DETAILED ACTION
Notices to Applicant
This communication is a final rejection. Claims 1-20, as filed 03/11/2026, are currently pending and have been considered below.
Priority is generally acknowledged as shown on the filing receipt with the earliest date being 07/24/2023.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon and the rationale supporting the rejection would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1
The claim(s) recite(s) subject matter within a statutory category as a process, machine, and/or article of manufacture which recite:
1. An apparatus for loop plating, the apparatus comprising:
an optical scanning system;
at least a processor; and
a memory communicatively connected to the processor, the memory containing instructions configuring the at least a processor to: (additional element; insignificant extra-solution activity; applying the abstract idea with a computer, namely a generic smartphone)
generate, using the optical scanning system, a first scan of a plate; (additional element; insignificant extra-solution activity; mere data-gathering)
determine, using a machine vision system, an ingredient usage datum as a function of the first scan (abstract idea; mental process because, but for generic computing language regarding machine vision, a person could look at a plate and make such a determination about the food on the plate);
by classifying, using a machine-learning model, at least an ingredient (abstract idea; mental process because, but for generic computing language regarding machine learning, a person could look at a plate and classify an ingredient; the Examiner further notes that the machine-learning model can also be a linear model in [0105] which can practically be performed in the human mind); and
identifying a portion size associated with the at least an ingredient (abstract idea; mental process because a person could look at a plate and identify ingredients);
determine a stored ingredient level as a function of the determined ingredient usage datum wherein determining the stored ingredient level comprises: decreasing a previously stored ingredient level based on the portion size associated with the ingredient usage datum (abstract idea; mental process because a person could look at a plate and make such a determination about the food on the plate);
determine a stored ingredient addition as a function of the stored ingredient level (abstract idea; mental process because a person could look at a plate and make such a determination about the food on the plate).
2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the memory contains instructions configuring the at least a processor to determine a value report indicating a nutritional value of a plated item as a function of the first scan (abstract idea; mental process because, but for generic computing language, a person could look at a plate and make such a determination about the food on the plate).
3. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the memory contains instructions configuring the at least a processor to determine an ingredient waste level as a function of the stored ingredient level (abstract idea; mental process because, but for generic computing language, a person could look at a plate and make such a determination about the food on the plate).
4. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the memory contains instructions configuring the at least a processor to determine a plated item preparation method as a function of the ingredient usage datum (abstract idea; mental process because, but for generic computing language, a person could look at a plate and make such a determination about the food on the plate).
5. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the memory contains instructions configuring the at least a processor to track, using a radio-frequency identification system, a location of the plate (additional element; generally linking to a technical field).
6. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the memory contains instructions configuring the at least a processor to:
generate, using the optical scanning system, a second scan of the plate; and (additional element; applying the abstract idea with a computer and mere data gathering)
determine a nutrient consumption as a function of the first scan and the second scan (abstract idea; mental process because, but for generic computing language, a person could look at a plate and make such a determination about the food on the plate).
7. The apparatus of claim 6, wherein the memory contains instructions configuring the at least a processor to determine an order prediction as a function of the nutrient consumption (abstract idea; mental process because, but for generic computing language, a person could make this determination).
8. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the memory contains instructions configuring the at least a processor to modify the stored ingredient level as a function of plated item loss (additional element; insignificant extra-solution activity; generally outputting data and storing data in memory).
9. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the memory contains instructions configuring the at least a processor to display to a user an alert upon the stored ingredient level falling below a threshold (additional element; insignificant extra-solution activity; generally outputting data and storing data in memory; also amounts to merely applying the abstract idea with a computer since the alert to the user is outputting the result of the otherwise mentally-performable analysis).
10. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the memory contains instructions configuring the at least a processor to disable ordering of an item on a virtual menu upon the stored ingredient level falling below a threshold (abstract idea, namely, controlling access to an item which amounts to certain methods of organizing human activity and mental processes; merely applying the abstract idea with a computer).
Claims 1-10 are presented as an exemplary claim but the same analysis applies to the other claims 11-20.
Step 2A Prong One
The broadest reasonable interpretation of these steps includes mental processes. Other than reciting generic computer terms like processor, memory, and optical scanning system, nothing in the claims precludes the italicized portions from practically being performed in the mind. For example a person could look at a plate and determine an ingredient usage datum such as that the plate uses one pound of chicken. The person could then determine a stored ingredient level as a function of the first determination by mentally noting that the refrigerator now has one pound less of chicken. Finally, the person could mentally note that he needs to by chicken to re-stock the refrigerator.
