DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amedments have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new references Yen et al (Yen et al: “Fabrication-Tolerant CWDM (de)Multiplexer Based on Cascaded Mach–Zehnder Interferometers on Silicon-on-Insulator”, Journal of Lightwave Technology, Vol. 39, No. 1, January 1, 2021, pages 146-153) and Li (US 5,852,505) and Akiyama et al (NPL and US 2019/0097732) and/or interpretation being used in the current rejection.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 11-16 and 19 are directed to an invention (Species II) that is independent or distinct from the invention (Species I) originally claimed for the following reasons: claims 11-16 and 19 are directed to a coarse wavelength division multiplexer-demultiplexer, in which each cyclic optical wavelength filter (COWF) of the plurality of COWFs within a stage of the plurality of stages has a free spectral range (FSR) equal to a predetermined fraction of the FSR of those COWFs within a succeeding stage of the plurality of stages such that the FSR of the COWFs within the stage of the plurality of stages is larger than the FSR of the COWFs within the succeeding stage of the plurality of stages, and the last stage of the plurality of stages and a number of preceding stages of the plurality of stages to the last stage of the plurality of stages are active and comprise phase shift elements (PSEs) for adjusting a characteristic of the COWFs within the subset of the plurality of stages; and the COWFs of the plurality of COWFs within the remainder of the plurality of stages before the last stage of the plurality of stages and the number of preceding stages of the plurality of stages are passive and are provisioned without PSEs for adjusting the characteristic of the COWFs within the remainder of the plurality of stages. But, the original claims 1-6 and newly added claims 17-18 are directed to a coarse wavelength division multiplexer-demultiplexer each COWF of the plurality of COWFs within a stage of the plurality of stages has a free spectral range (FSR) equal to a predetermined fraction of the FSR of those COWFs within a succeeding stage of the plurality of stages such that the FSR of the COWFs within the stage of the plurality of stages is smaller than the FSR of the COWFs within the succeeding stage of the plurality of stages; the first stage of the plurality of stages and a number of sequential subsequent stages of the plurality of stages are active and comprise phase shift elements (PSEs) for adjusting a characteristic of the COWFs within the subset of the plurality of stages; and the COWFs of the plurality of COWFs within the remainder of the plurality of stages after the first stage of the plurality of stages and the number of sequential subsequent stages of the plurality of stages are passive and are provisioned without PSEs for adjusting the characteristic of the COWFs within the reminder remainder of the plurality of stages.
That is, the arrangements (positions) regarding the COWFs having specific FSRs are different in the Species I and Species II; and the position of the PSEs are different in the two Species: one are in the first stage, and another is in the last stage; also, since the last stage has more COWFs, the Species II need more PSEs to control six or more COWFs, but the Species I just controls three COWFs (refer applicant’s Figures 7A and 7B).
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 11-16 and 19 withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. The newly amended claims contain “first stage”, “a number of sequential subsequent stages”, and “the remainder of the plurality of stages after the first stage of the plurality of stages and the number of sequential subsequent stages of the plurality of stage”; that is, at least three stages are included. Therefore, the “a number of sequential subsequent stages of the plurality of stages are active and comprise phase shift elements (PSEs)” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitations “each first passband flattened MZI and each second passband flattened MZI of the last stage of the plurality of stages and a number of preceding stages of the plurality of stages to the last stage of the plurality of stages comprises a series of three MZIs; each first passband flattened MZI and each second passband flattened MZI of the remainder of the plurality of stages before the last stage of the plurality of stages and the number of preceding stages of the plurality of stages comprises a series of two MZIs”. Claim 17 depends on claim 1, and claim 1 states “each COWF of the plurality of COWFs within a stage of the plurality of stages has a free spectral range (FSR) equal to a predetermined fraction of the FSR of those COWFs within a succeeding stage of the plurality of stages such that the FSR of the COWFs within the stage of the plurality of stages is smaller than the FSR of the COWFs within the succeeding stage of the plurality of stages; the first stage of the plurality of stages and a number of sequential subsequent stages of the plurality of stages are active and comprise phase shift elements (PSEs) for adjusting a characteristic of the COWFs within the subset of the plurality of stages”; that is, claim 1 and claim 17 are related to the embodiment shown in Figures 6A, 7A and 7B etc., in which each first passband flattened MZI and each second passband flattened MZI of the first stage comprises a series of three MZIs; and each first passband flattened MZI and each second passband flattened MZI of the remainder of the plurality of stages of the last stage of the plurality of stages and the number of preceding stages of the plurality of stages comprises a series of two MZIs. That is, for the embodiment shown in Figures 3 and 6-7, the original disclosure discloses that the first stage comprises MZI having a series of three MZIs, which need the PSEs, and the last stage (second stage) comprises MZI having series of two MZIs, which does not need PSEs.
