DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Application filed on 08/16/024, said application claims a priority date of 02/18/2022.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the case.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-11 and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeong et al. (US 2017/0139576 A1, published 05/18/2017, hereinafter “Jeong”).
Independent Claims 1, 8 and 15:
Jeong discloses an electronic device comprising:
a processor, a memory [non-transitory readable storage medium], and a program or an instruction stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein the program or the instruction, when executed by the processor causes the electronic device to perform [a method comprising] (Jeong: Fig. 1, abstract, ¶ [0085]):
obtaining target information in a case that a target application page is displayed, the target information being used for indicating a change in a size of the target application page (The layout of the page can occur in response to a user input for changing the size of the displayed page or by changing the orientation of the user device, Jeong: Figs. 10 and 14, ¶ [0095], [0108], [0146]-[0147], [0151]);
determining, from a preset responsive user interface set, a target page layout model corresponding to the target information (An application (user interface) can include a first layout to be displayed when the display is vertically oriented and a second layout to be displayed when the display is horizontally oriented (preset responsive user interface set), Jeong: ¶ [0093]. A particular layout (target page layout model) from the set of layouts is determined to be the selected layout based on the horizontal and vertical length the page was changed to, Jeong: ¶ [0147], [0151]); and
adjusting a page layout of the target application page on a basis of the target page layout model (Jeong: Figs. 10 and 11, ¶ [0147], [0151]).
Claims 2, 9 and 16:
The rejection of claims 1, 8 and 15 are incorporated. Jeong further discloses a device, medium and method wherein the determining, from a preset responsive user interface set, a target page layout model corresponding to the target information comprises:
in a case that the size of the target application page changes from a first size to a second size, determining a page layout model corresponding to the second size in the preset responsive user interface set as the target page layout model (Jeong: Figs. 10 and 11s, ¶ [0093], [0146]-[0147], [0151].).
Claims 3, 10 and 17:
The rejection of claims 1, 8 and 15 are incorporated. Jeong further discloses a device, medium and method wherein the adjusting a page layout of the target application page on a basis of the target page layout model comprises:
adjusting first display parameters of the target application page on the basis of the target page layout model, the first display parameters comprising at least one of the following: display layout information, display state information, display size information, or display position information of page elements in the target application page (Text at the bottom of the first layout can be displayed in the right side on the second layout (display position information), Jeong: ¶ [0093]. Each option corresponds to a different layout (display layout information), Jeong: Figs. 10 and 11, ¶ [0147], [0151]. As illustrated in Figs. 10 and 11 some keys are hidden/removed in the vertical layout vs the horizontal layout (display state information) and the keys are different size in the vertical vs horizontal layout (display size information).); and
reconfiguring parameters of the target application page on a basis of the first display parameters (After the layout change is determined, the application’s window configuration information (parameters of the target application) is updated to reflect the change of the layout and the window resizing, Jeong: ¶ [0111], [0123]-[0126].).
Claims 4, 11 and 18:
The rejection of claims 1, 8 and 15 are incorporated. Jeong further discloses a device, medium and method wherein the adjusting a page layout of the target application page on a basis of the target page layout model comprises:
in a case that a page element of the target application page comprises a first type of page element, hiding the first type of page element in the target application page on the basis of the target page layout model, or displaying the first type of page element that is in a hidden state in the target application page (The application can be a calculator application that can correspond to the first or second layout, Jeong: ¶ [0146]. As can be seen in Figs. 10 and 11, in the horizontal layout the calculator comprises a set of scientific keys in the left three columns (first type of page elements) that are not displayed (hidden) in the vertical layout.).