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which further narrows or defines the abstract idea embodied in the claims. For example, claims 2-4 and 6 recite additional determinations that are practicably performable in the human mind. Claim 10 recites a process of disabling the ordering of certain food when appropriate which is performable in the human mind and amounts to certain methods of organizing human activity.
Step 2A Prong Two
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, other than the abstract idea per se, because the additional elements:
amount to mere instructions to apply an exception. For example, performing determinations with a processor and memory, machine vision system, or machine learning model amounts to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea, see applicant’s specification as published in [0021] and [0139] giving a generic list of hardware that could perform the determinations, see MPEP 2106.05(f))
add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea. For example, generating a scan of a plate with an optical scanning system amounts to mere data gathering and selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated, see MPEP 2106.05(g))
generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use such as generating a scan of a plate with an optical scanning system, see MPEP 2106.05(h))
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which amount to limitations consistent with the additional elements in the independent claims. For example, claim 5 recites using RFID which amounts to generally linking to a technical field. Claim 8 recites modifying stored data which amounts to an insignificant extra-solution activity, namely, storing data. Claim 9 is insignificant extra solution activity such as outputting a result. Claim recites additional limitations which add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea which amounts to mere data gathering. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation and do not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to discussion of integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception, add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea, and generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. Additionally, the additional limitations, other than the abstract idea per se amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields. For example, scanning a plate to determine food information is well-understood, routine and conventional as shown by the Meal Snap App article by CNET which describes an iPhone app “that takes a photo of the food on your plate, then delivers an estimated calorie count.
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, amount to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea. Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which amount to limitations consistent with the additional elements in the independent claims. Using RFID to track location as in claim 5 is well-understood, routine, and conventional as described in the Wikipedia article on “Radio-frequency identification” which describes them as “tracking tags attached to objects” that can track items as they move around. Modifying stored data as ins claim 8 amounts to storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv), and electronic recordkeeping. Generating an alert on a display based on criteria as in claim 9 amounts to applying the abstract idea with a computer and is a field of use limitation that fails to provide significantly more than the abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(h). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 8-11, 13-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao (US20200249660A1) in view of Divakaran (US20160063692A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rao discloses: An apparatus for loop plating, the apparatus comprising: an optical scanning system; at least a processor; and a memory communicatively connected to the processor, the memory containing instructions configuring the at least a processor (FIG. 2; “local sensors 260 (e.g., video cameras, temperature sensors, ToF cameras, microphones, laser range sensors, RFID, and other suitable sensors),” [0076]; “Inventory may be identified and retain an association throughout the preparation process, such that each food item used to create a menu item can be tracked from a particular source in inventory. When accessed from inventory an identifier associated with the item or items (e.g., a barcode, serial number, UPC, label, RFID, shape, or other unique information) may be identified by an employee or AGV, for example, using scanners, cameras,” [0090]; “When an AGV or an employee acquires inventory, the inventory may be placed on or in pans or containers with identifiers to facilitate continued tracking of the inventory throughout the food preparation process, e.g., based on barcodes, RFID, camera-readable markings, shape, etc,” [0091]; “at appropriate stages of the food preparation process (e.g., after the completion of heating and cooking stages), the food items and eventual order may be associated with a vessel (e.g., plate, bowl, etc.), including visual indicators (e.g., patterns, barcodes, etc.) or wireless transponders (e.g., RFID, beacons, etc.) to continue to track the food items and orders through all stages of preparation through delivery and disposal,” [0104]; “As described herein, the establishment may collect data from numerous other sources in addition to food preparation equipment, robots, and AGVs, such as local sensors (e.g., video, audio, time-of flight, inventory monitoring, etc.) and from other connected devices (e.g., of employees and customers),” [0122]; “Cameras may also gather information about which items are consumed by image analysis, obscuring any customer identities or other sensitive information,” [0105]) to:
--generate, using the optical scanning system, a first scan of a plate (“In the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 29, food items are loaded onto a conveyor of a robotic cooking system, which identifies items, updates order information,” [0171]; cameras such as at smart tables detecting food items in [0105] and [0106]; “The progress of each item is tracked as it is moved from the identifiable container to a piece of equipment, preparation station, or new identifiable container, until the final menu item (i.e., a cheeseburger with French fried potatoes) is located on a plate, which itself may have identifiable information for tracking through the front-of-house operations and back to the back-of-house for monitoring of delivery times, quality, scrap, and other information as described herein,” [0094]; “At multiple stages within the back-of-house area, QC and quality checking may be performed using computer vision system,” [0101]);
--determine, using a machine vision system (“exemplary sensors may include a vision system” [0067]; “item recognition (e.g., vision systems),” [0088]; “supplementary sensors and monitoring equipment may be added to any portions of the system, such as a vision system,” [0108]), an ingredient usage datum as a function of the first scan (“In the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 29, food items are loaded onto a conveyor of a robotic cooking system, which identifies items, updates order information,” [0171]; “At multiple stages within the back-of-house area, QC and quality checking may be performed using computer vision system,” [0101]) by:
--determine a stored ingredient level as a function of the determined ingredient usage datum (“the integrated restaurant management system may provide comprehensive measurement and analysis of the entire restaurant operation from receiving inventory to disposal of scrap food,” [0106]; “The order-level information may be aggregated and analyzed to inform and control all aspects of restaurant operations, including customer ordering and service, inventory control,” [0063]); and
--wherein determining the stored ingredient level comprises: decreasing a previously stored ingredient level based on the portion size associated with the ingredient usage datum (keeping ingredient inventory in response to new orders in [0063], “comprehensive measurement and analysis of the entire restaurant operation from receiving inventory to disposal of scrap food” in [0106], and “inventory 118 may be managed by scanning items as they are used which may be processed by software that indicates when inventory is running low and assists with ordering,” [0073]).
