DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s Amendment filed on January 30, 2026 has been reviewed.
Claims 2, 8 and 14 are cancelled in the amendment.
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-13 and 15-17 are amended in the amendment.
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-13 and 15-17 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-13 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitsuru (JP 2020109899 A) in view of Fernando et al. (US 2024/0257064 A1), hereinafter referred to as Fernando.
With respect to claim 1, Mitsuru teaches An image processing apparatus (the multi-function device 30 has a copy function, page 4, lines 18-24) comprising:
a display (display unit, page 8, lines 39-42);
a (the multi-function device 30 has a copy function that prints an image based on image data obtained by optically 19 reading a document with a scanner on a recording sheet, page 4, lines 18-24);
(the conference management 28 server 10 checks the e-mail address of each participant to whom the material is to be distributed, and notifies the 29 multifunction device 30 of the same; the multifunction device 30 scans the e-mail address notified by the 30 conference management server 10; set as the destination when distributing materials with the function, page 4, lines 26-30),[[;]]
a communicator that transmits (the conference management system 2 uses the Scan To Email function of the multi-function device 30 to 27 distribute the conference materials to the conference participants, page 4, lines 26-30).
Mitsuru does not explicitly teach
wherein the controller receives selection of identification information from the displayed identification information; and
a communicator that transmits
However, Fernando teaches
(selecting a particular chat panel for communication, the user select a chat panel identifier 430; the chat panel identifiers 430 include private messages and/or messages to groups of users, such as teams; a user share a chat panel 435 with one or more other users and/or communicate via chat panel 435; chat panel 435 may be a private messaging chat panel, a private group chat panel, a team chat panel, a division chat panel, and/or an organization-wide or company chat panel; users share files within chat panel 435; to share a file, the user have selected a particular file from file display 420 as discussed with reference to FIG. 4A; the user have then specified a particular user and/or chat panel 435 for sharing the file, para. 0106),
wherein the controller receives selection of identification information from the displayed identification information (selecting a particular chat panel for communication, the user select a chat panel identifier 430; the chat panel identifiers 430 include private messages and/or messages to groups of users, such as teams; a user share a chat panel 435 with one or more other users and/or communicate via chat panel 435; chat panel 435 may be a private messaging chat panel, a private group chat panel, a team chat panel, a division chat panel, and/or an organization-wide or company chat panel; users share files within chat panel 435; to share a file, the user have selected a particular file from file display 420 as discussed with reference to FIG. 4A; the user have then specified a particular user and/or chat panel 435 for sharing the file, para. 0106); and
a communicator that transmits (selecting a particular chat panel for communication, the user select a chat panel identifier 430; the chat panel identifiers 430 include private messages and/or messages to groups of users, such as teams; a user share a chat panel 435 with one or more other users and/or communicate via chat panel 435; chat panel 435 may be a private messaging chat panel, a private group chat panel, a team chat panel, a division chat panel, and/or an organization-wide or company chat panel; users share files within chat panel 435; to share a file, the user have selected a particular file from file display 420 as discussed with reference to FIG. 4A; the user have then specified a particular user and/or chat panel 435 for sharing the file, para. 0106) in order to facilitate chat and/or instant messaging between users as taught by Fernando (para. 0106).
Therefore, based on Mitsuru in view of Fernando, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Fernando to the apparatus of Mitsuru in order to facilitate chat and/or instant messaging between users as taught by Fernando (para. 0106).
With respect to claim 3, Mitsuru teaches The image processing apparatus according to Claim 1[[2]], wherein:
the controller receives selection of the online meeting from a plurality of online meetings(when the operation of the conference designation button 82 is received on this screen (step S162), the conference selection screen 83 including the conference schedule table 84 is displayed on the operation panel 38 (step S163), and the conference selection is received (step S164, U1), page 12, line 20-24; upon receiving the selection of the conference, the multi-function peripheral 30D creates conference identification information including the selected conference name and the date and time of the conference, and transmits this to the conference management server 10D to request a list of conference room names. (Step S165, U2), page 12, line 26-29)
the (when the operation of the conference designation button 82 is received on this screen (step S162), the conference selection screen 83 including the conference schedule table 84 is displayed on the operation panel 38 (step S163), and the conference selection is received (step S164, U1), page 12, line 20-24; upon receiving the selection of the conference, the multi-function peripheral 30D creates conference identification information including the selected conference name and the date and time of the conference, and transmits this to the conference management server 10D to request a list of conference room names. (Step S165, U2), page 12, line 26-29).