It seems that the limitations in claim 17 are copied from claim 16 that belongs to another Species. For the originally presented invention, the phrase “the last stage” in lines 11, 13 and 15 of claim 17 should be changed to “the first stage”; and the phrase “preceding stages” in line 12 should be changed to “sequential subsequent stages”; and the word “before” in line 15 should be changed to “after”.
The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-5 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
1). Claim 1, and thus depending claims 2-5 and 17-18, recites the limitation “within the subset of the plurality of stages” line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim
2). Claim 4 recites the limitation "with each stage of the subset of the plurality of stages" in lines 12-13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
3). Claim 4 recites the limitation "the design of the first PSE and second PSE" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
4). Claim 5 recites the limitation "within a stage of the subset of the plurality of stages " in lines 12-13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
5). Claim 5 recites the limitation "the design of the first PSE and second PSE" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al (US 2024/0094462) in view of Yen et al (Yen et al: “Fabrication-Tolerant CWDM (de)Multiplexer Based on Cascaded Mach–Zehnder Interferometers on Silicon-on-Insulator”, Journal of Lightwave Technology, Vol. 39, No. 1, January 1, 2021, pages 146-153) and Li (US 5,852,505) and Akiyama et al (Akiyama et al: “Cascaded AMZ triplets: a class of demultiplexers having a monitor and control scheme enabling dense WDM on Si nano-waveguide PICs with ultralow crosstalk and high spectral efficiency”, Optics Express, Vol. 29, No. 6, 15 March 2021, pages 7966-7985).
1). With regard to claim 1, Lin et al discloses a device (Figures 3A and 11 etc.) comprising:
a plurality of cyclic optical wavelength filters (COWFs) (S1, S2A, S2B etc.) disposed in series in a plurality of stages (Figures 3A, 9 and 11 etc.; Figure 1, two stages: first stage consists of three S1, and second stage has two parallel substages three S2A and three S2B; Figure 9A: first stage S1, or Figure 9B, and second stage S2A/S2B, or Figure 9C. Figure 11: three stages, first stage S1, second stage S2A/S2B, third stage S3A/S3B/S3C); wherein
each COWF in each stage of the plurality of stages except a last stage of the plurality of stages is coupled to a pair of COWFs within a next stage of the plurality of stages (e.g., Figures 3A and 9, the first stage, three S1, is coupled to S2A and S2B. And in Figure 11, the second stage, three S2A, is coupled to S3A and S3B; and three S2B, is coupled to S3C and S3D);
the first stage of the plurality of stages coupled to a port (the port for signal 306 in Figure 3A; or Figure 9, the port for l1, l2, l3 and l4) for receiving a plurality of wavelength division multiplexed signals (l1, l2, l3 and l4 in Figure 3A and Figure 9) on a defined wavelength grid ([0003] and Figure 3B etc.);
each COWF of the plurality of COWFs within a stage of the plurality of stages has a free spectral range (FSR) equal to a predetermined fraction of the FSR of those COWFs within a succeeding stage of the plurality of stages ([0071], “first stage (S1) may split the optical signal 306 into odd channels and even channels”, [0075], “the four passbands may correspond to the center wavelengths λ1 of 1271 nanometers, λ2 of 1291 nanometers, λ3 of 1311 nanometers, and λ4 of 1331 nanometers”, the channel space between the odd channel and even channel is 20 nm; also refer to [0110]; however, the second stage S2A/S2B has passbands corresponding to λ1 of 1271 nanometers and λ3 of 1311 nanometers, channel spacing 40 nm, [0071]. S1 and S2A/S2B contain cascaded Mach-Zehnder interferometers (MZI) filters, then based on the MZI filtering principle, the FSR of S1 is a predetermined fraction of the FSR of S2A/S2B. Based on the MZI filtering principle, the FSR of S1 is 40 nm, and the FSR of S2A/S2B is 80 nm) such that the FSR of the COWFs within the stage of the plurality of stages is smaller than the FSR of the COWFs within the succeeding stage of the plurality of stages (then based on the MZI filtering principle, the FSR of S1 is half of the FSR of S2A/S2B);