--determine a stored ingredient addition as a function of the stored ingredient level (“Inventory 118 may be managed by scanning items as they are used which may be processed by software that indicates when inventory is running low and assists with ordering,” [0073]; FIG. 31; “The user interface 3104 provides a predictive inventory based on current consumption patterns, indicating, for example, that chicken and Diet Pepsi are likely to fall below required thresholds while Zaya Rum is likely to run out of stock absent corrective action,” [0173]).
Rao does not expressly disclosed, but Divakaran teaches:
--classifying, using a machine-learning model, at least an ingredient (“The food recognition assistant computing system 100 executes one or more feature detection algorithms, including machine learning algorithms…to, among other things, in an automated fashion detect, recognize and describe one or more food items that are depicted in a digital image 102,” [0019]);
--identifying a portion size associated with at least an ingredient (“The output 518 further includes food identifications 524, confidence scores 526 relating to the food identifications, and portion estimates and nutritional facts 528 related to the identified foods,” [0082]; 238 in FIG. 2).
The Examiner further notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation, Rao’s inventory control based on aggregated order-level data, when combined with Divakaran’s per-ingredient portion estimation teaching decrementing a stored ingredient level by the identified portion of each ingredient.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated before the effective filing date to expand Rao’s plate-scanning inventory system to include Divakaran’s machine-learning ingredient classification and portion estimation because this would improve Rao’s barcode/RFID-based plate-tracking workflow by enabling ingredient-level recognition and portion usage tracking directly from a scan of the plate.
Additionally, it can be seen that each element is taught by either Rao or Divakaran. Divakaran’s ML-based ingredient detection and portion estimation techniques do not affect the normal functioning of the elements of the claim which are taught by Rao. Because the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of their combination would have been predictable. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Divakaran with the teachings of Rao since the result is merely a combination of old elements, and, since the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 2, Rao does not disclose but Divakaran teaches: wherein the memory contains instructions configuring the at least a processor to determine a value report indicating a nutritional value of a plated item as a function of the first scan (“The computing system 100 can also estimate a portion size of each identified food, and present nutritional information that relates to identified foods and their estimated portion sizes” in [0019]; [0034]-[0036]).
The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Rao discloses: wherein the memory contains instructions configuring the at least a processor to determine an ingredient waste level as a function of the stored ingredient level (“scrap may also be measured by the smart table, camera,” [0105]; “A number of data collection, aggregation, analysis, machine learning, and artificial intelligence techniques may be utilized in the integrated systems described herein. For example, the system may remotely stop food orders made in error (e.g., food scrap items) based on real-time analysis of scrap and QC trends with respect to particular orders or inventory items, or based on other criteria as described herein” [0194]; “This user interface facilitates a user's understanding of scrap frequency for different items and is associated with order-level information, and depicts successful order 4204 and scrap 4202 for different order (e.g., pizza) types 4206,” [0184]; scrap ratios in FIG. 45).
Regarding claim 4, Rao discloses: wherein the memory contains instructions configuring the at least a processor to determine a plated item preparation method as a function of the ingredient usage datum (“parameters such as selection of particular inventor, preparation methods…may be determined based on information acquired by the system,” [0084]).