With respect to claim 4, Mitsuru in view of Fernando teaches The image processing apparatus according to Claim as described above,
Further, Fernando teaches wherein (events login display 225 include saved account identifier 230; saved account identifier 230 identify an account corresponding to the events system 130; the user have previously provided events system 130 login credentials in order to access events system 130 via messaging system 110, para. 0053; If a user wishes to use another account and/or to add a new account, the user select other account identifier 235; the selection of this GUI object cause messaging system 110 to execute a login process with an events system 130, para. 0054),
the controller displays identification information corresponding to a user who logs in to the online meeting service via the image processing apparatus of the identification information corresponding to the selected online meeting in a state where the identification information corresponding to the user is not selected (events login display 225 include saved account identifier 230; saved account identifier 230 identify an account corresponding to the events system 130; the user have previously provided events system 130 login credentials in order to access events system 130 via messaging system 110, para. 0053; If a user wishes to use another account and/or to add a new account, the user select other account identifier 235; the selection of this GUI object cause messaging system 110 to execute a login process with an events system 130, para. 0054); invitee display 255 allow a user to select invitees to attend the event; this is a search bar used to search contact records events system 130, as text strings are entered, this search is of contacts managed by events system 130; contact records matching the text string displayed in invitee display 255; then select the invitees to add to the event definition, para. 0060; a notification and/or link sent via a chat panel to the identified invitee, para. 0064), and
the controller displays other identification information of the identification information corresponding to the selected online meeting in a state where the other identification information is selected (invitee display 255 allow a user to select invitees to attend the event; this is a search bar used to search contact records events system 130, as text strings are entered, this search is of contacts managed by events system 130; contact records matching the text string displayed in invitee display 255; then select the invitees to add to the event definition, para. 0060; a notification and/or link sent via a chat panel to the identified invitee, para. 0064) in order to facilitate chat and/or instant messaging between users as taught by Fernando (para. 0106).
Therefore, based on Mitsuru in view of Fernando, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Fernando to the apparatus of Mitsuru in order to facilitate chat and/or instant messaging between users as taught by Fernando (para. 0106).
With respect to claim 5, Mitsuru teaches The image processing apparatus according to Claim 1, further comprising:
a feeder (the scanner unit 36 has a function of sequentially feeding and reading the originals set on the original plate one by one from the top, and a function of reading the originals placed on the platen glass, page 6, lines 32-36),
wherein the (the multi-function device 30 has a copy function that prints an image based on image data obtained by optically 19 reading a document with a scanner on a recording sheet, page 4, lines 18-24).
With respect to claim 6, Mitsuru in view of Fernando teaches The image processing apparatus according to Claim as described above,
Further, Fernando teaches wherein:
the identification information (chat panel identifiers 430, para. 0105; To select a particular chat panel for communication, the user select a chat panel identifier 430; the chat panel identifiers 430 include private messages and/or messages to groups of users, such as teams, para. 0106) in order to facilitate chat and/or instant messaging between users as taught by Fernando (para. 0106)
Therefore, based on Mitsuru in view of Fernando, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Fernando to the apparatus of Mitsuru in order to facilitate chat and/or instant messaging between users as taught by Fernando (para. 0106).
