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Liu-Jin with the method suggested by Alonso. The motivation would be for data collection and analytics, see Alonso at [0003].
Regarding Claim 24, Liu-Jin in view of Alonso, hereinafter Liu-Jin-Alonso, suggests all the limitations of claim 23 as discussed above. Further Alonso suggests wherein a second registration request is used by the first network element to register in the NEF (The AF sends an onboard request to NEF, specifying the AF-ID, and the App-ID.) Para [0081], wherein the second registration request comprises the second identification information of the terminal device and the first identification information of the first network element (The AF invokes an API in the default or front-end NEF (e.g. Application QoS, etc.), specifying the AF-ID, the UE-ID, and (optionally) other parameters (e.g. App-ID, . . . ).) Para [0093]; wherein the second registration request is used to trigger the NEF to send a third registration request to a Network Repository Function (NRF), and the third registration request comprises the second identification information of the terminal device, the first identification information of the first network element, and the third identification information of the NEF (The NEF serving the UE registers the mapping between UE and AF instance in the NRF by invoking the Nnrf_NFUpdate service, and specifying the AF-ID and the UE-ID. Other parameters might optionally also be registered along the UE-ID, e.g. the App-ID, etc.) Para [0100].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Liu-Jin with the method suggested by Alonso. The motivation would be for data collection and analytics, see Alonso at [0003].
Regarding Claim 25, Liu-Jin-Alonso suggests all the limitations of claim 24 as discussed above. Further Alonso suggests wherein the second identification information of the terminal device comprised in the second registration request is the identification information used by the terminal device outside a core network (There might be different examples of queries that are provided in action S102. According to some embodiments, the query invokes a discovery service in the 5GC network function entity 300a, 300b, 300c. According to some embodiments, the query comprises an ID of the UE.) Para [0041], wherein the second identification information of the terminal device comprised in the third registration request is the identification information used by the terminal device inside the core network (The NWDAF entity 200 provides, to the NEF, a request for event subscription for the UE. The request comprises an ID of the UE and at least one identifier of metrics to be collected by the NWDAF for the UE.) Para [0048], and wherein the identification information used by the terminal device outside the core network is used for the NEF to map to the identification information used by the terminal device inside the core network (The NWDAF entity 200 receives, from the NEF, an acknowledgement of the event subscription.) Para [0049].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Liu-Jin with the method suggested by Alonso. The motivation would be for data collection and analytics, see Alonso at [0003].
Regarding Claim 26, Liu-Jin-Alonso suggests all the limitations of claim 24 as discussed above. Further Alonso suggests wherein the second registration request further comprises at least one of: an external service area of the first network element, an address of the first network element (when the 5GC network function entity 300a, 300b, 300c is an NRF, an address to the NEF or the AF (i.e. first network element) is provided in the response.) Para [0059], or a first indication information, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate the first network element to register with the NRF (Figure 5; when the 5GC network function entity 300a, 300b, 300c is an NRF, an address to the NEF or the AF (i.e. first network element) is provided in the response. As above, in some embodiments, the address to the AF is provided when the AF is in trusted mode, and wherein the address to the NEF is provided when the AF is in untrusted mode. As above, in some embodiments, an explicit indication of whether the AF is in trusted mode or in untrusted mode is provided to the NWDAF entity 200.) Para [0059], and wherein the third registration request further comprises at least one of: an internal service area of the first network element, the address of the first network element (Figure 5; when the 5GC network function entity 300a, 300b, 300c is an NRF, an address to the NEF or the AF (i.e. first network element) is provided in the response) Para [0059], or an address of the NEF (Figure 5; when the 5GC network function entity 300a, 300b, 300c is an NRF, an address to the NEF or the AF (i.e. first network element) is provided in the response) Para [0059].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Liu-Jin with the method suggested by Alonso. The motivation would be for data collection and analytics, see Alonso at [0003].
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang et al. (US Publication No. US 20220408282 A1) “COMMUNICATION METHOD AND APPARATUS” (December 22, 2022) is directed to a core network element generating, an AI parameter and sending the AI parameter to a first access network device, and receiving the AI data from the first access network device.
Conclusion
/IYONDA L LEWIS/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2647
Iyonda.Lewis@USPTO.gov
/Alison Slater/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2647