the first stage of the plurality of stages (S1 in Figure 11) and a number of sequential subsequent stages (e.g., S2A and S2B) of the plurality of stages are active and comprise phase shift elements (PSEs) for adjusting a characteristic of the COWFs within the subset of the plurality of stages ([0125], “Although much of the present disclosure is directed to achieving a desired center wavelength for a cascaded MZI without the use of active tuning, this is not intended as a limitation of the present disclosure. It is contemplated that a cascaded MZI may also include one or more heaters for active tuning of the center wavelength. However, such heaters may not be necessary where the cascaded MZI may be formed of a SiN material or similar film”. It is obvious to one skilled in the art that the S1 and S2A/S2B filters of Figure 11 can be actively controlled); and
the COWFs of the plurality of COWFs (e.g., S2A/S2B in Figure 3A; or S3A/S3B/S3C) within the remainder of the plurality of stages after the first stage of the plurality of stages and the number of sequential subsequent stages of the plurality of stages are passive and are provisioned without PSEs for adjusting the characteristic of the COWFs within the remainder of the plurality of stages ([0038], [0063] and [0125], the cascaded MZI can be performed without active control); and
the remainder of the plurality of stages is at least one stage of the plurality of stages (Figure 3A and 9, total two stages, then the second stage is the “remainder of the plurality of stages”; Figure 11, total three stages, then the third stage, S3A/S3B/S3C is the remainder of the plurality of stages).
In Figures 3, 9 and 11, Lin et al does not expressly indicate the waveguide length difference between the two arms of each MZI, or the FSR value that depends on the length difference between the two arms of each MZI; and Lin et al also does not expressly state: the first stage of the plurality of stages and a number of sequential subsequent stages of the plurality of stages are active and comprise phase shift elements (PSEs) for adjusting a characteristic of the COWFs within the subset of the plurality of stages the COWFs of the plurality of COWFs within the remainder of the plurality of stages after the first stage of the plurality of stages and the number of sequential subsequent stages of the plurality of stages are passive.
Regarding the waveguide length difference between the two arms of each MZI, first, as discussed above, based on the passbands of each MZI and the filtering characteristics of MZI, it is obvious to one skilled in the art that the FSR of S1 is half of the FSR of S2A/S2B. Second, Yen discloses a similar 4-channel CWDM (Figure 5), which is based on multiple stage cascaded MZIs, as shown in Figure 5, the CWDM demultiplexer contains a first stage (three S1, or subsets: stage-1 and stage-2) and a second stage (two sets of three S2; or subsets: stage-3 and stage-4); and each S1 comprises a series of three MZIs (Figure 5(b), top portion, with three MZIa), and each S2 contains cascaded comprises a series of two MZIs (Figure 5(b), bottom portion, with two MZIs); and “the 1st-stage MZI in a four-channel WDM (De)MUX needs a FSR of 40 nm in order to realize an ultimate channel spacing of 20 nm” (page 148 left column), and “The FSR of S1 and S2 MZI stages is set to 40 and 80 nm, respectively. According to Eqs. (1), (5), and (6), the width w1(w2) and length L1(L2) of the wide (narrow) waveguide are chosen as 650 (450) nm and 23.250 (8.014) μm, respectively”; that is, Yen et al discloses “each COWF of the plurality of COWFs within a stage of the plurality of stages has a free spectral range (FSR) equal to a predetermined fraction of the FSR of those COWFs within a succeeding stage of the plurality of stages such that the FSR of the COWFs within the stage of the plurality of stages is smaller than the FSR of the COWFs within the succeeding stage of the plurality of stages.