With respect to claim 7, Mitsuru teaches An image processing system (the multi-function device 30 has a copy function, page 4, lines 18-24) comprising:
a display (display unit, page 8, lines 39-42);
a (the multi-function device 30 has a copy function that prints an image based on image data obtained by optically 19 reading a document with a scanner on a recording sheet, page 4, lines 18-24);
(the conference management 28 server 10 checks the e-mail address of each participant to whom the material is to be distributed, and notifies the 29 multifunction device 30 of the same; the multifunction device 30 scans the e-mail address notified by the 30 conference management server 10; set as the destination when distributing materials with the function, page 4, lines 26-30) ,[[;]]
a communicator that transmits the generated image data to the selected identification information (the conference management system 2 uses the Scan To Email function of the multi-function device 30 to 27 distribute the conference materials to the conference participants, page 4, lines 26-30)
Mitsuru does not explicitly teach
wherein the controller displays identification information of a plurality of chats in which a user communicates via a message with each of the participants indicated by the acquired identification information,
wherein the controller receives selection of identification information from the displayed identification information; and
a communicator that transmits the data to a chat corresponding to the selected identification information
However, Fernando teaches
wherein the controller displays identification information of a plurality of chats in which a user communicates via a message with each of the participants indicated by the acquired identification information (selecting a particular chat panel for communication, the user select a chat panel identifier 430; the chat panel identifiers 430 include private messages and/or messages to groups of users, such as teams; a user share a chat panel 435 with one or more other users and/or communicate via chat panel 435; chat panel 435 may be a private messaging chat panel, a private group chat panel, a team chat panel, a division chat panel, and/or an organization-wide or company chat panel; users share files within chat panel 435; to share a file, the user have selected a particular file from file display 420 as discussed with reference to FIG. 4A; the user have then specified a particular user and/or chat panel 435 for sharing the file, para. 0106),
wherein the controller receives selection of identification information from the displayed identification information (selecting a particular chat panel for communication, the user select a chat panel identifier 430; the chat panel identifiers 430 include private messages and/or messages to groups of users, such as teams; a user share a chat panel 435 with one or more other users and/or communicate via chat panel 435; chat panel 435 may be a private messaging chat panel, a private group chat panel, a team chat panel, a division chat panel, and/or an organization-wide or company chat panel; users share files within chat panel 435; to share a file, the user have selected a particular file from file display 420 as discussed with reference to FIG. 4A; the user have then specified a particular user and/or chat panel 435 for sharing the file, para. 0106); and
a communicator that transmits the data to a chat corresponding to the selected identification information (selecting a particular chat panel for communication, the user select a chat panel identifier 430; the chat panel identifiers 430 include private messages and/or messages to groups of users, such as teams; a user share a chat panel 435 with one or more other users and/or communicate via chat panel 435; chat panel 435 may be a private messaging chat panel, a private group chat panel, a team chat panel, a division chat panel, and/or an organization-wide or company chat panel; users share files within chat panel 435; to share a file, the user have selected a particular file from file display 420 as discussed with reference to FIG. 4A; the user have then specified a particular user and/or chat panel 435 for sharing the file, para. 0106) in order to facilitate chat and/or instant messaging between users as taught by Fernando (para. 0106)
Therefore, based on Mitsuru in view of Fernando, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Fernando to the system of Mitsuru in order to facilitate chat and/or instant messaging between users as taught by Fernando (para. 0106).
With respect to claim 9, Mitsuru teaches The image processing system according to Claim
the controller receives selection of the online meeting from a plurality of online meetings (when the operation of the conference designation button 82 is received on this screen (step S162), the conference selection screen 83 including the conference schedule table 84 is displayed on the operation panel 38 (step S163), and the conference selection is received (step S164, U1), page 12, line 20-24; upon receiving the selection of the conference, the multi-function peripheral 30D creates conference identification information including the selected conference name and the date and time of the conference, and transmits this to the conference management server 10D to request a list of conference room names. (Step S165, U2), page 12, line 26-29), and
the controller displays the identification information corresponding to the selected online meeting(when the operation of the conference designation button 82 is received on this screen (step S162), the conference selection screen 83 including the conference schedule table 84 is displayed on the operation panel 38 (step S163), and the conference selection is received (step S164, U1), page 12, line 20-24; upon receiving the selection of the conference, the multi-function peripheral 30D creates conference identification information including the selected conference name and the date and time of the conference, and transmits this to the conference management server 10D to request a list of conference room names. (Step S165, U2), page 12, line 26-29)
With respect to claim 10, Mitsuru in view of Fernando teaches The image processing system according to Claim as describe above,
Further, Fernando teaches
wherein, by the selection of the online meeting (events login display 225 include saved account identifier 230; saved account identifier 230 identify an account corresponding to the events system 130; the user have previously provided events system 130 login credentials in order to access events system 130 via messaging system 110, para. 0053; If a user wishes to use another account and/or to add a new account, the user select other account identifier 235; the selection of this GUI object cause messaging system 110 to execute a login process with an events system 130, para. 0054),
the controller displays identification information corresponding to a user who logs in to the online meeting service via the image processing apparatus of the identification information corresponding to the selected inline meeting in a state where the identification information corresponding to the user is not selected (events login display 225 include saved account identifier 230; saved account identifier 230 identify an account corresponding to the events system 130; the user have previously provided events system 130 login credentials in order to access events system 130 via messaging system 110, para. 0053; If a user wishes to use another account and/or to add a new account, the user select other account identifier 235; the selection of this GUI object cause messaging system 110 to execute a login process with an events system 130, para. 0054); invitee display 255 allow a user to select invitees to attend the event; this is a search bar used to search contact records events system 130, as text strings are entered, this search is of contacts managed by events system 130; contact records matching the text string displayed in invitee display 255; then select the invitees to add to the event definition, para. 0060; a notification and/or link sent via a chat panel to the identified invitee, para. 0064), and
the controller displays other identification information of the identification information corresponding to the selected online meeting in a state where the other identification information is selected(invitee display 255 allow a user to select invitees to attend the event; this is a search bar used to search contact records events system 130, as text strings are entered, this search is of contacts managed by events system 130; contact records matching the text string displayed in invitee display 255; then select the invitees to add to the event definition, para. 0060; a notification and/or link sent via a chat panel to the identified invitee, para. 0064) in order to facilitate chat and/or instant messaging between users as taught by Fernando (para. 0106).