Regarding claim 5, Rao discloses: wherein the memory contains instructions configuring the at least a processor to track, using a radio-frequency identification system, a location of the plate (“the inventory may be placed on or in pans or containers with identifiers to facilitate continued tracking of the inventory throughout the food preparation process, e.g., based on barcodes, RFID, camera-readable markings, shape, etc,” [0091]; “the food items and eventual order may be associated with a vessel (e.g., plate, bowl, etc.), including visual indicators (e.g., patterns, barcodes, etc.) or wireless transponders (e.g., RFID, beacons, etc.) to continue to track the food items and orders through all stages of preparation through delivery and disposal,” [0104]).
Regarding claim 8, Rao discloses: wherein the memory contains instructions configuring the at least a processor to modify the stored ingredient level as a function of plated item loss (“the integrated restaurant management system may provide comprehensive measurement and analysis of the entire restaurant operation from receiving inventory to disposal of scrap food. Scrap may also be measured during preparation within the back-of-house food preparation environment, for example, by QC vision systems or scales,” [0106]).
Regarding claim 9, Rao discloses: wherein the memory contains instructions configuring the at least a processor to display to a user an alert upon the stored ingredient level falling below a threshold (“Inventory 118 may be managed by scanning items as they are used which may be processed by software that indicates when inventory is running low and assists with ordering,” [0073]; “The user interface 3104 provides a predictive inventory based on current consumption patterns, indicating, for example, that chicken and Diet Pepsi are likely to fall below required thresholds while Zaya Rum is likely to run out of stock absent corrective action,” [0173]).
Regarding claim 10, Rao discloses: wherein the memory contains instructions configuring the at least a processor to disable ordering of an item on a virtual menu upon the stored ingredient level falling below a threshold (claim 14; “the control system 270 may identify that a particular item in inventory may run out prior to the next delivery, and may temporarily enact measures to limit consumption of related food items, such as suggesting substitutes at discounts…analytics can provide for selective enabling or disabling of access to certain menu items based on events or known situations (e.g., time of day, consumption patterns for an event, equipment availability, etc.) that are determined to drive certain types of traffic or certain consumption patterns (e.g., soup on a rainy day, etc.),” [0084]).
Claims 11, 14, 15, 19, and 20 are substantially similar to claims 1, 4, 5, 9, and 10 and are rejected with the same reasoning.
Claims 6, 7, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao (US20200249660A1) in view of Divakaran (US20160063692A1) and Mutti (EP2787459A1).
Regarding claim 6, Rao does not disclose but Mutti teaches: wherein the memory contains instructions configuring the at least a processor to: generate, using the optical scanning system, a second scan of the plate; and determine a nutrient consumption as a function of the first scan and the second scan (“The at least one final meal image enables the present invention to identify at least one final component and a final portion size of the at least one final meal image. Similar to the at least one initial meal image, the at least one final meal image within the present invention can be the 3D image (step 131) and the plurality of images (step 132), where the plurality of images creates a three-dimensional rendering (step 133). When the at least one final meal image retrieves to the present invention, the present invention identifies the at least one final component and the final portion size (step 14)” [0035]; Calculating a final meal weight 153 in FIG. 8).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated before the effective filing date to expand the restaurant automation system of Rao and Divakaran to include the nutritional calculations of Mutti because this would more accurately track what is eaten and could thus be used to provide useful feedback to customers.
Additionally, it can be seen that each element is taught by either Rao, Divakaran, or Mutti. The food predictions of Mutti do not affect the normal functioning of the elements of the claim which are taught by Rao and Divakaran. Because the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of their combination would have been predictable. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Rao and Divakaran with the teachings of Mutti since the result is merely a combination of old elements, and, since the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 7, Rao does not disclose but Mutti teaches: wherein the memory contains instructions configuring the at least a processor to determine an order prediction as a function of the nutrient consumption (“After the pre-determine time period, the present invention is also able to suggest meal ideas for the at least one user account (step 165). The meal ideas are suggested according to the at least one consumed component and the consumed portion size” in [0038] are viewed as predictions).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to expand the restaurant automation system of Rao to include the food predictions of Mutti because this would allow the restaurant manager to more accurately forecast demand for items to better maintain inventory.
Additionally, it can be seen that each element is taught by either Rao, Divakaran, or Mutti. The food predictions of Mutti do not affect the normal functioning of the elements of the claim which are taught by Rao and Divakaran. Because the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of their combination would have been predictable. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Rao and Divakaran with the teachings of Mutti since the result is merely a combination of old elements, and, since the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Claims 16 and 17 are substantially similar to claims 6 and 7 and are rejected with the same reasoning.