Regarding the PSEs used in the first stage, first, Lin et al discloses that no phase shift elements are needed for the system, especially when the MZI is formed of SiN material or similar film ([0003], [0038], [0063] and [0125]; “The on-chip WDM without active control may be based on passive devices. The passive devices may eliminate the need for active tuning. Eliminating the active tuning of the optical waveguide may reduce the cost and power consumption of the active waveguide”). However, Lin also states “this is not intended as a limitation of the present disclosure. It is contemplated that a cascaded MZI may also include one or more heaters for active tuning of the center wavelength”. Second, each stage of the de/multiplexer has different FSR and passband width, therefore, it is obvious to one skilled in the art that the PSE should be used for the stage that is more critical or has narrow passband or smaller FSR. Li discloses a demultiplexer (Figure 6-7 and 10 etc.) with multiple stages, each stage has a series of two MZIs (Figures 8 and 10), as shown in Figures 7 and 9, “the passband width and periodicity (i.e., free spectral range) associated with the first stage Fourier filter are smaller than the passband width and periodicity associated with the second stage WDMs” (Abstract etc.), comparing 46/48 with 42/44 in Figure 7, and comparing 72 with 70 in Figure 9; “because of their much wider passbands and FSR, the filters at later stages can tolerate larger fabrication errors, do not require flat passbands and birefringence compensation, and can tolerate full environmental temperature variations without feedback control in the central office” (column 13 lines 63-65), and “since the passband of the filters utilized to implement the stages subsequent to the first stage 52 are wider than those of the first stage 52, simple Mach-Zehnder filters are suitable” (column 15 lines 21-24); that is, Li indicates that the “later” stage does not need “compensation” or “feedback control”. Third, Akiyama et al discloses a WDM demultiplexer (Figures 9, 12 and 19), and each stage comprises Asymmetric Mach-Zehnder (AMZ) triplet (Figure 4(b), 5 and 6), “This indicates that by cascading AMZ triplets in a N-stage tree structure as shown in Fig. 9, you can obtain a 2N-channel WDM demultiplexer with automatic error correction capability”, “As shown in Fig. 6, each square in Fig. 9 represents an AMZ triplet, and the symbol in each square indicates its arm length difference. The arm length difference of an AMZ triplet is set to be half of that in the preceding stage to set the spacing of transmissivity peak to be double of that in the preceding stage” (page 7974); and Akiyama et al discloses “By replacing 1st-order AMZ triplets shown in Fig. 9 with high-order ones, we can flatten the transmissivity peaks of CAT demultiplexers. An example is shown in Fig. 19, where 4th- and 2nd-order AMZ triplets are placed in the first and second stages, respectively. For the succeeding stages, 1st-order is sufficient because the flatness in the transmissivity of these stages does not affect that of the entire demultiplexer. Even with the use of high-order AMZ triplets, we can preserve the capability of automatic error correction of CAT. Figure 20 shows transmissivity spectra before and after error corrections (top and bottom rows, respectively), and intermediate conditions (two rows in the middle). It is clearly seen that high-order CATs are effective in flattening the transmissivity peak without deteriorating the capability of automatic correction” (page 7980), and “flat-top CATs shown in Fig. 19 have 12 heater pairs for Nch = 2, and 3(Nch + 4) of those for Nch ≥ 4. The total power consumption shown in Fig. 21(a) obtained with a simulation is approximately proportional to these numbers of heater pairs.” As shown in Figure 19, only the first two stages use heaters, and the remainder of the plurality of stages are passive and provisioned without PSEs. That is, Akiyama et al teaches/suggests that some stages, especially with higher “order” AMZ triplet, use phase shift elements, and remainder of the plurality of stages are passive and are provisioned without PSE.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yen et al and Li et al and Akiyama et al with Lin et al so that each stage has a series of MZI (e.g., Nth-order) with flat-top passband and a low channel cross talk; and since the “later” stage has a series of multiple MZIs (2nd-order or higher order MZI), which generates a flat-top passband, and the “later” stage has a wider passband and FSR (than the preceding stage), the “later” stage can tolerate larger fabrication errors and full environmental temperature variations, and then there is no need to use PSEs and feedback control to adjust the characteristics of the MZIs in the “later” stages so to decrease total power consumption and system complexity.