Therefore, based on Mitsuru in view of Fernando, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Fernando to the system of Mitsuru in order to facilitate chat and/or instant messaging between users as taught by Fernando (para. 0106).
With respect to claim 11, Mitsuru teaches The image processing system according to Claim 7, further comprising:
a feeder that feeds(the scanner unit 36 has a function of sequentially feeding and reading the originals set on the original plate one by one from the top, and a function of reading the originals placed on the platen glass, page 6, lines 32-36),
wherein the (the multi-function device 30 has a copy function that prints an image based on image data obtained by optically 19 reading a document with a scanner on a recording sheet, page 4, lines 18-24).
With respect to claim 12, Mitsuru in view of Fernando teaches The image processing system according to Claim as described above,
Further, Fernando teaches wherein:
the identification information is a chat ID (chat panel identifiers 430, para. 0105; To select a particular chat panel for communication, the user select a chat panel identifier 430; the chat panel identifiers 430 include private messages and/or messages to groups of users, such as teams, para. 0106) in order to facilitate chat and/or instant messaging between users as taught by Fernando (para. 0106)
Therefore, based on Mitsuru in view of Fernando, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Fernando to the system of Mitsuru in order to facilitate chat and/or instant messaging between users as taught by Fernando (para. 0106).
With respect to claim 13, Mitsuru teaches An image processing method comprising:
scanning an original to generate image data (the multi-function device 30 has a copy function that prints an image based on image data obtained by optically 19 reading a document with a scanner on a recording sheet, page 4, lines 18-24);
acquiring information about participants in an online meeting from an online meeting service (the conference management 28 server 10 checks the e-mail address of each participant to whom the material is to be distributed, and notifies the 29 multifunction device 30 of the same; the multifunction device 30 scans the e-mail address notified by the 30 conference management server 10; set as the destination when distributing materials with the function, page 4, lines 26-30);
transmitting the generated image data to the selected identification information(the conference management system 2 uses the Scan To Email function of the multi-function device 30 to 27 distribute the conference materials to the conference participants, page 4, lines 26-30)
Mitsuru does not explicitly teach
displaying identification information of a plurality of chats in which a user communicates via a message with each of the participants indicated by the acquired identification information;
receiving selection of identification information from the displayed identification information; and
transmitting the data to a chat corresponding to the selected identification information
However, Fernando teaches
displaying identification information of a plurality of chats in which a user communicates via a message with each of the participants indicated by the acquired identification information (selecting a particular chat panel for communication, the user select a chat panel identifier 430; the chat panel identifiers 430 include private messages and/or messages to groups of users, such as teams; a user share a chat panel 435 with one or more other users and/or communicate via chat panel 435; chat panel 435 may be a private messaging chat panel, a private group chat panel, a team chat panel, a division chat panel, and/or an organization-wide or company chat panel; users share files within chat panel 435; to share a file, the user have selected a particular file from file display 420 as discussed with reference to FIG. 4A; the user have then specified a particular user and/or chat panel 435 for sharing the file, para. 0106),
receiving selection of identification information from the displayed identification information (selecting a particular chat panel for communication, the user select a chat panel identifier 430; the chat panel identifiers 430 include private messages and/or messages to groups of users, such as teams; a user share a chat panel 435 with one or more other users and/or communicate via chat panel 435; chat panel 435 may be a private messaging chat panel, a private group chat panel, a team chat panel, a division chat panel, and/or an organization-wide or company chat panel; users share files within chat panel 435; to share a file, the user have selected a particular file from file display 420 as discussed with reference to FIG. 4A; the user have then specified a particular user and/or chat panel 435 for sharing the file, para. 0106); and
transmitting the data to a chat corresponding to the selected identification information (selecting a particular chat panel for communication, the user select a chat panel identifier 430; the chat panel identifiers 430 include private messages and/or messages to groups of users, such as teams; a user share a chat panel 435 with one or more other users and/or communicate via chat panel 435; chat panel 435 may be a private messaging chat panel, a private group chat panel, a team chat panel, a division chat panel, and/or an organization-wide or company chat panel; users share files within chat panel 435; to share a file, the user have selected a particular file from file display 420 as discussed with reference to FIG. 4A; the user have then specified a particular user and/or chat panel 435 for sharing the file, para. 0106) in order to facilitate chat and/or instant messaging between users as taught by Fernando (para. 0106)
Therefore, based on Mitsuru in view of Fernando, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Fernando to the method of Mitsuru in order to facilitate chat and/or instant messaging between users as taught by Fernando (para. 0106).