Response to arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/11/2026 have been fully considered and are discussed below.
Regarding the subject matter ineligibility rejections, Applicant argues that the claimed invention is not directed to a mental process (Step 2A Prong One). Remarks pages 1-4. As an initial matter, the Examiner notes in [0105] of the specification that the machine learning can be a linear regression model. There is not requirement that the model have so many terms or other technical features such that it could not practically be performed mentally. Additionally, the abstract idea recited in the claim is, e.g., determining an ingredient usage datum and determining a stored ingredient level by decrementing an inventory level. These determinations remain mental processes that a person could perform by looking at a plate and making observations. The recitation of “using a machine-learning model” is either part of the mental process as a simple linear regression or an additional element, not a feature that that takes the claim outside the mental process grouping. Per MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C), a claim does not escape the mental process grouping merely by reciting that a generic computer or a generic computer environment. Applicant’s reliance on Thales Visionix on page 3 is misplaced because those claims required specific sensor configurations and mathematical operations on an inertial sensor that have no analog in the human mind. Here, the claimed determinations are routinely performed by line cooks and restaurant managers. The bare recitation of using machine learning to implement the abstract idea is not sufficient to confer eligibility. See 2024 Guidance Update on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility, Including on Artificial Intelligence, https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/ai-sme-update-2024.pdf, page 30. Regarding Applicant’s citation to Desjardins, that case did not simply implement determinations and observations by “using a machine-learning model” as claimed here. This implementation is distinct from Desjardins because it lacks entirely the technical detail of that case such as “adjusting the first values of the plurality of parameters to optimize an objective function that depends in part on a penalty term that is based on the determined measures of importance of the plurality of parameters to the first machine learning task.”
Applicant argues that the claimed invention integrates any abstract idea into a practical application (Step 2A Prong Two). Remarks pages 4-6. Applicant specifically argues that the pending claims are analogous to Enfish. Those claims included a specific data structure that improved the functioning of a computer. This bears no resemblance to the claimed ML model which is invoked as a black-box tool to classify an ingredient. Similarly , the optical scanning system is invoked as a generic data-gathering tool and the inventory decrement is a generic recordkeeping operation. The asserted improvement, i.e., “enhance[d] tracking and accuracy [that] helps reduce inefficiencies such as over-preparation and food waste” on page 4, is an improvement a business outcome rather than an improvement to the functioning of a computer or other technology. Improvements to the abstract idea itself are not improvements to technology.
Regarding Applicant’s citation to Desjardins, that case did not simply implement determinations and observations by “using a machine-learning model” as claimed here. This implementation is distinct from Desjardins because it lacks entirely the technical detail of that case such as “adjusting the first values of the plurality of parameters to optimize an objective function that depends in part on a penalty term that is based on the determined measures of importance of the plurality of parameters to the first machine learning task.”
Applicant argues that the claimed invention amounts to significantly more than any abstract idea (Step 2B). Remarks pages 6-8. Applicant’s analogy to BASCOM is not persuasive. The inventive concept in that case, i.e., positioning known filtering components at a specific, unusual, network location, conferred patent eligibility because the ordered combination arranged the known filters in an unconventional way. The pending claims contain no such unconventional arrangement. The optical scanning system, machine vision system, and ML model are arranged in the ordinary and expected sequence: scan, classify, and update the record. Each component performs its conventional function, and the ordered combination yields nothing beyond what the components do individually. Finally, the claims contain no particular physical properties of these features that would be analogous to BASCOM’s remote filtering.
Applicant’s assertion that Berkheimer requires evidence all elements of the claim are well-understood, routine, and conventional on page 7 conflates subject matter eligibility with novelty/nonobviousness. As the Supreme Court emphasizes: “[t]he ‘novelty' of any element or steps in a process, or even of the process itself, is of no relevance in determining whether the subject matter of a claim falls within the § 101 categories of possibly patentable subject matter.” Diehr, 450 U.S. at 188-89 (emphasis added). The Federal Circuit further guides that “[eligibility and novelty are separate inquiries.” Two-Way Media Ltd. v. Comcast Cable Commc' ns, LLC, 874 F.3d 1329, 1340 (Fed. Cir. 2017). The Berkheimer analysis applies to additional elements that are not analogous to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional by courts. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II). No such limitations are identified by Applicant or in the rejections.
Regarding the prior art rejections, Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the Divakaran reference.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action (See MPEP 706.07(a)). Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA B BLANCHETTE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624