2). With regard to claim 2, Lin e al and Yen et al and Li et al and Akiyama et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above. And the combination of Lin e al and Yen et al and Li et al and Akiyama et al further discloses wherein
each COWF of the plurality of COWFs comprises:
a first passband flattened Mach-Zehnder interferometer (MZI) (Lin: S2 in left side of Figure 3A; 902 in Figure 9; and Figures 3B and 5B. Yen: S1 in the Stage-1 of Figure 5(a), and top figure of Figure 5(b); and Figure 6; Li: Figure 9) with an FSR defined by the stage of the plurality of stages associated with the COWF of the plurality of COWFs (Lin and Yen: FSR = 40 nm); and
a pair of second passband flattened MZIs (Lin: the two S2 in the middle of Figure 3A; 904(a) and 904(b) in Figure 9; and Figures 3B and 5B. Yen: two S1 in the Stage-2 of Figure 5(a), and top figure of Figure 5(b); and Figure 6; Li: Figure 9) each with the FSR defined by the stage of the plurality of stages associated with the COWF of the plurality of COWFs (Lin and Yen: FSR = 40 nm) where each second passband flattened MZI of the pair of second passband flattened MZIs is coupled to an output of the first passband flattened MZI (Lin Figures 3A, 9 and 11. Yen: Figure 5. Also refer to Figures 16-19 of Akiyama).
3). With regard to claim 3, Lin e al and Yen et al and Li et al and Akiyama et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above. And the combination of Lin e al and Yen et al and Li et al and Akiyama et al further discloses wherein
each COWF of the plurality of COWFs with a subset of the plurality of stages (e.g., Lin: three S1; three S2 etc. Figures 16-19 of Akiyama) comprises:
a first passband flattened Mach-Zehnder interferometer (MZI) (Lin: S2 in left side of Figure 3A; 902 in Figure 9; and Figures 3B and 5B. Yen: S1 in the Stage-1 of Figure 5(a), and top figure of Figure 5(b); and Figure 6; Li: Figure 9) with an FSR defined by the stage of the plurality of stages associated with the COWF of the plurality of COWFs (Lin and Yen: FSR = 40 nm. Akiyama: Figures 16-19, FSR defined by DL); and
a pair of second passband flattened MZIs (Lin: the two S2 in the middle of Figure 3A; 904(a) and 904(b) in Figure 9; and Figures 3B and 5B. Yen: two S1 in the Stage-2 of Figure 5(a), and top figure of Figure 5(b); and Figure 6; Li: Figure 9) each with the FSR defined by the stage of the plurality of stages associated with the COWF of the plurality of COWFs (Lin and Yen: FSR = 40 nm) where each second passband flattened MZI of the pair of second passband flattened MZIs is coupled to an output of the first passband flattened MZI (Lin Figures 3A, 9 and 11. Yen: Figure 5. Also refer to Figure 16 of Akiyama, 3rd-order AMZ triplet);
each first passband flattened MZI and each second passband flattened MZI of the first stage of the plurality of stages and the number of sequential subsequent stages of the plurality of stages comprises a series of three MZIs (Yen: Figure 5(b) top figure. Lin: [0101], [0109]-[0110], “include any Nth order filter to achieve a desired passband”. Akiyama: Figures 16-19, FSR defined by DL); and
each first passband flattened MZI and each second passband flattened MZI of the remainder of the plurality of stages comprises a series of two MZIs (Yen: Figure 5(b) bottom figure. Lin: [0101], [0109]-[0110], “include any Nth order filter to achieve a desired passband”. Akiyama: Figures 16-19, 2nd Order AMZ triplet).