With respect to claim 15, Mitsuru teaches The image processing method according to Claim
receiving selection of the online meeting from a plurality of online meetings (when the operation of the conference designation button 82 is received on this screen (step S162), the conference selection screen 83 including the conference schedule table 84 is displayed on the operation panel 38 (step S163), and the conference selection is received (step S164, U1), page 12, line 20-24; upon receiving the selection of the conference, the multi-function peripheral 30D creates conference identification information including the selected conference name and the date and time of the conference, and transmits this to the conference management server 10D to request a list of conference room names. (Step S165, U2), page 12, line 26-29),
wherein the displaying displays the identification information corresponding to the selected online meeting(when the operation of the conference designation button 82 is received on this screen (step S162), the conference selection screen 83 including the conference schedule table 84 is displayed on the operation panel 38 (step S163), and the conference selection is received (step S164, U1), page 12, line 20-24; upon receiving the selection of the conference, the multi-function peripheral 30D creates conference identification information including the selected conference name and the date and time of the conference, and transmits this to the conference management server 10D to request a list of conference room names. (Step S165, U2), page 12, line 26-29).
With respect to claim 16, Mitsuru teaches The image processing method according to Claim 13, further comprising:
(the scanner unit 36 has a function of sequentially feeding and reading the originals set on the original plate one by one from the top, and a function of reading the originals placed on the platen glass, page 6, lines 32-36),
wherein the scanning scans fed the original (the multi-function device 30 has a copy function that prints an image based on image data obtained by optically 19 reading a document with a scanner on a recording sheet, page 4, lines 18-24).
With respect to claim 17, Mitsuru in view of Fernando teaches The image processing method according to Claim as described above,
Further, Fernando teaches wherein[[:]], by the selection of the online meeting (events login display 225 include saved account identifier 230; saved account identifier 230 identify an account corresponding to the events system 130; the user have previously provided events system 130 login credentials in order to access events system 130 via messaging system 110, para. 0053; If a user wishes to use another account and/or to add a new account, the user select other account identifier 235; the selection of this GUI object cause messaging system 110 to execute a login process with an events system 130, para. 0054),
the displaying displays identification information corresponding to a user who logs in to the online meeting service via an image processing apparatus of the identification information corresponding to the selected online meeting in a state where the identification information corresponding to the user is not selected (events login display 225 include saved account identifier 230; saved account identifier 230 identify an account corresponding to the events system 130; the user have previously provided events system 130 login credentials in order to access events system 130 via messaging system 110, para. 0053; If a user wishes to use another account and/or to add a new account, the user select other account identifier 235; the selection of this GUI object cause messaging system 110 to execute a login process with an events system 130, para. 0054); invitee display 255 allow a user to select invitees to attend the event; this is a search bar used to search contact records events system 130, as text strings are entered, this search is of contacts managed by events system 130; contact records matching the text string displayed in invitee display 255; then select the invitees to add to the event definition, para. 0060; a notification and/or link sent via a chat panel to the identified invitee, para. 0064), and
the displaying displays other identification information of the identification information corresponding to the selected inline meeting in a state where the other identification information is selected (invitee display 255 allow a user to select invitees to attend the event; this is a search bar used to search contact records events system 130, as text strings are entered, this search is of contacts managed by events system 130; contact records matching the text string displayed in invitee display 255; then select the invitees to add to the event definition, para. 0060; a notification and/or link sent via a chat panel to the identified invitee, para. 0064) in order to facilitate chat and/or instant messaging between users as taught by Fernando (para. 0106)
Therefore, based on Mitsuru in view of Fernando, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Fernando to the method of Mitsuru in order to facilitate chat and/or instant messaging between users as taught by Fernando (para. 0106).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-7, 9-13 and 15-17 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.H.N/Examiner, Art Unit 2447
April 4, 2026
/JOON H HWANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2447