Claim 6, 13 and 19:
The rejection of claims 1, 8 and 15 are incorporated. Jeong further discloses a device, medium and method wherein the adjusting a page layout of the target application page on a basis of the target page layout model comprises:
adjusting, in a case that a page element of the target application page comprises a second type of page element, second display parameters of the target application page on the basis of the target page layout model, the second display parameters comprising at least one of the following: a line spacing of the page element of the target application page, a display size of the page element of the target application page, or a display number of the page element of the target application page (The calculator page includes keys (second type of page element) and an input field, Jeong: Fig. 10, ¶ [0146]. As can be seen in Figs. 10 and 11, when the layout changes the display size of the keypad and operators change, and a different number of keys are displayed, Jeong: ¶ [0147], [0151]).
Claims 7, 14 and 20:
The rejection of claims 1, 8 and 15 are incorporated. Jeong further discloses a device, medium and method wherein after the adjusting a page layout of the target application page on a basis of the target page layout model, the method further comprises:
receiving a second input of a user for a first screen area, the first screen area being a screen area for displaying the target application page (The page layout can initially be adjusted by a change in orientation of the display, Jeong: ¶ [0111]. The display can also be adjusted by the user providing an input to resize a window (first screen area), Jeong: Figs. 10, 11, 14, ¶ [0146]-[0151], [0178].); and
adjusting, in response to the second input, a size of the first screen area, and adjusting the size of the target application page on a basis of an adjusted size of the first screen area (Jeong: Figs. 10, 11, 14, ¶ [0146]-[0151], [0178].).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong in view of Federico Viticci (“PCalc and the Everything Calculator for iOS 8, published 09/29/2014, hereinafter “Viticci”).
Claims 5 and 12:
The rejection of claims 4 and 11 are incorporated. Jeong does not appear to expressly teach a device and method wherein after the adjusting a page layout of the target application page on a basis of the target page layout model, the method further comprises:
receiving a first input of a user for the first type of page element; and
editing, in response to the first input, the first type of page element by using an editing manner corresponding to the first input.
However, Viticci teaches a device and method wherein after displaying a landscape layout, the method further comprises (The calculator can be displayed in a landscape layout, Viticci: page 8 second paragraph.):
receiving a first input of a user for the first type of page element (The user can tap and hold in the page and the calculator app will switch to an edit mode that allows you to resize, move, add, and remove any button (including different types of keys), Viticci: page 3 third paragraph and page 5 top left screenshot.); and
editing, in response to the first input, the first type of page element by using an editing manner corresponding to the first input (Viticci: page 3 third paragraph and page 5 top left screenshot.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device and method of Jeong wherein after displaying a landscape layout, the method further comprises:
receiving a first input of a user for the first type of page element; and
editing, in response to the first input, the first type of page element by using an editing manner corresponding to the first input, as taught by Viticci.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve the user’s experience so that the layout of the calculator app can be arranged to the user’s needs (Viticci: pages 2 and 3.).
In implementing the editing features of Viticci into the invention of Jeong, displaying a landscape layout (as taught by Viticci) would correspond to adjusting the page layout of the target application on the basis of the target page layout model because the landscape layout is displayed after the user provides input the change the size of the calculator app and the layout is changed to a corresponding horizontal layout in the invention of Jeong. Accordingly, in combination, Jeong in view of Viticci teaches a device and method wherein after the adjusting a page layout of the target application page on a basis of the target page layout model, the method further comprises:
receiving a first input of a user for the first type of page element; and
editing, in response to the first input, the first type of page element by using an editing manner corresponding to the first input.
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular columns and line and/or paragraph numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
The examiner requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicants’ disclosure.
Dabrowski et al., US 2014/0325374 A1 (A target page layout model is determined from a preset responsive user interface set, Fig. 3, ¶ [0004], [0050], [0053], [0061])
Forstall et al., US 2015/0145893 A1 (When a change in size is detected in the page of the application, a layout corresponding to the change in size is displayed, Figs. 6A-6B)
GAO, US 2022/0269387 A1 (A target page layout model is determined from a preset responsive user interface set, Fig. 13, ¶ [0081]-[0083], [0101], [0104], [0061])
/DANIEL RODRIGUEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178