4). With regard to claim 5, Lin e al and Yen et al and Li et al and Akiyama et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above. And the combination of Lin e al and Yen et al and Li et al and Akiyama et al further discloses wherein
each COWF within the first stage of the plurality of stages and a number of sequential subsequent stages of the plurality of stages comprises at least a Mach-Zehnder interferometer (MZI) (Lin: Figures 7 and 9, Abstract. Yen: Figure 5(b). Li: Figures 1-3, 8 and 10. Akiyama: Figure 16); and
the PSEs for adjusting a characteristic of the COWFs within the first stage of the plurality of stages and the number of sequential subsequent stages of the plurality of stages comprise a first PSE upon an arm of the MZI and a second PSE upon another arm of the MZI (Akiyama: one heater on the upper arm, and another heater on the lower arm);
the first PSE and second PSE within each COWF of a stage of the first stage of the plurality of stages and the number of sequential subsequent stages of the plurality of stages are the same (Akiyama: both the upper arm and lower arm use same type of phase shift technology: thermos-optic effect via heater. As shown in Figures 4, 6 and 16-17 etc., heaters are used in the two arms of the MZI; since both the first PSE and second PSE are heaters, the first PSE and second PSE can be viewed as the same within each COWF);
the designs of the first PSE and second PSE within each COWF within a stage of the subset of the plurality of stages are established in dependence upon the FSR of that stage of the plurality of stages (Akiyama: by tuning the heater voltage/power, the length difference between the two arms of a MZI is adjusted; page 7976, “The arm length difference was 25 μm for AMZs in AMZ triplet 1, and 50 μm for those in AMZ triplets 2 and 3”; the FSR is directly related to the arm length difference, FSR ~ 1/DL; for a specific FSR or passband, the heater must be designed to adjust the arm length difference so to maintain the desired FSR or passband. As shown in Figures 4-6, transmissivity for different wavelengths can be obtained after “error corrections”; and as shown in Figure 19, the heaters for the first stage is designed for the FSR corresponding to the arm length difference DL, and the heater for the second stage is designed for the FSR corresponding to the art length difference “DL/2”; and phase shift is determined/adjusted by the heater. Therefore, the designs of the first PSE (a heater) and second PSE (another heater) within each COWF within a stage of the subset of the plurality of stages are established in dependence upon the FSR of that stage of the plurality of stages, so that a specific wavelengths or wavelength band can be demultiplexed).
5). With regard to claim 17, Lin e al and Yen et al and Li et al and Akiyama et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above. And the combination of Lin e al and Yen et al and Li et al and Akiyama et al further discloses wherein
each COWF of the plurality of COWFs with a subset of the plurality of stages comprises:
a first passband flattened Mach-Zehnder interferometer (MZI) (Lin: S1 at the most left side of Figure 11. Yen: Figure 5, S1 in “Stage-1”. Akiyama: Figures 6 and 16 etc., the first serial MZI in the Nth order AMZ triplet) with an FSR defined by the stage of the plurality of stages associated with the COWF of the plurality of COWFs (Lin: passband defined by the FSR of S1, 40 nm. Yen: Figure 5, and left column of page 150, “The FSR of S1 and S2 MZI stages is set to 40 and 80 nm, respectively”. Li: Figures 7 and 9. Akiyama: first stage, the first stage with FSR corresponding to the arm length difference DL, Figures 9 and 19); and
a pair of second passband flattened MZIs (Lin: the two S1 that connected to S2A and S2B in Figure 11. Yen: Figure 5, two S1 in “Stage-2”. Akiyama: Figures 6 and 16 etc., the two serial MZIs in the Nth order AMZ triplet) each with the FSR defined by the stage of the plurality of stages associated with the COWF of the plurality of COWFs (Lin: passband defined by the FSR of S1, 40 nm. Yen: Figure 5, and left column of page 150, “The FSR of S1 and S2 MZI stages is set to 40 and 80 nm, respectively”. Li: Figures 7 and 9. Akiyama: first stage, the first stage with FSR corresponding to the arm length difference DL, Figures 9 and 19) where each second passband flattened MZI of the pair of second passband flattened MZIs is coupled to an output of the first passband flattened MZI (Lin: Figure 11. Yen: Figure 5. Akiyama: Figures 9 and 19);
each first passband flattened MZI and each second passband flattened MZI of the last stage of the plurality of stages and a number of preceding stages of the plurality of stages to the last stage of the plurality of stages comprises a series of three MZIs (refer to 112 rejection above. Lin: Figure 7B, and Figure 9 and [0101], [0109]-[0110], “include any Nth order filter to achieve a desired passband”. Yen: Figure 5, Figure 5(b) top figure. Akiyama: Figure 16, 3rd-order AMZ triplet);
each first passband flattened MZI and each second passband flattened MZI of the remainder of the plurality of stages before the last stage of the plurality of stages and the number of preceding stages of the plurality of stages comprises a series of two MZIs (refer to 112 rejection above. Lin: Figure 9 and [0101], [0109]-[0110], “include any Nth order filter to achieve a desired passband”. Yen: Figure 5, Figure 5(b) bottom figure. Akiyama: Figures 16 and 19, 2nd-order AMZ triplet);
a first MZI in each of the series of three MZIs and the series of two MZIs has a defined path imbalance between a pair of arms of the first MZI (Lin: [0087]-[0088], “(L1) is the length of the phase section 406a of the top arm. (L2) is the length of the phase section 406b of the bottom arm”. Yen: Figure 5, Figure 5(b) top figure, the first MZI L1/ L2, DL=L1-L2. Akiyama: Figures 16 and 19, DL);
a second MZI in each of the series of three MZIs and the series of two MZIs has another defined path imbalance between a pair of arms of the second MZI where the another defined path imbalance is twice the defined path imbalance within the first MZI (Lin: [0087]-[0088]. Yen: Figure 5, Figure 5(b) top figure, the second MZI 2L1/2L2, 2DL = 2L1-2L2 = 2(L1-L2). Akiyama: Figure 16, -2DL); and
a third MZI in each of the series of three MZIs a further defined path imbalance between a pair of arms of the third MZI where the further defined path imbalance is twice the defined path imbalance within the first MZI plus another imbalance sufficient to induce an additional phase offset of p radians (Yen: Figure 5, Figure 5(b) top figure, “p”) between the pair of arms of the third MZI (Yen: Figure 5, Figure 5(b) top figure, the third MZI (2L1+p)/2L2, (2L1+p) - 2L2 = 2(L1-L2) + p).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al and Yen et al and Li and Akiyama et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Matsui et al (US 2025/0047390).
Lin e al and Yen et al and Li et al and Akiyama et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above. And the combination of Lin e al and Yen et al and Li et al and Akiyama et al further discloses wherein
each COWF within the first stage of the plurality of stages and a number of sequential subsequent stages of the plurality of stages comprises at least a Mach-Zehnder interferometer (MZI) (Lin: Figures 7 and 9, Abstract. Yen: Figure 5(b). Li: Figures 1-3, 8 and 10. Akiyama: Figure 16); and
the PSEs for adjusting a characteristic of the COWFs within the first stage of the plurality of stages and the number of sequential subsequent stages of the plurality of stages comprise a first PSE upon an arm of the MZI and a second PSE upon another arm of the MZI (Akiyama: Figures 4-6, 16 and 19; for each MZI, one heater for upper arm, another heater for lower arm),
the first PSE and second PSE are the same within each COWF with first stage of the plurality of stages and the number of sequential subsequent stages of the plurality of stages (Akiyama: both the upper arm and lower arm use same type of phase shift technology: thermos-optic effect via heater. As shown in Figures 4, 6 and 16-17 etc., heaters are used in the two arms of the MZI; since both the first PSE and second PSE are heaters, the first PSE and second PSE can be viewed as the same within each COWF); and
the designs of the first PSE and second PSE are the same within each COWF with each stage of the subset of the plurality of stages (Akiyama: both the upper arm and lower arm use same type of phase shift technology: thermos-optic effect via heater, and by tuning the heater voltage/power, the length difference between the two arms of a MZI is adjusted; therefore, the designs (using heaters) of the first PSE and second PSE are the same within each COWF with each stage of the subset of the plurality of stages).
Another prior art, Matsui et al, discloses a similar WDM demultiplexer (Figures 5, 7 and 10-11), and the first PSE and second PSE are the same within each COWF with first stage of the plurality of stages and the number of sequential subsequent stages of the plurality of stages (e.g., 112 for both arms of MZI 102; and 113 for both arms of MZI 103. Also refer to the 211 for MZI 201 etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Matsui et al to the system/method of Lin et al and Yen et al and Li et al and Akiyama et al so that the two arms of the MZI uses same type of heater, and the controlling can be made easier.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al and Yen et al and Li and Akiyama et al (Akiyama NPL) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Akiyama (US 2019/0097732. Akiyama ‘732).
Lin e al and Yen et al and Li et al and Akiyama NPL disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above. And the combination of Lin e al and Yen et al and Li et al and Akiyama NPL further discloses wherein
each COWF within the first stage of the plurality of stages and a number of sequential subsequent stages of the plurality of stages comprises at least a Mach-Zehnder interferometer (MZI) (Lin: Figures 7 and 9, Abstract. Yen: Figure 5(b). Li: Figures 1-3, 8 and 10. Akiyama NPL: Figure 16); and
the PSEs for adjusting a characteristic of the COWFs within the first stage of the plurality of stages and the number of sequential subsequent stages of the plurality of stages comprise a first PSE upon an arm of the MZI and a second PSE upon another arm of the MZI (Akiyama NPL: Figures 4-6, 16 and 19; for each MZI, one heater for upper arm, another heater for lower arm);
the designs of the first PSE and second PSE are one of:
the same within each COWF with each stage of the first stage of the plurality of stages and the number of sequential subsequent stages of the plurality of stages (Akiyama NPL: both the upper arm and lower arm use same type of phase shift technology: thermos-optic effect via heater. As shown in Figures 4, 6 and 16-17 etc., heaters are used in the two arms of the MZI; since both the first PSE and second PSE are heaters, the first PSE and second PSE can be viewed as the same within each COWF); and
established in dependence upon the FSR of that stage of the plurality of stages (Akiyama NPL: by tuning the heater voltage/power, the length difference between the two arms of a MZI is adjusted; page 7976, “The arm length difference was 25 μm for AMZs in AMZ triplet 1, and 50 μm for those in AMZ triplets 2 and 3”; the FSR is directly related to the arm length difference, FSR ~ 1/DL; for a specific FSR or passband, the heater must be designed to adjust the arm length difference so to maintain the desired FSR or passband. As shown in Figures 4-6, transmissivity for different wavelengths can be obtained after “error corrections”; and as shown in Figure 19, the heaters for the first stage is designed for the FSR corresponding to the arm length difference DL, and the heater for the second stage is designed for the FSR corresponding to the art length difference “DL/2”; and phase shift is determined/adjusted by the heater. Therefore, the designs of the first PSE (a heater) and second PSE (another heater) within each COWF are established in dependence upon the FSR of that stage of the plurality of stages, so that a specific wavelengths or wavelength band can be demultiplexed);
Akiyama NPL does not expressly show: the first PSEs of each COWF within the first stage of the plurality of stages and the number of sequential subsequent stages of the plurality of stages are electrically connected to each other; and the second PSEs of each COWF within the first stage of the plurality of stages and the number of sequential subsequent stages of the plurality of stages are electrically connected to each other.
However, Akiyama ‘732 discloses a similar WDM demultiplexer with a serial of MZIs (Figures 6-9), and as shown in Figures 6 and 8-9, the first phase shift elements (heaters 9A(5)) in the top arms of the plurality MZIs (8(3) and 8(2)) are electrically connected to each other by electrical lines from the controller 10 (e.g., the electrical line 16 shown in Figure 8); and the second phase shift elements (heaters 9B(5)) in the bottom arms of the plurality MZIs (8(3) and 8(2)) are electrically connected to each other by electrical lines from the controller 10 (e.g., the other electrical line from the controller 10; e.g., Figures 6 and 8-9, the electrical line from the left side of the controller 10). That is, the combination of Lin e al and Yen et al and Li et al and Akiyama NPL and Akiyama ‘732 teaches/suggests: the first PSEs of each COWF within the first stage of the plurality of stages and the number of sequential subsequent stages of the plurality of stages are electrically connected to each other; and the second PSEs of each COWF within the first stage of the plurality of stages and the number of sequential subsequent stages of the plurality of stages are electrically connected to each other.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Akiyama ‘732 with Lin et al and Yen et al and Li et al and Akiyama NPL so that one set of phase shift elements (e.g., the PSEs at the upper arms) of the serial of MZIs are connected electrically and controlled by one set of control signals from a controller, and the another set of phase shift elements (e.g., the PSEs at the lower arms) of the serial of MZIs are connected electrically and controlled by another set of control signals from the controller so that the controlling of the phase shift can be made easier and more convenient.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LI LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634 October 13, 2026